DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 13 and18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0165550).
Regarding claim 1. Kim teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus, comprising(1: fig. 1):
a wafer holder(10: fig. 1);
a top ring surrounding the wafer holder when viewed from top(20: fig.1, fig. 2; 1020: fig. 7);
a lifting mechanism (110: fig. 1; 1110, 1111, 1032, 1031) adjacent to the top ring(1020: fig.6), and configured to lift a part of the top ring(1020: fig. 7);
a monitor module (1040: fig.7) disposed to monitor a current height position of the part of the top ring(disposing below the focus ring 20 a chromatic confocal sensor 40 for measuring the distance actually moved by the focus ring 20, and comparing the distance measured by the chromatic confocal sensor 40 with the distance moved by the driving shaft 31, the level of the upper surface 21 of the focus ring 20 can be maintained to be uniform: [0028], [0049]); and
a computerized module (1110: fig.7) electrically connected to the lifting mechanism(1111: fig. 7) and the monitor module(1112: fig. 7), and configured to control the lifting mechanism to lift the part of the top ring from the current height position to a desired height position(W4: fig. 8; [0050]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13. Kim teaches the lifting mechanism includes at least three lift pins under the top ring, and one of the at least three lift pins is disposed under the part of the top ring(three driving shaft 31: [0030]); and
wherein the computerized module is configured to control the lifting mechanism to move the one of the at least three lift pins upward so as to lift the part of the top ring(control of the control unit 110, the driving source 32 may raise or lower the driving shaft 31:[0030]).
Regarding claim 10. Kim teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus, comprising(1: fig. 1):
a wafer holder for holding a wafer to be processed(10: fig. 1);
a top ring surrounding the wafer holder when viewed from top(20: fig.1, fig. 2; 1020: fig. 7);
a plasma generator configured to generate plasma for processing the wafer([0006], [0021]; P, W: fig. 1);
a lifting mechanism (110: fig. 1; 1110, 1111, 1032, 1031) adjacent to the top ring(1020: fig.6), and configured to lift a part of the top ring(1020: fig. 7;
a monitor module disposed(1040: fig.7) to monitor a state of the part of the top ring(disposing below the focus ring 20 a chromatic confocal sensor 40 for measuring the distance actually moved by the focus ring 20, and comparing the distance measured by the chromatic confocal sensor 40 with the distance moved by the driving shaft 31, the level of the upper surface 21 of the focus ring 20 can be maintained to be uniform: [0028], [0049]); and
a computerized module (1110: fig.7) electrically connected to the lifting mechanism(1111: fig. 7) and the monitor module(1112: fig. 7;
wherein the computerized module is configured to, after the part of the top ring has been consumed by the plasma in a semiconductor process, determine a compensatory distance for the part of the top ring based on the state of the part of the top ring as monitored by the monitor module, and to control the lifting mechanism to lift the part of the top ring by the compensatory distance(error value: [0036]; measured error value exceeds a preset allowable range, the control unit 1110 may reduce the error value within a preset range by redriving the driving unit 1030:[0050], focus ring is consumed in a plasma processing apparatus: [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 17. Kim further teaches the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to the semiconductor process that uses the plasma([0036], [0050], [0057]-[0058] );
wherein the monitor module is configured to monitor a current height position of the part of the top ring after the part of the top ring has been consumed by the plasma in the semiconductor process([0036], [0050], [0057]-[0058] ); and
wherein the computerized module is configured to obtain the compensatory distance based on the initial height position and the current height position of the part of the top ring([0036], [0050], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 19. Kim teaches a method for performing a plasma-involving semiconductor process on a wafer, comprising(1: fig. 1):
by a monitor module(1040: fig.7), monitoring a current height position of a part of a top ring of a semiconductor processing apparatus(disposing below the focus ring 20 a chromatic confocal sensor 40 for measuring the distance actually moved by the focus ring 20, and comparing the distance measured by the chromatic confocal sensor 40 with the distance moved by the driving shaft 31, the level of the upper surface 21 of the focus ring 20 can be maintained to be uniform: [0028], [0049]), wherein the semiconductor processing apparatus includes a wafer holder(10: fig. 1), and the top ring surrounds the wafer holder when viewed from top(20: fig.1, fig. 2; 1020: fig. 7);
by a computerized module, obtaining a desired height position based on a desired plasma sheath(disposing below the focus ring 20 a chromatic confocal sensor 40 for measuring the distance actually moved by the focus ring 20, and comparing the distance measured by the chromatic confocal sensor 40 with the distance moved by the driving shaft 31, the level of the upper surface 21 of the focus ring 20 can be maintained to be uniform: [0028], [0049]);
by a lifting mechanism, lifting the part of the top ring from the current height position to the desired height position([0050]); and
by the semiconductor processing apparatus, performing the plasma-involving semiconductor process on the wafer with the part of the top ring being lifted by the lifting mechanism([0036], [0050], [0057]-[0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0165550) in view of Won (US 2022/0122807).
