CTNF 18/660,507 CTNF 77805 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-31 AIA The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/10/24 was filed in a timely manner; thus, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim #1-7, 9-11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matz et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2009/0081864), hereinafter referred to as "Matz" and in view of Hwang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026588), hereinafter referred to as "Hwang" . Matz shows, with respect to claim #1 , a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (paragraph 0002, 0006) , the method comprising: sequentially forming an etch target film (fig. #8, item 808) and an insulating film (fig. #8, item 810) on a substrate (paragraph 0002, 0029) ; forming a first photoresist film (fig. #8, item 822; also shown in fig. #3, item 314) on the insulating film (paragraph 0020) ; forming a first photoresist pattern exposing a first region of the insulating film by patterning the first photoresist film (paragraph 0029) ; forming a protective film (fig. #8, item 812) covering the first photoresist pattern and the first region of the insulating film (paragraph 0029) ; forming a second photoresist pattern (fig. #8, item 822) exposing a second region of the protective film (fig. #8, item 812) , forming a first trench (fig. #8, item 818) by etching the etch target film (fig. #8, item 810) using the first photoresist pattern (paragraph 0029) . Matz substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above. Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #1 , a method wherein, forming a second photoresist pattern exposing a second region of the protective film, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; and forming a second trench by etching the etch target film using the second photoresist pattern, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; wherein the forming of the first trench is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern . Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #1 , forming a second photoresist pattern (fig. #1D, item 33) exposing a second region of the protective film (fig. #1D, item 36) , wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern (fig. #1D, item 28a) during the forming of the second photoresist pattern (paragraph 0013) ; and forming a second trench (fig. #1E, item 40) by etching the etch target film (fig. #1D, item 26) using the second photoresist pattern (fig. #1D, item 33) , wherein the protective film (fig. #1D, item 36) covers the first photoresist pattern (fig. #1D, item 28a) (paragraph 0011) during the forming of the second photoresist pattern (paragraph 0013-0015) ; wherein the forming of the first trench (fig. #1E, item 50) is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern (paragraph 0013-0015). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #1 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches, wherein, forming a second photoresist pattern exposing a second region of the protective film, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; and forming a second trench by etching the etch target film using the second photoresist pattern, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; wherein the forming of the first trench is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #2 , a method a method wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern, the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern with the protective film disposed therebetween. Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #2 , a method wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 380) , the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 280) with the protective film (fig. #3D, item 360) disposed therebetween (paragraph 0030, 0031). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #2 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches, wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern, the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern with the protective film disposed therebetween, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #3 , a method wherein the forming of the protective film includes forming the protective film on upper and lateral side surfaces of the first photoresist pattern. Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #3 , a method wherein the forming of the protective film ( fig. #1D, item 36) includes forming the protective film on upper and lateral side surfaces of the first photoresist pattern ( fig. #1D, item 28a) (paragraph 0030, 0031). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #3 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches, wherein the forming of the protective film includes forming the protective film on upper and lateral side surfaces of the first photoresist pattern, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #4 , a method wherein: the first trench overlaps the first region of the insulating film; and the second trench overlaps the second region of the protective film. Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #4 , a method wherein: the first trench (fig. #1E, item 50) overlaps the first region of the insulating film (fig. #1E, item 26) (paragraph 0014) ; and the second trench (fig. #1E, item 40) (paragraph 0014) overlaps the second region of the protective film (fig. #1E, item 36) (paragraph 0012-0014). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #4 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches, wherein: the first trench overlaps the first region of the insulating film; and the second trench overlaps the second region of the protective film, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz shows, with respect to claim #5 , a method wherein the first trench (fig. 8, item 824) overlaps the second trench (fig. 8, item 818) (paragraph 0029). Matz shows, with respect to claim #6 , a method wherein a horizontal width of the second trench (fig. 8, item 824) is greater than a horizontal width of the first trench (fig. 8, item 818) (paragraph 0029). Matz shows, with respect to claim #7 , a wherein a vertical level of a lower surface of the first trench (fig. 8, item 818) is less than a vertical level of a lower surface of the second trench (fig. 8, item 824) (paragraph 0029). Matz shows, with respect to claim #9 , a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (paragraph 0002, 0006) , the method comprising: sequentially forming