DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0021, line 7, “61opposite” should be written as “61 opposite.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “the surface” is recited in lines 11-12 and 16 after reciting both “inwardly facing surfaces of the base” and “a surface of the base” in the same claim. Specify whether “the surface” refers to “the surface of the base” or “the inwardly facing surface of the base.”
Regarding claim 12, “the surface” is recited in lines 3-4 and 9 after reciting both “inwardly facing surfaces of the base” and “a surface of the base” in claim 8. Specify whether “the surface” refers to “the surface of the base” or “the inwardly facing surface of the base.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7-8, 10, 12-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim language recites “the member comprising of a recess extending into from the portion,” which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due to using vague and relative terminology to describe the position of the recess with respect to the portion. For the purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “the member comprising of a recess extending into the member from the portion.”
Regarding claim 7, the claim language recites “an inwardly extending flange, the member of size to engage the inwardly extending flange with the portion being spaced apart from a surface of the base,” which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due to using vague and relative terminology in “member of size.” Specifically, the language does not properly define what the size of the member refers to (e.g. length, volume, surface area) nor does it specify what size of the member is required to engage the inwardly extending flange while having the portion spaced apart from the surface of the base.
Regarding claim 8, the claim language recites “the friction holding stop configured to slide on the fastener away from the first jaw and compress the spring,” which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due to the fastener and spring previously being claimed to be part of the friction holding stop in the same claim, although the friction holding stop is now being configured to slide on and compress a part that it already comprises of, thus making it appear that the friction holding stop slides and compresses on itself. The examiner suggests separating the fastener and the spring from the friction holding stop. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the claim to read as follows:
a second jaw facing in a direction toward the first jaw and configured for guided movement of the guideways;
a friction holding stop configured to selectively and frictionally engage a surface of the base and inhibit sliding movement of the first jaw on the guideways, the friction holding stop having[[:]] a bore;
a spring; and
a fastener extending through the bore and securing the friction holding stop to the first jaw on a side opposite the second jaw, the friction holding stop configured to slide on the fastener away from the first jaw and compress the spring.
Regarding claim 10, “the jaw” is recited, although a “first jaw” and “second jaw” were previously recited in claim 8, which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due it being unclear whether “the jaw” in claim 10 refers to the “first jaw” or the “second jaw.” For the purposes of examination, best understood by the examiner the language will be interpreted as the “first jaw,” based on Figs. 1 and 4.
Regarding claim 12, “the cavity” is recited, although “a cavity in the support” was previously recited in claim 10 and “a cavity opening toward the surface of the base” was previously recited in claim 12, which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due it being unclear whether “the cavity” in claim 12 refers to the “cavity in the support” or the “cavity opening toward the surface of the base.” For the purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “the cavity opening toward the surface of the base.”
Regarding claim 13, the claim language recites “the member comprising of a recess extending into from the portion,” which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due to using vague and relative terminology to describe the position of the recess with respect to the portion. For the purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “the member comprising of a recess extending [from the member into the portion].”
Regarding claim 18, the claim language recites “an inwardly extending flange, the member of size to engage the inwardly extending flange with the portion being spaced apart from a surface of the base,” which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due to using vague and relative terminology in “member of size.” Specifically, the language does not properly define what the size of the member refers to (e.g. length, volume, surface area) nor does it specify what size of the member is required to engage the inwardly extending flange while having the portion spaced apart from the surface of the base.
