DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Objection to Specification is withdrawn in view of Amendments. Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is withdrawn in view of Amendments.
Applicant argues on page 3 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Hori Performs Only Reactive Motor
Control, Not External-Force Estimation”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of External-Force Estimation (See at least Page 11 Para 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hori with the teachings of Yokoya and include the feature of external force estimation, thereby adapting the configuration to improve the safety of the worker by estimating a collision position and a magnitude of an external force applied to the robot (See at least Page 1 Para 8 “According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a robot can be controlled with higher accuracy.”).
Applicant argues on page 4 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “No Multi-Axis Analytical Estimation of External Forces”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of Multi-Axis Analytical Estimation (See at least Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”, Page 11 Para 5 “This robot control method includes an external force estimation step of performing estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of shaft positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of the robot, and calculating an external force acting on an end effector of the robot as an estimated external force.”, Page 1 Para 5 “A robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure executes estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of a robot, and uses an external force acting on an end effector of a robot as an estimated external force. The external force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hori with the teachings of Yokoya and include the feature of external force estimation by decomposing the torque at each of the axes detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, based on the position of each of the axes calculated by the each-axis position calculator, by creating, for each of the axial rotation components, equations in which the position and the magnitude of the external force for each of the axes are assumed to be unknowns and solving these equations as simultaneous equations, estimates the position and the magnitude of the external force, thereby adapting the configuration to improve the safety of the worker by estimating a collision position and a magnitude of an external force applied to the robot (See at least Page 1 Para 8 “According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a robot can be controlled with higher accuracy.”).
Applicant argues on page 4 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “No 3D Torque Decomposition and
Mathematical Solving ”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of torque decomposition (See at least Page 10 Para 11 “In step S224, the matrix setting unit 224 sets the Jacobian matrix J based on the feedback position and structure parameters. Let F be the force in the coordinate system Σ of the working space, F' be the force in the coordinate system Σ' of the joint space, and P = (px, py, pz) be the position on the coordinate system Σ viewed from the coordinate system Σ'. , the rotation matrix is R, and F'=JF is defined. At this time, the Jacobian matrix J is expressed by Equation (1)”, Page 11 Para 2 “In step S225, the estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque and the Jacobian matrix J. The estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque of each shaft 3a and the Jacobian matrix J. FIG. Assuming that the estimated external force is F and the vector representing the transmission torque of each shaft 3a is τ, the estimated external force F is calculated by F=J(θ)−1τ. As described above, the Jacobian matrix J is defined based on the feedback position vector θ.” ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hori with the teachings of Yokoya and include the feature of external force estimation by decomposing the torque at each of the axes detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, thereby adapting the configuration to improve the safety of the worker by estimating a collision position and a magnitude of an external force applied to the robot (See at least Page 1 Para 8 “According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a robot can be controlled with higher accuracy.”).
Applicant argues on page 5 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Hori assumes a Known, Fixed Force
Point”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of unknown force point. Yokoya discloses “The external force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process. Executes calculations using a trained model for external forces that is accepted as input.” (See Page 11 Para 5). Since Yokoya discloses calculating the external force, it is considered unknown.
Applicant argues on page 5 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Hori Cannot Serve as a 103 Base because Hori provides only torque-reactive motor control and lacks any capability for determining the position or magnitude of an external force, it cannot provide any of the analytical mechanisms required by the present invention”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of determining the position or magnitude of an external force (See at least Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”, Page 11 Para 5 “This robot control method includes an external force estimation step of performing estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of shaft positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of the robot, and calculating an external force acting on an end effector of
the robot as an estimated external force.”, Page 1 Para 5 “A robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure executes estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of a robot, and uses an external force acting on an end effector of a robot as an estimated external force. The external
force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hori with the teachings of Yokoya and include the feature of external force estimation by decomposing the torque at each of the axes detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, thereby adapting the configuration to improve the safety of the worker by estimating a collision position and a magnitude of an external force applied to the robot (See at least Page 1 Para 8 “According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a robot can be controlled with higher accuracy.”).
