DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice attached to a scaffold nanostructure must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The specification does not show a surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice attached to a scaffold nanostructure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancey (US Pub No. 20110039459).
With respect to claim 2, Yancey discloses a method of electrically bonding microdevices (Fig.4), the method comprising: providing at least one bonding pad (308) on a receiver substrate (306), and at least one optoelectronic microdevice on a donor substrate (302);forming a three-dimensional (3D) scaffold nanostructure on a surface of the at least one bonding pad (210), a surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice (Fig.4), or both (Fig.4) to increase a respective surface area of the surfaces (Fig.4); and electrically bonding at least a portion of the surface of the at least one bonding pad to at least a portion of the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice (Fig.4). However, Yancey does not explicitly disclose that optoelectronic microdevice is on a donor substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancey such that optoelectronic microdevice is formed on the receiver substrate in order to use the package for a display applications.
With respect to claim 3, Yancey discloses wherein the 3D scaffold nanostructure is an interlocked nanostructures that includes randomly crossed metallic nanowires, branch-type nanowires, conic- like nanowires, comb-like nanowires (Fig.4), hierarchical nanowires, aligned nanowires, randomly- formed nanowires, stacked nanowires, transparent conductive oxide (TCO) nanowires, carbon nanotubes, graphene sheets, graphene sheets decorated with nanowires, graphene sheets decorated with nanoparticles, 3D metallic nanofibers, carbon nanofibers, carbon nanofibers decorated with metal nanoparticles, metallic mesh, or any combination thereof.
With respect to claim 4, Yancey discloses a template (catalyst). However, Yancey does not in Fig.4 disclose on the surface of the at least one bonding pad, on the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice, or both; and depositing at least one conductive layer on the template to form the 3D scaffold nanostructure. On the other hand, in Fig.19, discloses that nanowires 210 are directly formed on the pad (308,320). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Fig.4 according to the teachings of the Fig.19, such that nanowires are directly grown on the contact pads, in order to cut the cost.
With respect to claim 5, Yancy does not explicitly disclose wherein the template is formed from silica spheres, polystyrene spheres, aluminum anodic oxide (AAO), patterned photoresist, block-copolymers, or any combination thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Yancy such that template is AAO, since it is a known process, and would cut cost, because it can fabricate multiple nano pillars in a short period within a single step.
With respect to claim 6, further comprising removing the template after the at least one conductive layer is deposited. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to remove the template after formation of nano wires, in order to connect two semiconductor structures together.
With respect to claim 7, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the template is not removed after the at least one conductive layer is deposited. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the inventio to modify the arts cited above such that templates is formed on one the contact pads, such that the template is not removed after in order to have the template used part of the contact pad, thereby expediting the process time and cutting the cost.
With respect to claim 8, Yancey does not explicitly disclose further comprising adding an adhesion layer to the surface of the at least one bonding pad, on the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice, or both, to aid in holding the 3D scaffold nanostructure in place. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancey such that silver is used as adhesion layer to the surface of the at least one bonding pad, in order to be able to attach the nanowires to the pad which would have a mechanical stability.
With respect to claim 9, Yancey discloses wherein forming the 3D scaffold nanostructure on the surface of the at least one bonding pad (Fig.4,19), on the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice, or both includes: generating or obtaining a pre-formed 3D scaffold nanostructure (Fig.3) and after the adhesion layer is added, transferring the pre-formed 3D scaffold nanostructure to the surface of the at least one bonding pad (as was shown in the previous claims), on the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice, or both.
With respect to claim 10, Yancy discloses wherein forming the 3D scaffold nanostructure on the surface of the at least one bonding pad (Fig.3-4), on the surface of the at least one optoelectronic microdevice, or both includes: generating or obtaining a pre-formed 3D scaffold nanostructure (Fig.3); transferring the pre-formed 3D scaffold nanostructure to the surface of the at least one bonding pad (Fig.3-4). However, Yancey discloses using adhesion material (Para 8); however, it does not explicitly disclose and before the adhesion layer is added, transferring the pre-formed 3D scaffold nanostructures. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancy such that adhesion layer are applied after connecting nanostructures to the bonding pad, in order to have better electrical contact with the bonding pad or as a design choice.