Regarding Claims 2-3 and 11-12. Kim further teaches a processing chamber (60: fig.1)in which the wafer holder is disposed(10: fig.1),
Kim silent about the monitor module is embedded in a chamber wall of the processing chamber.
However, Won teaches the monitor module is embedded in a chamber wall of the processing chamber(600: fig. 8-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Kim, the monitor module is embedded in a chamber wall of the processing chamber, as taught by Won, so as to prevent damage to the focus ring caused by physical contact between the light receiving unit and a measuring instrument.
Regarding Claim 3.Won further teaches the monitor module includes at least two monitor devices located at different height positions to detect distances from the part of the top ring, respectively(600, 564: fig. 15; ring lift pin actuator 564, revolution/min: [0111]); and
wherein the computerized module is configured to obtain the current height position of the part of the top ring based on the distances detected by the at least two monitor devices([0109]-[0112]).
Regarding Claim 12.Won further teaches the chamber wall has at least two holes at different height positions, and the at least two holes correspond in position to the part of the top ring(564, 600: fig.1);
wherein the monitor module includes at least two monitor devices located respectively in the at least two holes of the chamber wall(600, 564: fig. 15);
wherein each of the at least two monitor devices is configured to detect a distance from the part of the top ring (ring lift pin actuator 564, revolution/min: [0111]; and
wherein the computerized module is configured to obtain the compensatory height based on the distances detected by the at least two monitor devices([0109]-[0112]).
Claim(s) 5-7, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0165550) in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2016/0163511)
Regarding Claims 5 and 14.Kim Silent about the lifting mechanism includes a magnetically-driven component disposed to move the part of the top ring upward when the magnetically-driven component is driven, and an electromagnet component electrically connected to the computerized module and disposed to generate a magnetic force to drive upward movement of the magnetically-driven component when the electromagnet component is activated by electricity; and wherein the computerized module is configured to control activation of the electromagnet component.
However, Nguyen teaches lifting mechanism includes a magnetically-driven component disposed to move the part of the top ring upward when the magnetically-driven component is driven, and an electromagnet component electrically connected to the computerized module and disposed to generate a magnetic force to drive upward movement of the magnetically-driven component when the electromagnet component is activated by electricity([0047]-[0048]); and
wherein the computerized module is configured to control activation of the electromagnet component (122: fig. 1; [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Kim, the lifting mechanism includes a magnetically-driven component disposed to move the part of the top ring upward when the magnetically-driven component is driven, and an electromagnet component electrically connected to the computerized module and disposed to generate a magnetic force to drive upward movement of the magnetically-driven component when the electromagnet component is activated by electricity; and wherein the computerized module is configured to control activation of the electromagnet component, as taught by Nguyen, so as to ensure that a magnetic field can be quickly changed by controlling amount of electric current to an electromagnet..
Regarding Claims 6 and 15. Nguyen further teaches the magnetically-driven component includes a magnet portion disposed at an outer side of the top ring and between the top ring and the electromagnet component ([0046]-[0048]; fig. 5).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16. Nguyen further teaches the magnetically-driven component further includes a lift portion connected to the magnet portion and disposed under the part of the top ring([0046]-[0048]; fig. 5).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0165550) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230197419 A1).
Regarding Claim 8. Kim silent about the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to a semiconductor process that uses plasma; and wherein the computerized module treats the initial height position as the desired height position.
However, Lee teaches the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to a semiconductor process that uses plasma(predetermined height :[0112]-[0113]); and
wherein the computerized module treats the initial height position as the desired height position(270: fig. 11; [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Kim, the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to a semiconductor process that uses plasma; and wherein the computerized module treats the initial height position as the desired height position, as taught by Lee, so as to reduces an amount of etching in the edge region of wafer..
Claim(s) 9, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0165550) in view of Ohnuki(US 2023/0282452)
Regarding Claims 9 and 20. Kim silent about the computerized module is disposed to receive a process recipe of a semiconductor process involving use of plasma and is configured to calculate a plasma sheath profile for the semiconductor process based on the process recipe, and to obtain the desired height position based on the plasma sheath profile.
However, Ohnuki teaches the computerized module is disposed to receive a process recipe of a semiconductor process involving use of plasma, and is configured to calculate a plasma sheath profile for the semiconductor process based on the process recipe, and to obtain the desired height position based on the plasma sheath profile([0066]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Kim, the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to a semiconductor process that uses plasma; and wherein the computerized module treats the initial height position as the desired height position, as taught by Ohnuki, so as to generate plasma in the treatment container, and a cover ring accommodation unit configured to accommodate a cover ring that covers the outer circumferential ring.
