DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument, “the amended claims do not treat the second optical device and the optical connector as the same structure”, Examiner has cited how the second optical device is separate from an optical connector as cited in the prior art of record, Chen et al., to meet the new combination of limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding claims 9 and 16, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2020/0124798 A1) in view of Hamano (U.S. PG Pub. # 2006/0215963 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 15 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2020/0124798 A1).
In Re claims 1 and 18, ‘798 teaches a system comprising: a first optical device (B and G or B1 and G) disposed adjacent a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) (P),wherein the first optical device includes a first mirror (M1) to receive a light beam from the PIC and deflect the light beam in a first direction (L2); and a second optical device (C and GG) including a second mirror (MM), the second optical device configured to communicate with a multi-channel fiber array (FA), the multi-channel fiber array being coupled to an optical connector (CC), and the second mirror configured to receive the light beam deflected in the first direction and deflect the light beam deflected in the first direction toward a second direction (L3); wherein the multi-channel fiber array is configured to receive the light beam deflected in the second direction (figs. 3C, 4D, 4E).
In Re claim 11, ‘798 teaches an edge coupler comprising: a first optical device (B and G or B1 and G) that includes a first mirror (M1) to deflect a light beam in a first direction (L2); and a second optical device (C and GG) that includes a second mirror (MM), the second optical device configured to communicate with a multi-channel fiber array (FA), the multi-channel fiber array being coupled to an optical connector (CC), and the second mirror configured to receive the light beam deflected in the first direction and deflect the light beam toward a second direction (L3); wherein the multi-channel fiber array is configured to receive the light beam deflected in the second direction (figs. 3C, 4D, 4E).
In Re claim 2, ‘798 teaches wherein the first optical device is a fixed piece fixedly secured to the PIC (fig. 1D).
In Re claim 3, ‘798 teaches wherein the second optical device is a detachable piece (fig. 4D).
In Re claims 4, 12 and 19, ‘798 teaches wherein the second optical device, the multi-channel fiber array, and the optical connector collectively define a fiber array unit (fig. 1C).
In Re claim 5, ‘798 teaches wherein the fiber array unit is detachably coupled to the first optical device (fig. 1C, par. 0049).
In Re claims 6 and 13, ‘798 teaches wherein the PIC (P) is horizontally aligned with the first optical device (figs. 1B, 1D, 4E).
In Re claims 7 and 14, ‘798 teaches wherein the second optical device is disposed directly over the first optical device (fig. 4E).
In Re claims 8 and 15, ‘798 teaches wherein the first mirror and the second mirror are curved mirrors to achieve beam collimation (pars. 0037 , 0038).
In Re claim 10, 17 and 20, ‘798 teaches wherein the light beam is expanded after the first mirror, received by the second optical device, and refocused back to the multi-channel fiber array after the second mirror (par. 0044).
In Re claim 12, ‘798 teaches a fiber array unit as claimed (Via AA, fig. 3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2020/0124798 A1) in view of Hamano (U.S. PG Pub. # 2006/0215963 A1).
‘798 teaches the device of claims 1 and 11, and that the light translates from horizontal (L1) to vertical (L2) (par. 0042), thus a 90° angle, but is silent to wherein the first mirror is at a 45° angle with respect to a bottom surface of the first optical device.
‘963 teaches that mirrors disposed at 45 degrees convert light 90 degrees (par. 0021).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the mirrors of ‘798 to be at 45 degrees as taught by ‘963 so as to translate the light 90 degrees as claimed as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874