DETAILED ACTIONS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
4.1 Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6, recites the limitation phrase "likely" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "likely"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2 - 9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) as dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-11, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnett et al. (US 2020/0128615 A1, hereinafter Bonnett)
Regarding Claim 1, Bonnett teaches
A method comprising: receiving, by a controller of a machine, identification data indicating a sensor address of a sensor (Bonnett, Figures 2, 4, [0038] “At block 404, network address information for the sensor(s) 101-103 is provided to the controller 110 via the communication interface 220”);
determining, by the controller, that the sensor was likely in a configuration mode at a time at which the sensor broadcast the identification data, based on activation of a configuration trigger of the sensor (Bonnett, Figure 1, and Figure 4-5, step 416-418, and figure 5, step 504-508, , Figure 6, step 608, [0054] At block 608, the controller 110 identifies the sensor 101-103 providing the best fit response as associated with a location and/or type of the applied stimulus. For example, the sensor address associated with the best fit sensor response can be used by the sensor mapper 330 to associate a particular sensor 101-103 with the best fit sensor response and therefore with a particular location and/or type associated with the applied stimulus that resulted in the best fit response. Control then returns to block 414 to assign the sensor 101-103 to a particular location and/or measurement type.”); and
adding, by the controller, and based on determining that the sensor was likely in the configuration mode, an entry to a sensor configuration maintained by the controller (Bonnett, Figure 7, [0056] At block 702, a location- and/or measurement type-specification sensor configuration is determined based on sensor location, applied stimulus, and sensor response. For example, the sensor configure 340 generates a configuration that defines how to acquire, process, and distribute a particular type of data”);
wherein the entry includes the sensor address indicated by the identification data, and causes the controller to process subsequent sensor data indicating the sensor address. ((Bonnett, Figure 7, step 702-708, [0058] “At block 706, the configuration is transmitted to the sensor 101-103. Thus, the configured sensor(s) 101-103 are then configured by location, type/measurement, etc., to gather data and transmit data to the controller 110 to determine measurement value, etc.” [0059] At block 708, installation of the configuration at the sensor 101-103 is confirmed. For example, the sensor 101-103 returns a response or acknowledgement once the configuration has been received and installed and/or otherwise used to configure the sensor 101-103 for its measurement”).
Regarding Claim 6, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 1,
Bonnett further teaches wherein: the identification data, received from the sensor, has a configuration indicator, and the controller determines that the sensor was likely in the configuration mode based on the configuration indicator of the identification data(Bonnett, Figure 1, and Figure 4-5, step 416-418, and figure 5, step 504-508, , Figure 6, step 608, [0054] At block 608, the controller 110 identifies the sensor 101-103 providing the best fit response as associated with a location and/or type of the applied stimulus”).
Regarding Claim 7, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 1,
Bonnett further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the controller, user input defining a mounting location of the sensor, wherein the entry added to the sensor configuration by the controller additionally indicates the mounting location defined by the user input. (Bonnett, [0022] The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc., which begins in an initial quiescent, vibration-free state, for example. The controller triggers a sensor detect mode. When the controller enters the sensor detect mode, the controller broadcasts a message on the sensor network instructing each sensor to identify itself ( e.g., provide sensor identification information such as network address and/or other identifier, etc.). Upon receiving the broadcast message, each sensor transmits its network address to the controller. The controller then instructs each sensor to enter a monitoring state”).
