DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0359048).
Regarding to claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0063]);
a white pixel and color pixels provided in the display area (Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5, [0103], last 2 lines); and
a fluorine-based protective layer surrounding the white pixel (Figs. 4-5, Fig. 9, element BL2, [0165], lines 4-7).
Regarding to claim 2, Kim teaches the fluorine-based protective layer is provided on a bank surrounding the white pixel (Fig. 4A).
Regarding to claim 3, Kim teaches the white pixel includes a first light emitting layer surrounded by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5), and wherein the first light emitting layer and a second light emitting layer provided outside the fluorine-based protective layer are separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 4, Kim teaches a cathode provided on the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer is not separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 5, element 123; [0121], lines 1-3, Fig. 2, [0067], last 2 lines, the second electrode is a cathode).
Regarding to claim 5, Kim teaches a width of an upper end of the fluorine-based protective layer is greater than a width of a lower end of the fluorine-based protective layer (Figs. 4-5).
Regarding to claim 6, Kim teaches color filters provided on the color pixels ([0078], lines 1-3).
Regarding to claim 8, Kim teaches a black matrix provided on an upper end of the fluorine-based protective layer ([0078], lines 1-2).
Regarding to claim 10, Kim teaches a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit is provided adjacent to at least one of outsides of the white pixel (Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5).
Regarding to claim 15, Kim teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 5, element 100);
a first light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 5, the left OLED) and including a first anode (Fig. 5, element 121/left) and a first light emitting layer on the first anode (Fig. 5, element 122/left);
a second light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 5, the right OLED) and including a second anode (Fig. 5, element 121/right) and a second light emitting layer on the second anode (Fig. 5, element 122/right;
a fluorine-based structure between the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer, the first light emitting layer separated from the second light emitting layer by the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 5, element BL2, [0165], lines 4-7); and
a cathode on the first light emitting layer, the second light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 5, element 123).
Regarding to claim 16, Kim teaches the fluorine-based structure includes a reverse taper profile having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first end closer to the substrate, a first width of the first end smaller than a second width of the second end (Fig. 5, the fluorine-based structure BL2 includes reverse taper profile).
Regarding to claim 17, Kim teaches a bank structure between the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area, the fluorine-based structure on the bank structure (Fig. 5, element BL1).
Regarding to claim 18, Kim discloses a third light emitting layer on the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 1, Fig. 5, only 2 OLEDs are shown, however, array of pixel in the display area, as shown in Fig. 1, includes plurality of OLED pixels, the third light emitting layer is the light emitting layer in another OLED next to the second OLED), the third light emitting layer discontinuous from the first light emitting layer and from the second light emitting layer (Fig. 5, the cathode is continuous, not the emitting layers. Each OLED has a separate emitting layer 122).
Regarding to claim 19, Kim teaches the fluorine-based structure surrounds the first light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure does not surround the second light emitting layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 20, Kim teaches a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit through, wherein the first light emitting area is adjacent to the transmission area (Fig. 5, the area above the OLED).
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kudo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,137,576).
Regarding to claim 15, Kudo teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, element 11);
a first light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 1, the left OLED;) and including a first anode (Fig. 1, element 21/left) and a first light emitting layer on the first anode (Fig. 1, element 23/left);
a second light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 1, the center OLED) and including a second anode (Fig. 1, element 21/center) and a second light emitting layer on the second anode (Fig. 1, element 23/center);
a fluorine-based structure between the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer, the first light emitting layer separated from the second light emitting layer by the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 1, element 53, column 6, lines 57-63); and
a cathode on the first light emitting layer, the second light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 1, element 22).
Regarding to claim 16, Kudo teaches the fluorine-based structure includes a reverse taper profile having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first end closer to the substrate, a first width of the first end smaller than a second width of the second end (Fig. 1, the fluorine-based structure 53 includes reverse taper profile).
Regarding to claim 17, Kudo teaches a bank structure between the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area, the fluorine-based structure on the bank structure (Fig. 1, element 54).
Regarding to claim 19, Kudo teaches the fluorine-based structure surrounds the first light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure does not surround the second light emitting layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 20, Kudo teaches a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit through, wherein the first light emitting area is adjacent to the transmission area (Fig. 1, the area above the OLED).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0422569) in view of Kudo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,137,576).
Regarding to claim 1, Joo teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area (Fig. 7, Figs. 8A-B, element 100, [0060], lines 1-3);
a white pixel (Fig. 7, Figs. 8A-B, element PX4/OLED4, [0173], last line) and color pixels provided in the display area (Fig. 7, Figs. 8A-B, elements PX1/OLED1, PX2/OLED2, and PX3/OLED3, [0173], last 4 lines); and
a resin protective layer surrounding the white pixel (Fig. 8B, element 119, [0095], last 9 lines).
Joo does not disclose the resin protective layer is a fluorine-based protective layer.
Kudo discloses a fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 1, element 53, column 9, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Joo in view of Kudo to configure a fluorine-based protective layer surrounding the white pixel in order to enhance stability and durability.
