DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 2/4/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending, Claims 1-7 are withdrawn, and Claims 8-20 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 8-20, in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 lines 7-8 recites “pressured gas is supplied to the sealed pressure tank and is pressurized” should read “pressured gas is supplied to the sealed pressure tank and the sealed pressure tank is pressurized”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2017/0312794 A1).
Re claim 8, Park discloses a method of processing a substrate using a pressure tank (ref. 520, abstract) disposed on a liquid supply line (ref. 510) configured to supply liquid and connected to a circulation line (ref. 524) in which liquid stored therein circulates while being heated (ref. 530) and an exhaust line (ref. 550), the method comprising: a liquid supply standby operation in which, by closing the exhaust line (inherent in regulates the pressure inner space ¶ [0061]), pressured gas is supplied to the sealed pressure tank and is pressurized (¶ [0061], [0064]; see also ¶ [0068] S200)), and liquid in the pressure tank circulates in the pressure tank while being heated through the circulation line (¶ [0060], [00064]; see also ¶ [0069] S300); and a liquid supply operation in which liquid is supplied to a substrate in a process chamber through the pressure tank (¶ [0063]; see also ¶ [0070] S400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2017/0312794 A1).
Re claim 9, Regarding “wherein the method further includes a liquid supply preparation operation in which the exhaust line is gradually opened after the liquid supply standby operation and before the liquid supply operation”, the term “gradually opened” is a relative term and it is generally understood to those of ordinary skill in the art that no valve operation is instantaneous, thus operation of a valve satisfies “gradually opened” during the discharging step. Further, it simply being generally known to those of ordinary skill in the art to prevent splatter or knocking by gradually/slowly regulating the rate of pressure changes.
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2017/0312794 A1) in view of Ha et al. (US 2022/0208568 A1).
Re claims 10-11, Park disclose as shown above but does not disclose wherein an exhaust open/close valve and a relief valve disposed on the exhaust line are opened in the liquid supply preparation operation, the exhaust open/close valve and the relief valve are maintained in an open state in the liquid supply operation, and the exhaust open/close valve and the relief valve are closed in the liquid supply standby operation. However, Ha teaches it is well-known in the substrate processing art (abstract) provide an exhaust open/close valve (ref. 4113 and 4116) on an exhaust line closed during liquid supply standby operation/circulation (¶ [0066], [0082] closed while supplying the gas to the inner space), and open after pressure is reached for purposes of maintaining a pressure (¶ [0066], [0083] opening the exhaust valve 4113….the pressure….is maintained at a predetermined pressure). Regarding “a relief valve” the substitution of a pressure regulated exhaust valve with a on-off valve and relief valve, combination, is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the same purpose of regulated pressure. Re claim 11, wherein, in the liquid supply standby operation, an output of a heating unit configured to heat liquid circulating in the pressure tank is controlled such that pressure in the pressure tank is maintained at a predetermined pressure (¶ [0084] temperature of the heater 4174 is controlled…pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 41651).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pressure tank of Park to further include an exhaust valve, as suggested by Ha, in order to regulate pressure during heating/pressurizing and to then maintain the desired pressure, and to further modify the regulated valve with a relief valve, in order to provide the same pressure regulation.
Re claims 12-20, Independent claim 12 defines over claim 8 only in the recitation of a second pressure tank in parallel to the first pressure tank, a second liquid supply line, a second circulation line and a second exhaust line, and wherein the first liquid supply operation and the second liquid supply standby operation are performed simultaneously, and wherein the second liquid supply operation and the first liquid supply standby operation are performed simultaneously. Ha discloses the first and second pressure tank (see fig. 3 refs. 4120 and 4130), the first and second liquid supply line (refs. 4135 and 4136), the first and second circulation line (ref. 4164, 4163), and the first and second exhaust line (refs. 4112 and 4114), and wherein the first liquid supply operation and the second liquid supply standby operation are performed simultaneously, and wherein the second liquid supply operation and the first liquid supply standby operation are performed simultaneously (¶ [0021] simultaneously with reversed operation of other tank, to provide continuous supply). Re claims 13-18, claims 13-18 recites limitations rejected above. Re claims 19-20, Ha further discloses wherein a portion of the first circulation line and a portion of the second circulation line are configured as a shared line, and in the first liquid supply standby operation or the second liquid supply standby operation, liquid circulating the first circulation line or the second circulation line is heated by a heating unit disposed in the shared line (see fig. 3, ref. 4174 is on a shared line). Re claim 20, Claim 20 reads as a combination claim of recitation rejected above and it therefore being prima facie obvious to operate valves on a gradual opening and alternating between the operation of the two tanks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170028450A1 note slowly/gradually opening regulation exhaust valve 151.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711