DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-35 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 20-22, 24, and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922).
Regarding Claim 16, Cheng discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 104 & Fig. 6) comprising: at least one processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 604); and at least one memory (see Fig. 6 i.e., memory 612) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 604 & Para’s [0013], [0096], [0099], & [0147]), cause the apparatus at least to perform: receiving configuration information (see Para’s [0037-0038] i.e., SIB message, [0042] i.e., SIB “(i.e., configuration information”) received by the UE & [0063] i.e., SIB), the configuration information comprising a cell discontinuous transmission configuration (see Para’s [0026], [0028] i.e., network energy saving (NES) cell may perform cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) in which the base station enters a sleep mode/state during a DRX/DTX off duration. During the sleep mode/state, the base station may not transmit or receive some signals or channels, [0042] i.e., the UE 104 may determine whether a candidate cell is an NES cell based on whether cell DRX/DTX is configured. The cell DRX/DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell, [0085])
performing a determination of at least one condition for monitoring for one or more network messages (see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES may perform cell DTX in which signals (i.e., “network messages”) or channels are transmitted to the UE outside of the sleep mode/state (i.e., cell DTX uses active state for signal communication), [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB), the determination comprising determining whether the cell is inaccessible for radio resource control idle, radio resource control inactive, or legacy devices, (see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB & [0091])
when it is determined that the cell is inaccessible (see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB), monitoring for the one or more network messages (see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES may perform cell DTX in which signals (i.e., “network messages”) or channels are transmitted to the UE outside of the sleep mode/state (i.e., cell DTX uses active state for signal communication), [0042] i.e., cell DTX configuration is provided to the UE for performing cell DTX, & [0063])
While Cheng discloses the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB transmitted from the network energy saving (NES) cell which is used by the UE for performing cell DTX for monitoring network messages from the cell (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES cell may perform DTX, [0042] i.e., the cell DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell & [0063]), Cheng does not disclose the claim features of and determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted by a network during cell discontinuous transmission active time; wherein the apparatus is in a radio resource control connected state; when it is determined that the indication has been received, monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell discontinuous transmission active time and the claim feature of the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted by a network during cell discontinuous transmission active time, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0053] i.e., the indication can be transmitted as part of the cell DTX configuration, Elazzouni, see Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time, during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals, [0031] i.e., the network node may signal the information (i.e., “indication”) related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration to the UE in a system information block…indicating a cell DTX configuration or information related to a cell DTX configuration, in a SIB, [0032] i.e., By signaling the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the associated activation state and/or activation time to the UE, & [0105] i.e., the network node may transmit and the UE may receive, information related to a cell DTX/DRX configuration and activation information (“indication”) associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time (i.e., “indication” indicating network messages such as paging messages will be transmitted during the DTX active time) during which the network node is transmitting…paging messages and/or other downlink channels or signals. In addition, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time & [0106] i.e., SIB may indicate the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the activation state or activation time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration)
wherein the apparatus is in a radio resource control connected state; (see Para’s [0005] i.e., DTX applied for connected mode UEs (i.e., UE is in RRC connected state when DTX is performed), [0101], & [0102-0103] i.e., a UE performs a RACH procedure to enter an RRC connected state)
and when it is determined that the indication has been received (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032] i.e., cell DTX configuration or information related to the cell DTX configuration received by the UE in SIB, & [0105]), monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Fig. 5 i.e., Cell DTX active time 510 & Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “indication”), during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”), [0031-0032], [0101] i.e., DTX active time during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”) & [0105-0106] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., monitored “network messages”) and/or other downlink channels or signals).
the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration (see Para’s [0106] i.e., cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB (i.e., configuration information), [0109] i.e., additionally, the information related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) that indicates when the UE is to start monitoring a PDCCH & [0123] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration includes a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) when the UE is to start to monitor the occasions)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration information received in the SIB by the UE as disclosed in Cheng to include the network message configuration and the indication such as DTX activation information which indicates that one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell DTX active time which are each included in the DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni, which results in monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time when it is determined that the cell is inaccessible and the indication has been received, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni does not disclose the claim feature of monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses a UE monitoring for one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only (see Para [0050] i.e., a cell DTX configuration message configures cell DTX of a NES cell e.g., a cell DTX cycle including cell DTX ON duration, in which the NES cell is active for transmission (e.g., can transmit signal to UEs), and cell DTX OFF duration, in which the NES cell is inactive for transmission (e.g., can NOT transmit any signals to UEs) (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)…In this disclosure, it is assumed that, in cell DTX OFF duration, the NES cell can NOT transmit any signal to UEs (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)).
(Yue suggests the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell, (see Para’s [0046-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time according to the DRX cycle as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni to be performed during the cell DTX active time only by using the DRX cycle disclosed in the teachings of Yue who discloses the DRX cycle used by the base station and the UE for communications sends network messages during the cell DTX active time only and does not transmit any signals during the DTX OFF duration (i.e., “DRX inactive time”), which results in the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only, because the motivation lies in Yue that the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue does not disclose the monitored one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288).
Sadek discloses one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time monitored by a UE (see Para’s [0007] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0067-0068] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0090] i.e., paging structure adapted for use in a DTX communication scheme, [0091] i.e., a paging frame (PF) is an RF that may contain one or multiple Paging Occasion (PO) subframes for sending a paging message used for paging and system information change notification, [0093] i.e., In order to ensure that paging is scheduled during an active period, one or more of the paging parameters may be specially configured based on the DTX cycling parameters to align all PFs with the first RF of a DTX cycle, which guaranteed to be an active period, & [0151] i.e., the access point may then set one or more paging parameters to align access terminal paging with at least one active period of the DTX communication pattern).
(Sadek suggests a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the active period of the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern, (see Para’s [0068-0070], [0090-0093], & [0151])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring of the one or more network messages such as the paging messages during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue to be sent in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in the teachings of Sadek, because the motivation lies in Sadek that a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the active period of the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern.
While the combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages in the one or more paging occasions during either of cell discontinuous transmission active or inactive time based on the DTX configuration of the cell (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] & [0042] & Elazzouni, see Para [0105]), the references combined does not disclose such monitoring is performed when it is determined that the cell is not inaccessible. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922).
