DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Preston et al. (US 20220365632 A1, published: 11/17/2022).
Claim 1: Preston teaches a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (touch-sensitive display system 112. These components optionally communicate over one or more communication buses or signal lines 103 [Preston, 0031]): displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface of a first application configured to display a plurality of first content items, including a representation of a first content item of the plurality of first content items that includes a second content item (in FIG. 6D, while maintaining display of user interfaces 602a and 602b, device begins to display notes user interface 608a overlaid on the bottom-right portion of user interface 602b [Preston, 0198, FIGs. 6D-6F]), wherein displaying the first user interface includes: in accordance with a determination that the second content item satisfies one or more criteria, including a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device has access to a first version of the second content item and a second version of the second content item, displaying, in the first user interface, a first selectable option that is selectable to display a representation of the second version of the second content item (in FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]; Examiner's Note: a user may select a note, and increase its size from one criteria size to a larger version, and drag it along the screen as illustrated in the figures); while displaying the first user interface including the first selectable option, receiving, via the one or more input devices (detects further movement of stylus 605 [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]), a first input corresponding to a selection of the first selectable option; and in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the second version of the second content item (in FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]; Examiner's Note: a user may select a note, and increase its size from one criteria size to a larger version, and drag it along the screen as illustrated in the figures).
Claims 16 and 17, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying the first user interface, displaying, in the first user interface, a second selectable option that is selectable to display a representation of the first version of the second content item; while displaying the first user interface including the second selectable option, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the first version of the second content item (the preview/content of Note A in notes user interface 608a optionally continues to be enlarged in accordance with the enlargement of notes user interface 608a. Further, in some embodiments, if multiple notes have previously been created (e.g., by the user of device 500), those notes are accessible from notes user interface 608a [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6]).
Claim 3: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying the first user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to edit the first version of the second content item; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, an edited first version of the second content item (displays a content editing toolkit 620 that includes one or more controls for editing the screenshot of user interfaces 602a and 602b that is displayed on touch screen 504 [Preston, 0206]).
Claim 4: Preston teaches the method of claim 3. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying the edited first version of the second content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a selection of a third selectable option, the third selectable option configured to cease display of the edited first version of the second content item; and in response to receiving the third input, displaying, via the display generation component, a menu of selectable options including a fourth selectable option that is selectable to initiate a process to transmit the edited first version of the second content item to a sender of the first content item including the second content item (content editing toolkit 620 includes one or more tools 670 that are selectable to cause a corresponding handwriting entry tool (e.g., handwriting-to-font-based text tool, pen tool, highlighter tool, pencil tool, etc.) to become active and control the content entered into/onto the screen displayed by device 500 using stylus 605 [Preston, 0207]; Examiner's Note: wherein, after an edit, the original version would be changed to the edited mode).
Claim 5: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a second selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the second version of the second content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, in a user interface of the first application, a second representation of a first content item including the second version of the second content item in the first application (the user can select a setting that only allows an electronic device to access certain of the user's handwriting or content entry history when displaying or creating content entry user interface elements [Preston, 0318]).
Claim 6: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a second selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the second version of the second content item , receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, in a user interface of a second application different from the first application, a representation of the second version of the second content item (in FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]; Examiner's Note: by resizing and moving the note).
Claim 7: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a second selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the second version of the second content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the second version of the second content item, independent of whether the second version of the second content item was transmitted to a recipient using the first application or the second version of the content item was stored using a file management application of the electronic device (the software components stored in memory 102[Preston, 0055]. In FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]. The user can select a setting that only allows an electronic device to access certain of the user's handwriting or content entry history when displaying or creating content entry user interface elements [Preston, 0318]; Examiner's Note: by resizing and moving the note).
Claim 9: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a second selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the first version of the second content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, in a user interface of the first application, the representation of the first content item including the first version of the second content item in the first application (the software components stored in memory 102[Preston, 0055]. In FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]. The user can select a setting that only allows an electronic device to access certain of the user's handwriting or content entry history when displaying or creating content entry user interface elements [Preston, 0318]; Examiner's Note: by resizing and moving the note).
Claim 10: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, a second selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the first version of the second content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a selection of the second selectable option; and in response to receiving the second input, displaying, in a user interface of the second application different from the first application, a representation of the first version of the second content item (the software components stored in memory 102 [Preston, 0055]. In FIG. 6E, device 500 detects further movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) away from the bottom-right corner of touch screen 504, and in response, device 500 continues to increase the size of notes user interface 608a in accordance with the movement of stylus 605 (or contact 603) [Preston, 0199, FIGs. 6D-6F]. The user can select a setting that only allows an electronic device to access certain of the user's handwriting or content entry history when displaying or creating content entry user interface elements [Preston, 0318]; Examiner's Note: by resizing and moving the note).
Claim 11: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches wherein displaying the first user interface includes: in accordance with the determination that the second content item does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing displaying, in the first user interface, the first selectable option that is selectable to display the representation of the second content item (Examiner's Note: this is applicable when not resizing or moving notes).
Claim 12: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches further comprising: while displaying the first user interface, displaying a second selectable option that is selectable to download the second content item to the electronic device (a downloaded application becomes an installed application by way of an installation program that extracts program portions from a downloaded package and integrates the extracted portions with the operating system of the computer system [Preston, 0186]).
Claim 13: Preston teaches the method of claim 12. Preston further teaches further comprising: while the second content item is downloaded to the electronic device and while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of a second application via which downloaded files are browsed and/or accessed, displaying a second representation of the second content item, including displaying a third selectable option that is selectable to display a preview of the second content item ([Preston, 0103]).
Claim 14: Preston teaches the method of claim 12. Preston further teaches further comprising: while the second content item is downloaded to the electronic device and while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of the second application via which downloaded files are browsed and/or accessed, displaying a second representation of the second content item, including displaying a representation of a sender of the second content item ([Preston, 0103]).
Claim 15: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston further teaches wherein displaying the representation of the first version of the second content item includes displaying a second selectable option selectable to download the first version of the second content item to the electronic device, and a third selectable option selectable to initiate a process to enter suggested content in a content-entry field in the first version of the second content item ([Preston, 0103]. Device 500 displays an option to display notes user interface 608a in a user interface element that also includes suggested text/words for entry to device 500 based on (e.g., keyboard) text already provided by the user [Preston, 0211]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preston et al. (US 20220365632 A1, published: 11/17/2022), in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 20020054112 A1, published: 5/9/2002).
Claim 8: Preston teaches the method of claim 1. Preston does not teach wherein displaying the first selectable option includes displaying information about a modification date of the second content item and/or a user that modified the second content item.
However, Hasegawa teaches wherein displaying the first selectable option includes displaying information about a modification date of the second content item and/or a user that modified the second content item (in FIG. 47, displayed in information for the history of editing and processing are the file name of the image, name of the folder in which this file is stored, name of the original image as an object for editing and processing, name of the operator who has done the editing and processing, date and time of editing and processing, and contents of editing and processing [Hasegawa, 0342]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the displayed selectable version invention of Preston to include the modification date feature of Hasegawa.
One would have been motivated to make this modification so that users can select specific previous versions of content based on date. Thus historical content can be viewed based on when it was created.
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172