Applicant argues on page 6 of the Applicant’s Remarks that Yokoyo “Estimates Only an End-Effector Force, Not a Force Position or Magnitude on a Link”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori already teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of Force Position or Magnitude on a Link (See at least Page 11 Para 1 “The position P is the sum of the link length of the robot 3 and the amount of deviation of the link length from the design value. The rotation matrix R is calculated from the feedback position of each axis 3a and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin. Both the position P and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a are examples of structural parameters, and are also examples of amounts of deviation from design values regarding the structure of the robot 3.”, Page 9 Para 7 “the disturbance torque estimator 122 may select the candidate position closer to the actual position 323 from among the two candidate positions”, Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”).
Applicant argues on page 6 of the Applicant’s Remarks that Yokoyo “Only End-Effector Force Estimation Using a Jacobian Matrix”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hori already teaches multi-axis robot control system including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes detecting position in each axis, detects torque at a corresponding axis provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot using torque sensor (See at least Para [00014], [0015], [0019], [0024]). However, Hori relies on Yokoya in the rejection for the teachings of Force Estimation Using a Jacobian Matrix (See at least Page 10 Para 11 “In step S224, the matrix setting unit 224 sets the Jacobian matrix J based on the feedback position and structure parameters. Let F be the force in the coordinate system Σ of the working space, F' be the force in the coordinate system Σ' of the joint space, and P = (px, py, pz) be the position on the coordinate system Σ viewed from the coordinate system Σ'. , the rotation matrix is R, and F'=JF is defined. At this time, the Jacobian matrix J is expressed by Equation (1)”, Page 11 Para 2 “In step S225, the estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque and the Jacobian matrix J. The estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque of each shaft 3a and the Jacobian matrix J. FIG. Assuming that the estimated external force is F and the vector representing the transmission torque of each shaft 3a is τ, the estimated external force F is calculated by F=J(θ)−1τ. As described above, the Jacobian matrix J is defined based on the feedback position vector θ.” ).
Applicant argues on page 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks that Yokoyo “does not address force estimation at an unknown point on a link, does not handle unknown force position, and does not construct or solve any simultaneous equations of the type required by the present invention”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yokoya teaches “The external force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process. Executes calculations using a trained model for external forces that is accepted as input.” (See Page 11 Para 5). Since Yokoya discloses calculating the external force, it is considered unknown.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks “No 3D Decomposition of Axis Torques”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yokoya teaches 3D decomposition of axis torques (See at least Page 10 Para 11 “In step S224, the matrix setting unit 224 sets the Jacobian matrix J based on the feedback position and structure parameters. Let F be the force in the coordinate system Σ of the working space, F' be the force in the coordinate system Σ' of the joint space, and P = (px, py, pz) be the position on the coordinate system Σ viewed from the coordinate system Σ'. , the rotation matrix is R, and F'=JF is defined. At this time, the Jacobian matrix J is expressed by Equation (1)”, Page 11 Para 2 “In step S225, the estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque and the Jacobian matrix J. The estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque of each shaft 3a and the Jacobian matrix J. FIG. Assuming that the estimated external force is F and the vector representing the transmission torque of each shaft 3a is τ, the estimated external force F is calculated by F=J(θ)−1τ. As described above, the Jacobian matrix J is defined based on the feedback position vector θ.” ).
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Applicant’s Remarks “No Simultaneous Equations with Unknown Variables”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yokoya teaches simultaneous equations with unknown variables (See at least Page 10 Para 11 “In step S224, the matrix setting unit 224 sets the Jacobian matrix J based on the feedback position and structure parameters. Let F be the force in the coordinate system Σ of the working space, F' be the force in the coordinate system Σ' of the joint space, and P = (px, py, pz) be the position on the coordinate system Σ viewed from the coordinate system Σ'. , the rotation matrix is R, and F'=JF is defined. At this time, the Jacobian matrix J is expressed by Equation (1)”, Page 11 Para 2 “In step S225, the estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque and the Jacobian matrix J. The estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque of each shaft 3a and the Jacobian matrix J. FIG. Assuming that the estimated external force is F and the vector representing the transmission torque of each shaft 3a is τ, the estimated external force F is calculated by F=J(θ)−1τ. As described above, the Jacobian matrix J is defined based on the feedback position vector θ.” ).