Regarding to claim 2, Joo as modified discloses the fluorine-based protective layer is provided on a bank surrounding the white pixel (Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 3, Joo as modified discloses the white pixel includes a first light emitting layer surrounded by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 8B), and wherein the first light emitting layer and a second light emitting layer provided outside the fluorine-based protective layer are separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 4, Joo as modified discloses a cathode provided on the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer is not separated by the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 8B, element 230).
Regarding to claim 5, Joo as modified discloses a width of an upper end of the fluorine-based protective layer is greater than a width of a lower end of the fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 6, Joo as modified discloses color filters provided on the color pixels (8B, element 500).
Regarding to claim 7, Joo as modified discloses no color filter is provided on the white pixel (Fig. 8B, no filter 500 is provided on the white pixel OLED4).
Regarding to claim 9, Joo as modified discloses
the color filters are provided on an encapsulation substrate (Fig. 8B, color filter including layers 510, 520 and/or 530 are provided on encapsulation substrate 400),
an encapsulation layer is provided between the color pixels and the color filters (Fig. 8B, element 30), and
the encapsulation layer is provided between the white pixel and the encapsulation substrate (Fig. 8B, the encapsulation layer 30 is provided between the white pixel OLED4 and the encapsulation substrate 400).
Regarding to claim 10, Joo as modified discloses a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit is provided adjacent to at least one of outsides of the white pixel (Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 15, Joo as modified discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 8B, element 100);
a first light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 8B, element OLED3) and including a first anode (Fig. 8B, element 210G) and a first light emitting layer on the first anode (Fig. 8B, element 220);
a second light emitting area on the substrate (Fig. 8B, element OLED4) and including a second anode (Fig. 8B, element 210W) and a second light emitting layer on the second anode (Fig. 8B, element 220);
a resin structure between the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer, the first light emitting layer separated from the second light emitting layer by the resin structure (Fig. 8B, element 119, [0095], last 9 lines); and
a cathode on the first light emitting layer, the second light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure (Fig. 8B, element 230).
Joo does not disclose the resin protective layer is a fluorine-based protective layer.
Kudo discloses a fluorine-based protective layer (Fig. 1, element 53, column 9, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Joo in view of Kudo to configure a fluorine-based protective layer surrounding the white pixel in order to enhance stability and durability.
Regarding to claim 16, Joo as modified discloses the fluorine-based structure includes a reverse taper profile having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first end closer to the substrate, a first width of the first end smaller than a second width of the second end (Fig. 8B, the fluorine-based structure 119 includes a reverse taper profile).
Regarding to claim 19, Joo as modified discloses the fluorine-based structure surrounds the first light emitting layer and the fluorine-based structure does not surround the second light emitting layer (Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 20, Joo as modified discloses a transmission area configured to allow light to transmit through, wherein the first light emitting area is adjacent to the transmission area (Fig. 8B, the area above the OLED).
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0422569) and Kudo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,137,576), as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, further in view of Kim (U.S. Patent No. 11,003,038).
Regarding to claim 11, Joo discloses each of the unit pixels includes three color pixels and the white pixel (Fig. 7). Joe is silent about arrangement of data lines. However, Kim discloses
unit pixels are provided along an nth data line provided on the substrate (Figs. 2-3; column 4, lines 1-5),
each of the unit pixels includes three color pixels and the white pixel (Fig. 2),
a first color pixel and a second color pixel among the three color pixels are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween (Figs. 2-3), and
a third color pixel among the three color pixels and the white pixel are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween (Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Joo in view of Kim to provide unit pixels along an nth data line provided on the substrate, a first color pixel and a second color pixel among the three color pixels are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween, and a third color pixel among the three color pixels and the white pixel are arranged with the nth data line interposed therebetween, in order to control operations to the display panel.
Regarding to claim 13, Joo as modified discloses a first transmission area configured to allow light to transmit is on a first side of the nth data line with two pixels of the unit pixel positioned between the first transmission area and the nth data line (Kim, Figs. 2-3), and a second transmission area configured to allow light to transmit is on a second side of the nth data line with another two pixels of the unit pixel positioned between the second transmission area and the nth data line (Kim, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding to claim 14, Joo as modified discloses the unit pixels includes a first unit pixel, a second unit pixel, and a third unit pixel (Kim, Figs. 2-3), a white pixel of the first unit pixel is positioned on the first side of the nth data line (Kim, Figs. 2-3), a white pixel of the second unit pixel is positioned on the second side of the nth data line (Kim, Figs. 2-3), and a white pixel of the third unit pixel is positioned on the first side of the nth data line (Kim, Figs. 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 12, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “among the three-color pixels and the white pixel provided in the unit pixel, the fluorine-based protective layer surrounds only the white pixel” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 11.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-10079274-B2, US-10038037-B2, US-11289682-B2, and US-11849607-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “fluorine-based protective layer surrounding the white pixel.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897