DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki et al (WO 2016/031768 A1). This prior art reference being cited to as Iwasaki hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki discloses a battery end cover assembly (“a sealing structure that seals the injection hole for injecting electrolyte into a sealed storage device” [0020]), comprising:
an end cover having a liquid injection hole penetrating along a first direction (“a sealing plate 13 is provided with a liquid injection hole 20 that penetrates the sealing plate 13 in the thickness direction” [0021]); wherein:
the liquid injection hole comprises a first hole segment and a second hole segment divided along the first direction (“penetrates the sealing plate 13 in the thickness direction from the first opening 20a to the second opening 20b” [0021]); the cross-sectional area of the first hole segment is larger than the cross-sectional area of the second hole segment (“the diameter of the liquid injection hole 20 is slightly smaller than the diameter HD1 of the first opening 20a” [0028] such that first opening 20a corresponds to the claimed first hole segment);
a stepped surface is formed between the first hole segment and the second hole segment (21 Fig. 3C; “stepped deep seat portion 21 is formed in the sealing plate 13 to facilitate electrolyte injection and to store the base 33 of the press-fitting member 32 (see Figure 4A) described later” [0021]); and
the stepped surface comprises a first inclined surface inclined toward the second hole segment along the first direction (20e Fig. 3C; “the sealing plate 13 has a chamfering portion 20e near the first opening 20a” [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first inclined surface is a truncated conical surface (Fig. 3C shows chamfering portion 20e to form a truncated cone surface through sealing plate 13).
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein:
the projection of the first inclined surface on a plane perpendicular to the first direction is a circular ring (“The first opening 20a is an opening formed inside the circumference at the boundary between the liquid injection hole 20 and the deep seat pits 21, and is located on the same plane as the bottom 21B of the deep seat pits 21. The second opening 20b is an opening formed inside the circumference that is the boundary between the liquid injection hole 20 and the inside of the case, and is on the same plane as the side where the deep seat preservation portion 21 of the sealing plate 13 is not formed.” [0021] where “circumference describes a circular shape); and
the height L of the first inclined surface in the first direction and the radial width D of the circular ring satisfy: 0.2≤D/L≤35 (“The inner diameter HD1 of the inner peripheral surface 20c of the liquid injection hole 20 is 5mm” [0109] and Table 2 discloses H1 values of 0.2 and 0.3 mm, which then discloses corresponding D/L values of 16.7≤D/L≤25).
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 3 above, and wherein the stepped surface further comprises a planar segment perpendicular to the first direction (21B Figs. 3A-3B; “bottom 21B of the deep seat pits 21” [0021]), and the planar segment is on the outer side of the first inclined surface far from the second hole segment (the section located at 21B in Figs. 3A-3B is on the outer perimeter side of 20e shown in Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 6, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 5 above, and wherein the area defined by the inner edge of the planar segment is configured to be larger than the area of a liquid outlet of a liquid injection nozzle, and the liquid injection nozzle is the liquid injection nozzle of a liquid injection device for injecting liquid into the liquid injection hole (MPEP 2144.04-IV-A states “In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.)” such that the current claimed subject matter of the limitation pertains to dimensions of the liquid outlet of the liquid injection hole relative to the nozzle of a liquid injection device, which is an apparatus known in the art to be functional for liquid injection holes of batteries, and does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art of Iwasaki).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising: a first seal nail that is at least partly located in the second hole segment (33 Fig. 8; “base 33 of the press-fitting member 32” [0021]), and fits with the second hole segment in a sealed manner (“in the sealed state, the protruding portion 34 includes a first lateral portion 34a located on the base 33 side of the second opening 20b” [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 7 above, and wherein:
the first seal nail comprises a first segment (34a Fig. 8) and a second segment (the top portion of 34b that contacts the side wall of the bottom portion of the liquid injection hole shown in Fig. 8) divided along the first direction;
the second segment fits with the second hole segment in a sealed manner (“The straight portion 34as may or may not be in contact with the inner peripheral surface 20c of the liquid injection hole 20.” [0038]);
the maximum cross-sectional area of the first segment is larger than the cross-sectional area of the second hole segment (“When the protrusion 34 is inserted into the liquid injection hole 20, the elastic material constituting the first side portion 34a deforms and contacts the chamfering portion 20e.” [0027] where the diameter of the bottom portion of chamfering portion 20e is the diameter of at least the top portion of second opening 20b); and
the first segment has a second inclined surface which is capable of closely fitting with the first inclined surface (“part of the first side portion 34a and the inner peripheral surface 20c of the liquid injection hole 20 contact the entire circumference of the inner peripheral surface 20c (hereinafter, this contact portion is referred toas the contact portion SH)” [0033] and the top portion of 34Ba in Fig. 5B has an outer inclined surface).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the first seal nail further comprises a third segment that is connected along the first direction to a side of the second segment far from the first segment (the bottom portion of 34b shown in Fig. 8 that is disposed below the sealing plate 13), and the maximum cross-sectional area of the third segment is larger than the cross-sectional area of the second hole segment (the diameter of the bottom portion 34b is shown to have a larger diameter than the diameter of the liquid injection hole 20 on the bottom surface of sealing plate 13).
