DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0118616 A1 (the ‘616 reference).
The reference discloses in Fig. 2, para [16] (paragraph(s) [0016]) and other text an electronic package as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘616 reference discloses an electronic package, comprising:
a carrier structure (100) having a circuit layer;
an electronic element (semiconductor chip 200) disposed on the carrier structure (100) and electrically connected to the circuit layer;
a heat dissipation structure (300) disposed on the carrier structure (100) and covering the electronic element (200), wherein the heat dissipation structure (300) has a plurality of convex portions (not labeled) facing the carrier structure (100); and
a cladding layer (molding layer MD) formed on the carrier structure (100) and covering the electronic element (200).
Referring to claim 4, Fig. 2 depicts that the heat dissipation structure (300) includes a heat dissipation sheet (a horizontal portion), and the convex portions (the not-labeled portions) are disposed on the heat dissipation sheet.
Referring to claim 5, the reference further discloses conductive elements (500, para [19]) electrically connected to the carrier structure (100).
3. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii et al. CN 2008305958 A, Semiconductor Device, Published December 18, 2008, the following rejections are based on an English translation by USPTO-PE2E.
Ishii discloses in Fig. 5(e) (reproduced below, with labels, such as “convex portions”, added by the examiner for ease of explanation) and related text an electronic package as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, Ishii discloses an electronic package, comprising:
a carrier structure (wiring substrate 21, page 4, 5th full paragraph) having a circuit layer;
an electronic element (semiconductor element 22, page 4, 4th full paragraph) disposed on the carrier structure (21) and electrically connected to the circuit layer;
a heat dissipation structure (heat spreader 26, page 5, first full paragraph) disposed on the carrier structure (21) and covering the electronic element (22), wherein the heat dissipation structure (26) has a plurality of convex portions (“convex portions”) facing the carrier structure (21); and
a cladding layer (sealing resin 25, page 5, 2nd full paragraph) formed on the carrier structure (21) and covering the electronic element (22).
Referring to claim 2, Ishii further discloses that one of the convex portions (“convex portions”) is located at at least one corner of the cladding layer (25).
Referring to claim 3, Ishii further discloses that the heat dissipation structure (26) is made of metal (such as copper, page 5, 1st full paragraph).
Referring to claim 4, Fig. 5e, reproduced above, depicts that the heat dissipation structure (26) includes a heat dissipation sheet (“heat dissipation sheet”), and the convex portions (“convex portions”) are disposed on the heat dissipation sheet.
Referring to claim 5, Ishii further discloses conductive elements (solder balls 24, page 4, last paragraph) electrically connected to the carrier structure (21).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 6-10 are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a method of manufacturing an electronic package with all limitations as recited in claim 6, which may be characterized in performing a singulation process along a cutting path, and in that the cutting path passes through the plurality of convex portions.
Conclusion
06-15-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818