DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bamberg et al. (WO 2022/156873 A1, hereinafter Bam).
Regarding claim 1, Bam discloses a method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect, comprising:
using a transducer to inspect a subject component comprising a solid metallic material (i.e. component of an aircraft engine) by transmitting a first signal into the subject component and sensing the subject component for a second signal produced as a result of the first signal being transmitted into the subject component, and producing a subject component response signal representative of the second signal (see para. 0009-0011, 0016-0017);
processing the subject component response signal received from the transducer, the processing using a neural network trained on response signal training data from pairs of training components, and the processing including producing a neural network output value (see para. (see para. 0009-0011, 0016-0017); and
producing an indication of a presence or an absence of a defect in the subject component based on the neural network output value (see para. 0013-0014, the system identifies if there’s a defect).
Regarding claim 2, Bam discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the neural network includes a self-attention mechanism (see para. 0085).
Regarding claim 3, Bam discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each said training component is the same type as the subject component (see para. 0009).
Regarding claim 4, Bam discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the response signal training data for each said training component includes a first frequency peak (see para. 0061).
Regarding claim 5, Bam discloses the method of claim 4, wherein each respective pair of training components includes a first training component and a second training component, wherein the first training component, the second training component, and the subject component are all the same type (see para. 0009-0012).
Regarding claim 10, Bam discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising using the neural network to model future subject component response signals of the subject component based on a plurality of historical subject component response signals (see para. 0113).
Regarding claim 11, Bam discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising using the neural network to determine a subject component response signal rate of change (see para. 0098).
Regarding claim 12, Bam discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising using the neural network to predict a future subject component response signal rate of change (see para. 0103).
Regarding claim 13, Bam discloses a component inspection system, comprising:
a signal transmitter (see para. 0024); a signal receiver (see para. 0057); and a controller in communication with the signal transmitter (see para. 0106), the signal receiver, and a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed cause the controller to:
control the signal transmitter to transmit a first ultrasonic signal into a subject component comprising a solid metallic material (see para. 0009-0011, 0016-0017); control the signal receiver to sense the subject component for a second ultrasonic signal and produce a subject component response signal representative of the second ultrasonic signal (see para. 0009-0011, 0016-0017); process the subject component response signal, the processing using a neural network trained on response signal training data from pairs of training components, and the processing including producing a neural network output value (see para. 0009-0011, 0016-0017); and produce an indication of a presence or an absence of a defect in the subject component based on the neural network output value (see para. 0013-0014, the system identifies if there’s a defect).
Regarding claim 14, Bam discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the neural network includes a self-attention mechanism (see para. 0085).
Regarding claim 15, Bam discloses the system of claim 14, wherein each said training component is the same type as the subject component (see para. 0009).
Regarding claim 16, Bam discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the response signal training data for each said training component includes a first frequency peak (see para. 0061).
Regarding claim 20, Bam discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the instructions when executed cause the controller to use the neural network to model future subject component response signals of the subject component based on a plurality of historical subject component response signals (see para. 0113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MANUEL A RIVERA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857