DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I as embodied claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of electing Species I in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al. (US 2015/0232019).
Regarding claim 1, Salter discloses an electronic device [see at least figs. 6, 2-4], comprising: an electronic unit, comprising: a light-emitting unit [e.g. 58 fig. 2/3/4] that provides a first emitted light; and a first light-filtering unit [e.g. 70, 71 fig. 2/3; 66, 71 fig. 4; or see para. 0035] disposed on the light-emitting unit, wherein the first light-filtering unit comprises: a substrate [e.g. 70 fig. 2/3; or 66 fig. 4]; and a first light-conversion layer [e.g. 71 fig. 2/3; or 71 fig. 4] disposed on the substrate; a vehicle control unit [e.g. 140] electrically connected to the light-emitting unit; and a sensing unit [e.g. ambient light sensor 152] transmitting a sensing signal to the vehicle control unit, wherein the vehicle control unit modulates [e.g. pulse width modulation (PWM) is based on duty cycles; see at least para. 0054] an intensity [see at least para. 0054] of the first emitted light based on a sensing signal from the sensing unit, and a modulated first emitted light passes through the first light-filtering unit to form a second emitted light [e.g. 28/110/112].
Regarding claim 5, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sensing unit comprises an ambient-light sensor (ALS).
Regarding claim 6, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic unit further comprises a cover plate [e.g. 102] disposed on the first light-filtering unit.
Regarding claim 7, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the electronic unit further comprises a second light-filtering unit [e.g. 106/106a fig. 4; 108/108a fig. 4] disposed on the cover plate.
Regarding claim 8, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the second light-filtering unit comprises a pattern area [e.g. the portion of 116; or the portion of 118.].
Regarding claim 9, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the first light-conversion layer has a surface area which is greater than or equal to that of the pattern area [see fig. 4].
Regarding claim 11, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic unit further comprises a diffusion plate [e.g. 64/66b] disposed between the light-emitting unit and the first light-filtering unit.
Regarding claim 12, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic unit further comprises a touch unit [e.g. 64, a touchable unit] disposed on the first light-filtering unit and electrically connected to the vehicle control unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2015/0232019) in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0217769).
Regarding claim 2, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the first light-filtering unit further comprises a second light-conversion layer disposed on the substrate, and the first light-conversion layer is separated from the second light-conversion layer by a distance. However, Chen discloses a second light-conversion layer [e.g. 108b] disposed on a substrate [e.g. 146], and a first light-conversion layer [e.g. 108a] is separated from the second light-conversion layer by a distance [see at least fig. 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Salter in accordance with the teaching of Chen regarding a conversion layer in order to provide a conversion layers comprising separates conversion layers [para. 0031].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 2, except wherein the distance is 2.0-20.0 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a distance is 2.0-20.0 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum of working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2015/0232019).
Regarding claim 4, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the first light-filtering unit has a light transmittance which is less than or equal to 30% or greater than or equal to 80%. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first light-filtering unit with a light transmittance which is less than or equal to 30% or greater than or equal to 80%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum of working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Salter discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first emitted light has a first transmittance chromaticity coordinates (x1, yl), the second emitted light has a second transmittance chromaticity coordinates (x2, y2), except and 0.003<Ix1-x2|<0.2 and 0.003 <|yl -y2|<0.2. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.003<Ix1-x2|<0.2 and 0.003 <|yl -y2|<0.2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum of working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842