Regarding Claim 8, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 1,
Bonnett further teaches wherein: the identification data, received from the sensor, indicates a mounting location of the sensor, and the entry added to the sensor configuration by the controller additionally indicates the mounting location indicated by the identification data. Bonnett, Figure 1, and Figure 4-5, step 416-418, and figure 5, step 504-508, , Figure 6, step 608, [0054] At block 608, the controller 110 identifies the sensor 101-103 providing the best fit response as associated with a location and/or type of the applied stimulus. For example, the sensor address associated with the best fit sensor response can be used by the sensor mapper 330 to associate a particular sensor 101-103 with the best fit sensor response and therefore with a particular location and/or type associated with the applied stimulus that resulted in the best fit response. Control then returns to block 414 to assign the sensor 101-103 to a particular location and/or measurement type. Bonnett, [0022] The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc”)
Regarding Claim 9, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 1,
Bonnett further teaches wherein: the identification data, received from the sensor, indicates one or more sensor attributes of the sensor, and the entry added to the sensor configuration by the controller additionally indicates the one or more sensor attributes of the sensor. (Bonnett, [0017] “Sensors can be used with respect to a plurality of aircraft and/or other electromechanical systems, machines, etc., to measure different values, characteristics, operating parameters, environmental conditions, etc., associated with the respective system, machine, etc. For example, sensors can measure vibration, temperature, light, etc., on an aircraft such as a helicopter, airplane, etc “).
Regarding Claim 10, Bonnett teaches
A method comprising (Bonnett, Figure 4-7):
determining, by a sensor associated with a machine, activation of a configuration trigger of the sensor; switching, by the sensor, and based on the activation of the configuration trigger, from a normal operation mode to a configuration mode (Bonnett, Figure 1, and Figure 4-5, step 416-418, and figure 5, step 504-508, , Figure 6, step 608, [0054] At block 608, the controller 110 identifies the sensor 101-103 providing the best fit response as associated with a location and/or type of the applied stimulus. For example, the sensor address associated with the best fit sensor response can be used by the sensor mapper 330 to associate a particular sensor 101-103 with the best fit sensor response and therefore with a particular location and/or type associated with the applied stimulus that resulted in the best fit response. Control then returns to block 414 to assign the sensor 101-103 to a particular location and/or measurement type.”); and
broadcasting, by the sensor, and while the sensor is in the configuration mode, identification data that indicates a sensor address of the sensor, (Bonnett, Figure 7, [0056] At block 702, a location- and/or measurement type-specification sensor configuration is determined based on sensor location, applied stimulus, and sensor response. For example, the sensor configure 340 generates a configuration that defines how to acquire, process, and distribute a particular type of data”);
wherein the identification data causes a controller of the machine to update a sensor configuration to include an entry for the sensor address of the sensor (Bonnett, Figure 7, step 702-708, [0058] “At block 706, the configuration is transmitted to the sensor 101-103. Thus, the configured sensor(s) 101-103 are then configured by location, type/measurement, etc., to gather data and transmit data to the controller 110 to determine measurement value, etc.” [0059] At block 708, installation of the configuration at the sensor 101-103 is confirmed. For example, the sensor 101-103 returns a response or acknowledgement once the configuration has been received and installed and/or otherwise used to configure the sensor 101-103 for its measurement”).
Regarding Claim 11, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches wherein the identification data has a configuration indicator associated with the configuration mode. (Bonnett, [0038] At block 404, network address information for the sensor(s) 101-103 is provided to the controller 110 via the communication interface 220. In response to a broadcast command from the controller 110 for sensors 101-103 to enter the detection mode, the sensors 101-103 provide sensor identification information such as their address and/or other identifying information to the controller 110 so that the controller 110 can communicate with individual and/or group(s) of the sensors 101-103, for example. For example, an Internet Protocol (IP) address and/or other location indicator assigned to each sensor 101-103 is provided to the controller 110. The controller 110 can create a map or network of available sensors 101-103 based on the sensor identification information”)
Regarding Claim 13, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches wherein the configuration trigger comprises at least one of: a hardware configuration trigger that is configured to be activated manually by a user or a user tool, or a digital configuration trigger that is configured to be activated based on data from a user device. (Bonnett, Figure 4, [0040] At block 408, one or more physical stimuli are applied to one or more of the sensors 101-103. For example, one or more of a vibration, temperature, pressure, sound, light, etc., can be generated and/or otherwise triggered by the controller 110 (e.g., via the stimulus generator 230, an external stimulus generator, via human application, and/or based on an environmental condition such as engine operation, temperature, etc.) for the sensor(s) 101-1013., a sound stimulus can be applied to the aircraft, etc. Sensor(s) 101-103 within range of the applied stimulus detect that stimulus to varying degrees, for example. In certain examples, varying stimuli can be applied to varying sensor(s) 101-103. and each sensor 101-103 records the value of a maximum amplitude of the vibration signal measured by the respective sensor 101-10”)
Regarding Claim 14, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches wherein the configuration trigger comprises a digital configuration trigger that is configured to be activated by an identification data request broadcast by the controller (Bonnett, Figure 4, [0040] triggered by the controller 110 (e.g., via the stimulus generator 230, an external stimulus generator”).
