DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the present application are an obvious subset, rearrangement and/or variation of the limitations presented in claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592.
The following table illustrates a mapping of the limitations of claims of the present application when compared against the limitations of claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592.
Claims of Present Application
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592
1. A point-of-sale (POS) device comprising:
a processor; and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions which when executed by the processor cause the POS device to:
initialize a wireless connection with a second device, wherein the second device
generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection;
verify the wireless connection by:
generating the same visible light signal using a display of the first device; and
accepting a comparison verification input on a user interface of the first device.
2. The POS device of claim 1, wherein: the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
3. The POS device of claim 1, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection with the second device includes generating a shared secret on the second device; the one or more computer-readable media further include instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the POS device to generate the shared secret on the POS device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
4. The POS device of claim 1, wherein: generating the same visible light signal includes at least one of:
(i) setting a color of a light emitting diode; (ii) blinking the light emitting diode; and (iii) selectively lighting light emitting diodes from a plurality of light emitting diodes which includes the light emitting diode.
5. The POS device of claim 4, wherein the second device generates the visible light signal by illuminating an image on the second device.
8. A POS device comprising:
a first processor and a visible light sensor; one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the POS device to:
initialize a wireless connection with a second device, wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection;
verify the secure wireless connection on the POS device using the visible light signal by: capturing the visible light signal generated on the second device using the visible light sensor; and comparing the captured visible light signal to a signal stored in the POS device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same.
9. The POS device of claim 8, wherein: the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
10. The POS device of claim 8, wherein: the visible light signal is representative of an out of band temporary key for the secure wireless connection, wherein verifying the secure wireless connection on the POS device using the visible light signal includes generating the out of band temporary key on the POS device using the visible light signal captured by the visible light sensor on the POS device.
11. The POS device of claim 8, wherein: the second device is configured to generate a shared secret in response to initializing the secure wireless connection between the POS device and the second device; the one or more computer-readable media accessible to the POS device further store instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the POS device to generate the shared secret on the POS device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
12. The POS device of claim 11, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection between the POS device and the second device includes exchanging cryptographic material between the first and second device; and generating the shared secret on the POS device and generating the shared secret on the second device uses the exchanged cryptographic material.
13. A POS device comprising:
a first processor; a first transceiver; a display; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the POS device to: initialize a wireless connection with a second device using the first transceiver, wherein the second device includes a second transceiver,
wherein the second device does not include a display, and wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection; and verify the secure wireless connection using the visible light signal by:
capturing the visible light signal from the visible light signal source; and comparing the visible light signal to a signal stored in the POS device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same.
14. The POS device of claim 13, wherein: the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
15. The POS device of claim 13, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first includes generating a shared secret on the POS device, wherein the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
16. The POS device of claim 13, wherein: the visible light signal is generated by a visible light source including one of: (i) a multicolor light emitting diode; (ii) a light emitting diode; and (iii) a plurality of light emitting diodes.
17. The POS device of claim 12, wherein the POS device includes a visible light sensor, wherein the visible light sensor is configured to capture the visible light signal.
18. The POS device of claim 17, wherein: the visible light signal is representative of an out of band temporary key for the secure wireless connection; and verifying the secure wireless connection on the POS device using the visible light signal includes generating the out of band temporary key on the POS device using the visible light signal captured by the visible light sensor on the POS device.
19. The POS device of claim 12, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first transceiver includes generating a shared secret on the POS device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
20. The POS device of claim 19, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first transceiver includes: (i) exchanging cryptographic material between the first and second device; and generating the shared secret on the POS device uses the exchanged cryptographic material.
13. A POS device comprising:
a first processor; a first transceiver; a display; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the POS device to: initialize a wireless connection with a second device using the first transceiver, wherein the second device includes a second transceiver,
wherein the second device does not include a display, and wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection; and verify the secure wireless connection using the visible light signal by:
capturing the visible light signal from the visible light signal source; and comparing the visible light signal to a signal stored in the POS device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same.
14. The POS device of claim 13, wherein: the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
1. A system comprising:
a first device having a first processor;
a second device having a second processor and a light emitting diode; one or more computer readable media accessible to the second processor and storing instructions which when executed by the second processor cause the second device to:
initialize a secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device; and
generate a visible light signal using the light emitting diode; and one or more computer readable media accessible to the first processor and storing instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to: verify the secure wireless connection on the first device using the visible light signal by:
(i) generating the same visible light signal on the first device using a display of the first device; and
(ii) accepting a comparison verification input on a user interface of the first device.