Regarding claim 10, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 9 above, and wherein the third segment has a drum-shaped part adjacent to the second segment (the bottom portion of 34b in Fig. 8 has a generally cylindrical shape with rounded side walls, which forms a generally drum shape), and the maximum cross-sectional area of the third segment is the maximum cross-sectional area of the drum-shaped part (the top part of the bottom portion of 34b in Fig. 8 is the largest diameter of the bottom portion of 34b as a whole).
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 10 above, and wherein the third segment further comprises a conical or truncated conical part on the drum-shaped part far from the second segment (the bottom part of the bottom portion of 34b in Fig. 8 forms a truncated conical part), and the cross-sectional area of the conical or truncated conical part gradually decreases along the first direction (the bottom portion of 34b in Fig. 8 has inclined wall surfaces that forms decreasing cross sections along the top-to-bottom direction).
Regarding claim 12, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 9 above, and wherein the cross-sectional area of the second hole segment is larger than the cross-sectional area of an end surface on a side of the third segment far from the second segment (the bottom part of the bottom portion of 34b in Fig. 8 has a smaller diameter than the diameter of the liquid injection hole 20 on the bottom surface of sealing plate 13).
Regarding claim 13, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 12 above, and wherein the cross-sectional area of the second hole segment is 1.05-1.5 times the cross-sectional area of the end surface on the side of the third segment far from the second segment (the diameter of the liquid injection hole 20 on the bottom surface of sealing plate 13 in Fig. 8 is at least 1 times the diameter of the bottom part of the bottom portion of 34b and less than 1.5 times the diameter of the bottom part of the bottom portion of 34b).
Regarding claim 14, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 11 above, and wherein the angle β between the generatrix of the conical or truncated conical part and a plane perpendicular to the first direction satisfies: 30°≤β≤50° (θ2 Fig. 4B; “angle θ2 is preferably greater than 5° and preferably less than 45°” [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 7 above, and further comprising: a second seal nail that is at least partly located in the first hole segment (33 Fig. 8; “base 33 of the press-fitting member 32” [0021]), and fits with the first hole segment in a sealed manner (“a stepped deep seat portion 21 is formed in the sealing plate 13 to facilitate electrolyte injection and to store the base 33 of the press-fitting member 32” [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 7 above, and wherein the material of the first seal nail comprises rubber (“it is preferable to use ethylene-propylene-diene rubber (EPDM) or fluororubber as elastic materials included in the press-fit member” [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (WO 2016/031768 A1) in view of Fukunaga et al (US 2016/0013460 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Fukunaga hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 3 above, but does not disclose wherein the height L and the radial width D satisfy: 0.5≤D/L≤3.5.