Regarding Claim 15, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 14,
Bonnett further teaches further comprising: detecting, by the sensor, motion of the sensor; and initiating, by the sensor, active listening for the identification data request based on detecting the motion of the sensor. (Bonnett, [0022] “For example, each sensor can be equipped with an accelerometer (e.g., a piezoelectric accelerometer, microelectromechanical (MEMS) accelerometer, etc.) to measure vibration in at least one axis. The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc., which begins in an initial quiescent, vibration-free state, for example. The controller triggers a sensor detect mode. When the controller enters the sensor detect mode, the controller broadcasts a message on the sensor network instructing each sensor to identify itself (e.g., provide sensor identification information such as network address and/or other identifier, etc.). Upon receiving the broadcast message, each sensor transmits its network address to the controller. The controller then instructs each sensor to enter a monitoring state”).
Regarding Claim 16, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the sensor, user input defining a mounting location of the sensor, wherein the identification data, broadcast by the sensor, indicates the mounting location of the sensor. (Bonnett, [0022] The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc., which begins in an initial quiescent, vibration-free state, for example. The controller triggers a sensor detect mode. When the controller enters the sensor detect mode, the controller broadcasts a message on the sensor network instructing each sensor to identify itself (e.g., provide sensor identification information such as network address and/or other identifier, etc.). Upon receiving the broadcast message, each sensor transmits its network address to the controller. The controller then instructs each sensor to enter a monitoring state”).
Regarding Claim 17, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches wherein the identification data, broadcast by the sensor, indicates one or more sensor attributes of the sensor. (Bonnett, [0017] “Sensors can be used with respect to a plurality of aircraft and/or other electromechanical systems, machines, etc., to measure different values, characteristics, operating parameters, environmental conditions, etc., associated with the respective system, machine, etc. For example, sensors can measure vibration, temperature, light, etc., on an aircraft such as a helicopter, airplane, etc “).
Regarding Claim 18, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett further teaches A system (figure 1) comprising:
a controller of a machine, the controller (Bonnett, Figure 1, controller 110) being configured to: maintain a sensor configuration indicating sensor addresses of individual sensors associated with the machine (Bonnett, Figures 2, 4, [0038] “At block 404, network address information for the sensor(s) 101-103 is provided to the controller 110 via the communication interface 220”);
receive sensor data broadcast by sensors (Bonnet, Figure 5, step 508, [0050] “At block 508, the controller 110 is notified that the stimulus/stimuli has/have been applied. For example, the controller 110 receives an acknowledgement that the stimulus(-i) has been generated and output by the stimulus generator 230. Control then returns to block 410 to receive reported sensor response”);
process instances of the sensor data that indicate the sensor addresses included in the sensor configuration; receive identification data broadcast by the sensors; and update the sensor configuration based on instances of the identification data broadcast while the sensors are in a configuration mode (Bonnett, Figure 5-6, [0051] FIG. 6 provides additional detail regarding an example implementation of processing sensor response(s) (block 412 of the example of FIG. 4). FIG. 6 is a flowchart representative of an example method that can be performed by the sensor network system 100 of FIGS. 1-3 to process response(s) to the one or more stimuli received from the one or more sensors 101-103. [0052] At block 602, the controller 110 is configured to expect a predetermined sensor response to the applied stimulus. For example, the controller 110 is configured to expect a certain vibration frequency, a certain pressure, a certain temperature, a certain light intensity, a certain sound frequency, etc”); and