Yue discloses when it is determined by a UE that a network energy saving (NES) cell is not inaccessible, a UE can perform data communication with the (NES) cell during active and sleep states of the cell (see Table 2 i.e., last row when cell is not barred for legacy UE and cell is not barred for new UE (i.e., the new UE determines the cell is accessible or not inaccessible based on the received indication) Para’s [0010] i.e., the indication of the cell status of the new cell includes at least one of an indication of the cell status of the new cell for legacy UE and an indication of the cell status of the new cell for new UE, [0044] i.e., network energy saving supports sleep state and non-sleep state (e.g., active state) [0055] i.e., legacy cell barred indication may be barred or nor barred for legacy UEs, [0056] i.e., a new notallowed-NES indication can be added and applied for all the new UEs in SIB or MIB. The notallowed-NES indication can be set to “true” (or “barred” that represents the cell is barred, or set to false (or “not barred” etc., that represents the cell is not barred which means the cell is not barred (i.e., allowed to access), [0057] i.e., The new notallowed-NES indication can be used along with legacy cellBarred indication to indicate the cell status to both legacy UE and new UE, as explained in Table 2, [0058] i.e., if the notallowed-NES is set to “false”, the new UE identifies that the cell is not barred, e.g., for the new UE (i.e., new UE determines the cell is accessible or not inaccessible), & [0060] i.e., the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques…NES cell can be configured to be barred to legacy UEs but accessible to new UEs)
(Yue suggests the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the UE during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques, (see Para’s [0003], [0044], [0049], [0058], & [0060])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which performs the monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to be performed when it is determined that the cell is not inaccessible based on the teachings of Yue who discloses when it is determined by a new UE that a network energy saving cell (NES) cell is not inaccessible, the UE can perform data communication with the (NES) cell during active and sleep states of the cell, because the motivation lies in Yue that the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the UE during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 17, Cheng discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the cell is barred when the cell is inaccessible, (see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell)
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform one or both of: implicitly activating the cell discontinuous transmission configuration based on the received configuration information defining a slot where active time starts; or activating the cell discontinuous transmission configuration in response to receiving an activation message from the network. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform one of: activating the cell discontinuous transmission configuration in response to receiving an activation message from the network (see Para [0109] i.e., For example, because the cell DTX/DRX configuration may be activated or deactivated by layer 1 (L1) signaling)
(Elazzouni suggests the cell DTX configuration is activated for the UE to perform cell DTX with the network which results in saving power (see Para’s [0102], [0109], [0111], & [0114])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to be activated by the UE based on activating the cell DTX configuration in response to receiving an activation message as disclosed in Elazzouni, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the cell DTX configuration is activated for the UE to perform cell DTX with the network which results in saving power.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein when the indication has not been received, the apparatus is further caused to perform determining whether the received configuration information indicates a different paging cycle or paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein when the indication has not been received (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)),
the apparatus is further caused to perform determining whether the received configuration information indicates a different paging cycle or paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “different paging occasion configuration”) may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration or paging occasion configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)).
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to receive the cell DTX configuration indicating a different paging occasion configuration for DTX non-active time compared to cell DTX active time, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 21, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein when the received configuration information indicates the different paging occasion configuration, the apparatus is further caused to perform monitoring for the one or more network messages in a selected paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses when the received configuration information indicates the different paging occasion configuration, the apparatus is further caused to perform monitoring for the one or more network messages in a selected paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “different paging occasion configuration”) may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration or paging occasion configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)).
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to receive the cell DTX configuration indicating a different paging occasion configuration for DTX non-active time compared to cell DTX active time, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Cheng, in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, but does not disclose wherein the apparatus monitors for paging occasions which fall within a time window. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein the apparatus monitors for paging occasions which fall within a time window (see Fig. 5 i.e., cell DTX active time window & Para [0105] i.e., cell DTX active time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the paging messages received from the network during the DTX active time, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which performs the cell DTX procedure with the network as disclosed in Cheng, in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to monitor for paging occasions which fall within a time window such as the DTX active time window according to the DTX configuration configured for the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the paging messages received from the network during the DTX active time.
Ther references combined does not disclose the claim feature of compared to a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block transmission made in the cell discontinuous transmission non-active period. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block transmission made in the cell discontinuous transmission non-active period (see Para [0050] i.e., in cell DTX OFF duration, it is possible that the NES cell can only transmit specific data or signaling (e.g., SSB))
(Yue suggests the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration and the cell DTX OFF duration for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell, (see Para’s [0046-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE apparatus which monitors for paging occasions which fall within a cell DTX active time window as disclosed in Cheng, in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to be compared to a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block transmission made in the cell discontinuous transmission non-active period as disclosed in Yue, because the motivation lies in Yue that the SSB transmission is made in the cell DTX OFF duration according to the configured DTX configuration which includes using a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration and the cell DTX OFF duration for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Cheng in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the indication that the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time is received as part of the cell discontinuous transmission configuration via a radio resource control message; and when the indication has not been received, the apparatus determines whether received configuration information indicates a different paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time, and monitors for the one or more network messages in a selected paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein the indication that the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time is received as part of the cell discontinuous transmission configuration via a radio resource control message (see Para’s [0103] i.e., the UE receives a PDCCH or PDSCH that carries unicast RRC signaling indicating the cell DTX/DRX configuration & [0105-0106])
And when the indication has not been received (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)),
the apparatus determines whether the received configuration information indicates a different paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “different paging occasion configuration”) may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration or paging occasion configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)).
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, to receive the cell DTX configuration indicating a different paging occasion configuration for DTX non-active time compared to cell DTX active time, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the different DTX configuration in the SIB including information such as the cell DTX inactive time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the DTX inactive time.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the cell is barred when the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922).
Yue discloses wherein the cell is barred when the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving (see Para’s [0003-0005] i.e., legacy UE does not support the feature of network energy saving techniques, [0053-0056] i.e., cell is barred, & [0060] i.e., the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques that does not provide services to legacy UEs…can be configured to be barred to legacy UEs but be accessible to new UEs)
(Yue suggests the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the new UE which support NES techniques during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques, (see Para’s [0003], [0044], [0049], [0058], & [0060])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell which is barred to legacy UE devices as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to be barred when the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving as disclosed in the teachings of Yue, because the motivation lies in Yue that the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the new UE which support NES techniques during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 27, The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Sadek discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the apparatus does not receive the one or more network messages during the cell discontinuous transmission non-active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses wherein the UE apparatus does not receive the one or more network messages during the cell discontinuous transmission non-active time (see Para [0050] i.e., a cell DTC configuration message configures cell DTX of a NES cell e.g., a cell DTX cycle including cell DTX ON duration, in which the NES cell is active for transmission (e.g., can transmit signal to UEs), and cell DTX OFF duration, in which the NES cell is inactive for transmission (e.g., can NOT transmit any signals to UEs) (i.e., UE does not receive network messages during cell DTX OFF duration)…In this disclosure, it is assumed that, in cell DTX OFF duration, the NES cell can NOT transmit any signal to UEs (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)).
