Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on (10/30/24, 02/24/25, 06/03/25, 11/03/25, 03/28/26) was filed in a timely manner; thus, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) #1-8, 10, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by KIM et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0202886), hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Kim shows, with respect to claim #1, display device, comprising: a subpixel (fig. #3A, item RP, GP, BP) (paragraph 0055) including a first area (fig. #Ex1, item Ol1) overlapping an organic light emitting diode (paragraph 0048, 0050), and a second area (fig. #Ex1, item NOP) that is non-overlapping with the organic light emitting diode and surrounds an outer periphery of the first area (fig. #3B) (paragraph 0047); a main emission area (fig. #2, item DA) in the first area (paragraph 0041); and a reflected light area (fig. #4, item 230) surrounding an outer periphery of the main emission area in the second area (paragraph 0061), the reflected light area having one side portion protruding (fig. #5a, item 235) outward such that a protruding area is formed (paragraph 0094).
[AltContent: textbox (Non-Overlap; NOP)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Overlap; Ol1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ex1)][AltContent: textbox (Overlap; Ol2)][AltContent: oval]
Kim shows, with respect to claim #2, a device further comprising: a side ring (fig. #4, item 240) between the main emission area (fig. #4, item RP, GP, BP) and the reflected light area (fig. #4, item 230 also seen in above in fig. #Ex1, item NOP) (paragraph 0057).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #3, a device wherein the side ring comprises a protruding shape (fig. #5a, item 235) according to the protruding area (paragraph 0094).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #4, a device wherein a width of the side ring is thickest in the protruding area (fig. #5a, item 235) (paragraph 0094).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #5, a device wherein the subpixel further includes: a base substrate (fig. #8b, item 111) (paragraph 0038) including the first area (fig. #5b, item NEA) and the second area (fig. #5b, item RP) (paragraph 0047); a first planarization layer (fig. #5b, item 115) (paragraph 0059) on the base substrate, the first planarization layer (fig. #5b, item 115) having a first contact hole (fig. #5b, item CNT1) (paragraph 0092, 0147); a second planarization layer (fig. #5b, item 114) (paragraph 0090-0091) on the first planarization layer, the second planarization layer having a second contact hole (fig. #5b, item 213) overlapping the first contact hole (fig. #5b, item 114) (paragraph 0090-0092).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #6, a device wherein the protruding area protrudes in a direction in which the second contact hole is disposed (fig. #5a, item 235) (paragraph 0094).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #7, a device wherein the first contact hole and the second contact hole are positioned in the protruding area (paragraph ) (fig. #5a, item 235) (paragraph 0094).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #8, a device wherein a horizontal distance between an opening (fig. 5a, item CNT2) and a portion of a second body (fig. 5a, item 116) portion of a first electrode disposed on a side portion of a third planarization layer (fig. 5a, item 117) is controlled by resizing a hole of the third planarization layer (paragraph 0094).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #10, a device , wherein the opening (fig. #5B, item CNT2) (paragraph 0096) overlaps the hole of the third planarization layer (fig. #5B, item 116) (paragraph 0069) without overlapping the first contact hole (fig. #5B, item CNT1) (paragraph 0092) and the second contact hole (fig. #5B, item 213) (paragraph 0087, 0096).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #11, a device wherein the first electrode includes: a first electrode area (fig. 5B, item 230) (paragraph 0053) overlapping the second contact hole (fig. #5B, item CNT2) (paragraph 0096); and a second electrode area (fig. #5B, item CNT1) (paragraph 0092) extending from a side of the first electrode area and overlapping the opening.
Kim shows, with respect to claim #18, a device further comprising: a data line electrically connected to the subpixel, wherein the data line (fig. 1, item 130) is in a row (paragraph 0037).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #19, a device wherein a plurality of subpixels are provided, and the data line overlaps at least two subpixels (fig. #5B, items 260) (paragraph 0057, 0066).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #20, a device wherein a plurality of subpixels are provided, and the data line overlaps a reflected light area (fig. #5B, items 230) of at least one of the plurality of subpixels (fig. #5B, items 260) (paragraph 0061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) #12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KIM et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0202886), hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Kim shows, with respect to claim #12, a device wherein the hole in the third planarization layer (fig. #5B, item 116) (paragraph 0069) includes: a first hole area (Below, fig. #Ex2 , item HA1) extending from an end portion of second body portion overlapping the second contact hole (fig. #5b, item 213) to a nearest side of an outer periphery of the second body portion within the second electrode area (paragraph 0087, 0096); and a second hole area (Below, fig. #Ex2 , item HA2) extending from a side of the first hole area to another side of the outer periphery of the second body portion, the second hole area overlapping the opening.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd Hole Area; HA2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (1st Hole Area; HA1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (DC2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (DC1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Ex2)][AltContent: textbox (116)][AltContent: ]
Kim shows, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein a separation distance (above, fig. #Ex2 , item HA1) between the opening and the outer periphery of the second body portion is controlled by changing a width of the second hole area (paragraph 0069, 0087, 009).