a sensor associated with the machine, the sensor comprising a configuration trigger, wherein activation of the configuration trigger: temporarily switches the sensor to operate in the configuration mode, and causes the sensor to broadcast an instance of the identification data that indicates a sensor address of the sensor, wherein the instance of the identification data broadcast by the sensor, while the sensor is in the configuration mode, (Bonnett, [0022] The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc., which begins in an initial quiescent, vibration-free state, for example. The controller triggers a sensor detect mode. When the controller enters the sensor detect mode, the controller broadcasts a message on the sensor network instructing each sensor to identify itself ( e.g., provide sensor identification information such as network address and/or other identifier, etc.). Upon receiving the broadcast message, each sensor transmits its network address to the controller. The controller then instructs each sensor to enter a monitoring state”). causes the controller to update the sensor configuration by adding an entry including the sensor address of the sensor ((Bonnett, Figure 7, step 702-708, [0058] “At block 706, the configuration is transmitted to the sensor 101-103. Thus, the configured sensor(s) 101-103 are then configured by location, type/measurement, etc., to gather data and transmit data to the controller 110 to determine measurement value, etc.” [0059] At block 708, installation of the configuration at the sensor 101-103 is confirmed. For example, the sensor 101-103 returns a response or acknowledgement once the configuration has been received and installed and/or otherwise used to configure the sensor 101-103 for its measurement”).
Regarding Claim 19, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 18,
Bonnett further teaches wherein the configuration trigger of the sensor comprises at least one of: a hardware configuration trigger that is configured to be activated manually by a user or a user tool, or a digital configuration trigger that is configured to be activated based on data from a user device. (Bonnett, Figure 4, [0040] At block 408, one or more physical stimuli are applied to one or more of the sensors 101-103. For example, one or more of a vibration, temperature, pressure, sound, light, etc., can be generated and/or otherwise triggered by the controller 110 (e.g., via the stimulus generator 230, an external stimulus generator, via human application, and/or based on an environmental condition such as engine operation, temperature, etc.) for the sensor(s) 101-1013., a sound stimulus can be applied to the aircraft, etc. Sensor(s) 101-103 within range of the applied stimulus detect that stimulus to varying degrees, for example. In certain examples, varying stimuli can be applied to varying sensor(s) 101-103. and each sensor 101-103 records the value of a maximum amplitude of the vibration signal measured by the respective sensor 101-10”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnett and in view of Matzelle et al. (US 2021/0123218 A1, hereinafter Matzelle).
Regarding Claim 2, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 1,
Bonnett further teaches further comprising: broadcasting, by the controller, an identification data request configured to activate the configuration trigger of the sensor (Bonnett, Figure 6, 0052] At block 602, the controller 110 is configured to expect a predetermined sensor response to the applied stimulus”),
wherein the controller determines that the sensor was likely in the configuration mode, (Bonnett, Figure 6, [0053] At block 604, the controller 110 processes the received sensor response(s) in comparison to the predetermined expected sensor response. For example, the stimulus measurer 320 of the processor 240 analyzes the signal received via the communication interface 220 at the controller 110 to determine a value associated with the response. The stimulus measurer 320 can then compare the response value to the predetermined expected response value”). Bonnett teaches the determination of sensors in configuration mode when the response satisfies pretrimmed response criterion. The pretrimmed criterion could be any parameters including the lapsed time period between the controller broadcasting and the sensor responding. Bonnett processor 240 and measurer 320 (fig. 2-3) analyze and determine the signal transmitting receiving criterion. It is a design choice for communication between the sensor and the controller. It is known in the art.