(Yue suggests the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell, (see Para’s [0046-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which receives the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Sadek, to not receive the one or more network messages during the cell discontinuous transmission non-active time as disclosed in the teachings of Yue, because the motivation lies in Yue that the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue does not disclose the claim feature of when there are only Release 18 radio resource control connected user equipment’s in the cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses an NES UE can perform data communication with the (NES) cell during active and sleep states of the cell (see Para [0044] i.e., the new cell, which supports network energy saving techniques may be in the active state or sleep state) when there are only Release 18 radio resource control connected user equipment’s in the cell (see Para’s [0003] i.e., a UE that supports NES may be referred to as a new UE & [0060] i.e., the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques and can be accessible to new UEs (i.e., Release 18 connected UEs))
(Yue suggests the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with NES UEs during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques, (see Para’s [0003], [0044], [0049], [0058], & [0060])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which performs communications with the NES cell according to the cell DTX procedure by not receiving network messages during the cell DTX non-active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to be performed when there are only Release 18 radio resource control connected user equipment’s in the NES cell as disclosed in the teachings of Yue, because the motivation lies in Yue that the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with NES UEs during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the indication that the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time is transmitted as part of the cell discontinuous transmission configuration via a radio resource control message or information element, or as part of a paging cycle configuration via a system information block. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein the indication that the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time is transmitted as part of the cell discontinuous transmission configuration via a radio resource control message or information element, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., the UE receives a PDCCH or PDSCH that carries unicast RRC signaling indicating the cell DTX/DRX configuration & [0105-0106]) or as part of a paging cycle configuration via a system information block (see Para’ [0106] i.e., the information related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “paging cycle configuration”) and associated activation information…SIB1 may indicate the cell DTX/DRX configuration)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitoring the network messages received from the network during the DTX active time, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration information received in the SIB by the UE as disclosed in Cheng to include the indication such as DTX activation information which indicates that one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell DTX active time which are each included in the DTX configuration received by the UE via SIB as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitoring the network messages received from the network during the DTX active time.
Regarding Claim 29, Cheng discloses a method performed by an apparatus (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 104 & Fig. 6), the method comprising: receiving configuration information (see Para’s [0037-0038] i.e., SIB message, [0042] i.e., SIB “(i.e., configuration information”) received by the UE & [0063] i.e., SIB) comprising a cell discontinuous transmission configuration (see Para’s [0026], [0028] i.e., network energy saving (NES) cell may perform cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) in which the base station enters a sleep mode/state during a DRX/DTX off duration. During the sleep mode/state, the base station may not transmit or receive some signals or channels, [0042] i.e., the UE 104 may determine whether a candidate cell is an NES cell based on whether cell DRX/DTX is configured. The cell DRX/DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell, [0085])
performing a determination of whether the cell is inaccessible for radio resource control idle, radio resource control inactive, or legacy devices; (see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB & [0091])
when it is determined that the cell is inaccessible (see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB), monitoring for one or more network messages (see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES may perform cell DTX in which signals (i.e., “network messages”) or channels are transmitted to the UE outside of the sleep mode/state (i.e., cell DTX uses active state for signal communication), [0042] i.e., cell DTX configuration is provided to the UE for performing cell DTX, & [0063])
While Cheng discloses the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB transmitted from the network energy saving (NES) cell which is used by the UE for performing cell DTX for monitoring network messages from the cell when it is determined that the cell is inaccessible (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES cell may perform DTX, [0042] i.e., the cell DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell & [0063]), Cheng does not disclose the claim features of monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell discontinuous transmission active time, and determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time; and when the indication has not been received, determining whether received configuration information indicates a different paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time; and when the received configuration information indicates the different paging occasion configuration, monitoring for the one or more network messages in a selected paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time, and the claim feature of the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Fig. 5 i.e., Cell DTX active time 510 & Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “indication”), during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”), [0031-0032], [0101] i.e., DTX active time during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”) & [0105-0106] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., monitored “network messages”) and/or other downlink channels or signals).
determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted by a network during cell discontinuous transmission active time, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0053] i.e., the indication can be transmitted as part of the cell DTX configuration, Elazzouni, see Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time, during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals, [0031] i.e., the network node may signal the information (i.e., “indication”) related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration to the UE in a system information block…indicating a cell DTX configuration or information related to a cell DTX configuration, in a SIB, [0032] i.e., By signaling the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the associated activation state and/or activation time to the UE, & [0105] i.e., the network node may transmit and the UE may receive, information related to a cell DTX/DRX configuration and activation information (“indication”) associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time (i.e., “indication” indicating network messages such as paging messages will be transmitted during the DTX active time) during which the network node is transmitting…paging messages and/or other downlink channels or signals. In addition, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time & [0106] i.e., SIB may indicate the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the activation state or activation time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration)
and when the indication has not been received, (see Para’s [0031-0032] & [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time)),
determining whether received configuration information indicates a different paging occasion configuration for cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time; (see Para’s [0031-0032], [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., the DTX/DRX configuration indicating one or more network messages are transmitted during cell DTX active time may not be received, but rather a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “different paging occasion configuration”) may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time) & [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration or paging occasion configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time), [0109], & [0123]).
and when the received configuration information indicates the different paging occasion configuration, monitoring for the one or more network messages in a selected paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time, (see Para’s [0031-0032], [0105] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., a different or alternate DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., “different paging occasion configuration”) may be received and used by the UE for indicating to monitor paging messages in the DRX inactive time), [0106] i.e., an active cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1 (i.e., different cell DTX configuration). Furthermore, in some aspects, SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., different cell DTX configuration or paging occasion configuration which may not include restriction to downlink in the cell DTX inactive time), [0109], & [0123]).
