DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Bressan et al. (hereafter Bressan”)(US Patent 4,781,047).
With regards to claim 1, Bressan discloses a necking method, for forming a necked portion on a shell with an open end, comprising steps of:
forming an annular groove (115) on the shell, wherein the annular groove extends in a circumferential direction of the shell, as seen in Figures 4A-4B; and
expanding a width of the annular groove towards the open end to form the necked portion, as seen in Figures 4C-E [described in Column 8, lines 50 – Column 9, lines 25].
With regards to claim 2, Bressan discloses wherein the step of forming an annular groove on the shell comprises: limiting the open end when forming the annular groove, so as to limit outward movement of the open end.
With regards to claim 3, Bressan discloses wherein the step of expanding a width of the annular groove towards the open end to form the necked portion comprises: releasing the limit on the open end when expanding the width of the annular groove, so that the open end is folded outward to form a flanged portion (123), Column 9, lines 20-40.
With regards to claim 4, Bressan discloses further comprising: flattening the flanged portion [Column 9, lines 40-60].
With regards to claim 5, Bressan discloses wherein the step of forming an annular groove on the shell comprises: driving a first roller (11) to rotate around the shell and feed in a radial direction of the shell, so as to form the annular groove on the shell [described in Column 8, lines 50 – Column 9, lines 25].
With regards to claim 6, Bressan discloses wherein the first roller (11) has a first surface and a second surface opposite in its axial direction, and the first surface is farther from the open end than the second surface, as seen in at least Figure 1; and
the step of forming an annular groove on the shell further comprises: driving the shell to move axially after driving the first roller to rotate around the shell and feed in the radial direction of the shell, so that the shell is deformed, making the first surface attach to a side wall of the annular groove facing the first surface [described in Column 8, lines 50 – Column 9, lines 25].
Claims 8-10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Shibasaka (US Patent 5,228,321).
With regards to claim 8, Shibasaka discloses a necking apparatus, configured for forming a necked portion on a shell with an open end, comprising:
a first roller (4), configured to feed in a radial direction of the shell to form an annular groove on the shell; and
a second roller (3), configured to feed in the radial direction of the shell to form a necked portion and a flanged portion on the shell,
wherein the first roller has a first surface and a second surface opposite in its axial direction, and the second roller has a third surface and a fourth surface opposite in its axial direction, as seen in Figure 7a,
wherein the third surface is farther from the open end than the fourth surface, and a plane where the third surface is located is between the first surface and the second surface, as seen in at least Figure 7a.
With regards to claim 9, Shibasaka discloses wherein a thickness of the first roller (4) is less than that of the second roller (3), as seen in at least Figure 7a.
With regards to claim 10, Shibasaka discloses further comprising: an inner mold (2), configured for supporting the shell from interior of the shell, wherein the first roller and the second roller are disposed on a circumference of the inner mold, as seen in Figure 7a.
With regards to claim 16, Shibasaka discloses wherein the first roller and the second roller are spaced in a circumferential direction of the inner mold, as seen in at least Figure 7a.
With regards to claim 17, Shibasaka discloses further comprising: a support member (7), configured for supporting the shell.
With regards to claim 18, Shibasaka discloses further comprising: a first driving member (51), configured for driving the support member up and down [ Column 5, lines 5-40].
Claims 8-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Teramoto (US 2009/0151863).
With regards to claim 8, Teramoto discloses a necking apparatus, configured for forming a necked portion on a shell with an open end, comprising:
a first roller (27), configured to feed in a radial direction of the shell to form an annular groove on the shell; and
a second roller (15), configured to feed in the radial direction of the shell to form a necked portion and a flanged portion on the shell,
wherein the first roller has a first surface and a second surface opposite in its axial direction, and the second roller has a third surface and a fourth surface opposite in its axial direction, as seen in Figure 5,
wherein the third surface is farther from the open end than the fourth surface, and a plane where the third surface is located is between the first surface and the second surface, as seen in at least Figure 5.
With regards to claim 9, Teramoto discloses wherein a thickness of the first roller (27) is less than that of the second roller (15), as seen in at least Figure 5.
With regards to claim 10, Teramoto discloses further comprising: an inner mold (12), configured for supporting the shell from interior of the shell, wherein the first roller and the second roller are disposed on a circumference of the inner mold, as seen in Figure 5.
With regards to claim 16, Shibasaka discloses wherein the first roller and the second roller are spaced in a circumferential direction of the inner mold, as seen in at least Figure 5.
With regards to claim 17, Shibasaka discloses further comprising: a support member (8), configured for supporting the shell.
With regards to claim 18, Shibasaka discloses further comprising: a first driving member (9), configured for driving the support member up and down [paragraph 0050].
With regards to claim 19, Shibasaka discloses battery manufacturing device, comprising the necking apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the necking apparatus is configured for forming the necked portion on a battery shell (5), as described in at least the Abstract.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patents 4,606,207 & 3,688,538.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725