Regarding claim 18, “the cavity” is recited, although “a cavity in the support” was previously recited in claim 10 and “a cavity opening toward the surface of the base” was previously recited in claim 12, which is rejected under 112(b) for indefiniteness due it being unclear whether “the cavity” in claim 12 refers to the “cavity in the support” or the “cavity opening toward the surface of the base.” For the purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “the cavity opening toward the surface of the base.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Groos et al. (DE 102008017911 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated in Figs. below) a vise assembly (assembly shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below) comprising: a base (base jaw 10 specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below); a pair of side walls extending from the base having guideways (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below), wherein inwardly facing surfaces of the base and the pair of side walls (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below) form a center recess (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below); a jaw configured for guided movement by the guideways (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below; “The guide projections 20 guide the clamping jaw 11 laterally in the T-slot 13 of the base jaw 10,” [0021], Groos); and a friction holding stop (the whole mechanism between parts 10 and 11 and can also interpreted to be the support as specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below) secured to the jaw (via the support) configured to selectively and frictionally engage a surface of the base (lowest surface of the friction holding stop on surface of the base specified in annotated Fig. 3 below) and inhibit sliding movement of the jaw on the guideways (fastening screw 23 is tightened and/or loosened, causing T-nut 22 to frictionally engage/disengage with T-slot 13, causing the jaw to be clamped and released, [0026] to [0028], Groos), the friction holding stop comprising: a support secured to the jaw (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below; support is interpreted to be formed integral with the jaw, which appears to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, see [0026] of instant application), the support including a cavity opening toward the surface of the base (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 below for interpretation of cavity); a member (T-nut 22 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) disposed within the cavity and movable toward and away from the surface (by tightening and untightening screw 23, movement of jaw is inhibited on the guideways, [0008], Groos), the member having a portion engageable with the surface of the base (lowest part of T-nut 22 specified in annotated Fig. 3 below); a spring (spring 27 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) configured to urge the member toward the surface of the base (T-nut 22 is pretensioned downward and away from the head 28 of fastening screw 26 by spring 27, [0022], Groos); and an actuator (fastening screw 23 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) coupled to the member and the support (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 below, fastening screw 23 is coupled to the member 22 and the structure interpreted as the support), the actuator configured to selectively move the member away from the surface against a spring force from the spring (by tightening and untightening the screw 23, [0010], Groos).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of the claim 1 is incorporated by reference. Groos further teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the member comprises a recess extending into the member from the portion (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of recess).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of the claim 2 is incorporated by reference. Groos further teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a bore extending through the member (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of bore extending though member) and opening to the recess (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of bore opening to recess), wherein the actuator extends through the bore (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of actuator extending though bore).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of the claim 3 is incorporated by reference. Groos further teaches the actuator includes a friction end (locking/fastening screw 26 as specified in annotated Fig. 3 above) configured to selectively engage a surface of the base (locking/fastening screw is in direct contact with a surface of the base as shown in annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of the claim 4 is incorporated by reference. Groos further teaches the actuator is operated on an end opposite the friction end (“This can be achieved by a locking screw [26] that is screwed in from below, i.e. into the end face associated with the T-nut [22] [opposite the head (28) of the fastening screw (26)],” [0012], Groos) to selectively engage the surface of the base (top end of the fastening screw 23 is engageable with a tool to tighten and untighten it, [0027] to [0028] Groos; it can be interpreted that the actuator or fastener can engage with the surface of the base by rotating its end opposite of the friction end with a tool through broadest reasonable interpretation, see [0021] of instant application).
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 9636801 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches (reproduced and annotated in Figs. below) a vise assembly (specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) comprising: a base (base frame 102 specified in annotated Figs. 1-3 below); a pair of side walls extending from the base (lateral sidewall 118 and its opposite wall specified in annotated Figs. 1-3 below) having guideways (upper rail 116 specified in annotated Figs. 1-3 below; “The base frame 102 can include the upper rail 116 and another of the upper rail 116. The two upper rails are parallel with each other,” col. 4, lines 56-58, Lee), wherein inwardly facing surfaces of the base and the pair of side walls form a center recess (vise channel 305 specified in annotated Fig. 3 below; “A vise channel 305 is formed into the base portion and between the rails of the upper rail 116,” col. 8, lines 51-53, Lee); a first jaw (first jaw 104 specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) configured for guided movement by the guideways (see annotated Fig. 1 below for first jaw movement along the guideways; “The first jaw 104 is a movable or sliding jaw,” col. 15, lines 4-5, Lee); a second jaw facing in a direction toward the first jaw (second jaw 108 specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) and configured for guided movement of the guideways (see annotated Fig. 1 below for second jaw movement along the guideways; “The first jaw 104 is a movable or sliding jaw and can be identical to the