the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration (see Para’s [0106] i.e., cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB (i.e., configuration information), [0109] i.e., additionally, the information related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) that indicates when the UE is to start monitoring a PDCCH & [0123] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration includes a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) when the UE is to start to monitor the occasions)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information related to the cell DTX configuration in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration information received in the SIB by the UE as disclosed in Cheng to include the network message configuration and the indication such as DTX activation information which indicates that one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell DTX active time or cell DTX inactive time which are each included in the DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information related to the cell DTX configuration in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni does not disclose the claim feature of monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses a UE monitoring for one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only (see Para [0050] i.e., a cell DTX configuration message configures cell DTX of a NES cell e.g., a cell DTX cycle including cell DTX ON duration, in which the NES cell is active for transmission (e.g., can transmit signal to UEs), and cell DTX OFF duration, in which the NES cell is inactive for transmission (e.g., can NOT transmit any signals to UEs) (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)…In this disclosure, it is assumed that, in cell DTX OFF duration, the NES cell can NOT transmit any signal to UEs (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)).
(Yue suggests the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell, (see Para’s [0046-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time according to the DRX cycle as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni to be performed during the cell DTX active time only by using the DRX cycle disclosed in the teachings of Yue who discloses the DRX cycle used by the base station and the UE for communications sends network messages during the cell DTX active time only and does not transmit any signals during the DTX OFF duration (i.e., “DRX inactive time”), which results in the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only, because the motivation lies in Yue that the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue does not disclose the monitored one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288).
Sadek discloses one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions when performing cell DTX with the UE (see Para’s [0007] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0067-0068] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0090] i.e., paging structure adapted for use in a DTX communication scheme, [0091] i.e., a paging frame (PF) is an RF that may contain one or multiple Paging Occasion (PO) subframes for sending a paging message used for paging and system information change notification, [0093] i.e., In order to ensure that paging is scheduled during an active period, one or more of the paging parameters may be specially configured based on the DTX cycling parameters to align all PFs with the first RF of a DTX cycle, which guaranteed to be an active period, & [0151] i.e., the access point may then set one or more paging parameters to align access terminal paging with at least one active period of the DTX communication pattern).
(Sadek suggests a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern, (see Para’s [0068-0070], [0090-0093], & [0151])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring of the one or more network messages such as the paging messages during the cell DTX active time and cell DTX inactive time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue to be sent in one or more paging occasions as disclosed in the teachings of Sadek, because the motivation lies in Sadek that a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern.
While the combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages in the one or more paging occasions during either of cell discontinuous transmission active or inactive time based on the received DTX configuration of the cell (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] & [0042] & Elazzouni, see Para [0105]), the references combined does not disclose such monitoring is performed when it is determined that the cell is not inaccessible. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922).
Yue discloses when it is determined by a UE that a network energy saving (NES) cell is not inaccessible, a UE can perform data communication with the (NES) cell during active and sleep states of the cell (see Table 2 i.e., last row when cell is not barred for legacy UE and cell is not barred for new UE (i.e., the new UE determines the cell is accessible or not inaccessible based on the received indication) Para’s [0010] i.e., the indication of the cell status of the new cell includes at least one of an indication of the cell status of the new cell for legacy UE and an indication of the cell status of the new cell for new UE, [0044] i.e., network energy saving supports sleep state and non-sleep state (e.g., active state) [0055] i.e., legacy cell barred indication may be barred or nor barred for legacy UEs, [0056] i.e., a new notallowed-NES indication can be added and applied for all the new UEs in SIB or MIB. The notallowed-NES indication can be set to “true” (or “barred” that represents the cell is barred, or set to false (or “not barred” etc., that represents the cell is not barred which means the cell is not barred (i.e., allowed to access), [0057] i.e., The new notallowed-NES indication can be used along with legacy cellBarred indication to indicate the cell status to both legacy UE and new UE, as explained in Table 2, [0058] i.e., if the notallowed-NES is set to “false”, the new UE identifies that the cell is not barred, e.g., for the new UE (i.e., new UE determines the cell is accessible or not inaccessible), & [0060] i.e., the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques…NES cell can be configured to be barred to legacy UEs but accessible to new UEs)
(Yue suggests the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the UE during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques, (see Para’s [0003], [0044], [0049], [0058], & [0060])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages in the one or more paging occasions during either of cell discontinuous transmission active or inactive time based on the received DTX configuration of the cell as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to be performed when it is determined that the cell is not inaccessible based on the teachings of Yue who discloses when it is determined by a new UE that a network energy saving cell (NES) cell is not inaccessible, the UE can perform data communication with the (NES) cell during active and sleep states of the cell, because the motivation lies in Yue that the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the UE during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses a method according to claim 29, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein when the received configuration information does not indicate the different paging occasion configuration, monitoring for the one or more network messages in any paging occasion. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses wherein when the received configuration information does not indicate the different paging occasion configuration (see Para [0106] i.e., SIB may indicate candidate cell DTX/DRX configurations…SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DRX/DTX configuration such that the UE can avoid wasting power (i.e., an alternative received DTX configuration may be used)),
monitoring for the one or more network messages in any paging occasion, (see Para [0105] i.e., paging messages in cell DTX active time or cell DTX inactive time)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information related to the cell DTX configuration in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell DTX configuration received in SIB by the UE for performing cell DTX with the network as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to include the received DTX configuration information that does not indicate the different paging occasion configuration for monitoring for the one or more network messages in any paging occasion as disclosed in Elazzouni because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information related to the cell DTX configuration in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network.
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses a method according to claim 29 including wherein the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices (Cheng, see Para [0063]) , but does not disclose wherein the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922).
