DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0333472 (Georgeson et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Georgeson et al. discloses an ultrasound inspection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-23, an inspection method comprising inserting a laser lens 1106,1126,1310 (e.g. cylinder lens and collimator; paragraphs [0157],[0161],[0166]; Figure 11-16) into an interior 107 (e.g. interior; paragraph [0050]; Figure 1) of a powerplant 104 (e.g. composite wing of an aircraft illustrated in Figure 1 but paragraph [0124] indicates it can be a power plant in lieu of an aircraft) such that the powerplant comprising a component 102,1116 (e.g. test object; paragraphs [0048],[0049],[0157]) within the interior of the powerplant; arranging the laser lens 1106,1126 with a line of sight to the component (e.g. as observed in Figures 11-15); directing a pulsed laser beam 1110 (e.g. beams from laser 1128; paragraphs [0157],[0162]) from the laser lens onto a surface 114 (e.g. surface; paragraph [0157]) of the component to induce vibrations in the component (e.g. paragraphs [00152]-[0162],[0177],[0019]); measuring a vibratory response 1318 (e.g. vibration response reflected from surface 114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172],[0177],[0179]) in the component excited by the vibrations using a sensor 1322 (e.g. interferometer system transmits light 1308 and receives response 1318; paragraph [0171]) to provide sensor data (e.g. data; paragraphs [0058],[0179]). (See, paragraphs [0046] to [0219]).
With regards to claim 2, Georgeson et al. further discloses determining a first characteristic (e.g. inconsistency; paragraph [0179]) of the component based on the sensor data. (See, paragraphs [0006],[0019]).
With regards to claim 3, Georgeson et al. further discloses processing the sensor data to detect a defect 116,208 (e.g. obstruction; paragraphs [0055],[0066],[0145],[0146]) internal to the component. (See, paragraphs [0006],[0019]).
With regards to claim 4, Georgeson et al. further discloses the pulsed laser beam is received from a laser excitation source 1128,1020,1012 (e.g. laser source or light source; paragraphs [0162],[0145]) disposed outside of the powerplant. (See, paragraphs [0145],[0173]); Figures 1,10-12)
With regards to claim 5, Georgeson et al. further discloses the sensor 1128 comprises a laser vibrometer 1322 (e.g. an interferometer system which emits light 1308 and receives response 1318 – paragraph [0171]; the optical ultrasound vibration detector can be placed at different locations including outside the power plant such that the detector is based on an interferometer and light is emitted from a laser light source and received back by the interferometer unit through optical fibers where the vibration detector is therefore a laser vibrometer; paragraphs [0114],[0179]; Figures 13-14).
With regards to claim 6, Georgeson et al. further discloses receiving a reflected laser beam 1318 (e.g. reflected beam when light beam 1308 is reflect off of surface 1114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172]) from the component through the laser lens 1310 at the laser vibrometer 1322. (See, paragraphs [0170]-[0172]).
With regards to claim 7, Georgeson et al. further discloses the laser lens is a first laser lens 1106 (e.g. cylinder lens; paragraph [0157]; Figures 11,12,16); inserting a second laser lens 1310 (e.g. collimators; paragraph [0166]; Figures 13,14,16) into the interior of the powerplant; arranging the second laser lens with a line of sight to the component (e.g. observed in Figures 13,14,16); receiving a reflected laser beam 1318 (e.g. vibration response reflected from surface 114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172],[0177],[0179]) from the component through the second laser lens at the laser vibrometer 1322 (e.g. paragraphs [0170]-[0172]; Figures 13,16).
With regards to claim 8, Georgeson et al. further discloses inserting a head of an inspection scope 1502 (e.g. sensor structure; paragraph [0173]; Figures 15-16) into the interior of the powerplant such that the head of the inspection scope comprising the first laser lens 1106 and the second laser lens 1310; arranging the head of the inspection scope within the interior of the powerplant to arrange the first laser lens with the line of sight to the component and to arrange the second laser lens with the line of sight to the component (e.g. observed in Figures 15-16; paragraph [0173])
With regards to claim 9, Georgeson et al. further discloses inserting a head of a first inspection scope 402,1100 (e.g. ultrasound source; paragraphs [0122],[0173]; Figures 4,11-12) into the interior of the powerplant such that the head of the first inspection scope comprising the first laser lens 1106; arranging the head of the first inspection scope within the interior of the powerplant to arrange the first laser lens with the line of sight to the component (e.g. observed in Figures 11-12,15-16); inserting a head of a second inspection scope 404,1300 (e.g. ultrasound detector; paragraphs [0122],[0173]; Figures 4,13-14) into the interior of the powerplant such that the head of the second inspection scope comprising the second laser lens 1310; arranging the head of the second inspection scope within the interior of the powerplant to arrange the second laser lens with the line of sight to the component (e.g. observed in Figures 13-14,15-16; paragraph. (See, paragraph [0122] indicates the ultrasound source and the ultrasound detector may be placed in separate sensor structures).
With regards to claim 10, Georgeson et al. further discloses the laser vibrometer 1322 is disposed outside of the powerplant (e.g. laser source or light source; paragraphs [0162],[0145],[0173],[0179]; Figures 1,10-12).
With regards to claim 11, Georgeson et al. further discloses inserting a head of an inspection scope 1502 (e.g. sensor structure; paragraph [0173]; Figures 15-16) into the interior of the powerplant such that the head of the inspection scope comprising the laser lens 1106; arranging the head of the inspection scope within the interior of the powerplant to arrange the laser lens with the line of sight to the component (e.g. observed in Figures 15-16; paragraph [0173])
With regards to claim 12, Georgeson et al. further discloses the powerplant comprises a turbine engine (e.g. power plant, in the context of aircraft, as well as an aircraft propulsion system thereof strongly hints at turbine engines; paragraphs [0124],[0215]).