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Applicant’s Remarks “No Link Parameter Storage or Axis-
Position Calculation Structures”. ”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yokoya teaches link parameter storage (See at least Page 11 Para 1 “The position P is the sum of the link length of the robot 3 and the amount of deviation of the link length from the design value. The rotation matrix R is calculated from the feedback position of each axis 3a and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin. Both the position P and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a are examples of structural parameters, and are also examples of amounts of deviation from design values regarding the structure of the robot 3.”, Page 7 Para 4 “The amount of deviation is at least one of the amount of deviation from the design value of the link length of the robot 3, the deflection amount of the link, the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin of the given coordinate axis, and the error of the encoder.”).
Applicant argues on page 9 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Yokoya Assumes a Known Force Point and Cannot Estimate Unknown Force Positions”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yokoya teaches estimate unknown force positions: “The external force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process. Executes calculations using a trained model for external forces that is accepted as input.” (See Page 11 Para 5). Since Yokoya discloses calculating the external force, it is considered unknown.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Entirely Different Problem
(Pattern-Based Restart Control)”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 2 simply states that a collision determinator with comparison results of the magnitudes of the external force by the external force estimator relative to a reference value and a stop command to be transmitted to the multi-axis robot when the external force exceeds a reference value which is taught by Naitou (See at least Para [0023] “When an external force by a human (operator), etc., is applied to robot 10, the force is transmitted to and detected by force sensor 32. Robot 10 is configured to be stopped (in many cases, immediately) for safety purposes, when the detected external force exceeds a predetermined threshold...).
Applicant argues on page 10 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Only Threshold Detection, Not Geometric or Analytical Estimation”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Analytical estimation is already taught by Yokoya, and Naitou teaches the threshold detection. Please see above.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Only Zone Identification, Not Force-Position Computation”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Force-position computation is already taught by Yokoya. Naitou teaches zone identification. Please see above.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “No Link Parameter Storage and Axis-Position Calculation”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Link parameter storage is taught by Yokoya. Please see above.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “No 3D Torque Decomposition”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. 3D torque decomposition is taught by Yokoya. Please see above.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “No Mathematical Framework for External-Force Reconstruction”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mathematical framework for external-force reconstruction is taught by Yokoya. Please see above.
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not
Persuasive or moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori (US 20210114210 A1) in view of Yokoya et al. (WO2023157137A1) (Hereinafter Yokoya).
Regarding Claim 1, Hori teaches the collaborative robot system comprising:
a multi-axis robot including a plurality of arms joined by rotary axes (See at least Fig 1, Fig 7 shows a multi-axis robot having a plurality of arms, Para [0014] “The robot 2 is, for example, a vertical articulated type robot including six rotary joints, and includes a first rotary joint (a rotary joint, a first shaft) 6 including a swivel body 5 supported rotatably about a vertical first axis (a vertical axis, an axis) A to a base 4 installed on a floor surface F. Furthermore, the robot 2 includes a second rotary joint (a rotary joint, a second shaft) 8 including a first arm (an arm) 7 supported rotatably about a horizontal second axis (a horizontal axis, an axis) B to the swivel body 5 .”, Para [0015] “Furthermore, the robot 2 includes a third rotary joint (a rotary joint) 10 including a second arm 9 supported rotatably about a horizontal third axis (an axis) C to the first arm 7 . Furthermore, the robot 2 includes a wrist unit 11 at a tip of the second arm 9 . The wrist unit 11 includes three rotary joints 12 , 13 , and 14 .”);
a position detector provided on each of axes of the multi-axis robot (See at least Para [0020] “… Furthermore, the control device 3 includes a distance calculation unit 21 that receives angle information from an encoder 20 provided in the motor of each of the rotary joints 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 14…”);
a torque sensor that detects torque at a corresponding axis, provided on each axis of the multi-axis robot (See at least Para [0024] “According to the robot system 1 of the present embodiment, the operation amount to the motor is set based on a magnitude of torque detected by the torque sensors 15 and 16…”, Para [0019] “Specifically, the control device 3 drives the motor of each of the rotary joints 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 14 in a direction in which the external force torque detected by the torque sensors 15, 16, and 17 decreases, when the external force torque acts.”); and
a robot controller (See at least Para [0018] “As shown in FIG. 2, the control device 3 includes a motor control unit 22 that controls a motor (not shown) of each of the rotary joints 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 14 …”, Fig 2) …
However, Hori does not explicitly spell out …
including a link parameter storage, an each-axis position calculator and an external force estimator
wherein the link parameter storage stores a link parameter including a length of each arm of the multi-axis robot,
wherein the each-axis position calculator has a position data of each axis in sequential order
from the axis closest to an installation surface of the multi-axis robot is derived from, positions of the axes detected by the position detectors together with the link parameter read from the link parameter storage; and
wherein the external force estimator has data representing a position and a magnitude of an
external force applied to the multi-axis robot, the data being obtained through decomposition of and the torque at axis detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, based on the position of each axis calculated by the each-axis position calculator, formulation of equations for each axial rotation components with, the position and the magnitude of the external force for each axis as unknowns, and solution of the equations are simultaneous equations.