Yue discloses wherein the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving (see Para’s [0003-0005] i.e., legacy UE does not support the feature of network energy saving techniques, [0053-0056] i.e., cell is barred, & [0060] i.e., the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques that does not provide services to legacy UEs…can be configured to be barred to legacy UEs but be accessible to new UEs)
(Yue suggests the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the new UE which support NES techniques during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques, (see Para’s [0003], [0044], [0049], [0058], & [0060])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell which is barred to legacy UE devices as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to be barred when the cell is inaccessible for legacy devices that do not support Release-18 Network Energy Saving as disclosed in the teachings of Yue, because the motivation lies in Yue that the new cell implements Rel-18 network energy saving techniques for performing communication with the new UE which support NES techniques during active states and sleep states for saving energy by the cell and for performing access control in the energy saving network by applying access restriction to legacy UEs which do not support network energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 32, While the combined teachings of Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses the method according to claim 29 including monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during cell discontinuous transmission active time only (see rejection of claim 29 above), when all of: the cell is inaccessible (Cheng, see Para [0063]), and the cell discontinuous transmission is configured and activated (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] i.e., Cell DTX is activated when cell DTX is performed & [0042]), the references combined does not disclose further comprising: implicitly activating the cell discontinuous transmission configuration based on the received configuration information defining a slot where active time starts. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses implicitly activating the cell discontinuous transmission configuration based on the received configuration information defining a slot where active time starts (see Para’s [0046], [0098] i.e., PDCCH communication is received in a slot, [0105], [0109] i.e., the information related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a reference time that indicates when the UE is to start monitoring…the reference time when the UE starts to monitor may be in the active time & [0123])
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the reference time in order for the UE to properly determine when to start the monitoring for the network messages received from the network when cell DTX is activated, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cell DTX configuration received in SIB by the UE for performing cell DTX with the network as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to include the received DTX configuration information including the reference time for monitoring for the one or more network messages as disclosed in Elazzouni because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the reference time in order for the UE to properly determine when to start the monitoring for the network messages received from the network when cell DTX is activated.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ouchi US (2018/0152924).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message, the short message comprising at least one of: a system information modification indication, an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication, a stop paging monitoring indication, or a system information modification extended discontinuous reception indication. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ouchi US (2018/0152924).
Ouchi discloses wherein the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”))
the short message comprising at least one of: a system information modification indication, an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”), & [0093]), a stop paging monitoring indication, or a system information modification extended discontinuous reception indication
(Ouchi suggests the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events, (see Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more network messages such as a paging message monitored by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to comprise the paging message (i.e., short message) comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System indication as disclosed in Ouchi, because the motivation lies in Ouchi that the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. US (2025/0374191).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein when there is no paging occasion in a current cell discontinuous transmission active time but a paging occasion is available in a next cell discontinuous transmission active time, the apparatus postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses when there is no paging occasion but a paging occasion is available in a next cell discontinuous transmission active time, the apparatus postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para [0032] i.e., For example, the UE may start to monitor the PDCCH occasions (i.e., substituted with paging occasions when paging is being sent and monitored in cell DTX active time) at or after the beginning of the subsequent DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “next DTX active time”). In this way, the early signaling of the cell DTX/DRX active time may mitigate unnecessary power consumption that would otherwise occur if the UE were to monitor the PDCCH occasions when the network node is not transmitting any PDCCH messages (i.e., UE monitors in a subsequent cell DTX active time until there are occasions to save power) & [0105] i.e., cell DTX active time during which the network is transmitting paging messages (i.e., “paging occasion”))
(Elazzouni suggests that UE may start to monitor the occasions at the subsequent cell DTX/DRX active time for mitigating unnecessary power consumption that would occur if the UE were to perform monitoring when the network is not transmitting PDCCH occasions (see Para [0032])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE performing the communication according to the cell DTX procedure with the network as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time when there is no paging occasion but a paging occasion is available in a next cell discontinuous transmission active time as disclosed in Elazzouni, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE may start to monitor the occasions at the subsequent cell DTX/DRX active time for mitigating unnecessary power consumption that would occur if the UE were to perform monitoring when the network is not transmitting PDCCH occasions.
While Elazzouni discloses the DRX on duration of UEs are aligned with DTX active duration of the network which sends the occasions (see Para’s [0005] & [0032]), the references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein when there is no paging occasion in a current cell discontinuous transmission active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yuan et al. US (2025/0374191).
Yuan discloses wherein when there is no occasion in a current DRX active time, the UE skips monitoring occasions during its DRX active time (see Para’s [0005] i.e., receive DCI within a DRX active time, the DCI indicating for the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration of time within the DRX active time and without a resource assignment for downlink or uplink (i.e., no PDCCH occasions are sent in the DRX active time by the base station), and to skip monitoring for a PDCCH during the duration of time & [0055] i.e., the base station 102…to skip transmission of a PDCCH during the duration of time (i.e., no PDCCH occasions are sent in the DRX active time by the base station)).
(Yuan suggests the UE skips monitoring occasions during the DRX active time when there are no occasions transmitted for conserving battery power, (see Para’s [0005] & [0027])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a current cell DTX time which aligns with the UEs DRX on duration as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to not have any occasions based on the teachings of Yuan who discloses wherein when there is no occasion in a current DRX active time (i.e., network does not transmit occasions), the UE skips monitoring occasions during its DRX active time, because the motivation lies in Yuan that the UE skips monitoring occasions during the DRX active time when there are no occasions transmitted for conserving battery power.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. US (2026/0032652).
Regarding Claim 23, While the combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue discloses an apparatus according to claim 22 including wherein the different paging occasion configuration may comprise a paging cycle configured with paging occasions transmitted in the cell DTX inactive time and cell DTX active time (Elazzouni, see Fig. 5 i.e., paging cycle comprising cell DTX inactive time and cell DTX active time & Para [0105] i.e., paging messages may be transmitted in cell DTX active time and cell DTX inactive time), the references combined does not disclose the claim feature wherein the different paging occasion configuration comprises a paging cycle configured so that paging occasions are less frequent during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time, achieved by scaling a default paging cycle or a number of paging occasions within the paging cycle. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Cheng et al. US (2026/0032652).
Cheng discloses wherein an occasion configuration comprises a paging cycle (see Para [0145] i.e., cell DRX/DTX configuration) configured so that occasions are less frequent during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time, (see Para [0145] i.e., a periodic UL resource (e.g., periodicity and slot offset), similar to a scheduling request (SR) resource, may be configured. In some instances, a periodic UL resource with different patterns (e.g., periodicity and slot offset) in a cell DRX/DTX on duration and a cell DRX/DTX off duration may be configured. Note that resources (i.e., resources may represent “occasions”) in the cell DRX/DTX off duration may be sparser (e.g., less frequent) than in a cell DRX/DTX on duration)
achieved by scaling a default paging cycle or a number of occasions within the paging cycle (see Para [0145] i.e., a periodic UL resource (e.g., periodicity and slot offset), similar to a scheduling request (SR) resource, may be configured. In some instances, a periodic UL resource with different patterns (e.g., periodicity and slot offset) in a cell DRX/DTX on duration and a cell DRX/DTX off duration may be configured (i.e., “scaling the number of occasions”). Note that resources (i.e., resources may represent “occasions”) in the cell DRX/DTX off duration may be sparser (e.g., less frequent) than in a cell DRX/DTX on duration).