2.The system of claim 1, wherein: the first device is a point-of-sale device; the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device includes generating a shared secret on the second device; the one or more computer readable media accessible to the first device further store instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to generate the shared secret on the first device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein: generating the visible light signal on the second device includes at least one of:
(i) setting a color of the light emitting diode; (ii) blinking the light emitting diode; and (iii) selectively lighting light emitting diodes from a plurality of light emitting diodes which includes the light emitting diode.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein: generating the visible light signal on the second device includes illuminating an image on the first device.
6. A system comprising:
a first device having a first processor and a visible light sensor;
a second device having a second processor and a light emitting diode; one or more computer readable media accessible to the second processor and storing instructions which when executed by the second processor cause the second device to:
initialize a secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device; and generate a visible light signal by illuminating an image on the second device using the light emitting diode; and one or more computer readable media accessible to the first processor and storing instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to:
verify the secure wireless connection on the first device using the visible light signal by: capturing the visible light signal generated on the second device using the visible light sensor; and comparing the captured visible light signal to a signal stored in the first device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein: the first device is a point-of-sale device; the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
8. The system of claim 6, wherein: the visible light signal is representative of an out of band temporary key for the secure wireless connection;
generate the visible light signal by illuminating the image on the second device using the light emitting diode includes: (i) generating the out of band temporary key on the second device, and (ii) encoding the out of band temporary key into the visible light signal on the second device; and verifying the secure wireless connection on the first device using the visible light signal includes generating the out of band temporary key on the first device using the visible light signal captured by the visible light sensor on the first device.
9. The system of claim 6, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device includes generating a shared secret on the second device; the one or more computer readable media accessible to the first device further store instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to generate the shared secret on the first device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device includes exchanging cryptographic material between the first and second device; and generating the shared secret on the first device and generating the shared secret on the second device uses the exchanged cryptographic material.
11. A system for establishing a verified secure wireless connection comprising:
a first device with a first transceiver; a second device with a second transceiver,
wherein the second device does not include a display; a visible light signal source on the second device; wherein the first and second devices store computer-readable instructions which when executed by the first and second devices cause the first and second devices to jointly initialize a secure wireless connection using the first transceiver and the second transceiver; wherein the second device stores computer-readable instructions which when executed by the second device cause the second device to generate a visible light signal using the visible light source; wherein the first device stores computer-readable instructions which when executed by the first device cause the first device to verify the secure wireless connection using the visible light signal by: capturing the visible light signal from the visible light signal source; and comparing the visible light signal to a signal stored in the first device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein: the first device is a point-of-sale device; the second device is a card reader; the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first transceiver and the second transceiver includes generating a shared secret on the first device and generating the shared secret on the second device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein: the visible light source is one of: (i) a multicolor light emitting diode; (ii) a light emitting diode; and (iii) a plurality of light emitting diodes; and generating the visible light signal on the second device includes at least one of: (i) setting a color of the multicolor light emitting diode; (ii) blinking the light emitting diode; and (iii) selectively lighting light emitting diodes from the plurality of light emitting diodes.
15. The system of claim 11, further comprising: a light emitting diode on the second device; an image on the second device; a visible light sensor on the first device, wherein the visible light sensor is configured to capture the visible light signal; wherein generating the visible light signal on the second device includes: illuminating the image on the second device by lighting the light emitting diode on the second device.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein: the visible light signal is representative of an out of band temporary key for the secure wireless connection; generating the visible light signal using the visible light source includes: (i) generating the out of band temporary key on the second device, and (ii) encoding the out of band temporary key into the visible light signal on the second device; and verifying the secure wireless connection on the first device using the visible light signal includes generating the out of band temporary key on the first device using the visible light signal captured by the visible light sensor on the first device.
17. The system of claim 11, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first transceiver and the second transceiver includes generating a shared secret on the first device and generating the shared secret on the second device; and the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein: initializing the secure wireless connection using the first transceiver and the second transceiver includes: (i) exchanging cryptographic material between the first and second device; and generating the shared secret on the first device and generating the shared secret on the second device uses the exchanged cryptographic material.
19. A system for forming a verified secure wireless connection comprising: a first device with a first transceiver and a display; a second device with a second transceiver, wherein the second device does not include a display; and a visible light signal source on the second device; wherein the first and second devices store computer-readable instructions which when executed by the first and second devices cause the first and second devices to jointly initialize a secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device; wherein the second device stores computer-readable instructions which when executed by the second device cause the second device to generate a visible light signal; and wherein the first device stores additional computer-readable instructions which when executed by the first device cause the first device to verify the secure wireless connection on the first device using the visible light signal by: (i) generating the same visible light signal on the display of the first device; and (ii) accepting a comparison verification input on a user interface of the first device.
