DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 10 May 2024.
Specification
The specification is objected for the following informalities:
The title is not descriptive. It is suggested applicant emphasize the claimed active rectifier and circuit interruption.
There appears to be an additional European patent on file. Though not required since it appears the British patent has the earliest filing date, it ordinary and customary to include the filing dates and publication dates (if available) of all related applications in the background section.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the United Kingdom on 7 June 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20220014012).
As to claim 1, Li discloses A power electronics converter for converting an input AC supply having a plurality of phases to an output DC supply, the converter comprising: a plurality of AC input terminals connectable to the plurality of phases of the AC supply; first and second DC output terminals; a capacitor connected between the first and second DC output terminals; a first MOSFET (¶29 “it is recognized that other solid-state semiconductor switches could be used instead, including metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistors (MOSFETs)”) connected between each of the plurality of AC input terminals and the first DC output terminal; a second MOSFET connected between each of the plurality of AC input terminals and the second DC output terminal; a third MOSFET reverse connected in series with the first MOSFET between the first DC output terminal and each of the plurality of AC input terminals; and a switching controller configured to provide switching signals to gates of each of the first, second and third MOSFETs (see image below), wherein the controller is configured to operate in a first mode in which pulse width modulated switching signals are provided to the gates of the first and second MOSFETs (¶34 “IGBTs 58 may be selectively gated On and Off during normal operation of the ASD circuit 50, such that current flows through IGBTs 58 in a controlled manner. The operation of rectification circuit 56 in an active or passive/uncontrolled fashion”) to convert an AC supply at the AC input terminals to a DC output supply at the DC output terminals while the third MOSFETs (¶31 “Under normal operating conditions of ASD circuit 50, IGBT 58 of upper switching unit 76 is in an On or conducting state, and thus current also passes through IGBT 58 and to DC capacitor bank 66 connected across DC link 64.”) are switched on, wherein the controller is configured to operate in a second mode (Fig. 7, item 120) during a fault condition in which the first and third MOSFETs are switched off.
As to claim 2, Li discloses wherein the second MOSFETs are also switched off in the second mode (Fig. 7, 120).
As to claim 3, Li discloses wherein a source of each of the first MOSFETs is connected to a respective one of the AC input terminals (see image above, with IGBTs replaced by FETs as described in ¶29).
As to claim 4, Li discloses wherein a source of each of the second MOSFETs is connected to the second DC output terminal and a drain of each of the second MOSFETs is connected to a respective one of the AC input terminals (see explanation for claim 3).
As to claim 5, Li discloses wherein a source of each of the third MOSFETs is connected to the first DC output terminal and a drain of each of the third MOSFETs is connected to a drain of a respective one of the first MOSFETs (see claim 3).
As to claim 6, Li discloses further comprising: a fourth MOSFET reverse connected in series with the second MOSFET between the second DC output terminal and each of the plurality of AC input terminals (See Fig. 3, which makes the system symmetrical).
As to claim 7, Li discloses wherein the AC supply comprises three or more phases (see image below).
As to claim 9, Li teaches An electrical power system comprising: an electrical machine having a plurality of phases (ASD, three-phases); a power electronics converter according to claim 1, the plurality of AC input terminals of which are connected to the plurality of phases of the electrical machine (little a/b/c).
As to claim 13, Li discloses A power electronics converter for converting an input AC supply having a plurality of phases to an output DC supply, the converter comprising: a plurality of AC input terminals connectable to the plurality of phases of the input AC supply; first and second DC output terminals; a capacitor connected between the first and second DC output terminals; a first MOSFET connected between each of the plurality of AC input terminals and the first DC output terminal; a second MOSFET connected between each of the plurality of AC input terminals and the second DC output terminal; a third MOSFET connected between the first DC output terminal and in reverse series with each of the first MOSFETs, the third MOSFET located between the capacitor and the first MOSFETs; a switching controller configured to provide switching signals to gates of each of the first, second and third MOSFETs, wherein the controller is configured to operate in a first mode in which pulse width modulated switching signals are provided to the gates of the first and second MOSFETs to convert an AC supply at the AC input terminals to a DC output supply at the DC output terminals while the third MOSFET is switched on, wherein the controller is configured to operate in a second mode during a fault condition in which the first and third MOSFETs are switched off (this is similar to claim 1 above and anticipated for similar reasons).
As to claim 14, Li discloses wherein a source of each of the second MOSFETs is connected to the second DC output terminal and a drain of each of the second MOSFETs is connected to a respective one of the AC input terminals (see explanation for claim 3).
As to claim 15, Li discloses wherein a source of each of the third MOSFETs is connected to the first DC output terminal and a drain of each of the third MOSFETs is connected to a drain of a respective one of the first MOSFETs (see claim 3).
As to claim 16, Li discloses further comprising: a fourth MOSFET reverse connected in series with the second MOSFET between the second DC output terminal and each of the plurality of AC input terminals (See Fig. 3, which makes the system symmetrical).
As to claim 17, Li teaches An electrical power system comprising: an electrical machine having a plurality of phases (ASD, 1-2-3); a power electronics converter according to claim 1, the plurality of AC input terminals of which are connected to the plurality of phases of the electrical machine (little a/b/c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20220014012).
As to claim 8, Li discloses wherein the first MOSFET, the second MOSFET and the third MOSFET. He does not explicitly disclose are SiC MOSFETs or GaN MOSFETs. As to claims 24 and 25, According to §MPEP 2144.03, examiner asserts that using silicon carbide wideband semiconductors in power converters is old and well known, and therefore not patentable. See US 2007/0051977 by Saito et al ¶5, US 2006/0113561 by Sankin et al ¶5, US 2008/0123373 by Roesener et al ¶17.
Claims 9-12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20220014012) in view of Chivite Zabalza (US 20230123553.
As to claim 10, Li teaches and an electrical power system comprising an electrical machine (ASD/load) and a power electronics converter according to claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach An aircraft power and propulsion system comprising: a gas turbine engine; wherein the electrical machine of the electrical power system is mechanically coupled with a spool of the gas turbine engine.
Chivite Zabalza teaches An aircraft power and propulsion system comprising: a gas turbine engine (201); wherein the electrical machine (213, 216) of the electrical power system is mechanically coupled with a spool of the gas turbine engine (¶29 “there is provided an aircraft power and propulsion system comprising: a gas turbine engine; and an electrical power system according to the first aspect. The electrical machine of the electrical power system is mechanically coupled with a spool of the gas turbine engine.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use mechanical coupling as disclosed in Li to provide redundant means of energy.
As to claim 11, Li in view of Chivite Zabalza teaches An aircraft (¶29) comprising the electrical power system of claim 9.
As to claim 12, Li in view of Chivite Zabalza teaches wherein the aircraft is a hybrid electric aircraft (Fig. 2A).
As to claim 18, this is similar to claim 9 above with fewer limitations and is obvious for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839