DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that applicant's Amendment, filed on September 09th, 2026, has been entered.
Upon entrance of the Amendment, claims 1, 12, 15, and 20 were amended, and claim 19 was cancelled. Claims 1-18 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on September 09th, 2026 have been fully considered. Claim 1 was not amended to include all limitations of claims 11-12, therefore it is not allowable. Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Hsu (U.S. Patent No. 10,043,857).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0359048) in view of Hsu (U.S. Patent No. 10,043,857).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0063]);
a white pixel and color pixels provided in the display area (Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5, [0103], last 2 lines); and
a fluorine-based protective layer surrounding the white pixel (Figs. 4-5, Fig. 9, element BL2, [0165], lines 4-7).
Kim does not disclose the fluorine-based protective layer surrounding only the white pixel.
Hsu discloses a protective layer surrounding only the white pixel among the white pixel and the color pixels provided in the display area (Fig. 5, column 4, lines 50-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Hsu to have the fluorine-based protective layer surrounding only the white pixel among the white pixel and the color pixels in order to increase color depth.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the fluorine-based protective layer is provided on a bank surrounding the white pixel (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the white pixel includes a first light emitting layer surrounded by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5), and wherein the first light emitting layer and a second light emitting layer provided outside the fluorine-based protective layer are separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a cathode provided on the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer is not separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5, element 123; [0121], lines 1-3, Fig. 2, [0067], last 2 lines, the second electrode is a cathode).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches a width of an upper end of the fluorine-based protective layer is greater than a width of a lower end of the fluorine-based protective layer (Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches color filters provided on the color pixels ([0078], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses no color filter is provided on the white pixel (color filter surrounding the white pixel but not on it).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a black matrix provided on an upper end of the fluorine-based protective layer ([0078], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit is provided adjacent to at least one of outsides of the white pixel (Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 and 20 are allowed.
Claim 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “a first color pixel and a second color pixel among the three color pixels are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween, and a third color pixel among the three color pixels and the white pixel are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination of limitations including “the fluorine-based structure surrounds only the first light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure does not surround the second light emitting layer, and the first light emitting layer is included in a white pixel and the second light emitting layer is included in a color pixel”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897