Yokoya teaches …
including a link parameter storage, an each-axis position calculator and an external force
estimator (See at least Page 11 Para 1 “The position P is the sum of the link length of the robot 3 and the amount of deviation of the link length from the design value. The rotation matrix R is calculated from the feedback position of each axis 3a and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin. Both the position P and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a are examples of structural parameters, and are also examples of amounts of deviation from design values regarding the structure of the robot 3.”, Page 7 Para 4 “The amount of deviation is at least one of the amount of deviation from the design value of the link length of the robot 3, the deflection amount of the link, the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin of the given coordinate axis, and the error of the encoder.”, Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”, Page 11 Para 5 “This robot control method includes an external force estimation step of performing estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of shaft positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of the robot, and calculating an external force acting on an end effector of the robot as an estimated external force.”, Page 1 Para 5 “A robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure executes estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of a robot, and uses an external force acting on an end effector of a robot as an estimated external force. The external
force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process.”)
wherein the link parameter storage stores a link parameter including a length of each arm of the
multi-axis robot (See at least Page 11 Para 1 “The position P is the sum of the link length of the robot 3 and the amount of deviation of the link length from the design value. The rotation matrix R is calculated from the feedback position of each axis 3a and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin. Both the position P and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a are examples of structural parameters, and are also examples of amounts of deviation from design values regarding the structure of the robot 3.”, Page 7 Para 4 “The amount of deviation is at least one of the amount of deviation from the design value of the link length of the robot 3, the deflection amount of the link, the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin of the given coordinate axis, and the error of the encoder.”);
wherein the each-axis position calculator has a position data of each axis in sequential order
from the axis closest to an installation surface of the multi-axis robot is derived from, positions of the axes detected by the position detectors together with the link parameter read from the link parameter storage (See at least Page 11 Para 1 “The position P is the sum of the link length of the robot 3 and the amount of deviation of the link length from the design value. The rotation matrix R is calculated from the feedback position of each axis 3a and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a from the origin. Both the position P and the amount of deviation of each axis 3a are examples of structural parameters, and are also examples of amounts of deviation from design values regarding the structure of the robot 3.”, Page 9 Para 7 “the disturbance torque estimator 122 may select the candidate position closer to the actual position 323 from among the two candidate positions”); and
wherein the external force estimator has data representing a position and a magnitude of an
external force applied to the multi-axis robot, the data being obtained through decomposition of and the torque at axis detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, based on the position of each axis calculated by the each-axis position calculator, formulation of equations for each axial rotation components with, the position and the magnitude of the external force for each axis as unknowns, and solution of the equations are simultaneous equations (See at least Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”, Page 11 Para 5 “This robot control method includes an external force estimation step of performing estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of shaft positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of the robot, and calculating an external force acting on an end effector of the robot as an estimated external force.”, Page 1 Para 5 “A robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure executes estimation processing based on a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions corresponding to a plurality of axes of a robot, and uses an external force acting on an end effector of a robot as an estimated external force. The external force estimating unit includes an external force estimating unit that calculates external force, and a robot control unit that controls the robot based on the estimated external force, and the external force estimating unit calculates at least one of a plurality of disturbance torques and a plurality of axis positions as at least part of the estimation process.”, least Page 11 Para 5 “As explained above, the robot control system according to one aspect of the present disclosure performs estimation processing based on multiple disturbance torques and multiple axis positions corresponding to multiple axes of the robot, and The external force estimator includes an external force estimator that calculates an external force acting on an effector as an estimated