DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C, Subspecies I in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 4-17 and 19 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton et al. (US 2021/0347624), and further in view of Tewari (US 2019/0276297).
Regarding Claim 1: Newton teaches a CIP system comprising: a first dispensing area (Fig. 1, element 28); a first clean-in-place device (Figs. 11, 12, 18; [0089]; and one or more processors configured to control the first clean-in-place device to clean the first dispensing area [0089, 0119].
Newton does not expressly disclose a second dispensing area and an Nth dispensing area wherein the processor is configured to control the first clean-in-place device to clean the second or Nth dispensing areas. However, Tewari teaches a similar CIP system comprising first, second, and Nth dispensing areas each cleaned by a CIP device of the system [0039, 0045, and 0052]. Tewari teaches that having multiple dispensing areas allows for variety of products without cross-contamination [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Newton with an Nth dispensing area cleaned by the first clean-in-place device in order to provide greater variety of product dispensed from the system, as suggested by Newton.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3: Newton and Tewari teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Newton teaches that cleaning agents are coupled to the system to allow cleaning solutions to clean all parts of the dispensing system [0059] but does not expressly disclose a first cleaning recipe to clean the first dispensing area and a second cleaning recipe to clean the second dispensing area, and an Nth cleaning recipe to clean the Nth dispensing area. However, Newton teaches that the system allows for multiple cleaning chemicals and cleaning cycles utilizing the chemicals for varying different lengths of time as needed to clean for different products which is beneficial because different products require different chemicals and different flush times [0094]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Newton and Tewari wherein the processor utilizes a first, second, and Nth cleaning recipe to clean the first, second, and Nth dispensing areas respectively in order to clean for different products more efficiently, as suggested by Newton.
Regarding Claim 18: Newton further teaches the system comprises a first CFValve coupled to the first clean-in-place device and the first CFValve is configured to maintain a relative constant flow of fluid from a variable pressure fluid supply to a fluid outlet, the CF Valve including: a) a valve housing having an inlet port and an outlet port adapted to be connected to the variable pressure fluid supply and the fluid outlet; b) a diaphragm chamber interposed between the inlet port and the outlet port; c) a cup contained within the diaphragm chamber; d) a diaphragm closing the cup; e) a piston assembly secured to a center of the diaphragm, the piston assembly having a cap and a base; f) a stem projecting from the cap through a first passageway in a barrier wall to terminate in a valve head; and g) a spring in the cup coacting with the base of the piston assembly for urging the diaphragm into a closed position, and the spring being responsive to fluid pressure above a predetermined level to adjust a size of a control orifice [0100].
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714