DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/31/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites, "the first cathode electrode is not in contact with the second surface of the second bank layer." Emphasis added.
It is well known in the art that "contact" is defined as direct contact between two elements, or indirect contact between two elements through direct contact with one or more intervening elements. As such, any element touching any other element in a device is in contact with all elements touching the device.
Therefore, it is impossible for the first cathode electrode to not contact any other element if it is in contact with any part of the device, which the first cathode electrode is depicted as in the figures. As such, claim 10 is indefinite. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the first cathode electrode is not in direct contact with the second surface of the second bank layer." Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Choung (US 20230013772 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choung teaches a display device (100, Fig 1B) comprising:
a substrate (102) comprising an emission area (106, Fig 1C) and a non-emission area (110);
an anode electrode (104, Fig 1B) on (shown on) the emission area (106) of the substrate (102);
a pixel-defining layer (126) located on (shown on) the non-emission area (110) of the substrate (102) and including a first opening (OP1: opening between horizontally adjacent 126);
a first bank layer (110A) located on (shown on) the pixel-defining layer (126), including a second opening (OP2: opening between horizontally adjacent 110A), and comprising a conductive material (TCO, [0019]);
a second bank layer (110B) located on (shown on) the first bank layer (110A) and comprising a protruding tip (107P: tip portion of 110B that extends horizontally beyond 110C and includes lower surface 107) that protrudes over (shown protruding over) a side surface (110ASW: diagonal sidewall of 110A) of the first bank layer (110A) toward the first opening (OP1);
a first cathode electrode (114) located on (shown on) the anode electrode (104) and in contact (shown in contact) with the side surface (110ASW) of the first bank layer (110A); and
a first electrode pattern (114P: portion of 114 on top corner of 110B above surface 107) located on (shown on) the second bank layer (110B), wherein
the first electrode pattern (114P) and the first cathode electrode (114) comprise a same material (shown comprised of the same material),
the first cathode electrode (114) and the first electrode pattern (114P) are spaced apart (shown spaced) from each other, and
wherein the first electrode pattern (114P) covers (shown covering) a first surface (110BSW: vertical sidewall of 110B) of the second bank layer (110B) facing (shown facing) the first opening (OP1) in line (shown in line) with the protruding tip (107P) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 2, Choung teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a first encapsulation layer (116, Fig 1B) on (shown on) the first cathode electrode (114) and the first electrode pattern (114P), wherein
the side surface (110ASW) of the first bank layer (110A) faces (shown facing) the first opening (OP1), and
the side surface (110ASW) of the first bank layer (110A) comprises a first portion (110FP: upper portion of 110ASW in direct contact with horizontal portion of 116) in contact (shown in contact) with the first encapsulation layer (116) and a second portion (110SP: lower portion of 110ASW in direct contact with 114) in contact (shown in contact) with the first cathode electrode (114).
Regarding claim 3, Choung teaches the device of claim 2 and goes on to teach further comprising:
an emissive layer (112, Fig 1B) disposed between (shown between) the first cathode electrode (114) and the anode electrode (104),
wherein the side surface (110ASW) of the first bank layer (110A) comprises a third portion (110TP: lowest portion of 110ASW horizontally across from the sidewall of 1122) in contact (shown in contact) with the emissive layer (112).
Regarding claim 4, Choung teaches the device of claim 3 and goes on to teach wherein the second portion (110SP, Fig 1B) is located between (shown between) the first portion (110FP) and the third portion (110TP).
Regarding claim 5, Choung teaches the device of claim 4 and goes on to teach wherein an area (A2: area of contact between 110ASW and 110SP, Fig 1B) of the second portion (110SP) is greater (shown greater) than each of an area (A1: area of contact between 110ASW and 110FP) of the first portion (110FP) and an area (A3: area of contact between 110ASW and 110TP) of the third portion (110TP).
Regarding claim 6, Choung teaches the device of claim 4 and goes on to teach wherein the second portion (110SP, Fig 1B) occupies (shown occupied) the side surface (110ASW) of the first bank layer (110A) except the first portion (110FP) and the third portion (110TP).