Regarding Claim 18. Kim further teaches the computerized module is configured to obtain the compensatory distance based on the state of the part of the top ring as monitored by the monitor module and the desired height position of the part of the top ring([0036], [0050], [0057]-[0058] ).
Kim silent about computerized module is disposed to receive a process recipe of the semiconductor process involving use of the plasma, and is configured to calculate a plasma sheath profile for the semiconductor process based on the process recipe, and to obtain a desired height position of the part of the top ring based on the plasma sheath profile
However, Ohnuki teaches the computerized module is disposed to receive a process recipe of a semiconductor process involving use of plasma, and is configured to calculate a plasma sheath profile for the semiconductor process based on the process recipe, and to obtain the desired height position based on the plasma sheath profile([0066]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Kim, the monitor module is configured to monitor an initial height position of the part of the top ring when the top ring is about to a semiconductor process that uses plasma; and wherein the computerized module treats the initial height position as the desired height position, as taught by Ohnuki, so as to generate plasma in the treatment container, and a cover ring accommodation unit configured to accommodate a cover ring that covers the outer circumferential ring.
.
Examiner notes
Limitations of Claims 1, 10 and 19 also teaches by Lee et al. (US 20230197419 A1) specially claim 1 as Regarding Claim 1. Lee teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus, comprising(fig. 1-2 and fig. 11):
a wafer holder(110: fig. 1-2);
a top ring surrounding the wafer holder when viewed from top(200: fig. 1-2 and 11);
a lifting mechanism adjacent to the top ring, and configured to lift a part of the top ring(230: fig. 1-2 and 230 a-b: fig. 11);
a monitor module disposed to monitor a current height position of the part of the top ring(270: fig. 11; The controller 270 may control the components connected to the controller 270 based on sensed values: [0090]); and
a computerized module electrically connected to the lifting mechanism and the monitor module(270: fig. 11), and configured to control the lifting mechanism to lift the part of the top ring from the current height position (H1: fig. 6) to a desired height position(H2: fig. 6) (The first actuator driver 260a may move the first lift pin 230a in the vertical direction (Z axis direction) by a first movement distance according to a first lift pin control signal from the controller 270. The second actuator driver 260b may move the second lift pin 230b in the vertical direction (Z axis direction) by a second movement distance according to a second lift pin control signal from the controller 270. The third actuator driver 260c may move the third lift pin 230c in the vertical direction (Z axis direction) by a third movement distance according to a third lift pin control signal from the controller 270. In order to load or unload the wafer W onto or from the substrate stage 100, the first lift pin 230a, the second lift pin 230b, and the third lift pin 230c may be raised to raise the shadow ring 200 to maintain the shadow ring 200 at a predetermined height H2. When the shadow ring 200 is raised to the predetermined height H2, the wafer W may be seated on the substrate stage 100 [0089]-[0094]; first height H1: [0059]).
Limitations of Claims 1, 10 and 19 also teaches by Won specially claim 1 as Regarding Claim 1. Won teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus, comprising(fig. 1 and 8):
a wafer holder(550:fig. 8);
a top ring surrounding the wafer holder when viewed from top(R: fig. 5 and 8);
a lifting mechanism adjacent to the top ring, and configured to lift a part of the top ring(564: fig. 8);
a monitor module disposed(600: fig. 8) to monitor a current height position of the part of the top ring(monitoring height: [0107]-[0108]); and
a computerized module (700: fig. 1)electrically connected to the lifting mechanism and the monitor module, and configured to control the lifting mechanism to lift the part of the top ring from the current height position to a desired height position.
Inhofer et al. (US 2020/0020566): Actuator 160 may be hardwired or wirelessly coupled to an internal and/or external controller (not shown) in order to help respond to sensor input or instructions and provide suitable electrical power to the coils 162 and 164.: [0053]; electromagnetic actuation: abstract; lift pin system that uses electromagnetic actuation: [0016], [0052], [0061]; electromagnetic actuation: abstract; lift pin system that uses electromagnetic actuation: [0016], [0052], [0061]; Actuator 160 is an actuation device is that is electrically coupled to the electromagnetic coils 162 and 164:[0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) US 20230030464: the top electrode may be provided as a shower head unit 590 to be described later, and the bottom electrode may be provided as the aforementioned metal plate. A high frequency power may be applied to the bottom electrode, and the top electrode may be grounded. In an embodiment, the high frequency power may be applied to the top electrode and the bottom electrode, respectively. For this reason, an electromagnetic field is generated between the top electrode and the bottom electrode. The generated electromagnetic field excites the process gas provided within the housing 510 into the plasma state.
Contact information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857