DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. [US 20060154185 A1] in view of Uraguchi et al. [US 5,571,644 A].
Regarding claims 1, 9-11, 16 and 17, Ho et al. discloses a substrate processing method (Fig. 3), comprising:
forming a layer on a substrate (paragraph [0016] teaches a dielectric insulating layer);
forming a photoresist layer on the layer (301, paragraph [0026] teaches overlying photoresist layer);
exposing the photoresist layer using an exposure mask (303, paragraph [0026] teaches photoresist is exposed with light through a mask);
performing a first post-exposure baking process on the photoresist layer (305, paragraph [0026] teaches a first baking step);
developing the photoresist layer using a first developing solution (307, paragraph [0026] teaches wherein photoresist layer is developed);
performing a second post-exposure baking process on the photoresist layer (309, paragraph [0026] teaches a second baking step);
developing the photoresist layer using a second developing solution (311, paragraph [0026] teaches a second development process);
forming a photoresist pattern by performing a hard baking process on the photoresist layer (paragraph [0025] teaches the hard baking process); and
partially removing the layer by performing an etching process using the photoresist pattern as an etching mask (313, paragraph [0026] teaches dry etching process).
Ho et al. does not teach a first developing solution having a first temperature and a second developing solution having a second temperature different from the first temperature.
However, Uraguchi et al. discloses a resist developing apparatus has a plurality of developing solution containers each provided with a temperature regulator (Fig. 1), wherein the same kind of developing solutions at different temperatures or different kinds of developing solutions are provided for development. (Col. 1 lines 55-60 teaches a plurality of developing solution containers and set to different temperatures for making possible various types of development processes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first developing solution having a first temperature and a second developing solution having a second temperature different from the first temperature, as taught by Uraguchi et al. in the method of Ho et al. because such a modification makes possible various types of development processes, For example, if developing solution at a low temperature is used, the resist profile can be improved. If developing solution at a high temperature is used, the time required for the development process can be shortened (Col. 2 lines 65-67 – Col. 3 lines 1-4 of Uraguchi et al.).
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 18, Ho et al. in view of Uraguchi et al. discloses wherein after the developing the photoresist layer using the first developing solution, the photoresist layer has a first critical dimension, and after the developing the photoresist layer using the second developing solution, the photoresist layer has a second critical dimension greater than the first critical dimension (in the combination of Ho et al. and Uraguchi et al. optimization of the temperature and the developer results in a second critical dimension greater than the first critical dimension, paragraph [0026] teaches having predetermined critical dimensions and Col. 4 lines 26-33 of Uraguchi et al. teaches wherein the development process to obtain a high precision profile).
Regarding claim 3, Ho et al. discloses wherein the performing the first post-exposure baking process, the developing the photoresist layer using the first developing solution, the performing the second post-exposure baking process, and the developing the photoresist layer using the second developing solution are sequentially performed (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraph [0026] teaches the development and baking process).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 14, Ho et al. discloses wherein the first post-exposure baking process is performed at a third temperature, and the second post-exposure baking process is performed at a fourth temperature, lower than the third temperature, wherein the fourth temperature is within a range of 50° C. to 150° C, wherein the first post-exposure baking process is performed at a third temperature, and the second post-exposure baking process is performed at a fourth temperature, wherein the fourth temperature is within a range of 50% to 80% of the third temperature (paragraphs [0016]-[0020] baking temperatures of 60° C. to 140° C).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 12, 13 and 20, Uraguchi et al. discloses wherein the first temperature is within a range of 10° C. to 25° C, wherein the second temperature is within a range of 20° C. to 40° C, wherein the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, wherein the first temperature is within a range of 30% to 150% of room temperature, and the second temperature is within a range of 50% to 200% of room temperature (Col. 3 lines 40-47 and Col. 5 lines 1-11 teaches the temperature of the developing solution is set to an optional value).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Ho et al. in view of Uraguchi et al. discloses wherein after developing the photoresist layer using the first developing solution, the photoresist layer has a first line edge roughness, and after developing the photoresist layer using the second developing solution, the photoresist layer has a second line edge roughness, equal to or smaller than the first line edge roughness (in the combination of Ho et al. and Uraguchi et al. optimization of the temperature and the developer results in a second line edge roughness, equal to or smaller than the first line edge roughness, paragraph [0026] teaches having predetermined critical dimensions and Col. 4 lines 26-33 of Uraguchi et al. teaches wherein the development process to obtain a high precision profile).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882