Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US 2020/0017801 A1) in view of Moriya et al. (TW 2016/43910 A).
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches a cleaning liquid for removing a cerium compound (paragraph [0068]). Taniguchi further teaches that the cleaning liquid comprises component (A), wherein the component (A) is a six-membered ring compound having two or more hydroxy groups, as Taniguchi discloses reducing agents including five- or six-membered cyclic compounds having two or more hydroxyl groups (paragraph [0047]). Taniguchi also teaches that the cleaning liquid comprises an inorganic acid (paragraph [0042]) and further provides specific concentrations of inorganic acids and hydroxyl-containing compounds (table 5).
Taniguchi does not teach that the mass ratio of component (B) to component (A) is 0.05 to 0.6.
Moriya teaches compositions comprising similar chemical components and relative proportions for removing material form substrate surfaces wherein the compositions including pyrogallol and inorganic acids such as nitric acid, hydrochloric acid, and sulfuric acid (Table 2). In Example 25 of Moriya, the amounts of nitric acid (0.38 wt%), hydrochloric acid (0.01 wt%), and sulfuric acid (0.04 wt%) collectively correspond to the component (B), while pyrogallol is present at 1.67 wt% as the component (A), resulting in a mass ratio of the component (B) to the component (A) of approximately 0.26, which falls within the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.6. Accordingly, Moriya teaches the claimed mass ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning liquid of Taniguchi to include the inorganic acid compound and relative component amounts as taught by Moriya, since both references employ acid-based compositions with hydroxy-containing compounds to interact with and remove material from substrate surfaces, and such modification would have predictably resulted in improved removal of cerium compounds. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Taniguchi teaches that the component (A) contains at least one selected from catechol, resorcinol, hydroquinone, and pyrogallol (paragraph [0047]), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Taniguchi teaches that the component (B) contains at least one selected from sulfuric acid, nitric acid, and hydrochloric acid (Table 5), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 4 and 5.
Regarding Claim 6, Taniguchi teaches that the cleaning liquid further comprises a water-soluble organic polymer, as Taniguchi discloses an anionic surfactant comprising a condensate of naphthalensulfonic acid and formaldehyde (paragraph [0052]), which is a water-soluble organic polymer.
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi teaches that the cleaning liquid has a pH of 2 (Table 2), which falls within the claimed range of 1 to 4. Accordingly, Taniguchi teaches the claimed pH limitation.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10 recite the intended use of the cleaning liquid. Such intended use does not further limit the claimed cleaning liquid, as the cleaning liquid is otherwise fully defined by its components. Therefore, these limitations are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claims 11–13, Taniguchi teaches removing a cerium compound using the cleaning liquid after a chemical mechanical polishing step employing a cerium-containing abrasive (paragraph [0068]). Therefore, Taniguchi meets the limitations of claims 11–13 for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1, and further teaches performing chemical mechanical polishing using an abrasive containing a cerium compound prior to the removing step.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of Moriya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of An et al., (US 2022/0298456A1).
Taniguchi as modified by Moriya teaches the cleaning liquid of claim 1 as set forth above.
Taniguchi does not teach that the water-soluble organic polymer comprises a polycarboxylic acid or a salt thereof.
An teaches that the cleaning liquid further comprises component (C), wherein component (C) contains at least one selected from a polycarboxylic acid and a salt thereof (paragraphs [0073]–[0074]).
It would have been obvious to include the component (C) as taught by An into the cleaning liquid of Taniguchi as modified by Moriya, since An teaches that such polymers improve dispersion of cerium compounds, and enhance removability, which is consistent with improving removal of cerium compounds as taught by Taniguchi. See MPEP § 2143.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN L CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713