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the first device is a point-of-sale device and includes a visible light sensor configured to capture the visible light signal, wherein the second device is a card reader, and wherein the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection.
As the table above illustrates, the limitations of claims of the present application are taught by claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592. Thus, claims of the present application would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in view of claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,592.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0004475).
Regarding claim 1, White et al teaches a point-of-sale (POS) device, shown on Figs. 1 and 2, comprising:
a first processor (see para [0087]; “…the POS terminal 306 (also referred to as the merchant device 306) may include one or more processor(s) 356, computer-readable media 358, POS transceiver(s)…”; POS terminal is considered as a first device);
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions (see para [0041]; “…embodiments may include a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that may be used to cause one or more processors to perform the methods, variations of the methods, and other operations described here…”) which when executed by the processor cause the POS device to:
initialize a wireless connection with a second device (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”), wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection (see para [0057]; “Once paired, the established communication channel can be further secured using ways similar to the device association or pairing, i.e., the LED or signal strength based pairing processes”; see also para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing.”);
verify the wireless connection by:
generating the same visible light signal using a display of the first device (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”); and
accepting a comparison verification input on a user interface of the first device (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 14, White et al teaches wherein:
the second device is a card reader (see para [0018]; “The payment object reader initiates a payment transaction by receiving payment through a payment object. The payment object can be any payment mechanism, for example, a debit card, a credit card, a smart-card conforming to a Europay-MasterCard-Visa (“EMV”) standard, a radio frequency identification tag (i.e., near field communication enabled objects), or a virtual payment card stored on a device such as a smart phone and transmittable, for example, via near field communication (NFC).”)); and
the secure wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection (device pairing of between Bluetooth enabled devices, over short distances via radio wave transmission; para [0047)).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, White et al teaches:
initializing the secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device includes generating a shared secret on the second device (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”; see also para [0099]; “Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”);
the one or more computer readable media accessible to the first device further store instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to generate the shared secret on the first device (see also para [0099]; “Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”); and
the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret (see para [0099]; “The number, arrangement and orientation of the LEDs is only exemplary and for discussion purposes only and should not be considered limiting. In one example, the visual indicators may emit light of different colors, brightness, and intensities. Each unique combination of such colors, brightness, luminance, chrominance, and/or intensities is representative or indicative of the authentication data 544 in an optical format, referred to as optical authentication data 546. Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”).
Regarding claim 4, White et al discloses wherein:
generating the same visible light signal includes at least one of: (i) setting a color of a light emitting diode; (ii) blinking the light emitting diode; and (iii) selectively lighting light emitting diodes from a plurality of light emitting diodes which includes the light emitting diode (para [0021]; “…in one implementation, the payment object reader can transmit alphanumeric authentication data by displaying such data in the form of colors, luminance, intensity, lightness, chroma, and brightness through visual indicators, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs)…”; para [0023]; “…payment object readers that implement the present techniques include a display control component to convert pairing parameters, such as alphanumeric authentication data for pairing, into “optical authentication data” or “optical pattern,” which can be a color code formed by a specific color arrangement or color combination of LEDs. A display control component generates the color code, which is unique to the payment object reader or the POS terminal requesting pairing. Furthermore, the display control component can modify the colors, intensities, brightness, lightness, or luminance of light emitted by the LEDs to provide even more unique possibilities in the way the optical authentication data is displayed through the LEDs. In this manner, the display control component drives the LEDs to either deliver transaction/operational status according to an EMV standard, or to deliver authentication data during a pairing operation. The pairing component can also create and implement rules defining the relationship between the authentication data and an optical authorization data displayed through the arrangement of LEDs and/or sequence of colors emitted by the LEDs.”).
Regarding claim 5, White et al teaches the second device generates the visible light signal by illuminating an image on the second device (para [0024]; “The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device.”).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, White teaches wherein the POS device includes a visible light sensor, wherein the visible light sensor is configured to capture the visible light signal (para [0024]; “The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device.”).
