DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US2006/0291172.
Per claim 1 Lee et al. teaches an electronic device (see fig.2-6), comprising: a heat sink assembly (see fig.2-6; [0018]), comprising: a heat sink (24, see fig.1-2; [0018]-[0019]) extending in a first direction (see fig.2, “long length-wise direction”), the heat sink comprising a first side (see fig.2-3, “top side 240 of heat sink”) and a second side (see fig.2-3, “bottom side 24 of heat sink”) opposite the first side in a second direction orthogonal (see fig.2, “top and bottom direction”) to the first direction (see fig.2); a pedestal (12) configured to be coupled to a first electronic device (42; [0016]); and a first non-linear heat pipe (30; [0015] & [0020]) spring-loaded between the first side of the heat sink and the pedestal (see fig.1-6).
Per claim 2 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the heat sink assembly further comprises a second non-linear heat pipe (30; [0015] & [0020]) spring-loaded between the first side of the heat sink and the pedestal (see fig.1-6).
Per claim 3 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe and the second non-linear heat pipe are parallel to each other in the first direction (see fig.4-5).
Per claim 5 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe is C-shaped in the second direction (see fig.2, “Examiner asserts that the first non-linear heat pipe is C-shaped based on orientation”).
Per claim 9 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the heat sink further comprises one or more second holes (see fig.2) each extending from the first side of the heat sink to the second side of the heat sink and intersecting the pedestal in the second direction (see fig.2); and further comprising: one or more second fasteners each extending through a second hole of the one or more second holes and secured to the pedestal (see fig.2).
Per claim 10 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein each of the one or more second fasteners comprises a second shaft and a second spring disposed around the second shaft, the second spring adjacent to the first side of the heat sink (see fig.2 & 4-5).
Per claim 11 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a circuit board (40, see fig.6, “VGA or graphic cards are built upon a PCB”); and the first electronic device (42) mounted to the circuit board ([0015]).
Per claim 18 Lee et al. teaches a method of assembling a heat sink assembly in an electronic device (see fig.2-6), comprising: providing a circuit board (40, see fig.6, “VGA or graphic cards are built upon a PCB”) extending in a first direction; coupling a first electronic device (42) to the circuit board ([0015]); coupling a first side of a pedestal (12) to the first electronic device such that the first electronic device is between the circuit board and the pedestal in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see fig.2-6); coupling a first non-linear heat pipe (30; [0015] & [0020]) to a second side of the pedestal opposite the first side of the pedestal in the second direction (see fig.1-5); and coupling a heat sink (24, see fig.1-2; [0018]-[0019]) extending in the first direction to the first non-linear heat pipe to spring load the first non-linear heat pipe between the heat sink and the pedestal (see fig.2-6).
Examiner's Note: Regarding claims 18-20, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of using the device of claim(s) 1-17 (i.e., the method of claims 18-20 repeat the structure recited in the apparatus of claim[s] 1-17), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by Lee et al. means that the general method of using such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference(s). The method steps recited in the claim are inherently necessitated by the structure of Lee et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2006/0291172 in view of Li et al. CN1841716.
Per claim 4 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe (30) comprises an elongated conduit bent back on itself in the second direction (see fig.2) forming: a first elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal (12, see fig.2-3); and a second elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.2-3).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach an elongated metal conduit.
Li et al. however discloses a heat pipe or an elongated conduit made of metal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make a heat pipe or elongated conduit from metal, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat generating component.
Per claim 6 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe (30) comprises an elongated conduit comprising: a first elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal (see fig.2-3); a first bent section bent at an angle to the first direction and coupled to a first end of the first elongated section (see fig.2-3); a second bent section bent at an angle to the first direction and coupled to a second end of the first elongated section opposite the first end in the first direction (see fig.2-3); a second elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the first bent section and coupled to the second side of the heat sink; and a third elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second bent section and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.2-3).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach an elongated metal conduit.
Li et al. however discloses a heat pipe or an elongated conduit made of metal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make a heat pipe or elongated conduit from metal, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat generating component.
Per claim 8 Lee et al. in view of Li et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the pedestal comprises a first slot (122) extending in the first direction; wherein the first elongated metal section is disposed in the first slot of the pedestal to couple the first elongated metal section to the pedestal (see fig.2).
Per claim 19 Lee et al. teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe (30) comprises an elongated conduit bent back on itself in the second direction forming (see fig.2): a first elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal (see fig.2-5); and a second elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.2-5); wherein: coupling the first non-linear heat pipe to the second side of the pedestal further comprises coupling the second elongated section to the second side of the pedestal (see fig.2-5); and coupling the heat sink to the first non-linear heat pipe further comprises coupling the heat sink to the first elongated conduit (see fig.2-5).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach an elongated metal conduit.
Li et al. however discloses a heat pipe or an elongated conduit made of metal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make a heat pipe or elongated conduit from metal, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat generating component.
Per claim 20 Lee et al. teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe (30) comprises an elongated conduit (see fig.2-5) comprising: a first elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal; and a first bent section bent at an angle to the first direction and coupled to a first end of the first elongated section (see fig.2-5); a second bent section bent at an angle to the first direction and coupled to a second end of the first elongated section opposite the first end in the first direction (see fig.2-5); a second elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the first bent section and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.2-5); and a third elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second bent section and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.2-5); wherein: coupling the first non-linear heat pipe to the second side of the pedestal further comprises coupling the first elongated section to the second side of the pedestal; and coupling the heat sink to the first non-linear heat pipe further comprises coupling the heat sink to the second elongated conduit and the third elongated section (see fig.2-6).