Kim shows, with respect to claim #14, a device wherein a distance from a center of the opening to an end portion (above, fig. #Ex2 , item DC1) of the second body portion disposed in the first hole area is larger than a distance (above, fig. #Ex2 , item DC2) from the center of the opening to an end portion of the second body portion disposed in the second hole area (paragraph 0069, 0087, 009).
//
Claim #15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0202886), hereinafter referred to as "Kim" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above, and in view of OKAZAKI et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0164168), hereinafter referred to as "Okazaki".
Kim substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Kim fails to show, with respect to claim #15, a device wherein the subpixel includes a first subpixel, a second subpixel, a third subpixel, and a fourth subpixel adjacent to each other, and wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel have a rectangular shape, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel have an oval shape.
Okazaki teaches, with respect to claim #15 a device wherein the subpixel includes a first subpixel, a second subpixel, a third subpixel, and a fourth subpixel adjacent to each other, and wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel have a rectangular shape, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel have an oval shape (fig. #5a, item 110a-b; fig #6a, item 110 B,R,G) (paragraph 0209, 0215, 0220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #15, to modified the invention of Kim as modified by the invention of Okazaki, which teaches, wherein the subpixel includes a first subpixel, a second subpixel, a third subpixel, and a fourth subpixel adjacent to each other, and wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel have a rectangular shape, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel have an oval shape, to incorporate a structural condition with a large size, high resolution, or high definition, with enhanced stability and clarity of display results, as taught by Okazaki.
Kim fails to show, with respect to claim #16, a device wherein the subpixel includes a first subpixel, a second subpixel, a third subpixel, and a fourth subpixel adjacent to each other, and wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel have a rectangular shape, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel have an oval shape.
Okazaki teaches, with respect to claim #16 a device wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel are symmetrical in a horizontal axis, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel are symmetrical in a vertical axis (fig. #4a, item 110a-d) (paragraph 0209, 0215, 0197-0201).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #16, to modified the invention of Kim as modified by the invention of Okazaki, which teaches wherein the first subpixel and the fourth subpixel are symmetrical in a horizontal axis, and the second subpixel and the third subpixel are symmetrical in a vertical axis, to incorporate a structural condition with a large size, high resolution, or high definition, with enhanced stability and clarity of display results, as taught by Okazaki.
///
Claim #17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0202886), hereinafter referred to as "Kim" as modified by OKAZAKI et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0164168), hereinafter referred to as "Okazaki", as shown in the rejection of claim #15 above, and in further view of GUO et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0206234), hereinafter referred to as "Guo".
Kim as modified by Okazaki, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #15 above.
Kim as modified by Okazaki, fails to show, with respect to claim #17, a device wherein protruding areas of the first subpixel and the third subpixel protrude in an outward direction, and protruding areas of the fourth subpixel and the second subpixel protrude in an inward direction.
Guo teaches, with respect to claim #17, a device wherein protruding areas (fig. #10b, item 300) (paragraph 0101, 0212) of the first subpixel (fig. #10b, item 103, 102) (paragraph 0207) and the third subpixel protrude in an outward direction (paragraph 0155, 0201), and protruding areas of the fourth subpixel and the second subpixel protrude in an inward direction (paragraph 0123) (paragraph 0209).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #17, to modified the invention of Kim as modified by Okazaki, with the invention of Guo, which teaches, wherein protruding areas of the first subpixel and the third subpixel protrude in an outward direction, and protruding areas of the fourth subpixel and the second subpixel protrude in an inward direction, to incorporate a structural condition that would accommodate further connective directions as well as providing barrier locations conducive to design requirements, as taught by Guo.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims #9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement for indicating allowable subject matter: While the prior art teaches a display device, comprising: a subpixel including a first area overlapping an organic light emitting diode, and a second area that is non-overlapping with the organic light emitting diode and surrounds an outer periphery of the first area; a main emission area in the first area; and a reflected light area surrounding an outer periphery of the main emission area in the second area, the reflected light area having one side portion protruding outward such that a protruding area is formed, (KIM et al., 2021/0202886; OKAZAKI et al., 2024/0164168; GUO et al., 2024/0206234), it fails to teach either collectively or alone, with respect to claim #9, wherein a height of a bank layer disposed between the second contact hole and the first area is larger than a height of the bank layer overlapping the third planarization layer, and smaller than a height of the bank layer overlapping the second contact hole.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
05/27/2026
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899