DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi et al. (JP4937894B2) (machine translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Onishi discloses a controller (“controller” (130)) for an injection molding machine including an injecting member (“injection device” (10)) configured to inject a molding material from a cylinder (“heating cylinder” (11)) and a drive source configured to cause the injecting member to operate (“screw” (not shown), [0014]), the controller comprising:
processing circuitry (“controller” (130), [0022]) configured to restrict an operation of the injecting member for a cold-start prevention time that is preset ([0042] with regards to step S3), when the first condition is met,
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to
determine, upon determining that the first condition is met, where a second condition different from the first condition, the second condition specifying a heating state around a point when the first condition met ([0042] with regards to step S4), and
determine whether to use a value shorter than an initial value will be used as the cold-start prevention time based on a determination as to whether the second condition is met ([0004] with regards to examples of initial times set, [0005] with regards to setting the time, [0008]-[0009] regarding the importance of adapting the waiting time from an initially set one).
While Onishi does not explicitly disclose that a mold part is used with the injection molding machine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as it is consistent with the fundamentals of an injection molding machine that the machine comprises a mold part for which to inject material into for the predictable result of molding a desired piece.
Regarding claim 2, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the process circuitry to be further configured to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time, or report that the value shorter than the initial value will be used as the cold-start prevention time, upon determining that the first condition and the second condition are met, given that
a) Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder of sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder, [0043]);
b) Onishi teaches how having a set initial timer for cold-start prevention for all situations may result in waste of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]),
c) the use of a shorter value of time than that of the initial value for the cold-start prevention time by measuring temperature and heat flux represents the discovery of an optimal or workable range of a value, which involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)). One would have been motivated to do so to prevent waste of time, power and/or avoid screw damage ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]- [0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder at different positions as an additional indicator to the actual temperature of the resin within the cylinder) and a change in the set temperature to a temperature that is near or below the current temperature and while the heat flux is at or below its target value when heating has already occurred would cause the cold-start prevention to end ([0037]-[0039]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the controller to be configured so that when the first condition specifies that a set temperature of the cylinder or the mold part is changed, and the second condition species that heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed immediately before the first condition is met.
Regarding claim 4, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the controller to be configured so that the first condition specifies a state in which heating of the cylinder or the mold part has started and the second condition specifies that the heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed a set time prior to the point when the first condition is met or that the heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed before a passage of a set period since the first condition is met, given that
a) Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder at different positions as an additional indicator to the actual temperature of the resin within the cylinder), meaning that if a change in the set temperature to a temperature that is near or below the current temperature (for example, the current temperature being 300oC and the set temperature being 280oC) occurred while the heat flux is at or below its target value when heating has already been performed, such conditions would cause the cold-start prevention to end immediately ([0037]-[0039], representing an value of zero, which would be shorter than any cold-start prevention period that occurs, or put in another way, an initial value of > 0); and
b) the use of a shorter value of time than that of the initial value for the cold-start prevention time by measuring temperature and heat flux represents the discovery of an optimal or workable range of a value, which involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)), which one would have been motivated to do to prevent waste of time, power and/or avoid screw damage ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the process circuitry to be further to be configured to determine whether to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention part determines whether or not a value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on a set temperature and actual temperature of the cylinder or the mold part at the point when the first condition is met.
Regarding claim 6, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder with sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder and indirectly as an indicator for time lag between having one point of the cylinder reaching the designated set temperature value versus when another point reaches a similar set temperature value) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the process circuitry to be further configured to determine whether to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on a time lag between the point when the first condition is met and completion of heating of the cylinder or the mold part.
Regarding claim 7, Onishi teaches an injection molding machine comprising the controller according to claim 1 as set forth above, the injecting member (“injection device” (10)) and the drive source (“screw” (not shown), [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that a change in the set temperature to a temperature that is near or below the target value temperature and while the heat flux is at or below its target value when heating has already occurred would cause the cold-start prevention to end ([0037]-[0039]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the controller to be configured so that wherein the first condition specifies a state in which a set temperature of the cylinder or the mold part is changed, and the second condition specifies that heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed immediately before the first condition is met.
Regarding claim 10, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the controller to be configured so that wherein the first condition specifies that heating of the cylinder or the mold part has started, the second condition specifies that the heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed a set time prior to the point when the first condition is met, or heating of the cylinder or the mold part is completed before passage of a set period since the first condition is met, given that
a) Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder at different positions as an additional indicator to the actual temperature of the resin within the cylinder), meaning that if a change in the set temperature to a temperature that is near or below the current temperature (for example, the current temperature being 300oC and the set temperature being 280oC) occurred while the heat flux is at or below its target value when heating has already been performed, such conditions would cause the cold-start prevention to end immediately ([0037]-[0039], representing an value of zero, which would be shorter than any cold-start prevention period that occurs, or put in another way, an initial value of > 0); and
b) the use of a shorter value of time than that of the initial value for the cold-start prevention time by measuring temperature and heat flux represents the discovery of an optimal or workable range of a value, which involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)), which one would have been motivated to do to prevent waste of time, power and/or avoid screw damage ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039]) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to determine whether to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on a set temperature and actual temperature of the cylinder or the mold part at the point when the first condition is met.
Regarding claim 12, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the heat flux indirectly represents an indicator for time lag between having one point of the cylinder reaching the designated set temperature versus when another point reaches a similar set temperature ([0037]-[0039]) as opposed to only having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to determine whether to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on a time lag between the point when the first condition is met and completion of heating of the cylinder or the mold part.
Regarding claim 13, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 7 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder of sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to use the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time, or report that the value shorter than the initial value is to be used as the cold-start prevention time, upon determining that the first condition and the second condition are met.
Regarding claim 14, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder of sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to preset the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on a determination that the second condition is met, and start restricting the operation of the injecting member for a period of the preset value shorter than the initial value.
Regarding claim 15, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally,
given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder of sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to preset the initial value as the cold-start prevention time upon determining that the second condition is not met, and start restricting the operation of the injecting member for a period of the initial value.
Regarding claim 16, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention part can be ended as a result of the temperature and the heat flux reaching target values ([0037]-[0039], with heat flux representing recorded temperatures of the cylinder of sensors at different positions as an additional indicator to the temperature of the resin within the cylinder) as opposed to having a set initial timer for all situations which may result in wastes of time, power and/or possible screw damage ([0004]-[0005]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the processing circuitry to be further configured to acquire a set temperature and actual temperature of the cylinder or the mold part at the point when the first condition is met, upon determining that the second condition is met, and preset the value shorter than the initial value as the cold-start prevention time based on the acquired set temperature and actual temperature.
Regarding claim 17, Onishi teaches all limitations of claim 16 as set forth above. Additionally, Onishi teaches that the cold-start prevention time becomes shorter as a difference between the acquired set temperature and actual temperature becomes smaller ([0037]-[0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks on p.10-11, applicant argues that the steps S2 and S3 in Onishi do not satisfy the amended claim 1 limitation of “upon determining that the first condition is met, whether a second condition different from the first condition is met, the second condition specifying a heating state around a point when the first condition is met”. Examiner notes that given the amended language, the rejection as set forth above in view of Onishi has been updated to account for the amended language, more explicitly in the determining of the first condition being performed in step S3 and the determining of the second condition performed in S4, which is then used to appropriately time the operation of the injection molding machine. Furthermore, examiner notes that the unamended claim 1 language from the previous claim set, while defining the determination of a first and second condition, was broad in that said conditions were not tied to any particular variable, including the conditions of a heating state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749