(Cheng suggests the configured cell DRX/DTX configuration used by the base station and UE results in saving power based on the base station not transmitting at least a portion of the signals during the sleep mode/state, (see Para’s [0142] & [0145])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the different paging occasion configuration comprising the paging cycle configured with paging occasions transmitted in the cell DTX inactive time and cell DTX active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to be configured so that the paging occasions less frequent during the cell DTX non-active time compared to the cell DTX active time based on the teachings of Cheng who discloses a configured cell DTX/DRX configuration comprises a paging cycle is configured so that occasions are less frequent during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time compared to cell discontinuous transmission active time, achieved by scaling a default paging cycle or a number of occasions within the paging cycle, resulting in the paging occasions being less frequent during the cell DTX non-active time compared to the cell DTX active time, because the motivation lies in Cheng that the configured cell DRX/DTX configuration used by the base station and UE results in saving power based on the base station not transmitting at least a portion of the signals during the sleep mode/state.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of YUE et al. US (2026/0019922) as applied to claim 22 above, further in view of Ouchi US (2018/0152924), and further in view of Yuan et al. US (2025/0374191).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of YUE discloses an apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein: the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication; However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ouchi US (2018/0152924).
Ouchi discloses wherein the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”))
the short message comprising at least one of: a system information modification indication, an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”), & [0093]), a stop paging monitoring indication, or a system information modification extended discontinuous reception indication
(Ouchi suggests the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events, (see Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more network messages such as a paging message monitored by the UE as disclosed in Cheng, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to comprise the paging message (i.e., short message) comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System indication as disclosed in Ouchi, because the motivation lies in Ouchi that the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events.
The combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of YUE, and further in view of Ouchi does not disclose the claim features of the cell discontinuous transmission configuration is activated in response to receiving an activation message from the network; and when there is no paging occasion in a current cell discontinuous transmission active time, the apparatus postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses the cell discontinuous transmission configuration is activated in response to receiving an activation message from the network (see Para [0109] i.e., For example, because the cell DTX/DRX configuration may be activated or deactivated by layer 1 (L1) signaling)
Elazzouni discloses when there is no paging occasion but a paging occasion is available in a next cell discontinuous transmission active time, the apparatus postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para [0032] i.e., For example, the UE may start to monitor the PDCCH occasions (i.e., substituted with paging occasions when paging is being sent and monitored in cell DTX active time) at or after the beginning of the subsequent DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “next DTX active time”). In this way, the early signaling of the cell DTX/DRX active time may mitigate unnecessary power consumption that would otherwise occur if the UE were to monitor the PDCCH occasions when the network node is not transmitting any PDCCH messages (i.e., UE monitors in a subsequent cell DTX active time until there are occasions to save power) & [0105] i.e., cell DTX active time during which the network is transmitting paging messages (i.e., “paging occasion”))
(Elazzouni suggests that UE may start to monitor the occasions at the subsequent cell DTX/DRX active time for mitigating unnecessary power consumption that would occur if the UE were to perform monitoring when the network is not transmitting PDCCH occasions (see Para [0032])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE performing the communication according to the cell DTX procedure with the network as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to postpones monitoring for the one or more network messages to the next cell discontinuous transmission active time when there is no paging occasion but a paging occasion is available in a next cell discontinuous transmission active time as disclosed in Elazzouni, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE may start to monitor the occasions at the subsequent cell DTX/DRX active time for mitigating unnecessary power consumption that would occur if the UE were to perform monitoring when the network is not transmitting PDCCH occasions.
While Elazzouni discloses the DRX on duration of UEs are aligned with DTX active duration of the network which sends the occasions (see Para’s [0005] & [0032]), the references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein when there is no paging occasion in a current cell discontinuous transmission active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yuan et al. US (2025/0374191).
Yuan discloses wherein when there is no occasion in a current DRX active time, the UE skips monitoring occasions during its DRX active time (see Para’s [0005] i.e., receive DCI within a DRX active time, the DCI indicating for the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration of time within the DRX active time and without a resource assignment for downlink or uplink (i.e., no PDCCH occasions are sent in the DRX active time by the base station), and to skip monitoring for a PDCCH during the duration of time & [0055] i.e., the base station 102…to skip transmission of a PDCCH during the duration of time (i.e., no PDCCH occasions are sent in the DRX active time by the base station)).
(Yuan suggests the UE skips monitoring occasions during the DRX active time when there are no occasions transmitted for conserving battery power, (see Para’s [0005] & [0027])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a current cell DTX time which aligns with the UEs DRX on duration as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Yue to not have any occasions based on the teachings of Yuan who discloses wherein when there is no occasion in a current DRX active time (i.e., network does not transmit occasions), the UE skips monitoring occasions during its DRX active time, because the motivation lies in Yuan that the UE skips monitoring occasions during the DRX active time when there are no occasions transmitted for conserving battery power.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2026/0089622) in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503), further in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570), further in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288), and further in view of Ouchi (2018/0152924).