external force, and a robot controller that controls the robot based on the estimated external force. Calculations are performed using a trained external force model that accepts at least one of a plurality of axis positions as input.”, Page 3 Para 3 “Disturbance torque can also be said to be torque generated by unintended disturbance. For example, if the robot 3 is a 6-axis vertical articulated robot, the robot control system 2 acquires disturbance torques for each of the 6 axes and calculates an estimated external force based on the 6 disturbance torques. In order to calculate the estimated external force, the robot control system 2 may estimate a plurality of disturbance torques corresponding to a plurality of axes 3a.” Page 10 Para 11 “In step S224, the matrix setting unit 224 sets the Jacobian matrix J based on the feedback position and structure parameters. Let F be the force in the coordinate system Σ of the working space, F' be the force in the coordinate system Σ' of the joint space, and P = (px, py, pz) be the position on the coordinate system Σ viewed from the coordinate system Σ'. , the rotation matrix is R, and F'=JF is defined. At this time, the Jacobian matrix J is expressed by Equation (1)”, Page 11 Para 2 “In step S225, the estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque and the Jacobian matrix J. The estimated external force calculator 227 calculates an estimated external force based on the transmission torque of each shaft 3a and the Jacobian matrix J. FIG. Assuming that the estimated external force is F and the vector representing the transmission torque of each shaft 3a is τ, the estimated external force F is calculated by F=J(θ)−1τ. As described above, the Jacobian matrix J is defined based on the feedback position vector θ.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Hori with the teachings of Yokoya and include the feature of external force estimation by decomposing the torque at each of the axes detected by the torque sensor into axial rotation components in three dimensions, based on the position of each of the axes calculated by the each-axis position calculator, by creating, for each of the axial rotation components, equations in which the position and the magnitude of the external force for each of the axes are assumed to be unknowns and solving these equations as simultaneous equations, estimates the position and the magnitude of the external force, thereby adapting the configuration to improve the safety of the worker by estimating a collision position and a magnitude of an external force applied to the robot (See at least Page 1 Para 8 “According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a robot can be controlled with higher accuracy.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori (US 20210114210 A1) in view of Yokoya et al. (WO2023157137A1) (Hereinafter Yokoya), and further in view of Naitou (US 20180065256 A).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hori teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Hori does not explicitly spell out the collaborative robot system according to claim 1,
wherein the robot controller includes a collision determinator with comparison results of the magnitudes of the external force by the external force estimator relative to a reference value and a stop command to be transmitted to the multi-axis robot when the external force exceeds a reference value.
Naitou teaches the collaborative robot system according to claim 1, wherein the robot
controller includes a collision determinator with comparison results of the magnitudes of the external force by the external force estimator relative to a reference value and a stop command to be transmitted to the multi-axis robot when the external force exceeds a reference value (See at least Para [0023] “When an external force by a human (operator), etc., is applied to robot 10, the force is transmitted to and detected by force sensor 32. Robot 10 is configured to be stopped (in many cases, immediately) for safety purposes, when the detected external force exceeds a predetermined threshold...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Hori with the teachings of Naitou and include the feature of a collision determinator with comparison results of the magnitudes of the external force by the external force estimator relative to a reference value and a stop command to be transmitted to the multi-axis robot when the external force exceeds a reference value, thereby provide enhanced safety for human near the robot (See at least Para [0023] “When an external force by a human (operator), etc., is applied to robot 10, the force is transmitted to and detected by force sensor 32. Robot 10 is configured to be stopped (in many cases, immediately) for safety purposes, when the detected external force exceeds a predetermined threshold. As such, when the external force larger than the specified value is applied to robot 10 due to the contact between the robot and the human, the human can be prevented from being injured by stopping the robot.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Furuichi et al. (US 20200376660 A1) teaches a control device comprising an external-force
upper-limit-value estimator that estimates an external-force upper limit value serving as an assumable upper limit value for an external force acting on the second member based on the torque detected by the first torque detector, and controls the robot to avoid an increase in the external force when the estimated external-force upper limit value is larger than a predetermined threshold value
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658