Li et al. however discloses a heat pipe or an elongated conduit made of metal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make a heat pipe or elongated conduit from metal, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat generating component.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2006/0291172.
Per claim 7 Lee et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first non-linear heat pipe is V-shaped in the second direction.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the first non-linear heat pipe be V-shaped or whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, because it enables effective cooling based on the arrangements of the electronic devices that need to be cooled. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2006/0291172 in view of Ishimine et al. US2004/0084764.
Per claim 12 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 11,
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the heat sink further comprises one or more first holes each extending from the first side of the heat sink to the second side of the heat sink and not intersecting the pedestal in the second direction; and further comprising: one or more first fasteners each extending through a first hole of the one or more first holes and secured to the circuit board.
Ishimine et al. however discloses wherein the heat sink (160A) further comprises one or more first holes (162A, see fig.4A) each extending from the first side of the heat sink to the second side of the heat sink (see fig.4A) and not intersecting the pedestal (150A) in the second direction (see fig.4A); and further comprising: one or more first fasteners (190) each extending through a first hole of the one or more first holes and secured to the circuit board (200, see fig.4A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a fastener extend from a first side of a heat sink to a second side and not intersect a pedestal as taught by Ishimine et al. in the electronic device of Lee et al., because it ensures proper securing of the heat sink to the circuit board separately from the pedestal, thus ensuring efficient thermal dissipation of the pedestal and the electronic device.
Per claim 13 Lee et al. in view of Ishimine et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein each of the one or more first fasteners (190) comprises a first shaft and a first spring disposed around the first shaft, the first spring adjacent to the first side of the heat sink (see fig.4A & 11-14).
Per claim 14 Lee et al. in view of Ishimine et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the heat sink (160) further comprises one or more second holes (163) each extending from the first side of the heat sink to the second side of the heat sink and intersecting the pedestal in the second direction (see fig.4A) ; further comprising: one or more second fasteners (180A) each extending through a second hole of the one or more second holes and secured to the pedestal (see fig.4A); and each of the one or more second fasteners comprises a second shaft and a second spring disposed around the second shaft, the second spring adjacent to the first side of the heat sink (see fig.4A).
Per claim 15 Lee et al. in view of Ishimine et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein: each of the one or more first fasteners (18 and/or 28, see fig.2-5) are configured to be fastened to the circuit board (40, “the fasteners are configured/capable of being fastened to the circuit board”) to compress its first spring to cause the heat sink to apply a first downward force in the second direction towards the circuit board to create a first pressure between the heat sink (see fig.2-5) and the first non-linear heat pipe (30) in the second direction not intersecting the pedestal (see fig.2); and each of the one or more second fasteners are configured to be fastened to the pedestal to compress its second spring to cause the heat sink to apply a second downward force to the first non-linear heat pipe in the second direction towards the pedestal to create a second pressure between the heat sink and the first non-linear heat pipe in the second direction intersecting the pedestal (see fig.2-5).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2006/0291172 in view of Deeney et al. US6882536.
Per claim 16 Lee et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 11,
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach a second electronic device mounted to the circuit board; wherein: the first electronic device has a first height from the circuit board in the second direction; the second electronic device has a second height from the circuit board in the second direction greater than the first height; and the second side of the heat sink is thermally coupled to the second electronic device.
Deeney et al. however discloses further comprising a second electronic device (104, see fig.3) mounted to the circuit board (102); wherein: the first electronic device (306) has a first height from the circuit board in the second direction (see fig.3); the second electronic device (104) has a second height from the circuit board in the second direction greater than the first height (see fig.3); and the second side of the heat sink (106) is thermally coupled to the second electronic device (see fig.3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first and second electronic device and second side of heat sink thermally coupled to the second electronic device as taught by Deeney et al. in the electronic device of Lee et al., because it ensures that the components of differing height or capacity are also effectively cooled, thus ensuring that component that generate a lot of heat due to its processing capacity are equally cooled with a component that generates lesser heat.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US2006/0291172 in view of Deeney et al. US6882536 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. US2009/0154102 and Li et al. CN1841716.
Per claim 17 Lee et al. in view of Deeney et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 16,
Lee et al. in view of Deeney et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first non-linear heat pipe comprises: a first elongated metal section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal; and a second elongated metal section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second side of the heat sink and thermally coupled to the first electronic device and the second electronic device.
Zhou et al. however discloses wherein a first non-linear heat pipe (30, see fig.2) comprises: a first elongated section extending in the first direction and coupled to the pedestal (10, see fig.2); and a second elongated (30) section extending in the first direction and coupled to the second side of the heat sink (20) and thermally coupled to the first electronic device (52) and the second electronic device (52, see fig.2, “all the components are thermally coupled”).
Li et al. further discloses a heat pipe or an elongated conduit made of metal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the heat pipe or elongated conduit with metal because it ensures effective thermal dissipation from the electronid device and also having a first and second non-linear heat pipe, a pedestal and a first and second electronic device as taught by Zhou et al. in Lee et al. in view of Deeney et al., further ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from both first and second electronic device.
Email Communication
3. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chuang et al. US2023/0247755 discloses an electronic device, comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) having a first side facing a front surface of the electronic device and a second side opposite the first side, the second side facing a back surface of the electronic device; a cooling system adapted to pull heat away from the first side of the PCB and dissipate the heat through the back surface of the electronic device.
Shearman et al. US2022/0304193 discloses a base half and a top cover half, configured to dissipate heat; a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) disposed between two cooling plates that are enclosed by the base half and the top cover half.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841