Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of embodiment 1 in the reply filed on 06/02/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorhout et al., US 2017/0301685 in view of Ramaswamy, U.S. Patent 8,846,516.
Dorhout et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed including an integrated assembly, comprising:
A stack of alternating first and second levels (18 and 50); the first levels including conductive structures 50 and the second levels being insulative 18 (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0009-;0025)
Channel-material-pillars 34 extending vertically through the stack; and
A charge trapping layer 38 extending vertically along the channel-material-pillars (see paragraphs 0008-0026).
Dorhout et al. does not expressly disclose first and second charge trapping layers comprising a trap enhancing additive. Ramaswamy discloses forming a charge trapping regions with trap enhancing additives (metals) with a variety of thicknesses and concentrations (see figs. 2-3 and col. 3-line 46 to col. 8-line 5). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form a charge trapping material with metal sites in the primary reference of Dorhout et al. as suggested by Ramaswamy because improved programming and erase voltages can be facilitated.
Regarding the charge trapping layers being formed of a multitude of layers (for example, two or three), note that the claims are directed to the product rather than process and therefore the way in which the device is formed does not render the claims patentable unless it materially affects the final device features.
With respect to dependent claims 2, 4-5, 7, 9-13, 15-17, and 20, note that Ramaswamy discloses charge trapping layers with a different distribution of concentrations (see fig. 3). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the particular concentration of the trap enhancing additives to obtain a desired concentration profile (see col. 7-lines 37-39 and col. 5-lines 1-20) and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results. Moreover, the particular thickness of the various charge trapping layers are also process limitations since the charge trapping region 220 of Ramaswamy can be broken down into an infinite number of smaller regions since the claims fail to disclose any distinguishing features between the different charge trapping “layers”.
As to dependent claims 14 and 19, note that in the Ramaswamy reference, portions of the charge trapping layer may not have the trap enhancing additive (see fig. 3).
Concerning independent claim 15, note that Ramaswamy discloses different regions of the charge trapping regions where the additives have a higher concentration in one region than another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kitamura et al., US 2010/0171417 discloses the use of charge trapping additives (see paragraph 0340).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
July 23, 2026