DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office action on the merits responsive to applicant’s original disclosure filed on 5/8/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 5/27/2024, 6/12/2024, 8/1/2024, 8/8/2024, 8/30/2024, 11/27/2024, 12/26/2024, 1/30/2025, 6/18/2025, 7/21/2025, 8/14/2025, 8/20/2025, 10/15/2025, 11/7/2025 and 12/9/2025 are being considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/8/2024 are acceptable for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-7, “a combination of these” is objected to because it is unclear what “these” is referring to and thus the limitation lacks antecedent basis. This objection can be overcome by reciting, “a combination thereof .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connecting member” in claims 8 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, “a plurality of connecting members” is indefinite because the claims previously recite a connecting member. It is unclear whether the limitation includes or does not include the previously recited connecting member. This rejection can be overcome by clarifying in the claim that the previously recited connecting member in claim 8 includes a plurality of connecting members, such as by reciting, “wherein the connecting member comprises a plurality of connecting members” or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karle et al. (US 20160130812) (‘Karle’).
Claim 1, Karle provides a precast concrete panel 3 comprising:
a first layer 11 forming a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12), wherein the first layer has concrete (“concrete layer” [0071]) with a reinforcement structure (1 bottom; Fig. 12);
a core 6 having a thermally insulating material (“insulation element” 6); and
a second layer 14 forming a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12), wherein the second layer has fiber reinforced concrete (“concrete” [0071] with fiber reinforcement 1 top [0028], as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 12),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12).
Claim 2, Karle further provides wherein the core is sandwiched between the first layer and the second layer (Fig. 12).
Claim 6, Karle further provides the second layer having fiber reinforced concrete, wherein the fiber includes one or more of metal fibers, glass fibers, synthetic fibers, natural fibers, or a combination of these (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “concrete” [0071] is reinforced with fibers [0028]-[0029], as exceedingly broadly claimed).
Claim 7, Karle further provides wherein the thermally insulating material includes one or more of polystyrene (EPS), polyurethane foam (PUR), mineral wool, or a combination of these (“polyurethane foam” [0030]).
Claim 14, Karle provides a method of forming a precast concrete panel 3, the method comprising:
forming a first layer of the precast concrete panel 11 having concrete (“concrete” [0071]) with a reinforcement structure (bottom 1; Fig. 12), wherein the first layer forms a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12);
placing a core 6 having a thermally insulating material on the first layer (“thermal insulation element; claim 1; Fig. 12); and
forming a second layer of the precast concrete panel 14 having fiber reinforced concrete (“concrete” [0071] with reinforcing fiber 1 top [0028], as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 12), wherein the second layer forms a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 12).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hou et al. (US 20200240144) (‘Hou’).
Claim 1, Hou provides a precast concrete panel (Fig. 9) comprising:
a first layer (rear layer 13) forming a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9), wherein the first layer has concrete (“concrete” layer [0113]) with a reinforcement structure 15;
a core 14 having a thermally insulating material [0122]; and
a second layer (front layer 13) forming a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9), wherein the second layer has fiber reinforced concrete (“glass fiber” [0160]),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9).
Claim 2, Hou further provides wherein the core is sandwiched between the first layer and the second layer (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first and second layers are outer layers and the core is located therebetween, thus being sandwiched between, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 9).
Claim 5, Hou further provides the first layer having concrete with the reinforcement structure (Fig. 9), wherein the reinforcement structure includes a single-layer metal mesh (15 “steel wires” [0151]).
Claim 6, Hou further provides the second layer having fiber reinforced concrete, wherein the fiber includes one or more of metal fibers, glass fibers, synthetic fibers, natural fibers, or a combination of these (”glass fiber” [0160]).
Claim 7, Hou further provides wherein the thermally insulating material includes one or more of polystyrene (EPS), polyurethane foam (PUR), mineral wool, or a combination of these (EPS [0122]).
Claim 13, Hou further provides wherein the core has a variable thickness throughout a length of the precast concrete panel (see thickness of 14 along a length thereof in Fig. 9).
Claim 14, Hou provides a method of forming a precast concrete panel, the method comprising:
forming a first layer of the precast concrete panel (rear layer 13; Fig. 9) having concrete (“concrete” layer [0113]) with a reinforcement structure 15, wherein the first layer forms a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9);
placing a core 14 having a thermally insulating material [0122] on the first layer on the rear layer 13; Fig. 9); and
forming a second layer (13 front; Fig. 9) of the precast concrete panel having fiber reinforced concrete (“glass fiber” [0160]), wherein the second layer forms a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 9).
Claim 16, Hou further provides wherein the reinforcement structure comprises a single-layer metal mesh (“steel wires” [0151]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-12, 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu (WO 2015135440).
Claim 1, Chu provides a precast concrete panel (Fig. 4) comprising:
a first layer 2 forming a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4), wherein the first layer has concrete (“concrete” English translation) with a reinforcement structure (“anchoring steel plates or other steel components, by bolting or welding”; English translation);
a core 3 having a thermally insulating material (“insulation layer 3”; English translation); and
a second layer 1 forming a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4), wherein the second layer has fiber reinforced concrete (“concrete” with a “fiber reinforced composite”; English translation),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4).
Claim 2, Chu further provides wherein the core is sandwiched between the first layer and the second layer (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the core is located between the first and second layers and thus was treated as being sandwiched between the first and second layers, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 4).