Regarding claims 7, 10 and 18, White teaches wherein: the visible light signal is representative of an out of band temporary key for the wireless connection, wherein verifying the wireless connection using the visible light signal includes generating the out of band temporary key on the POS device using the visible light signal captured by a visible light sensor on the POS device (para [0107]; “In some cases, the authentication data 544 and payment token can be sent using the same channel and at the same instant by implementing, for example out of band pairing methods.”; para [0023]; “…payment object readers that implement the present techniques include a display control component to convert pairing parameters, such as alphanumeric authentication data for pairing, into “optical authentication data” or “optical pattern,” which can be a color code formed by a specific color arrangement or color combination of LEDs. A display control component generates the color code, which is unique to the payment object reader or the POS terminal requesting pairing. Furthermore, the display control component can modify the colors, intensities, brightness, lightness, or luminance of light emitted by the LEDs to provide even more unique possibilities in the way the optical authentication data is displayed through the LEDs. In this manner, the display control component drives the LEDs to either deliver transaction/operational status according to an EMV standard, or to deliver authentication data during a pairing operation. The pairing component can also create and implement rules defining the relationship between the authentication data and an optical authorization data displayed through the arrangement of LEDs and/or sequence of colors emitted by the LEDs.”).
Regarding claim 8, White et al a POS device, shown on Figs. 1 and 2, comprising:
a first processor and a visible light sensor (see para [0087]; “…the POS terminal 306 (also referred to as the merchant device 306) may include one or more processor(s) 356, computer-readable media 358, POS transceiver(s)…”; POS terminal is considered as a first device; see also para [0098]; “FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating a use case in which Bluetooth communication between a payment object reader 510 (e.g., payment object reader 510-1 or 510-2) and the POS terminal 506 is enabled using LED-based pairing technique, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present subject matter. In one implementation, the devices, for example, the POS terminal 506 pairs with a desired payment object reader 510 by converting authentication data 544 into optical authentication data 546, which can be transmitted through one or more visual indicators, such as LEDs 524, associated with the payment object reader 510.”);
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions (see para [0041]; “…embodiments may include a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that may be used to cause one or more processors to perform the methods, variations of the methods, and other operations described here…”) which when executed by the processor cause the POS device to:
initialize a wireless connection with a second device (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”), wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection (see para [0057]; “Once paired, the established communication channel can be further secured using ways similar to the device association or pairing, i.e., the LED or signal strength based pairing processes”; see also para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing.”; );
verify the secure wireless connection on the POS device using the visible light signal (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”; para [0057]; “Once paired, the established communication channel can be further secured using ways similar to the device association or pairing, i.e., the LED or signal strength based pairing processes”; see also para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing.”) by:
capturing the visible light signal generated on the second device using the visible light signal sensor (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”); and
comparing the captured visible light signal to a signal stored in the POS device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”).
Regarding claim 11, White et al teaches:
the second device is configured to generate a shared secret in response to initializing the secure connection between the POS device and the second device (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”; see also para [0099]; “Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”);
the one or more computer readable media accessible to the first device further store instructions which when executed by the first processor cause the first device to generate the shared secret on the first device (see also para [0099]; “Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”); and
the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret (see para [0099]; “The number, arrangement and orientation of the LEDs is only exemplary and for discussion purposes only and should not be considered limiting. In one example, the visual indicators may emit light of different colors, brightness, and intensities. Each unique combination of such colors, brightness, luminance, chrominance, and/or intensities is representative or indicative of the authentication data 544 in an optical format, referred to as optical authentication data 546. Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, White et al discloses the system of claim 9. In addition, White et al discloses wherein:
initializing the secure wireless connection between the first device and the second device includes exchanging cryptographic material between the first and second device (see para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing. The number, arrangement and orientation of the LEDs is only exemplary and for discussion purposes only and should not be considered limiting. In one example, the visual indicators may emit light of different colors, brightness, and intensities. Each unique combination of such colors, brightness, luminance, chrominance, and/or intensities is representative or indicative of the authentication data 544 in an optical format, referred to as optical authentication data 546. Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities. While visual indicators have been described in detail, it will be understood that other kinds of visual, audio and tactile indicators may also be used. Examples include, but are not limited to, a one or two dimensional symbol, a bar code, a QR code, a static or dynamic string of colors in a color space, or any other optical information, audio signals, type of code or digital representation of information that takes the form of a non-alphanumeric pattern. In other embodiments, the optical authentication data 546 may be made up of alphanumeric patterns”; such arrangement of pattern is considered as cryptographic material); and
generating the shared secret on the first device and generating the shared secret on the second device uses the exchanged cryptographic material (see para [0099]; “The number, arrangement and orientation of the LEDs is only exemplary and for discussion purposes only and should not be considered limiting. In one example, the visual indicators may emit light of different colors, brightness, and intensities. Each unique combination of such colors, brightness, luminance, chrominance, and/or intensities is representative or indicative of the authentication data 544 in an optical format, referred to as optical authentication data 546. Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”).
