DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the arrangement recited in Claim 6 wherein the “circular or elliptical tarpaulin shape” has multiple extension portions symmetrically arranged and the “fastening assemblies” recited in Claims 8, 9, 12, and 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the “peripheral wall” of the extension portion which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winant in US Patent 4367761 in view of Cooper in US Patent 8650725.
Regarding Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 12, Winant teaches (see Fig. 1) a low wind-resistance canopy tent, comprising: a tarpaulin (4); a plurality of traction assemblies (21); and a plurality of support rod assemblies (15/16/17), wherein a plurality of extension portions (27) are connected to edges of the tarpaulin, each extension portion has contact areas (at 34), with the traction assemblies being linked to the extension portions (see Fig. 1); when the low wind-resistance canopy tent is stretched, the top ends of the support poles abut against the contact areas, and the tarpaulin edges lack a downwardly bent skirt..
Winant teaches the use of multiple fastening assemblies (at each corner 22/242/5), but is silent on the use of a contact head at the top of the support rods or details of the fastening assemblies. Cooper teaches a support rod (30) with a contact head (100) positioned atop support rod, wherein each contact head comprises a flat contact portion (see the flat portion at the top of 110 in Fig. 1A) for engaging with the extension portions, multiple fastening assemblies (10’) contacting the extension portions, facilitating secure connection between the extension portions and multiple contact heads, wherein each fastening assembly comprises a binding rope (300) to secure a portion of an extension portion to the contact head, with the contact head featuring a slot (130) for binding rope limitation, wherein the binding rope is separately installed from each extension portion, each contact head, being rigid, comprises a first snap structure (132), each fastening assembly comprises a clamping plate (200) with a second snap structure (230), and a portion of the extension portion is clamped between the clamping plate and the contact head. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Winant by adding contact head as taught by Cooper in order to more securely attach the tarpaulin to the poles.
Regarding Claim 2, Winant, as modified, teaches that the extension portions are affixed to the tarpaulin via stitches (62), but is silent on the material used therefor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tarpaulin and extension portions of Winant, as modified, by using the same material (such as the fabric used for the tarpaulin) for both in order to provide a unitary style of material for the device as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416..
Regarding Claim 3, Winant, as modified, teaches that each extension portion is cylindrical (at least at 60), and the traction assemblies feature traction ropes passing through hollow regions of the extension portions to pull them.
Regarding Claim 4, Winant, as modified, teaches that each extension portion's peripheral wall (the extension portion 27) comprises at least one layer of cloth (such as the fabric that is the same as that of the tarpaulin).
Regarding Claim 5, Winant, as modified, teaches that in a polygonal tarpaulin shape (such as the triangular shape in Fig. 1), each corner portion (22/24/25) connects to at least one of extension portions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winant, aa modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Warner in US Patent 6904924. Winant, as modified, is silent on the use of a circular tarpaulin. Warner teaches a canopy (10/32) with a circular shape (see Fig. 5) and multiple extension portions (at each pole 12) that are symmetrically arranged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Winant, as modified, by using a circular tarpaulin as taught by Warner and using symmetrically arranged extension portions as taught by Warner in order to provide a more suitable canopy shape to meet the needs of the individual user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwartz, Lawson, Moss, Kramer, Bjorksten et al., Haas, Flanagan Jr., Vechesloff, Sutliff II, Karakash, Doyle, and Gillis teach canopies and connecting portions therefor.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636