DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 23 October 2025. Claims 1 – 26 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 25, representative of claims 1 and 26, in part is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 25 recites invention directed to storing geographic map layout as plurality chunks of geographic area within the map, identified as tiles. When a request is received from a user, set of tiles requested by the user (e.g., geographic tiles in Zipcode 12345) are identified, and presented to the user as tiled layout of the geographic region (area-map of Zipcode 12345).
These limitations describe sales activities, Accessing stored geographic map to identify resources with a particular section of the geographic map and presenting the resources identified on the map would be part of marketing research. Causing presentation of the portion of geographic map with resources identified on the map would be the marketing team (or person) providing, such as a visual presentation to the requesting user.
Represented claims 1 and 26, which do recite statutory categories (machine, product of manufacture, for example), the same analysis as above applies to these claims since the method steps are the same. However, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. These claims add the generic computer components (additional elements) of a system comprising one or more hardware processors and a memory (claim 1), and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by a processor of a machine cause the machine to perform the method addressed above (claim 26).
The processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
When taken as an ordered combination, nothing is added that is not already present when the elements are taken individually. When viewed as a whole, the marketing activities amount to instructions applied using generic computer components.
As for dependent claims 2 – 24 dependent on the aforementioned independent claim 1, , these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of defining details regarding descriptions of various data, shape of polygon that will be used to display the results to the requesting user, what values will be included in the parameters. Thus, the dependent claims merely provide additional non-structural (and predominantly non-functional) details that fail to meaningfully limit the claims or the abstract idea(s).
Therefore, claims 1 – 26 are not drawn to eligible subject matter, as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 24 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawathe et al. US Publication 2015/0170387 in view of Mathworks published article “Create tiled chart Layout – MATLAB tiledlayout” hereinafter referred to as Mathworks.
Regarding claim 25 and represented claims 1 and 26, Chawathe teaches system and method for receiving a first request from a computing device for a portion of a map. The portion of the map includes combined map tiles that are a combination of corresponding ones of first map tiles from a first type of map and second map tiles from a second type of map (Chawathe, 0005] comprising:
a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions executable by a processor (Chawathe, implementation in one or more computer programs that are executable and/ or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor, which may be special or general purpose, coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.) [Sharifi, 0071];
receiving, using an interface, a user request (Chawathe, receiving a first request from a computing device for a portion of a map. The portion of the map includes combined map tiles that are a combination of corresponding ones of first map tiles from a first type of map and second map tiles from a second type of map) (Chawathe, 0005];
determining an initial state for tiles of a plurality of tiles based at least in part on the user request (Chawathe, the map tile server 126 can receive requests that include version identifiers for street map tiles, for street map tiles and bicycle path tiles, or for satellite image tiles and road tiles. the requested individual rerendered instances of the tiles are provided to the computing device.) [Chawathe, 0063, 0064];
determining, using a processor, a set of source geographic tiles of the plurality of tiles using the initial state based at least in part on the user request, wherein one or more source characteristics are associated with a source geographic tile of the set of source geographic tiles of the plurality of tiles using the initial state (Chawathe, the map tile server 126 can receive requests that include version identifiers for street map tiles, for street map tiles and bicycle path tiles, or for satellite image tiles and road tiles. the requested individual rerendered instances of the tiles are provided to the computing device.) [Chawathe, 0063, 0064];
Chawathe does not explicitly teach tiles associated with consumption. However, Mathworks teaches that tiles can be associated with user defined parameters [Mathworks, page 12, 17].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chawathe by adopting teachings of Mathworks to present data to the user as a tiled map like a tiled heat-map.
Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method further comprising:
determining a list of consumption geographic tiles, wherein one or more consumption parameters are associated with a consumption geographic tile of the list of consumption geographic tiles [Mathworks, page 12, 17];
generating a user display based at least in part on the one or more source characteristics and on the one or more consumption parameters (Chawathe, the request for a map tile may include multiple tile version identifiers. Accordingly, the map tile server 126, may combine the map tiles for the multiple tile version identifiers and provide the combined tile to the computing device 120, such as in the case of a road map tile combined with a bicycle path tile. In another example, the instructions from the map search server 116 may include instructions that, when executed by the computing device 120, overlay tiles with transparent backgrounds, such as street tiles, over other tiles, such as satellite image tiles. The result may be that the transparent tiles and the other tiles appear to be combined to a user of the computing device 120) [Chawathe, 0066];
providing the user display to a user associated with the user request (Chawathe, The computing device 120 then receives the overlay tile and the other tile, and uses the instructions to present the overlay tile on top of the other tile. The computing device 120 then presents the combination of the overlay tile and the other tile in the graphical user interface 200 as one of the map tiles 204a-1) [Chawathe, 0038].