Bonnett is silent on the time at which the sensor broadcast the identification data being within a threshold period of time following broadcasting of the identification data request by the controller
However, Matzelle teaches the time at which the sensor broadcast the identification data being within a threshold period of time following broadcasting of the identification data request by the controller. (Matzelle, figures 4-5, and figure 5 [0033] Illustrated in FIG. 5 is a machine subroutine 304 representing the portions of the algorithm 300 executed or conducted by the electronic machine controller 142 that may be located on the machine 100. In a monitoring step 350, the machine subroutine 304 using the machine receiver 158 may continuously monitor and receive broadcast transmissions of work tool data 328 from a plurality of data transmission devices 180 associated with the plurality of work tool attachments 102 at the worksite. [0032] The work tool data 328 includes the work tool identification data 193 stored in data storage 192 (…) and the interval count 318
obtained from the counter 196. In the example where the inactive flag 322 has been set”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bonnett’s method to incorporate Matzelle’s method analyzing time interval data by the controller to determine the configuration mode of the sensors with the benefit of accurate response to sensor configuration (, [0002]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known time interval algorithm to estimate time interval, in order to yield the predicted results of responding to accurate time interval with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Bonnett and Matzelle teaches the method of claim 2,
Bonnett is silent on further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the machine is traveling at a speed that exceeds a threshold speed, wherein the controller broadcasts the identification data request in response to determining that the machine is traveling at the speed that exceeds the threshold speed.
However, Matzelle teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, (Matzelle, Figure 4-5, [0028], “The algorithm 300 may be separated into subroutines or constituent algorithms depending upon whether their functionality is implemented or executed by the data transmission device 180 or by the electronic machine controller 142”) that the machine is traveling at a speed that exceeds a threshold speed, wherein the controller broadcasts the identification data request in response to determining that the machine is traveling at the speed that exceeds the threshold speed (Matzelle, figures 1, Figure 5, [0031] In various embodiments, the work tool subroutine 302 may include dwell time or delay periods for determining, in the motion detection step 310, whether the work tool attachment 102 is experiencing relatively continuous motion and is thus in active use, or whether the work tool attachment has become inactive and is likely detached from the machine 100. For example, if the motion detector 194 does not sense or register movement or vibration of the work tool attachment 102 for a predetermine period of time, the work tool subroutine 302 may conclude the work tool attachment is no longer active and proceed to the flag setting step 320 to set the inactive flag 322.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bonnett’s method to incorporate Matzelle’s method analyzing time interval data by the controller to determine the configuration mode of the sensors with the benefit of accurate response to sensor configuration (, [0002]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known time interval algorithm to estimate time interval, in order to yield the predicted results of responding to accurate time interval with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Bonnett and Matzelle teaches the method of claim 2,
Bonnett is silent on further comprising: determining, by the controller, that at least a second threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received data indicating a particular sensor address included in the sensor configuration, wherein the controller broadcasts the identification data request in response to determining that at least the second threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received the data indicating the particular sensor address.
