DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 14, 17, and 18 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being would anticipated by Tisbo [US9972984].
Regarding Claim 1, Tisbo discloses that- A cable management system (Fig. 6, 10) having a first segment defining a first volume configured to receive a cable; a second segment defining a second volume configured to receive the cable; and a pivoting link configured to couple to the first segment to prevent rotation of the first segment relative to the pivoting link and configured to couple to the second segment to form an articulating joint configured to permit the second segment to rotate relative to the pivoting link.
Regarding Claim-2, The cable management system of claim 1, wherein the first segment defines an anchor opening (Figure-2, 120) configured to interface with an anchor fastener (Fig. 15, 110) to secure the first segment to an uneven installation surface and prevent the first segment from moving relative to the uneven installation surface[Column 5,Line 34-50 ].
Regarding Claim 3, Tisbo discloses that- the first segment (see Fig. 3 below) comprises a first sidewall (indicated sidewall in Segment-1); the second segment comprises a second sidewall (indicated sidewall in Segment-2); and the pivoting link (see Fig. 3 below) is configured to: couple to the first sidewall to prevent rotation of the first segment relative to the pivoting link (see Fig. 3 below); and couple to the second sidewall to form the articulating joint (see Fig. 3 below, 42)- configured to permit the second segment to rotate relative to the pivoting link. [Column-4, Line 60 & Column-5, Line-5: Segment-1 if fixed & Segment-2 can rotate around].
6. Regarding Claim-4, Tisbow discloses- wherein the first segment (See Fig. 3 above ) comprises: a first channel portion; a second channel portion configured to couple to the first channel portion (Fig. 1, both sides of the Element-36) ; and a cover configured to engage the first channel portion and the second channel portion (Fig. 1, Element- 25) , wherein the first channel portion, the second channel portion, and the cover define the first volume (Fig. 1).
7. Regarding Claim-5, Tisbo Teaches the first channel portion forms a first sidewall (Fig.1, 30); and the first sidewall is configured to engage the cover to limit deflection of the cover (Fig.1, 22 and 26) .
8. Regarding Claim-6, Tisbo Teaches that the second channel portion comprises a second sidewall configured to couple to the first sidewall such that the first sidewall (Fig. 1, 18) and the second sidewall (Fig. 1, 36) bisect the first volume to define a plurality of sub-volumes (Fig. 1, 30 and 32) ), each sub-volume of the plurality of sub-volumes configured to receive the cable (Fig. 1, below).
9. Regarding Cliam-7, Tisbo Teaches that the first channel portion comprises a single piece of material (A single piece of material for the first channel in shown in figure above (Fig. 1, 30). Similarly, second channel (32) is also made of one piece of material).
10. Regarding Claim-12, Tisbo Teaches that the first segment defines an anchor opening (Fig. 1, 120) configured to interface with an anchor fastener (see below, Fig. 15 and 16, 118 and 110) to secure the first segment to an uneven installation surface and prevent the first segment from moving relative to the uneven installation surface (Column 3, Lines 34-39, and Fig. 22).
12. Regarding Claim-14, Tisbo - Teaches that a cable management system includes a first segment with a first plurality of channel portions (Fig. 1, 30) ; and a first cover configured to engage the first plurality of channel portions to define a first volume comprising a first plurality of sub-volumes, each sub-volume of the first plurality of sub-volumes configured to receive a cable (Fig. 1, 30 and 32); a second segment comprising: a second plurality of channel portions; and a second cover configured to engage the second plurality of channel portions to define a second volume comprising a second plurality of sub-volumes, each sub-volume of the second plurality of sub-volumes configured to receive the cable (Fig. 3, sub volumes at both segments 1 & 2); and a pivoting link (Fig. 3, 42) configured to couple to a channel portion of the first plurality of channel portions to prevent rotation of the first segment relative to the pivoting link and configured to couple to a channel portion of the second plurality of channel portions (Fig. 1, Channel portions 30 & 32) to form an articulating joint configured to permit the second segment to rotate relative to the pivoting link (Fig. 1 and 3, Element 42).
15. Regarding Calim-17, Tisbo Teaches that the first segment defines an anchor opening (Fig. 1, 120) configured to interface with an anchor fastener (see below, Fig. 15 and 16, 118 and 110) to secure the first segment to an uneven installation surface and prevent the first segment from moving relative to the uneven installation surface (Column 3, Lines 34-39, and Fig. 22).
16. Regarding Claim-18, Tisbo Teaches the first channel portion forms a first sidewall (Fig.1, 30); and the first sidewall is configured to engage the cover to limit deflection of the cover (Fig.1, 22 and 26) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-11, 13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 - are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
OBAIDUL GANI
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847