Regarding claim 2, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the user request includes user data related to a specified source geographic tile (Chawathe, the map tile server 126 can receive requests that include version identifiers for street map tiles, for street map tiles and bicycle path tiles, or for satellite image tiles and road tiles. the requested individual rerendered instances of the tiles are provided to the computing device.) [Chawathe, 0063, 0064].
Regarding claim 3, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the user request includes user data related to a specified consumption geographic tile (Chawathe, the map tile server 126 can receive requests that include version identifiers for street map tiles, for street map tiles and bicycle path tiles, or for satellite image tiles and road tiles. the requested individual rerendered instances of the tiles are provided to the computing device.) [Chawathe, 0063, 0064].
Regarding claim 9, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the user display generated based at least in part on a transportation consideration (Chawathe, the request for a map tile may include multiple tile version identifiers. Accordingly, the map tile server 126, may combine the map tiles for the multiple tile version identifiers and provide the combined tile to the computing device 120, such as in the case of a road map tile combined with a bicycle path tile. In another example, the instructions from the map search server 116 may include instructions that, when executed by the computing device 120, overlay tiles with transparent backgrounds, such as street tiles, over other tiles, such as satellite image tiles. The result may be that the transparent tiles and the other tiles appear to be combined to a user of the computing device 120) [Chawathe, 0066].
Regarding claim 11, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the transportation consideration is based at least in part on transporting an output from a selected source geographic tile to a selected consumption geographic tile (Chawathe, the map tile server 126 can receive requests that include version identifiers for street map tiles, for street map tiles and bicycle path tiles, or for satellite image tiles and road tiles. the requested individual rerendered instances of the tiles are provided to the computing device.) [Chawathe, 0063, 0064].
Regarding claim 13, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the graphic user display comprises one or more of the following: a global assessment view, a global rank view, a primary project view, a project node view, an economics breakdown view, an economic outlook view, a greenhouse gas breakdown view, a competition breakdown view, a project competitiveness view, a customer breakdown view, a transportation breakdown view, a surroundings summary view, a scenario view, an uncertainty view, a project design summary view, a performance analysis summary view, a surroundings analysis summary view, a location summary view, a time series view, a facility data view, a filter view, a supply chain view, a results summary view, a performance summary economics view, a performance summary emissions view, a performance summary consumption view, a data depth view, a selection view, or a data confidence view (Mathworks teaches that tiles can be associated with user defined parameters) [Mathworks, page 12, 17].
Regarding claim 14, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, further comprising receiving a user instruction for a follow-up action (Chawathe, Once map tiles have been rendered, a client computing device can then download the map tiles from the mapping system and arrange the downloaded map tiles for display in an application window. The map often includes multiple zoom levels, where each map tile in a low, zoomed-in level represents a smaller portion of the map than each tile in a higher, zoomed-out level. In some cases, as a user pans and zooms through the map, the client computing device downloads additional map tiles from the mapping system for display in the application window.) [Chawathe, 0004].
Regarding claim 16, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein a follow-up action comprises an update input data action, wherein the update input data action comprises receiving updated input data, generating an updated user display based at least in part on the updated input data, and providing the updated user display to the user (Chawathe, The system receives updates to one or more features in geospatial information that describes a map. The system includes map tiles that are rendered from the geospatial information. In response to receiving the updates, the system re-renders one or more of the map tiles for portions of the map that correspond to the updated features) [Chawathe, 0017].
Regarding claim 17, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein a follow-up action comprises a further display request action, wherein the further display request action comprises receiving updated display request, generating an updated user display based at least in part on the updated display request, and providing the updated user display to the user (Chawathe, When a new map tile is designated for downloading to the requesting computing device, the map tile version identifier of the map tile is updated in response to rerendering the map tile.) [Chawathe, 0033, 0017].
Regarding claim 24, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks teaches system and method, wherein the ranked list of transportation routes comprises a ranked list in terms of one of the following: a transportation cost, a transportation greenhouse gas emission, or a transportation time (Mathworks teaches that tiles can be associated with user defined parameters) [Mathworks, page 12, 17].
Claims 4 – 8, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 19 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawathe et al. US Publication 2015/0170387 in view of Mathworks published article “Create tiled chart Layout – MATLAB tiledlayout” hereinafter referred to as Mathworks and Official-Notice.