However, Matzelle teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, that at least a second threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received data indicating a particular sensor address included in the sensor configuration, wherein the controller broadcasts the identification data request in response to determining that at least the second threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received the data indicating the particular sensor address (Matzelle ,Figures 4-5 [0029]. To detect motion during the motion detection step 310, the motion detector 194 on the data transmission device 180 may sense or respond to application of acceleration forces causing a change in the spatial reference of the work tool attachment 102. The data transmission device 180 may therefore determine the work tool attachment 102 to which it is mounted is "active" and being used by a machine 100 rather than "inactive" or decoupled relative to the machine. To reflect the active state, the work tool subroutine 302 in a flag setting step 312 can set an active flag 314, which may be a data field in the data transmitted by the data transmission device 180. [0031] For example, if the motion detector 194 does not sense or register movement or vibration of the work tool attachment 102 for a predetermine period of time, the work tool subroutine 302 may conclude the work tool attachment is no longer active and proceed to the flag setting step 320 to set the inactive flag 322”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bonnett’s method to incorporate Matzelle’s method analyzing time interval data by the controller to determine the configuration mode of the sensors with the benefit of accurate response to sensor configuration (, [0002]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known time interval algorithm to estimate time interval, in order to yield the predicted results of responding to accurate time interval with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 20, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 18,
Bonnett further teaches wherein: the configuration trigger of the sensor comprises a digital configuration trigger that is configured to be activated by an identification data request broadcast by the controller, and the controller is configured to broadcast the identification data request based on at least one (Bonnett, [0022] The sensors form a sensor network and are mounted on a machine, device, system, etc., which begins in an initial quiescent, vibration-free state, for example. The controller triggers a sensor detect mode. When the controller enters the sensor detect mode, the controller broadcasts a message on the sensor network instructing each sensor to identify itself ( e.g., provide sensor identification information such as network address and/or other identifier, etc.). Upon receiving the broadcast message, each sensor transmits its network address to the controller. The controller then instructs each sensor to enter a monitoring state”). Bonnett teaches the determination of sensors in configuration mode when the response satisfies pretrimmed response criterion. The pretrimmed criterion could be any parameters including the lapsed time period between the controller broadcasting and the sensor responding. Bonnett processor 240 and measurer 320 (fig. 2-3) analyze and determine the signal transmitting receiving criterion. It is a design choice for communication between the sensor and the controller. It is known in the art.
Bonnett is silent on a first determination that the machine is traveling at a speed that exceeds a threshold speed, or a second determination that at least a threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received data indicating a particular sensor address included in the sensor configuration.
However, Matzelle teaches a first determination that the machine is traveling at a speed that exceeds a threshold speed, or a second determination that at least a threshold period of time has elapsed since the controller last received data indicating a particular sensor address included in the sensor configuration. (Matzelle, figures 1, Figure 5, [0031] In various embodiments, the work tool subroutine 302 may include dwell time or delay periods for determining, in the motion detection step 310, whether the work tool attachment 102 is experiencing relatively continuous motion and is thus in active use, or whether the work tool attachment has become inactive and is likely detached from the machine 100. For example, if the motion detector 194 does not sense or register movement or vibration of the work tool attachment 102 for a predetermine period of time, the work tool subroutine 302 may conclude the work tool attachment is no longer active and proceed to the flag setting step 320 to set the inactive flag 322.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bonnett’s method to incorporate Matzelle’s method analyzing time interval data by the controller to determine the configuration mode of the sensors with the benefit of accurate response to sensor configuration (, [0002]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known time interval algorithm to estimate time interval, in order to yield the predicted results of responding to accurate time interval with higher accuracy (KSR).
Claims 5 and 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnett and in view of Matzelle as applied to claim 2, and in further view of Altman et al. (US 2017/0070847 A1, hereinafter Altman).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Bonnett and Matzelle teaches the method of claim 2,
Both Bonnett and Matzelle are silent on further comprising reducing, by the controller, a power used by the controller to listen for the identification data during the threshold period of time.
However, Altman teaches reducing, by the controller, a power used by the controller to listen for the identification data during the threshold period of time. (Altman, Figure 28D, 2868, [0381], Further embodiments may provide increased location granularity by considering the power level of the broadcast messages received by multiple proximity broadcast receivers since different power levels will be associated with different proximities. [0383] FIG. 28D illustrates an embodiment method 2860 for a central server providing a finer grained location for a wireless identity transmitter based on the power level of broadcast messages received by proximity broadcast receivers. The central server may receive multiple sighting messages from proximity broadcast receivers in block 2822”. [0542] “the proximity broadcast receiver 4250 may include a network interface controller 4252 for exchanging data over an Ethernet data network (via
Ethernet network wiring”. [0550] In some mobile proximity broadcast receivers, multiple processors 4301 may be provided, such as one processor dedicated to wireless communication functions and one processor dedicated to running other applications).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify combined Bonnett’s and Matzelle’s method to incorporate Altman’s method of including broadcast receiver analyzing receiving different power level signals and adjusting the power level of the receiver by the controller to obtain sensor identification data and location identity with the benefit of accurate sensor configuration (Altman, Figure 28D, [0381]-[0383], [0550]]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known wireless signal transmission method of receiving signals with a reduce controller power to avoid nose level and receiving broadcast signal with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 12, Bonnett teaches the method of claim 10,
Bonnett teaches wherein broadcasting the identification data while the sensor is in the configuration mode comprises (Bonnett, Figure 4-5, [0041] At block 410, a response from the sensor(s) 101-103 is reported. For example, a measurement obtained by the sensor(s) 101-103 in response to the stimulus is provided to the controller 110. Thus, an energy level, frequency range, numerical measurement value, etc., can be provided from the sensor(s) 101-103 to the controller 110 via the network
100 (e.g., via the communication interface 220, etc.).