Regarding Claim 33, Cheng discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform at least the following: receiving configuration information (see Para’s [0037-0038] i.e., SIB message, [0042] i.e., SIB “(i.e., configuration information”) received by the UE & [0063] i.e., SIB), comprising a cell discontinuous transmission configuration (see Para’s [0026], [0028] i.e., network energy saving (NES) cell may perform cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) in which the base station enters a sleep mode/state during a DRX/DTX off duration. During the sleep mode/state, the base station may not transmit or receive some signals or channels, [0042] i.e., the UE 104 may determine whether a candidate cell is an NES cell based on whether cell DRX/DTX is configured. The cell DRX/DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell, [0085])
performing a determination of at least one condition for monitoring for the one or more network messages, (see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES may perform cell DTX in which signals (i.e., “network messages”) or channels are transmitted to the UE outside of the sleep mode/state (i.e., cell DTX uses active state for signal communication), [0042] i.e., cell DTX configuration is provided to the UE for performing cell DTX & [0063] i.e., A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB)
While Cheng discloses the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB transmitted from the network energy saving (NES) cell which is used by the UE for performing cell DTX for monitoring network messages from the cell (Cheng, see Para’s [0028] i.e., NES cell may perform DTX, [0042] i.e., the cell DTX configuration may be provided in a SIB transmission of the cell & [0063]), Cheng does not disclose the claim features of the determination comprising determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell discontinuous transmission active time only; wherein the apparatus is in a radio resource control connected state; when it is determined that the indication has been received and the cell is in discontinuous transmission active time, monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during cell discontinuous transmission active time; and when the cell is not in discontinuous transmission active time, omitting monitoring for the one or more network messages and postponing the monitoring to a next cell discontinuous transmission active time and the claim feature of the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses the determination comprising determining whether an indication has been received which indicates that the one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell discontinuous transmission active time only; (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0053] i.e., the indication can be transmitted as part of the cell DTX configuration, Elazzouni, see Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time, during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals, [0031] i.e., the network node may signal the information (i.e., “indication”) related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration to the UE in a system information block…indicating a cell DTX configuration or information related to a cell DTX configuration, in a SIB, [0032] i.e., By signaling the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the associated activation state and/or activation time to the UE, & [0105] i.e., the network node may transmit and the UE may receive, information related to a cell DTX/DRX configuration and activation information (“indication”) associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time (i.e., “indication” indicating network messages such as paging messages will be transmitted during the DTX active time) during which the network node is transmitting…paging messages and/or other downlink channels or signals. In addition, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time & [0106] i.e., SIB may indicate the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the activation state or activation time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration…SIB1 may carry information that indicates whether one or more uplink and/or downlink restrictions are applied during the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (i.e., DTX configuration including downlink restriction in inactive time of the cell DTX may configure or indicate the UE to monitor only in the cell DTX active time), [0109] i.e., UE starts to monitor in the active time (i.e., monitoring may be only in the active time when downlink restrictions are applied during cell DTX inactive time), & [0123]).
wherein the apparatus is in a radio resource control connected state; (see Para’s [0005] i.e., DTX applied for connected mode UEs (i.e., UE is in RRC connected state when DTX is performed), [0101], & [0102-0103] i.e., a UE performs a RACH procedure to enter an RRC connected state)
when it is determined that the indication has been received (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032] i.e., cell DTX configuration or information related to the cell DTX configuration received by the UE in SIB, & [0105]) and the cell is in discontinuous transmission active time (see Fig. 5 i.e., cell DTX active time 510 & Para’s [0101] i.e., DTX/DRX active time during which the network node transmits and/or receives one or more signals & [0105-0106]), monitoring for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during cell discontinuous transmission active time; (see Fig. 5 i.e., Cell DTX active time 510 & Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “indication”), during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”), [0031-0032], [0101] i.e., DTX active time during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”) & [0105-0106] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., monitored “network messages”) and/or other downlink channels or signals).
and when the cell is not in discontinuous transmission active time (see Fig. 5 i.e., cell DTX inactive time 510 & Para [0101]), omitting monitoring for the one or more network messages and postponing the monitoring to a next cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para’s [0103], [0111] i.e., the UE refrains from monitoring the occasions that occur during the inactive time and delays monitoring until the next cell DTX active time, & [0118])
the configuration information further comprising a network message configuration (see Para’s [0106] i.e., cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB (i.e., configuration information), [0109] i.e., additionally, the information related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) that indicates when the UE is to start monitoring a PDCCH & [0123] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration includes a reference time (i.e., “network message configuration”) when the UE is to start to monitor the occasions)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration information received in the SIB by the UE as disclosed in Cheng to include the network message configuration and the indication such as DTX activation information which indicates that one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell DTX active time which are each included in the DTX configuration received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni, which results in monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time when it is determined that the cell is inaccessible and the indication has been received, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni does not disclose the claim feature of monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yue et al. US (2026/0214570).
Yue discloses a UE monitoring for one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only (see Para [0050] i.e., a cell DTX configuration message configures cell DTX of a NES cell e.g., a cell DTX cycle including cell DTX ON duration, in which the NES cell is active for transmission (e.g., can transmit signal to UEs), and cell DTX OFF duration, in which the NES cell is inactive for transmission (e.g., can NOT transmit any signals to UEs) (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)…In this disclosure, it is assumed that, in cell DTX OFF duration, the NES cell can NOT transmit any signal to UEs (i.e., network messages are transmitted only in DTX active time)).
(Yue suggests the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell, (see Para’s [0046-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring for the one or more network messages during the cell DTX active time according to the DRX cycle as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni to be performed during the cell DTX active time only by using the DRX cycle disclosed in the teachings of Yue who discloses the DRX cycle used by the base station and the UE for communications sends network messages during the cell DTX active time only and does not transmit any signals during the DTX OFF duration (i.e., “DRX inactive time”), which results in the UE monitoring for the one or more network messages during cell DTX active time only, because the motivation lies in Yue that the cell DTX of a NES cell includes a cell DTX cycle including the Cell DTX ON duration for transmitting signals to the UEs and the cell DTX OFF duration in which the NES cell does not transmit any signals to the UE for achieving and supporting network energy saving in the cell.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue does not disclose the monitored one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sadek et al. US (2017/0332288).
Sadek discloses one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time monitored by a UE (see Para’s [0007] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0067-0068] i.e., active period of DTX pattern, [0090] i.e., paging structure adapted for use in a DTX communication scheme, [0091] i.e., a paging frame (PF) is an RF that may contain one or multiple Paging Occasion (PO) subframes for sending a paging message used for paging and system information change notification, [0093] i.e., In order to ensure that paging is scheduled during an active period, one or more of the paging parameters may be specially configured based on the DTX cycling parameters to align all PFs with the first RF of a DTX cycle, which guaranteed to be an active period, & [0151] i.e., the access point may then set one or more paging parameters to align access terminal paging with at least one active period of the DTX communication pattern).
(Sadek suggests a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the active period of the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern, (see Para’s [0068-0070], [0090-0093], & [0151])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the monitoring of the one or more network messages such as the paging messages during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, and further in view of Yue to be sent in one or more paging occasions during the cell DTX active time as disclosed in the teachings of Sadek, because the motivation lies in Sadek that a paging frame may contain one or multiple paging occasion subframes for sending a paging message to the terminal during the active period of the DTX pattern which is used for effectively paging the UE and for saving transmission power by the network based on using the DTX communication pattern.