Regarding claim 7, Choung teaches the device of claim 2 and goes on to teach wherein the first cathode electrode (114, Fig 1B) is in contact (shown) with the first encapsulation layer (116) in line (shown in line) with the protruding tip (107P) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 8, Choung teaches the device of claim 2 and goes on to teach wherein
the second bank layer (110B, Fig 1B) further comprises a second surface (107) facing (shown facing) the first bank layer (110A), and
the first electrode pattern (114P) comprises a first side surface (114PSW: vertical sidewall of 114P) covering (shown covering) the first surface (110BSW) and a cover surface (114PB: bottom horizontal surface of 114P) covering (shown covering) a part of the second surface (107) in line (shown in line) with the protruding tip (107P) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 9, Choung teaches the device of claim 8 and goes on to teach wherein the second surface (107, Fig 1B) comprises a first subsidiary portion (107A: portion of 107 in direct contact with 114PB) in contact (shown in contact) with the cover surface (114PB) and a second subsidiary portion (107B: portion of 107 in direct contact with 116) in contact (shown in contact) with the first encapsulation layer (116).
Regarding claim 10, Choung teaches the device of claim 9 and goes on to teach wherein the first cathode electrode (114, Fig 1B) is not in contact (shown not in direct contact) with the second surface (107) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 11, Choung teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first cathode electrode (114, Fig 1B) completely surrounds (shown completely surrounding) the first bank layer (110A) in the non-emission area (110) in a plan view (in plan view, the first cathode electrode would completely surround the first bank in the non-emission area).
Regarding claim 12, Choung teaches the device of claim 11 and goes on to teach wherein a width (W1: horizontal width of 114 from first opening OP1 to second opening OP2) of the first cathode electrode (114) completely surrounding (shown completely surrounding) the first bank layer (110A) in the non-emission area (110) in a plan view is uniform (shown uniform) with a process margin of about 10 % (shown symmetrical on all sides which implies a lower process margin than 10%).
Regarding claim 14, Choung teaches the device of claim 3 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a first organic pattern (112P: portion of 112 on top corner of 110B above surface 107, Fig 1B) located between (shown between) the second bank layer (110B) and the first electrode pattern (114P), wherein
the first organic pattern (112P) and the emissive layer (112) comprise a same material (shown comprised of the same material),
the first organic pattern (112P) is spaced apart (shown spaced) from the emissive layer (112), and
wherein the first organic pattern (112P) is in contact (shown in contact) with the first surface (110BSW) in line (shown in line) with the protruding tip (107P) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 15, Choung teaches the device of claim 14 and goes on to teach wherein the first organic pattern (112P, Fig 1B) is completely surrounded (shown completely surrounded) by the first electrode pattern (114P) and the second bank layer (110B) in line (shown in line) with the protruding tip (107P) of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding claim 16, Choung teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a second cathode electrode (114B: cathode 114 of pixel 108b, Fig 1B) spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the first cathode electrode (114; shown in pixel 108a), wherein
the first bank layer (110A) is interposed between (shown between) the first cathode electrode (114) and the second cathode electrode (114B),
the second cathode electrode (114B) is in contact (shown in contact) with the first bank layer (110A), and
the first cathode electrode (114) and the second cathode electrode (114B) are electrically connected (shown electrically connected; base portion and cathode are permanently connected, [0051]) by the first bank layer (110A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung (US 20230013772 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of the obviousness of change in shape.
Regarding claim 13, Choung teaches the device of claim 2 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a first capping layer (121, Fig 1A) located between (shown between) the first cathode electrode (114) and the first encapsulation layer (116), wherein
the first capping layer (121) completely covers (shown completely covered) the first cathode electrode (114) in line (shown in line) with the first opening (OP1).
Choung fails to explicitly teach the first capping layer exposes a part of the first cathode electrode in line with the second opening.
However, MPEP 2144.04 Section IV.B states that limitations related to changes in shape are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape of a non-critical element.
Paragraph [0019] of the instant application's specification discloses "The first capping layer may completely cover the first cathode electrode in line with the first opening, and the first capping layer may expose a part of the first cathode electrode in line with the second opening," but is silent to a critical reason why exposing the first cathode electrode in line with the second opening would benefit the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to adjust the first capping layer of Choung to expose part of the first cathode electrode in line with the second opening to either ensure better adhesion of the encapsulation layer to the cathode electrode and/or to ensure a more complete fill of the undercut void region below the overhang of the second bank layer when the encapsulation layer is deposited. This would have been obvious in view of the stated benefit of preventing delamination of the patterns on the bank, as stated in paragraph [0133] of the disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 20180006264 A1) - a1, electrode layer on cathode to increase brightness
Lin (US 11610954 B1) - a1, conductive banks (claim 5??)
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897