Bonnett is silent on broadcasting the identification data at a reduced power level, relative to a power level the sensor uses to broadcast the identification data while the sensor is in the normal operation mode.
However, Altman teaches broadcasting the identification data at a reduced power level, relative to a power level the sensor uses to broadcast the identification data while the sensor is in the normal operation mode. Altman, Figure 28D, 2868, [0381], Further embodiments may provide increased location granularity by considering the power level of the broadcast messages received by multiple proximity broadcast receivers since different power levels will be associated with different proximities. [0383] FIG. 28D illustrates an embodiment method 2860 for a central server providing a finer grained location for a wireless identity transmitter based on the power level of broadcast messages received by proximity broadcast receivers. The central server may receive multiple sighting messages from proximity broadcast receivers in block 2822”. [0542] “the proximity broadcast receiver 4250 may include a network interface controller 4252 for exchanging data over an Ethernet data network (via
Ethernet network wiring”. [0550] In some mobile proximity broadcast receivers, multiple processors 4301 may be provided, such as one processor dedicated to wireless communication functions and one processor dedicated to running other applications).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify combined Bonnett’s and Matzelle’s method to incorporate Altman’s method of including broadcast receiver analyzing receiving different power level signals and adjusting the power level of the receiver by the controller to obtain sensor identification data and location identity with the benefit of accurate sensor configuration (Altman, Figure 28D, [0381]-[0383], [0550]]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known wireless signal transmission method of receiving signals with a reduce controller power to avoid nose level and receiving broadcast signal with higher accuracy (KSR).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gary Broadfield, (US 2020/0094632 A1) describes “Methods and apparatus forming part of a vehicle sensor system (100) comprising a plurality of sensor units (104a:f) and a controller (102). A sensor unit comprises: a motion
sensor (417) configured to determine a first speed of the sensor unit; and a transmitter (402) configured to transmit first identification data to the controller if the first speed of the sensor unit exceeds a first threshold. The motion sensor
is further configured to determine a second speed of the sensor unit a period of time after determination of the first speed of the sensor unit, and the transmitter is configured to transmit to the controller second identification data if the
second speed of the sensor unit exceeds a second threshold. The controller comprises: a receiver (304) configured to receive the first identification data, and further configured to receive the second identification data a period of time later; and a sensor unit assigner (320) configured to assign the sensor unit to the controller if the first identification data and the second identification data are received. (Abstract)
McAlpine et al. (US 20210302979 A1) The invention provides “A method includes receiving project information indicating a location of a worksite. The method also includes providing a first travel path to an electronic device associated with a mobile machine, wherein providing the first travel path to the electronic device causes at least part of the first travel path to be displayed via a display. The method further includes receiving location information indicating an initial location of the machine and one or more additional locations of the machine. Additionally, the method includes determining that the machine reached the worksite, and identifying, based at least in part on the location information, a second travel path extending from the initial location to the worksite. The method further includes determining whether the second travel path matches the first travel path, and storing at least one of the travel paths in a memory associated with a controller”. (Abstract).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
08/07/2026
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858