Regarding claim 4, Chawathe in view of Mathworks does not explicitly teach hexagonal shaped geographic area. However, Mathworks teaches that tiles can he represented a polygon. Mathworks teaches a 4-sided polygon. Official-Notice is taken that it is a design choice to decide how the results will be outputted.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mathworks tile shape teachings and replace the 4-sided polygon with a 6-sided polygon (a Hexagon).
as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the source geographic tile of the set of source geographic tiles comprises a hexagonal shaped geographic area [Mathworks, page 17].
Regarding claim 5, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the consumption geographic tile of the list of consumption geographic tiles comprises a hexagonal shaped geographic area (as responded to above) [Mathworks, page 17].
Regarding claim 6, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein a source characteristic of the one or more source characteristics comprises one of the following: an economic characteristic, an emission characteristic, or a fit characteristic (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more an economic characteristic, an emission characteristic, or a fit characteristic. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the source characteristic of the one or more source characteristics comprises a fit characteristic, wherein the fit characteristic comprises one of the following: a water supply fit, a biodiversity impact fit, an air quality fit, a population fit, a human constraint fit, an environmental constraint fit, a flood risk fit, a wildfire risk fit, a local sentiment fit, a corruption risk fit, or a permit risk fit (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of a water supply fit, a biodiversity impact fit, an air quality fit, a population fit, a human constraint fit, an environmental constraint fit, a flood risk fit, a wildfire risk fit, a local sentiment fit, a corruption risk fit, or a permit risk fit. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 8, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein a consumption parameter of the one or more consumption parameters comprises one of the following: commodity volume, commodity specification, operator credit rating, or operator indications of interest in securing alternative commodity supply (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of commodity volume, commodity specification, operator credit rating, or operator indications of interest in securing alternative commodity supply. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 10, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the transportation consideration is associated with one or more of road transportation, rail transportation, pipeline transportation, and/or marine transportation (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of road transportation, rail transportation, pipeline transportation, and/or marine transportation. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 12, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the transportation consideration is associated with new transportation routes taking economics, emissions, and fit into account (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of new transportation routes taking economics, emissions, and fit into account. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 15, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the follow-up action comprises one or more of the following: a share results action, a download financial pro forma action, a download summary presentation action, an additional data request action, a third party referral action, a finance quote action, an update input data action, an action to transfer data to user system, or a further display request action (Chawathe, Once map tiles have been rendered, a client computing device can then download the map tiles from the mapping system and arrange the downloaded map tiles for display in an application window. The map often includes multiple zoom levels, where each map tile in a low, zoomed-in level represents a smaller portion of the map than each tile in a higher, zoomed-out level. In some cases, as a user pans and zooms through the map, the client computing device downloads additional map tiles from the mapping system for display in the application window; Official-Notice is taken that sharing of content with peers/co-workers is an old and known business practice at the time of the invention) [Chawathe, 0004].
Regarding claim 18, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the user display includes confidence data (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of confidence data. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 19, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the confidence data is based at least in part on reliability data associated with system input data (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more of confidence data based on reliability data. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 20, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein generating the user display is based at least in part on an algebraic expression based at least in part on the one or more source characteristics (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more source characteristics. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 21, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein generating the user display is based at least in part on an algebraic expression based at least in part on the one or more consumption parameters (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with one or more consumption parameters. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 22, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein generating the user display is based at least in part on an algebraic expression based at least in part on a list of transportation determinations (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with a list of transportation parameters. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Regarding claim 23, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Chawathe in view of Mathworks and Official-Notice teaches system and method, wherein the list of transportation determinations comprises a ranked list of transportation routes from a selected source geographic tile to a selected consumption geographic tile (Official-Notice is taken that it a business decision to decide what parameters to consider for calculating a value. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a business to meet their requirements, can replace Chawathe calculation parameters with a ranked list of transportation parameters. Chawathe, The individual tile renderer 114 may represent the number of ten second intervals in a two week period using six digits. In some implementations, the individual tile renderer 114 divides the number of seconds that have elapsed since the last bulk rendering by a particular number, such as ten (e.g., the frequency with which updates occur), to calculate the additional portion of the individual tile version identifier.) [Chawathe, 0024].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are directed to added limitations to independent claims, which have been responded to in this office action in Rejection Under 35 UCS 101 section and Rejection Under 35 USC 103 section.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Basovnik et al. US Publication 2015/0269250 which teaches Polygon-based indexing of place which teaches after receiving an identification of a location, at least one of the places identified in the inverted index is identified in multiple records corresponding to multiple map tiles, where the map tiles collectively define an area that circumscribes the place.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
January 24, 2026