CTNF 18/659,069 CTNF 89587 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Regarding the claims, claim 64 and 66, use the term “means for” modified by functional language but without being modified by sufficient structure and therefore meet the three-prong test. These claims are being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The corresponding structure is in Para [0144-146] and Fig. 10. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 65 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ends with the word “or” and no additional feature follows the last “or” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 60-65, 69-73, 77 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al (US 2023/0362595, hereinafter Fujishiro) and in view of Ramachandran et al (US 2012/0322446, hereinafter Ramachandran) . Regarding claim 60 , Fujishiro discloses a network node ( gNB, Fig. 3 ) comprising: at least one processing circuitry, and at least one memory ( controller with processor and memory, Para [0047] ) for storing instructions to be executed by the processing circuitry, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured to, with the at least one processing circuitry, cause the network node at least to: determine that a user equipment is in a radio resource control, RRC, non-connected state ( gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133], the RRC idle is when the RRC connection does not exist and the RRC inactive is when the RRC connection is suspended, Para [0058] ); but does not fully disclose broadcast a system information block, SIB, to a plurality of user equipment including the user equipment, wherein the SIB includes a non-access stratum, NAS, container for conveying a NAS message to the user equipment. Ramachandran discloses broadcasting system information such as SIB1 which contains NAS system information and UE timers to be used in idle mode, Para [0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ramachandran in the system of Fujishiro in order to improve battery consumption when scanning for LTE service. Regarding claim 61 , Fujishiro discloses the network node as claimed in claim 60, wherein at least one of: the RRC non-connected state includes an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state (gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133]) ; or the SIB is an existing SIB or a new SIB; or wherein the user equipment is subject to a conformance test procedure while the user equipment is in the RRC non-connected state, and wherein the NAS message is a test control command related to the conformance test procedure; or the NAS message instructs the user equipment to perform a particular action, and wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are further configured to, with the at least one processing circuitry, cause the network node to transmit an indication to the user equipment, the indication instructing the user equipment to not send a NAS completion message following the completion of the particular action. Regarding claims 62 and 77 , Fujishiro discloses the network node/UE as claimed in claim 61/73, wherein the test control command is one of the following: a command for activating a test mode; a command for de-activating a test mode; a command for closing a user equipment test loop; or a command for opening a user equipment test loop ( optional ). Regarding claims 63 and 78 , Fujishiro discloses the network node/UE as claimed in claim 61/73, wherein the conformance test procedure is for testing validation by the user equipment of a last-used timing advance value for a configured grant small data transmission procedure ( optional and intended use ). Regarding claim 64 , Fujishiro discloses a user equipment ( UE, Fig. 2 ) comprising: means for transitioning in a radio resource control, RRC, non-connected state ( gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133], the RRC idle is when the RRC connection does not exist and the RRC inactive is when the RRC connection is suspended, Para [0058] ); but does not fully disclose means for receiving a system information block, SIB, from a network node, wherein the SIB includes a non-access stratum, NAS, container for conveying a NAS message to the user equipment. Ramachandran discloses broadcasting system information such as SIB1 which contains NAS system information and UE timers to be used in idle mode, Para [0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ramachandran in the system of Fujishiro in order to improve battery consumption when scanning for LTE service. Regarding claim 65 , Fujishiro discloses the user equipment as claimed in claim 64, wherein at least one of: the RRC non-connected state includes an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state (gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133]) ; or the SIB is an existing SIB or a new SIB; or Regarding claim 69 , Fujishiro discloses the user equipment as claimed in claim 64, wherein the user equipment is subject to a conformance test procedure while the user equipment is in the RRC non-connected state, and wherein the NAS message is a test control command related to the conformance test procedure (“ subject to a test procedure” is not positively recited as a limitation ). Regarding claim 70 , Fujishiro discloses the user equipment as claimed in claim 69, wherein the test control command is one of the following: a command for activating a test mode; a command for de-activating a test mode; a command for closing a user equipment test loop; or a command for opening a user equipment test loop ( obvious variation of commands for one of ordinary skill in the art ). Regarding claim 71 , Fujishiro discloses the user equipment as claimed in claim 69, wherein the conformance test procedure is for testing validation by the user equipment of a last-used timing advance value for a configured grant small data transmission procedure ( intended use ). Regarding claim 72 , Fujishiro discloses a user equipment ( UE, Fig. 2 ) comprising: at least one processing circuitry, and at least one memory ( controller with processor and memory, Para [0042] ) for storing instructions to be executed by the processing circuitry, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured to, with the at least one processing circuitry, cause the user equipment at least to: transition in a radio resource control, RRC, non-connected state ( gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133], the RRC idle is when the RRC connection does not exist and the RRC inactive is when the RRC connection is suspended, Para [0058] ); but does not fully disclose receive a system information block, SIB, from a network node, wherein the SIB includes a non-access stratum, NAS, container for conveying a NAS message to the user equipment. Ramachandran discloses broadcasting system information such as SIB1 which contains NAS system information and UE timers to be used in idle mode, Para [0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ramachandran in the system of Fujishiro in order to improve battery consumption when scanning for LTE service. Regarding claim 73 , Fujishiro discloses the user equipment as claimed in claim 72, wherein at least one of: the RRC non-connected state includes an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state; or the SIB is an existing SIB or a new SIB (gNB determines the UE to be transitioned to RRC idle or RRC inactive state, Para [0133]) ; or the user equipment is subject to a conformance test procedure while the user equipment is in the RRC non-connected state, and wherein the NAS message is a test control command related to the conformance test procedure . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 66-68 and 74-76 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEVIN CUNNINGHAM whose telephone number is (571) 272-1765. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 7:30-18:00 (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached on (571) 272-3155. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 2 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 3 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 4 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 5 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 6 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 7 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/659,069 Page 8 Art Unit: 2461