DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 9 and 10 – 15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1 – 9:
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method of forming a package assembly comprising, among other things, bonding the first die and the second die to the interposer structure with the first substrate and the second substrate facing up, so that a light beam from an optical fiber over the first die is reflected by the third tilted metal layer. The closest relevant prior art of record, Zhang et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2023/0091050 A1), fails to teach or suggest an optical fiber capable of being over the first die and light from the optical fiber reflected by the third tilted metal layer.
Regarding claims 10 – 15:
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method of forming a package assembly comprising, among other things, forming a blanket bonding structure over the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate. The closest relevant prior art of record, Komada et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2007/0297729 A1), teaches glass substrates (136, par. 0037) having tilted sidewalls coated with mirror (436, par. 0036, 0422), but the blanket bonding structure (234) is not over the glass substrates but rather encircles them as seen in at least fig. 10).
Thus, with no teaching from the prior art, and without the benefit of applicant's teachings, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/modify the prior art of record in a manner so as to create the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 – 20 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2023/0091050 A1).
In Re claim 10, ‘050 teaches a package assembly (figs. 7E, 7K), comprising: an interposer structure (775), having a first tilted layer (left mirror 752 or 753) and a second tilted layer (right mirror 752 or 753) embedded therein and facing each other; a first die (790), located on the interposer structure, wherein the first die comprises a first optical integrated circuit (PIC) and a third tilted layer (reflector 798), and the third tilted layer of the first die corresponds to the first tilted layer of the interposer structure; and a second die (792), located on the interposer structure, wherein the second die comprises a second optical integrated circuit (PIC) and a fourth tilted layer (reflector 798), and the fourth tilted layer of the second die corresponds to the second tilted layer of the interposer structure.
‘050 is silent to the tilted layers being metal.
However, it is well known in the art to use metal as mirrors or reflectors to redirect light.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use metal at the mirrors and reflectors of ‘505 so as to ensure optimum optical coupling as metal is a cost efficient and readily available material for use a mirror or reflector as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claim 17, ‘050 a first optical lens (788), located on the first die; and a second optical lens (788), located on the second die (when 7K is inverted as claim does not recite directly on or contacting).
In Re claim 18, ‘050 teaches the assembly of claim 16, but is silent to third and fourth dies as claimed. However, embodiments of fig. 10 and pars. 0078 – 0084 describe multiple dies to form an electronic system upon a glass substrate with optical coupling.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have additional dies as claimed so as to allow for an more versatile compact optical circuit as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claim 19, ‘050 teaches at least one optical component (730 or 756 and 730) disposed between the first tilted metal layer and the second tilted metal layer.
In Re claim 20, ‘050 teaches wherein the at least one optical component comprises a first edge coupler (left 730), a second edge coupler (right 730) and a waveguide structure (730) between the first edge coupler and the second coupler, the first edge coupler is laterally aligned with the first tilted metal layer, and the second edge coupler is laterally aligned with the second tilted metal layer (fig. 7k).
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874