DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 each recite the limitation "the bridges", where previously the recitation is a plurality of bridges. There is insufficient clear antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear if the reference is to one, some or all of the previously recited plurality of bridges. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitations are interpreted as the plurality of bridges.
Claim 3 recite the limitation "the openings", where previously the recitation is a plurality of openings. There is insufficient clear antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear if the reference is to one, some or all of the previously recited plurality of openings. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitations are interpreted as the plurality of openings.
Claims 3-4 each recite the limitation "the dummy openings", where previously the recitation is a plurality of dummy openings. There is insufficient clear antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear if the reference is to one, some or all of the previously recited plurality of dummy openings. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitations are interpreted as the plurality of dummy openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baek (US 2022/0384769).
In regards to claim 1, Baek teaches an apparatus (1) for manufacturing a display module, the apparatus comprising:
a second support (15, stage) (fig. 1; para. 57-58); and
a mask (1200) disposed over the second support (fig. 1-2; para. 58, 68),
the mask includes:
a deposition pattern portion (AP, body) (fig. 3-4, 9; para. 87);
a frame (see solid portion surrounding labels of AP & DP) the surrounding the deposition pattern portion (fig. 3-4, 9); and
a plurality of dummy pattern portion (DP) provides
a plurality of ribs (see solid portion around DH that provide bridges) disposed between the deposition pattern portion and the frame and extending from the deposition pattern portion (body) toward the frame (fig. 3-5, 9; para. 99-102),
and a plurality of dummy holes (DH, openings) are defined between the plurality of ribs (bridges) (fig. 3-4, 9; para. 87, 92, 98-99).
In regards to claim 2, Baek teaches the plurality of dummy pattern portion (DP) comprising the plurality of ribs (bridges) are provided along the perimeter of the deposition pattern portion (AP, body) (fig. 3-5, 9).
In regards to claim 5, Baek teaches the deposition pattern portion (AP, body), frame and plurality of ribs (see solid portion around DH that provide bridges) are integrally formed with each other (fig. 3-5, 9).
In regards to claim 9, Baek teaches the plurality of ribs (see solid portion around DH that provide bridges) have a bent shape from the deposition pattern portion to the frame (fig. 3-5, 9).
In regards to claim 10, Baek teaches the plurality of ribs comprises straight lines (fig. 3-5, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2022/0102638) in view of Baek (US 2015/0165464).
In regards to claim 1, Jang teaches deposition apparatus (100) comprising:
a second holder (134, stage) (fig. 1; para. 50-51);
a mask-frame assembly (200) with a mask sticks (220) (fig. 1-2; para. 52).
Jang does not explicitly teach the mask includes: a body; a frame surrounding the body; and a plurality of bridges disposed between the body and the frame and extending from the body toward the frame, and wherein a plurality of openings are defined between the bridges.
However, Baek teaches a mask (200) comprising:
a body provided as active pattern region (AP) which comprises a plurality of first holes (215) separated by a plurality of first bars (217) (fig. 7-9; para. 66);
a frame is provided as the mask main body (MM) which surrounds the active pattern region (fig. 7; para. 60, 87); and
a plurality of ribs (237, bridges) disposed between the active pattern region and the frame and extending from the active pattern region toward the frame (fig. 8-9; para. 87-90), and
wherein a plurality of third holes (235, openings) are defined between the bridges (fig. 8-9; para. 87-90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mask of Baek onto the mask of Jang because Baek teaches it will reduce deterioration of the form of the active pattern portion of the mask (para. 11).
In regards to claim 2, Jang and Baek as discussed, where Baek teaches the plurality of ribs around located along a perimeter of the active pattern region (AP) (fig. 7-9).
In regards to claims 3-4, Jang and Baek as discussed, where Baek teaches a first dummy pattern (DP1, dummy opening) surrounds the plurality of ribs and the plurality of third holes (fig. 8-9; para. 87-89).
In regards to claim 5, Jang and Baek as discussed, where Baek teaches the active pattern region, frame and the plurality of ribs are integrally formed with each other (fig. 7-9).
In regards to claim 6, Jang and Baek as discussed but do not explicitly teach each of the plurality of bridges has a width of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm, inclusive.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have sized the plurality of bridges between of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm, to prevent deformation of the active pattern region, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP-2144.05-II-A).
In regards to claims 9-10, Jang and Baek as discussed, where Baek teaches the plurality of ribs provide a bent shape along with straight lines to outline the plurality of third holes (fig. 7-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717