an etch target film (fig. #8, item 808) , a hard mask film (fig. #3, item 312) (paragraph 0020) , and an insulating film (fig. #8, item 810) on a substrate (paragraph 0002, 0029) ; forming a first photoresist film (fig. #8, item 822; also shown in fig. #3, item 314) on the insulating film (paragraph 0020) ; forming a first photoresist pattern exposing a first region of the insulating film by patterning the first photoresist film (paragraph 0029) ; forming a protective film (fig. #8, item 812) covering the first photoresist pattern and the first region of the insulating film (paragraph 0029) ; Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #9 , a method forming a second photoresist pattern exposing a second region of the protective film, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; forming a first trench by etching the etch target film using the first photoresist pattern; and forming a second trench by etching the etch target film using the second photoresist pattern, wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern, the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern with the protective film disposed therebetween. Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #9 , a method forming a second photoresist pattern (#3D, item 380) exposing a second region of the protective film (fig. #3D, item 360) , wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 280) during the forming of the second photoresist pattern (paragraph 0030-0032) ; forming a first trench (fig. #1E, item 50; fig. #3D, item 500) by etching the etch target film (fig. #3D, item 260) using the first photoresist pattern (paragraph 0015) ; and forming a second trench (fig. #1E, item 40) by etching the etch target film using the second photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 280) (paragraph 0013-0015, 0030-0032) , wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 380) , the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern (fig. #3D, item 280) with the protective film (fig. #3D, item 360) disposed therebetween. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #9 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches forming a second photoresist pattern exposing a second region of the protective film, wherein the protective film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; forming a first trench by etching the etch target film using the first photoresist pattern; and forming a second trench by etching the etch target film using the second photoresist pattern, wherein, in the forming of the second photoresist pattern, the second photoresist pattern is spaced apart from the first photoresist pattern with the protective film disposed therebetween, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz fails to show, with respect to claim #10 , a method wherein the forming of the first trench is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern. Hwang teaches, with respect to claim #10 , a wherein the forming of the first trench is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern (paragraph 0013-0015). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #10 , to modified the invention of Matz , with modification of the invention of Hwang , which teaches, wherein the forming of the first trench is performed after the forming of the second photoresist pattern, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Hwang . Matz teaches, with respect to claim #11 , a method wherein the forming of the first trench (fig. #8, item 818) includes: etching the first region of the insulating film (fig. #8, item 810) using the first photoresist pattern (fig. #8, item 822) (paragraph 0029) ; forming a hard mask pattern (fig. #8, item 816) (paragraph 0029) by etching a portion of the hard mask film exposed by etching the first region of the insulating film (paragraph 0029) ; and forming the first trench by etching a portion of the etch target film exposed by the hard mask pattern (paragraph 0029) . Matz shows, with respect to claim #17 , a method further comprising a conductive material filling (fig. #5, item 520) the first trench and the second trench (paragraph 0022) // 07-21-aia AIA Claim #8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matz et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2009/0081864), hereinafter referred to as "Matz" as modified by Hwang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026588), hereinafter referred to as "Hwang" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in further view of Ecton et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0128181), hereinafter referred to as "Ecton" . Matz as modified by Hwang, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above. Matz as modified by Hwang, fails to show, with respect to claim #8 , a method wherein the forming of the first photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the first photoresist film to first light; and the forming of the second photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the second photoresist film to second light, wherein the first light and the second light have different wavelengths from each other . Ecton teaches, with respect to claim #8 , a method wherein the forming of the first photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the first photoresist film to first light; and the forming of the second photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the second photoresist film to second light, wherein the first light and the second light have different wavelengths from each other (paragraph 0199). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #8 , to modified the invention of Matz as modified by Hwang, with the invention of Ecton , which teaches, a method wherein the forming of the first photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the first photoresist film to first light; and the forming of the second photoresist pattern includes exposing a partial region of the second photoresist film to second light, wherein the first light and the second light have different wavelengths from each other, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Ecton . /// 07-21-aia AIA Claim #12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matz et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2009/0081864), hereinafter referred to as "Matz" as modified by Hwang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026588), hereinafter referred to as "Hwang" as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above and in further view of Arnold et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 8,119,531), hereinafter referred to as "Arnold" . Matz as modified by Hwang, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above. Matz teaches, with respect to claim #12 , a method (fig. #8, item 816) forming a hard mask pattern by etching a portion of the hard mask film exposed by etching the second region of the insulating film; and forming the second trench (fig. #1E, item 40) (paragraph 0014) by etching a portion of the etch target film (fig. #8, item 808) exposed by the hard mask pattern (paragraph 0029). Matz as modified by Hwang, fails to show, with respect to claim #12 , a method wherein the forming of the second trench includes: etching the second region of the protective film using the second photoresist pattern; forming a third photoresist pattern by etching a portion of the first photoresist pattern exposed by the etched protective film; etching a second region of the insulating film using the third photoresist pattern . Arnold teaches, with respect to claim #12 , a method wherein the forming of the second trench (fig. #8, item 20) includes (column #12, line 59-27; column #13, line 1-4) : etching the second region of the protective film using the second photoresist pattern (column #13, line 3-21) ; forming a third photoresist pattern (Below; fig. #Ex 1 . Item TP 3 ) by etching a portion of the first photoresist pattern (fig. #7, item 14) exposed by the etched protective film (fig. #7, item 16) ; etching a second region of the insulating film using the third photoresist pattern ; column #13, line 15-29) ; [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (Third Pattern; TP3)] [AltContent: textbox (Ex1)] PNG media_image1.png 480 568 media_image1.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #12 , to modified the invention of Matz as modified by Hwang, with the invention of Arnold , which teaches, a method wherein the forming of the second trench includes: etching the second region of the protective film using the second photoresist pattern; forming a third photoresist pattern by etching a portion of the first photoresist pattern exposed by the etched protective film; etching a second region of the insulating film using the third photoresist pattern, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow for etching process that you now damage the underline areas. taught by Arnold . Matz shows, with respect to claim #14 , a method wherein the first trench (fig. 8, item 824) overlaps the second trench (fig. 8, item 818) (paragraph 0029). Matz shows, with respect to claim #15 , a method wherein a horizontal width of the second trench (fig. 8, item 824) is greater than a horizontal width of the first trench (fig. 8, item 818) (paragraph 0029). Matz shows, with respect to claim #16 , a wherein a vertical level of a lower surface of the first trench (fig. 8, item 818) is less than a vertical level of a lower surface of the second trench (fig. 8, item 824) (paragraph 0029). ///// 07-21-aia AIA Claim #13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matz et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2009/0081864), hereinafter referred to as "Matz" as modified by Hwang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026588), hereinafter referred to as " Hwang " as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above and in further view of Lu et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 8,791,024), hereinafter referred to as "Lu" . Matz as modified by Hwang, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above. Matz as modified by Hwang, fail to show, with respect to claim #13 , a method wherein: the hard mask film includes a spin on hardmask (SOH) film; and the SOH film is in direct contact with the etch target film . Arnold teaches, with respect to claim #13 , a method wherein: the hard mask film (fig. #12, item 110) includes a spin on hardmask (SOH) film; and the SOH film is in direct contact with the etch target film (fig. #12, item 108) (column #16, line 62-67; column #17, line 1-3) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #13, to modified the invention of Matz as modified by Hwang , with the modification of the invention by Lu , which teaches, wherein the hard mask film includes a spin on hardmask (SOH) film; and the SOH film is in direct contact with the etch target film, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow the deposition of a masking material without damaging the underlining layers, as taught by Lu . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s #18-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: While the prior art teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: sequentially forming an etch target film, a hard mask film, and an insulating film on a substrate; forming a first photoresist film on the insulating film; forming a first photoresist pattern exposing a first region of the insulating film by patterning the first photoresist film, ( Matz et al., 2009/0081864; Hwang et al., 2008/0026588; Lu et al., 8,791,024; Ecton et al., 2024/0128181 ), it fails to teach either collectively or alone, with respect to claim #18 , forming an oxide film covering the first photoresist pattern and the first region of the insulating film; forming a second photoresist pattern exposing a second region of the oxide film, wherein the oxide film covers the first photoresist pattern during the forming of the second photoresist pattern; forming an oxide film pattern by etching the second region of the oxide film using the second photoresist pattern. EXAMINATION NOTE The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments. Conclusion 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV) . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 . /Andre’ Stevenson Sr./ Art Unit 2899 06/04/26 /ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 4 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 7 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 8 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 9 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 10 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 11 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 12 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 13 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 14 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 15 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/660,507 Page 16 Art Unit: 2899