second jaw 108 of FIG. 1,” col. 15, lines 4-6, Lee); and a friction holding stop (friction stop 450 specified in annotated Figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D below) configured to selectively and frictionally engage a surface of the base (“The pin stop 452 can make contact with the channel top surface 304 of FIG. 3 of the base frame 102 of FIG. 1 for causing friction,” col. 12, lines 4-7) and inhibit sliding movement of the jaw on the guideways (“The friction stop 450 can be a platform for supporting a pin stop 452. The pin stop 452 is a rod or pin for restricting the movement of the receiving body 404,” col. 11-12, lines 66-67 and line 1, Lee), the friction holding stop having: a bore (spring hole 460 specified in annotated Fig. 4B below); a spring (coiled spring 466 specified in annotated Figs. 4C and 4D below); and a fastener (spring screw 454 specified in annotated Fig. 4C below) extending through the bore (see annotated Fig. 4C below for fastener extending through bore) and securing the friction holding stop to the first jaw (“a spring screw 454, which is a screw for connecting the friction stop 450 to the receiving body 404 [where receiving body 404 can be interpreted as part of the first jaw since the receiving body 404 is a carrier for the movable jaws as a part of the jaw carrier assembly (col. 10, lines 34-39), which the jaw assembly is attached to according to the abstract],” col. 13, lines 33-35, Lee), the friction holding stop configured to slide on the fastener away from the first jaw (it can be interpreted that the friction stop 450 moves away from the receiving body through the spring screw 454 when unclamped, which is facilitated by tightening or loosening the spring screw 454 to adjust amount of slack provided by spring during unclamping, col. 13 , lines 36-55, Lee) and compress the spring (“The spring of the spring screw 454 provides compression resistance to the friction stop 450 and the receiving body 404 when the receiving body 404 is clamped close. It has been found that the spring screw 454 facilitates unclamping of the receiving body 404 by preventing the friction stop 450 from locking the receiving body 404 in place,” col. 13, lines 36-43, Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 8. Additionally, Lee teaches a vise assembly (reproduced and annotated in Figs. 1 and 2 above), wherein the friction holding stop comprises a support (specified in annotated Figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D above) being slidable on the fastener (“During clamping, the spring screw 454 helps drag the friction stop 450 to move along with the receiving body 404,” col. 13, lines 49-51, Lee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Boljanovic et al. (Die Design Fundamentals Chapter 15).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8 and 9, wherein the bore opens to a cavity in the support on a side opposite the jaw (as shown in annotated Figs. 4B and 4C below).
Lee does not explicitly teach the spring being disposed in the cavity (spring is not clearly shown to be inserted through the cavity opening as shown in annotated Figs. 4C and 4D below). However, Boljanovic does teach the spring being disposed in the cavity, which complies with the interpreted definition of a spring being disposed in the cavity (Boljanovic teaches different methods of applying pushing force between two pieces, including type C in page 181 in which a spring inside a counterbore [cavity in instant invention] and a bolt passing tough both the cavity and the bore, pg. 181, Boljanovic; methods of applying pushing force between two pieces shown in annotated type C diagram of Fig. 15.39 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee such that the spring can be inserted into the bore to maximize preload force to increase friction and work applied to the workpieces when the spring is compressed (Chapter 15.4, pg. 173, Boljanovic).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Boljanovic as applied to claims 10 above, and further in view of Engibarov et al. (US 5056766 A).
Regarding claim 11, Lee only teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-10, wherein the friction holding stop is secured to the first jaw via one fastener, one spring, and one bore, not a pair of each.
Engibarov teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a vise assembly (see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) wherein the friction holding stop (rod 40 specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) comprises a second bore spaced apart from the bore (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and the vise assembly further comprises: a second spring (springs 82 and 84 specified in annotated Fig. 2 below); and a second fastener (fastening bolts 42 and 44 specified in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) extending through the second bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and securing the friction holding stop to the first jaw on a side opposite the second jaw (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee to secure the friction holding stop to the first jaw of Lee with two sets of fasteners taught by Engibarov, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis, 193 USPQ 8).
The duplicated bore, spring, and fastener of Engibarov combined with Lee would teach (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) the friction holding stop (friction stop 450) comprises a second bore spaced apart from the bore (duplicated spring hole 460 of Lee), and the vise assembly further comprises: a second spring (duplicated spring 466 of Lee); and a second fastener (duplicated spring screw 454 of Lee) extending through the second bore (duplicated fastener 454 extending through duplicated spring screw 460 of Lee), and securing the friction holding stop to the first jaw on a side opposite the second jaw (see annotated Fig. 4B of Lee below), the friction holding stop configured to slide on the second fastener away from the first jaw (it can be interpreted that the friction stop 450 moves away from the receiving body through the duplicated spring screw 454 when unclamped, which is facilitated by tightening or loosening the duplicated spring screw 454 to adjust amount of slack provided by duplicated spring 466 during unclamping, col. 13 , lines 36-55, Lee) and compress the spring (“The [duplicated] spring [466] of the [duplicated] spring screw 454 provides compression resistance to the friction stop 450 and the receiving body 404 when the receiving body 404 is clamped close. It has been found that the [duplicated] spring screw 454 facilitates unclamping of the receiving body 404 by preventing the friction stop 450 from locking the receiving body 404 in place,” col. 13, lines 36-43, Lee).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Groos et al. (DE 102008017911 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee, as modified, does not teach the support containing a cavity opening toward the surface of the base, the friction holding stop comprising a member, a second spring configured to urge the member, or an actuator.
Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-11, wherein the support includes a cavity opening toward the surface of the base (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 below for interpretation of cavity), the friction holding stop comprising; a member (T-nut 22 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) disposed within the cavity and movable toward and away from the surface (by tightening and untightening screw 23, movement of jaw is inhibited on the guideways, [0008], Groos), the member having a portion engageable with the surface of the base (lowest part of T-nut 22 specified in annotated Fig. 3 below); a second spring (spring 27 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) configured to urge the member toward the surface of the base (T-nut 22 is pretensioned downward and away from the head 28 of fastening screw 26 by spring 27, [0022], Groos); and an actuator (fastening screw 23 specified in annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below) coupled to the member and the support (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 below, fastening screw 23 is coupled to the member 22 and the structure interpreted as the support), the actuator configured to selectively move the member away from the surface against a spring force from the second spring (by tightening and untightening the screw 23, [0010], Groos).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teachings of Groos and Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov to have modified Lee such that the support includes a cavity opening toward the surface of the base, the friction holding stop including a member disposed within the cavity with a portion engageable with the surface of the base, a second spring configured to urge the member toward the surface of the base, and an actuator to allow for the friction holding stop to provide precise lateral positioning in a way that the jaw can be replaced easily and without much effort ([0003] and [0004], Groos).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, as modified, does not teach a member, therefore, a recess that the member comprises of is not taught.
Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-12, wherein the member comprises a recess extending into the member from the portion (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of recess).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teachings of Groos and Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov to have modified Lee such that the member comprises a recess extending into the member from the portion to allow the screw to firmly clamp the jaw to the base ([0008], Groos).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, as modified, does not teach a member, therefore, a bore that the member comprises of is not taught. Similarly, since Lee does not teach an actuator, the actuator extending through the bore is not taught.
Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-13, wherein the member comprises a bore extending through the member (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of bore extending though member) and opening to the recess (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of bore opening to recess), wherein the actuator extends through the bore (see annotated friction holding stop diagram of Fig. 3 above for interpretation of actuator extending though bore).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teachings of Groos and Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov to have modified Lee such that the member would comprise of a bore extending through the member and opening to the recess, wherein the actuator extends through the bore to allow the screw to firmly clamp the jaw to the base ([0008], Groos).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, as modified, does not teach an actuator, therefore, the actuator including a friction end is not taught.
Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-11, wherein the actuator includes a friction end (locking/fastening screw 26 as specified in annotated Fig. 3 above) configured to selectively engage the surface of the base (locking/fastening screw is in direct contact with a surface of the base as shown in annotated Fig. 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teachings of Groos and Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov to have modified Lee such that the actuator includes a friction end that selectively engages with the surface of the base to prevent the actuator from being unscrewed too far out from the member ([0022], Groos).
Regarding claim 16, Lee, as modified, does not teach an actuator, therefore, the actuator being operated on an end opposite the friction end is not taught.
Groos teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the claimed invention as rejected above in claims 8-11, wherein the actuator is operated on an end opposite the friction end (“This can be achieved by a locking screw [26] that is screwed in from below, i.e. into the end face associated with the T-nut [22] [opposite the head (28) of the fastening screw (26)],” [0012], Groos) to selectively engage the surface of the base (top end of the fastening screw 23 is engageable with a tool to tighten and untighten it, [0027] to [0028] Groos; it can be interpreted that the actuator or fastener can engage with the surface of the base by rotating its end opposite of the friction end with a tool through broadest reasonable interpretation, see [0021] of instant application).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teachings of Groos and Lee, Boljanovic, and Engibarov to have modified Lee such that the actuator is operated on an end opposite the friction end to limit the unscrewing of the actuator from the member and ensure that the user knows when the fastening screw is fully loosened and confirm that the jaw can be removed from the base ([0012], Groos).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 17 would be allowable for disclosing “the actuator is a threaded bolt threadably engaging the support.” The closest prior art to the invention of claims 6 and 17 is Groos (fastening screw 23 has a bolt thread 24, [0008] and [0022], Groos). However, the actuator of Groos is sliding inside the support and there is a spring between the actuator and the support. Threadably engaging the actuator to the support makes the vise inoperable.
Claims 7 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 7 and 18 would be allowable for disclosing: “the cavity includes an inwardly extending flange, the member of size to engage the inwardly extending flange with the portion being spaced apart from a surface of the base.” The closest prior art to the invention of claims 7 and 18 is Groos (stop surfaces 38 and 39 limit how far the T-nut 22 can be rotated before the stop surfaces 38 or 39 come into contact with the T-slot 13, [0027] and [0028], Groos). However, the interpreted inwardly extending flange is below the cavity instead of being contained within the cavity. Containing the inwardly extending flange into the cavity makes the vise inoperable.
Conclusion
/I.M.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723