DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claim 1-24 are under examination.
Claim 1-24 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 and 11/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 11. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the normal caloric intake" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “less than about 50% of the normal caloric intake of the subject” in claim 1is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal caloric intake” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear as what range or value of calories does Applicant intend to encompass as “normal caloric intake” to meet the limitation of “less than about 50%”. It was well known in the art in particular with respect to human being as a subject, wherein gender, age, body size, body mass, and activity level all play a part with respect to normal caloric intake differs; hence it is not clear as to what the term “normal” encompass to meet the claim limitation. Claim 2-20 are also rejected since the claims are depended upon rejected claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first day" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second to fifth days" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first day" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second to fifth days" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second to fifth days" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “per day for days 1-5” in claim 14, 15 and 16 are confusing since the independent claim 1 does not recite day or days. The claims are indefinite.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the entire 5-day period" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the first day" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the second day to the fifth day" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the micronutrients" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the sequencing of ration consumption" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “normal diet during refeeding periods” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal diet” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It was well known in the art in particular with respect to human being as a subject, wherein gender, age, body size, body mass, and activity level all play a part with respect to normal caloric intake differs; hence it is not clear as to what the term “normal” encompass to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the diet period" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reda (WO 2008/042263 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reda discloses a packaged food delivery system (diet package) comprising nutritional bars (rations) (pg. 2, ln. 5-10) wherein the nutritional bars (rations) includes plurality of nutrition bars with amounts of calories, carbohydrates, protein and fats (pg. 3, ln. 8-15). Reda teaches the nutritional bars (rations) to be administered in different time intervals (time periods) wherein first food bar (ration) as first meal (pg. 5, ln. 1-13) for specified diet plan for weight reduction (pg. 4, ln. 1-5).
Reda teaches the specified diet plan for the weight reduction a 40 year female (subject) at 110 lbs with a maintained (normal) caloric intake of 1977 daily caloric intake to a daily caloric intake of 977 (pg. 19, Table T9), which is about 50% less than the maintained (normal) caloric intake, and within the claimed range. With respect to the limitation of “both protein restriction and sugar restriction”, Reda encompass the limitation since Reda clearly teaches a reduced caloric intake to in the specified diet plan for the weight reduction, which encompasses a protein restriction and sugar restriction (pg. 5, ln. 18-23).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,036. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1-27 recites same diet package for administering a fasting mimicking diet comprising rations with overlapping time periods, days, caloric intakes and components such as proteins, sugars, saturated fats, glycerol, vitamins as in 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,036.
Claim 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,932,486. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1-27 recites same diet package for administering a fasting mimicking diet comprising rations with overlapping time periods, days, caloric intakes and components such as proteins, sugars, saturated fats, glycerol, vitamin C and D, as in 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,932,486.
Claim 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,433,576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1-27 recites same diet package for administering a fasting mimicking diet comprising rations with overlapping time periods, days, caloric intakes and components such as proteins, sugars, saturated fats, glycerol, vitamin C and D, as in claim 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,433,576.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
No art-based rejection over claim 2-27, is being provided because other available prior art does not teach or suggest singularly or in combination at least the limitations in of claim 2-27. The closest prior art, Reda discloses a packaged food delivery system (diet package) comprising nutritional bars (rations) (pg. 2, ln. 5-10) wherein the nutritional bars (rations) includes plurality of nutrition bars with amounts of calories, carbohydrates, protein and fats (pg. 3, ln. 8-15). Reda teaches the nutritional bars (rations) to be administered in different time intervals (time periods) wherein first food bar (ration) as first meal (pg. 5, ln. 1-13) for specified diet plan for weight reduction (pg. 4, ln. 1-5). However, the prior art, Reda does not singularly teach or suggest a motivation for a combination under obviousness, as recited in claim 2-27.
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792