With respect to claim 17, Yancy discloses a first surface formed as part of at least one bonding pad on a receiver substrate (308,Fig.3-4); a second surface formed as part of at least one optoelectronic microdevice on a donor substrate (304); and a three-dimensional (3D) scaffold nanostructure formed on the first surface (Fig.3-4), the second surface, or both to thereby increase a respective area of the first surface, the second surface, or both. However, Yancey does not explicitly disclose that optoelectronic microdevice is on a donor substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancey such that optoelectronic microdevice is formed on the receiver substrate in order to use the package for a display applications.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancey (US Pub No. 20110039459), in view of Zhamu et al (US Pub No. 20090269511).
With respect to claim 11, Yancy does not explicitly disclose wherein the adhesion layer is formed from soldering materials, polymers, functional nanoparticle films, or any combination thereof. On the other hand, Zhamu et al discloses that adhesive material adhesive material such as polymer material used to bond nano wires (Para 111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancy according to the teachings of the Zhamu et al such that adhesive material are made from polymers because of their availability and as a design choice.
Claim(s) 12-16,18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancey (US Pub No. 20110039459), in view of Wanit et al (ZnO Nano-tree growth study for high efficiency solar cell, ICAFE 2011, December 27-28,2011, Bangkok Thailand).
With respect to claim 12, Yancy does not explicitly disclose wherein the 3D scaffold nanostructure includes a plurality of nanowire structures, each nanowire structure including a backbone and a plurality of branches each extending from the backbone. On the other hand, Wanit et al discloses each nanowire structure including a backbone (Fig.2-3) and a plurality of branches each extending from the backbone (Fig.2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancy according to the teachings of the Wanit et al such that nanowires have tree shape structure, in order to fabricate inexpensive high density nano tree structure, or as a design choice.
With respect to claim 13, Wanit et al discloses wherein the backbone is formed from SnO2 or ZnO (Abstract), and each of the plurality of branches is formed from ZnO (Abstract)or Ag.
With respect to claim 14, Wanit et al discloses wherein for each respective nanowire structure, each of the plurality of branches extends (i) perpendicularly from the backbone of the respective nanowire structure (Fig.2-3), or (ii) at an angle that is not perpendicular to the backbone of the respective nanowire structure (Fig.2-3).
With respect to claim 15, Wanit et al discloses wherein the branch of at least one of the plurality of nanowire structures (Fig.4) extends from the branch of at least one other of the plurality of nanowire structures (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 16, Wanit et al discloses wherein the backbones of the plurality of nanowire structures are aligned to form the 3D scaffold nanostructure (Fig.2-3) or randomly oriented to form the 3D scaffold nanostructure.
With respect to claim 18, Yancy discloses wherein the 3D scaffold nanostructure includes a plurality of nanowire structures (Fig.3); however, it does not explicitly disclose each nanowire structure including a backbone and a plurality of branches each extending from the backbone. Wanit et al discloses each nanowire structure including a backbone (Fig.2-3) and a plurality of branches each extending from the backbone (Fig.2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yancy according to the teachings of the Wanit et al such that nanowires have tree shape structure, in order to fabricate inexpensive high density nano tree structure, or as a design choice.
With respect to claim 19, Wanit et al discloses wherein for each respective nanowire structure, each of the plurality of branches extends (i) perpendicularly from the backbone of the respective nanowire structure (Fig.2-3), or (ii) at an angle that is not perpendicular to the backbone of the respective nanowire structure (Fig.2-3).
With respect to claim 20, Wanit et al discloses wherein the branch of at least one of the plurality of nanowire structures (Fig.4) extends from the branch of at least one other of the plurality of nanowire structures (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 21, Wanit et al discloses wherein the backbones of the plurality of nanowire structures are aligned to form the 3D scaffold nanostructure (Fig.2-3) or randomly oriented to form the 3D scaffold nanostructure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (Tasaltin et al, Fabrication of vertically aligned pd nanowire nanowire array in AAO template by electrodepostion using neutral electrolyte, Nanoscale Res Lett.2010 May1 1;5(7);:1137-1143, this article shows how AAO template can be use to fabricate nanowires).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817