However, Fukunaga discloses a battery end cover assembly (“A sealing structure of a sealed battery” [0026]) comprising an end cover (“a sealing plate which seals an opening of the battery case” [0026]) having a liquid injection hole penetrating along a first direction (“has the injection hole of the electrolyte” [0026]), wherein the liquid injection hole comprises a first hole segment (23 Fig. 11; “step-like deep counterbore part 23” [0078]) and a second hole segment (18a Fig. 11; “first opening 18a at a center of a bottom of the deep counterbore part 23” [0078]) divided along the first direction, a stepped surface is formed between the first hole segment and the second hole segment (“a step part 18c is formed at a position at a depth of H1 from the first opening 18a of the injection hole 18” [0085]), and the stepped surface comprises a first inclined surface inclined toward the second hole segment along the first direction (34 Fig. 11; “a chamfered part 34 is formed in the first opening 18a of the injection hole 18” [0083]).
Fukunaga teaches wherein the height L and the radial width D satisfy: 0.5≤D/L≤3.5 (“a horizontal distance X1 between an outer rim of a boundary between the protruding part 30 and the base 28 and an outer rim of the first opening 18a. Assuming α=tan θ2/(Y1/X1), it is preferred to set an angle θ2 So as to satisfy 0.8≤ α≤1.2” [0084]), and that maintaining a relationship between the height and the radial width D of the first inclined surface within this range increases contact area and contact pressure between a first seal nail and the second hole segment, which improves airtightness at the first inclined surface ([0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to replace the first inclined surface of Iwasaki with the first inclined surface taught by Fukunaga wherein the height L and the radial width D satisfy: 0.5≤D/L≤3.5, in order to achieve improved airtightness at the first inclined surface of the battery end cover assembly by increasing the contact area and contact pressure between a first seal nail and the second hole segment.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (WO 2016/031768 A1) in view of Lin et al (US 2018/0138492 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Lin hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 16, Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 15 above, but does not disclose wherein a first gap is formed between an end surface on a side of the first seal nail adjacent to the second seal nail and the second seal nail.
However, Lin discloses a battery end cover assembly (“a welding assembly for a liquid - injection hole of a secondary battery” [0052]) comprising a first seal nail (30 Fig. 11; “a sealing nail 30” [0052]) that is partly located in a second hole segment (“The dimension of the through - hole 202 matches the dimension of the sealing nail 30” [0054]) and a second seal nail (40 Fig. 11; “a sealing cover - plate 40” [0052]) that is partly located in a first hole segment (“assembling recess 200 is used for accommodating the sealing cover plate 40” [0054]).
Lin teaches wherein a first gap is formed between an end surface on a side of the first seal nail adjacent to the second seal nail and the second seal nail (“avoiding chamber 402 recessed toward the interior of the sealing cover - plate 40 may be provided at the bottom of the sealing cover - plate 40 , and the avoiding chamber 402 can avoid the top of the sealing nail 30 , so as to avoid the touch interference between the two” [0057]), and that the first gap avoids touch interference between the first seal nail and the second seal nail ([0057]) where stress due to welding at the second seal nail occurs and is designed to release stress nearby the welding seam to prevent the occurrence of welding cracks ([0024]), which also prevents liquid leakage and potential safety risks ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first gap is formed between an end surface on a side of the first seal nail adjacent to the second seal nail and the second seal nail of the battery end cover assembly of Iwasaki in view of Lin, in order to achieve reduced stress occurring nearby a welding seam at the end cover, which avoids occurrence of welding cracks, liquid leakage, and safety risks.
Regarding claim 17, modified Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 16 above, and wherein the value of the first gap is 0.3-0.6 mm (Lin “the first stress release slot 500 and the second stress release slot 502 have a depth reasonably selected in the range of 0.1 - 5.5 mm” [0063] and “The height of the annular boss 504 may be within the range of 0.1 - 5.5 mm” [0064] such that the difference between the depth of the first stress release slot 500 and the height of the annular boss 504 is equivalent to the gap left between sealing cover plate 40 and sealing nail 30, which results in a range between 0-5.4 mm and overlaps with the claimed first gap range).
Regarding claim 18, modified Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 16 above, and wherein a second gap is formed between the stepped surface and the second seal nail (Iwasaki L1 Figs. 8-9; “size of the gap L1 between the base 33 and the bottom 21B of the deep seat burring section 21” [0057]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Iwasaki discloses the battery end cover assembly with all of the features set forth in claim 18 above, and wherein the value of the second gap is 0.1~0.4 mm (Iwasaki “it is preferable to set it to 0.1~0.6mm” [0057]).
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721