Claim 8, Chu further provides a connecting member 7 for interconnecting the precast concrete panel to an adjacent precast concrete panel (Fig. 4; as generically shown in Figs. 4-12).
Claim 9, Chu further provides wherein the connecting member is a wire loop that overlaps with another wire loop of the adjacent precast concrete panel to create a hook (see Figs. 5-8), wherein a metal rod 9 passes through the hook and locks the precast concrete panel to the adjacent precast concrete panel (generically shown in Figs. 6-8).
Claim 10, Chu further provides a plurality of connecting members 9 along an edge of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 5; generically shown in Figs. 4-12).
Claim 11, Chu further provides wherein the precast concrete panel includes a first recessed section, at a bottom side of the precast concrete panel, to be used for coupling to a foundation (bottom recess section 5; Fig. 4). It is noted that the claim does not positively recite a foundation, and does not positively recite coupling the precast concrete panel to a foundation, but that Chu’s precast concrete panel is suitable to be coupled to a foundation at the first recessed section, and thus Chu meets the claim.
Claim 12, Chu further provides wherein the precast concrete panel includes a second recessed section, at a top side of the precast concrete panel, to be used for coupling to another precast concrete panel (second recessed section 5 at the top of the precast concrete panel; Fig. 4). It is noted that the claim does not positively recite a another precast concrete panel, and does not positively recite coupling the precast concrete panel to another precast concrete panel, but that Chu’s precast concrete panel is suitable to be coupled to another precast concrete panel at the second recessed section, and thus Chu meets the claim.
Claim 14, Chu provides a method of forming a precast concrete panel, the method comprising:
forming a first layer 2 of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4) having concrete (“concrete” English translation) with a reinforcement structure (“anchoring steel plates or other steel components, by bolting or welding”; English translation), wherein the first layer forms a rear-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4);
placing a core 3 having a thermally insulating material on the first layer (“insulation layer 3” on the first layer; English translation; Fig. 4); and
forming a second layer 1 of the precast concrete panel having fiber reinforced concrete (“concrete” with a “fiber reinforced composite”; English translation), wherein the second layer forms a front-side of the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4),
wherein the first layer, the core, and the second layer are coupled to each other to form the precast concrete panel (Fig. 4).
Claim 17, Chu further provides attaching one or more connecting members 7 to an edge of the precast concrete panel for interconnecting the precast concrete panel to an adjacent precast concrete panel during installation (generically shown in Figs. 5-8).
Claim 18, Chu further provides wherein the one or more connecting members is a wire loop (7 is a wire loop; Fig. 4) that overlaps with another wire loop of the adjacent precast concrete panel to create a hook (generically shown in Figs. 5-8), wherein a metal rod 9 passes through the hook and locks the precast concrete panel to the adjacent precast concrete panel (generically shown in Figs. 6-8).
Claim 19, Chu further provides forming a first recessed section, at a bottom side of the precast concrete panel, to be used for coupling to a foundation (first recessed section 5 at the bottom of the precast concrete panel; Fig. 4). It is noted that the claim does not positively recite a foundation, and does not positively recite coupling the precast concrete panel to a foundation, but that Chu’s precast concrete panel is suitable to be coupled to a foundation at the first recessed section, and thus Chu meets the claim.
Claim 20, Chu further provides forming a second recessed section, at a top side of the precast concrete panel, to be used for coupling to another precast concrete panel (second recessed section 5 at the top of the precast concrete panel; Fig. 4). It is noted that the claim does not positively recite a another precast concrete panel, and does not positively recite coupling the precast concrete panel to another precast concrete panel, but that Chu’s precast concrete panel is suitable to be coupled to another precast concrete panel at the second recessed section, and thus Chu meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karle et al. (US 20160130812) (‘Karle’).
Claims 3-4, Karle teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above. The embodiment of Fig. 12 does not teach [claim 3] a load bearing element traversing, at least in part, through the first layer, the core, and the second layer, and [claim 4] wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder having an upper bar and two lower bars connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members. However, the embodiment of Fig. 11 teaches a load bearing element (18, 19, 20, 22, collectively; [0062]; [0069]; Fig. 11) traversing, at least in part, through the first layer, the core, and the second layer (Fig. 11), wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder (defined by 18, 19, 20, 22; Fig. 11) having an upper bar 20 and two lower bars 22 connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of the embodiments of Figs. 11 and 12 by incorporating a load bearing element traversing, at least in part, through the first layer, the core, and the second layer, wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder having an upper bar and two lower bars connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members, with the reasonable expectation of success of further reinforcing the precast concrete panel using a known technique, since the embodiments of Figs. 11 and 12 were treated as obvious variants of one another.
Claim 15, Karle teaches all the limitations of claim 14 as above. The embodiment of Fig. 12 does not teach adding a load bearing member along with the reinforcement structure, wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder having an upper bar and two lower bars connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members. However, the embodiment of Fig. 11 teaches adding a load bearing member (18, 19, 20, 22, collectively; [0062]; [0069]; Fig. 11) along with the reinforcement structure (Fig. 11), wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder (defined by 18, 19, 20, 22; [0062]; [0069]; Fig. 11) having an upper bar 20 and two lower bars 22 connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of the embodiments of Figs. 11 and 12 by adding a load bearing member along with the reinforcement structure, wherein the load bearing element comprises a lattice girder having an upper bar and two lower bars connected through a triangulated framework of lacing members.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635