The combination of Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ouchi (2018/0152924).
Ouchi discloses wherein the one or more network messages such as a paging message comprises at least one short message, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”))
(Ouchi suggests the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events, (see Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more network messages such as a paging message monitored by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek, to comprise the paging message (i.e., short message) comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System indication as disclosed in Ouchi, because the motivation lies in Ouchi that the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events.
Regarding Claim 34, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 33, but does not disclose and the apparatus avoids futile monitoring for the network messages during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time, thereby saving energy at the apparatus. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses and the apparatus avoids futile monitoring for the network messages during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time, thereby saving energy at the apparatus (see Para’s [0103] i.e., UE will save power or energy by not monitoring the occasions during the cell DTX inactive time, [0105] i.e., paging messages during cell DTX inactive time, [0111] i.e., the UE refrains from monitoring the occasions that occur during the inactive time (i.e., “avoids futile monitoring”) and delays monitoring until the next cell DTX active time, & [0118])
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the cell DTX active time which results in increasing energy efficiency in the RAN by enabling cell DTX, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which performs the cell DTX procedure with the network as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek to avoid futile monitoring for the network messages during cell discontinuous transmission non-active time, thereby saving energy at the apparatus as disclosed in Elazzouni because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the cell DTX active time which results in increasing energy efficiency in the RAN by enabling cell DTX.
The references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the short message comprises an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ouchi (2018/0152924).
Ouchi discloses wherein the one or more network messages comprise at least one short message, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”))
the short message comprises an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System and Commercial Mobile Alert System indication (see Para’s [0086] i.e., the termina device monitors a paging message to detect an ETWS notification, CMAS notification & [0089] i.e., the ETWS emergency warning including a primary notification which is a short notification (i.e., “short message”), & [0093]),
(Ouchi suggests the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events, (see Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more network messages such as a paging message monitored by the UE as disclosed in Cheng in view of Elazzouni, further in view of Yue, and further in view of Sadek, to comprise the paging message (i.e., short message) comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System indication as disclosed in Ouchi, because the motivation lies in Ouchi that the terminal monitors the paging message to detect the Earthquake and Tsunami Warning system (ETWS) notification which is an emergency warning notification for indicating to the terminal natural disasters such as earthquakes and/or tsunami events.
Regarding Claim 35, the combination of Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Ouchi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 33, wherein: the apparatus determines whether the cell is barred for radio resource control idle, radio resource control inactive, or legacy devices; (Cheng, see Para [0063] i.e., an NES cell may perform cell barring in a manner that prevents legacy UEs from connecting with the NES cell based on an indication provided in SIB…A NES-capable UE, on the other hand, will determine that it is able to camp on the NES cell based on the indication that the cell is “performing NES barring” in the SIB & [0091])
While Cheng discloses when the cell is barred, the UE accesses the NES cell for monitoring the network messages based on the DTX configuration indicated in the received SIB (see Para’s [0028], [0042], & [0063]), the references combined does not disclose the claim features of when the cell is barred, the apparatus receives the indication indicating the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time; the apparatus determines whether the cell is in cell discontinuous transmission active time; when the cell is in active time, the apparatus monitors for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during cell discontinuous transmission active time; the configuration information is received from a network entity comprising a base station or gNB; and the cell discontinuous transmission configuration is activated based on receiving an activation message. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Elazzouni et al. US (2024/0373503).
Elazzouni discloses the apparatus receives the indication indicating the one or more network messages will be transmitted during cell discontinuous transmission active time; (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0053] i.e., the indication can be transmitted as part of the cell DTX configuration, Elazzouni, see Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time, during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals, [0031] i.e., the network node may signal the information (i.e., “indication”) related to the cell DTX/DRX configuration to the UE in a system information block…indicating a cell DTX configuration or information related to a cell DTX configuration, in a SIB, [0032] i.e., By signaling the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the associated activation state and/or activation time to the UE, & [0105] i.e., the network node may transmit and the UE may receive, information related to a cell DTX/DRX configuration and activation information (“indication”) associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time (i.e., “indication” indicating network messages such as paging messages will be transmitted during the DTX active time) during which the network node is transmitting…paging messages and/or other downlink channels or signals. In addition, the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX inactive time & [0106] i.e., SIB may indicate the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the activation state or activation time of the cell DTX/DRX configuration)
the apparatus determines whether the cell is in cell discontinuous transmission active time (see Para’s [0101] i.e., DTX/DRX active time 510 & [0105]); when the cell is in active time (see Fig. 5 i.e., cell DTX active time 510 & Para [0101] & [0105]), the apparatus monitors for the one or more network messages in one or more paging occasions during cell discontinuous transmission active time; (see Fig. 5 i.e., Cell DTX active time 510 & Para’s [0005] i.e., For example, a cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a DTX/DRX active time (i.e., “indication”), during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”), [0031-0032], [0101] i.e., DTX active time during which a network node transmits and/or receives one or more channels or signals (i.e., “network messages”) & [0105-0106] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may include a cell DTX active time during which the network node is transmitting paging messages (i.e., monitored “network messages”) and/or other downlink channels or signals).
the configuration information is received from a network entity comprising a base station or gNB; (see Para [0106] i.e., cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated in SIB1)
and the cell discontinuous transmission configuration is activated based on receiving an activation message (see Para [0109] i.e., the cell DTX/DRX configuration may be activated or deactivated by L1 signaling)
(Elazzouni suggests the UE receives the DTX configuration (i.e., indication) in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the cell DTX active time which results in increasing energy efficiency in the RAN by enabling cell DTX, (see Para’s [0005], [0031-0032],[0105-0106], & [0123])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX configuration received in the SIB in order to determine by the UE when the cell is barred as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yue, further in view of Sadek, and further in view of Ouchi to include the indication such as DTX activation information which indicates that one or more network messages will be transmitted by the network during cell DTX active time which is included in the DTX configuration received by the UE in the SIB as disclosed in the teachings of Elazzouni, which results in receiving the indication when it is determined that the cell is barred, because the motivation lies in Elazzouni that the UE receives the DTX configuration (i.e., indication) in the SIB including the activation information such as the cell DTX active time in order for the UE to determine the DTX schedule for properly monitor the network messages received from the network during the cell DTX active time which results in increasing energy efficiency in the RAN by enabling cell DTX.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461