With regards to claim 13, Georgeson et al. further discloses the component is configured as a rotor disk (e.g. power plant, in the context of aircraft, as well as an aircraft propulsion system thereof strongly hints at rotor disk; paragraphs [0124],[0215]).
With regards to claim 14, Georgeson et al. further discloses the powerplant is installed with an aircraft during the inserting, the arranging, the directing, and the measuring (e.g. power plant, in the context of aircraft, as well as an aircraft propulsion system thereof strongly hints at rotor disk; paragraphs [0124],[0215]).
With regards to claims 15-17, the claims are directed to method claims and are commensurate in scope with claims 1,5,8 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claim 18, Georgeson et al. discloses an ultrasound inspection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-23, a system for inspecting a component 102,1116 (e.g. test object; paragraphs [0048],[0049],[0157]) within an interior 107 (e.g. interior; paragraph [0050]; Figure 1) of a powerplant 104 (e.g. composite wing of an aircraft illustrated in Figure 1 but paragraph [0124] indicates it can be a power plant in lieu of an aircraft) comprising an inspection scope 106,204 (e.g. ultrasound inspection system; Figures 1-2) including a scope head and a scope body (e.g. a scope head and scope body as observed in Figures 1,6-10), and a laser lens 1106,1126,1310 (e.g. cylinder lens and collimator; paragraphs [0157],[0161], [0166]; Figure 11-16) and an optical fiber 210,1102,1302 (e.g. optical fibers; paragraphs [0069],[0155]; Figures 2,12); the scope body extending longitudinally along a centerline to the scope head, and the laser lens configured with the scope head at a longitudinal distal end of the inspection scope, and the optical fiber extending longitudinally within the scope body and optically coupled with the laser lens (e.g. observed in Figures 1,6-16); the inspection scope configured for insertion of the scope head into the interior of the powerplant to dispose the laser lens in a line of sight with a surface 114 (e.g. surface; paragraph [0157]) of the component within the interior of the powerplant (e.g. as observed in Figures 11-15); a laser excitation source optically coupled to the laser lens through the optical fiber, the laser excitation source 1128,1108 (e.g. laser is source of light; paragraph [0162]) configured to direct a pulsed laser beam 1110 (e.g. beams from laser 1128; paragraphs [0157],[0162]) through the laser lens onto the surface of the component to induce vibrations in the component (e.g. paragraphs [00152]-[0162],[0177],[0019]). (See, paragraphs [0046] to [0219]).
With regards to claim 19, Georgeson et al. further discloses a laser vibrometer 1322 (e.g. an interferometer system which emits light 1308 and receives response 1318 – paragraph [0171]; the optical ultrasound vibration detector can be placed at different locations including outside the power plant such that the detector is based on an interferometer and light is emitted from a laser light source and received back by the interferometer unit through optical fibers where the vibration detector is therefore a laser vibrometer; paragraphs [0114],[0179]; Figures 13-14) optically coupled to the laser lens 1106,1126,1310; the laser vibrometer configured to receive a reflected laser beam 1318 (e.g. reflected beam when light beam 1308 is reflect off of surface 1114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172]) from the surface of the component through the laser lens 1310 wherein the laser vibrometer configured to provide sensor data (e.g. data; paragraphs [0058],[0179]) indicative of a vibratory response 1318 (e.g. vibration response reflected from surface 114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172],[0177],[0179]) in the component excited by the vibrations in response to receiving the reflected laser beam (e.g. paragraphs [00152]-[0162],[0177]); a processing system 120 (e.g. computer; paragraph [0057],[0058]) configured to process the sensor data to determine a characteristic (e.g. inconsistency; paragraph [0179]) of the component based on the sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0006],[0019]).
With regards to claim 20, Georgeson et al. further discloses the laser lens is a first laser lens 1106 (e.g. cylinder lens; paragraph [0157]; Figures 1,12,16; a second laser lens 1310 (e.g. collimators; paragraph [0166]; Figures 13,14,16) configured with the scope head at the longitudinal distal end of the inspection scope; a laser vibrometer 1322 (e.g. an interferometer system which emits light 1308 and receives response 1318 – paragraph [0171]; the optical ultrasound vibration detector can be placed at different locations including outside the power plant such that the detector is based on an interferometer and light is emitted from a laser light source and received back by the interferometer unit through optical fibers where the vibration detector is therefore a laser vibrometer; paragraphs [0114],[0179]; Figures 13-14) optically coupled to the second laser lens 1310; the laser vibrometer configured to receive a reflected laser beam 1318 (e.g. reflected beam when light beam 1308 is reflect off of surface 1114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172]) from the surface of the component through the second laser lens 1310 (e.g. paragraphs [0170]-0172]; Figures 13,16); the laser vibrometer configured to provide sensor data (e.g. data; paragraphs [0058],[0179]) indicative of a vibratory response 1318 (e.g. vibration response reflected from surface 114; paragraphs [0170]-[0172],[0177], [0179]) in the component excited by the vibrations in response to receiving the reflected laser beam (e.g. paragraphs [00152]-[0162],[0177]); a processing system 120 (e.g. computer; paragraph [0057],[0058]) configured to process the sensor data to determine a characteristic (e.g. inconsistency; paragraph [0179]) of the component based on the sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0006],[0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Dubois, Ishioka and Bossi, are related to ultrasound inspection system for inspecting a test object for anomalies comprising a laser source emitting a pulsed laser beam to a laser lens and measuring a reflected laser beam induced by vibrations in the test object to determine if anomalies are in the test object.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855