Regarding claim 13, White et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0004475) teaches a point-of-sale (POS) device, shown on Figs. 1 and 2, comprising:
a first processor (see para [0087]; “…the POS terminal 306 (also referred to as the merchant device 306) may include one or more processor(s) 356, computer-readable media 358, POS transceiver(s)…”; POS terminal is considered as a first device);
a first transceiver (para [0020]; “The POS terminal through a sensor device may capture the shared authentication data as visible to it. Alternatively, a merchant through a user interface of the POS terminal enters the shared authentication data as visible to him and sends the entered information to the payment object reader for confirmation. The payment object reader compares the entered or sensed data with the actual authentication data, and based on the comparison, facilitates pairing or a communication channel to be established with the POS terminal.”);
a display (para [0024]; “A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device.”); and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including instructions (see para [0041]; “…embodiments may include a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that may be used to cause one or more processors to perform the methods, variations of the methods, and other operations described here…”) which when executed by the processor cause the POS device to:
initialize a wireless connection with a second device using the first transceiver, wherein the second device includes a second transceiver (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”), wherein the second device does not include a display (para [0022]; “These LEDs can be particularly useful in implementations where the payment object reader does not include a display…”), and wherein the second device generates a visible light signal in response to the initialization of the wireless connection (see para [0057]; “Once paired, the established communication channel can be further secured using ways similar to the device association or pairing, i.e., the LED or signal strength based pairing processes”; see also para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing.”; ); and
verify the secure wireless connection on the POS device using the visible light signal (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”; para [0057]; “Once paired, the established communication channel can be further secured using ways similar to the device association or pairing, i.e., the LED or signal strength based pairing processes”; see also para [0099]; “As shown, the payment object reader 510-1 and 510-2 may each include one or more visual indicators formed by LEDs 524 or any such light emitting source, that can provide a visual signal in the form of visible light rays and where the visible light rays transmit and broadcast authentication data (or a variant or representation thereof) for Bluetooth pairing.”) by:
capturing the visible light signal generated on the second device using the visible light signal sensor (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”); and
comparing the captured visible light signal to a signal stored in the POS device to determine whether the captured visible light signal and the stored signal are the same (para [0024]; “…the desired payment object reader emits through the LEDs, a visual pattern of colors indicative or representative of the authentication data. A user of the POS terminal can inspect the visual pattern and manually enter the as-inspected pattern on a display screen of the POS terminal. The POS terminal can also capture an image of the visual pattern through a camera or any such sensor device. A POS pairing component of the POS terminal sends the inspected or captured data to a pairing component of the desired payment object reader, which compares the incoming data with the visual pattern. If there is a match, the payment object reader establishes a communication channel to connect the POS terminal with the payment object reader,…”).
Regarding claim 15, White et al teaches:
initializing the secure wireless connection using the first includes generating a shared secret on the POS device (see para [0003]; “Bluetooth uses a process called pairing to allow devices to communicate with each other. Pairing mechanisms include legacy pairing and Secure Simple Pairing (SSP). SSP includes a number of association models for pairing, namely, “just works”, “numeric comparison”, “passkey entry”, and “out of band (OOB)”; see also para [0099]; “Referring to FIG. 5, the block diagram illustrates exemplary systems and entities to enable wireless communication, e.g., Bluetooth communication, between a desired payment object reader 510, for example payment object reader 510-1, and the POS terminal 506.”; see also para [0099]; “Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”);
wherein the visible light signal is representative of one of: (i) the shared secret; and (ii) a derivative of the shared secret. (see para [0099]; “The number, arrangement and orientation of the LEDs is only exemplary and for discussion purposes only and should not be considered limiting. In one example, the visual indicators may emit light of different colors, brightness, and intensities. Each unique combination of such colors, brightness, luminance, chrominance, and/or intensities is representative or indicative of the authentication data 544 in an optical format, referred to as optical authentication data 546. Such data can be used to share information and/or pair the payment object reader 510 with any computing device having Bluetooth capabilities.”).
Regarding claim 16, White et al teaches wherein:
the visible light signal is generated by a visible light source (LEDs; para [0021], [0023]) is one of: (i) a multicolor light emitting diode; (ii) a light emitting diode; and (iii) a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs; para [0021], [0023]); and
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brown et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0138008) is cited to show pairing devices using optical patterns.
Narendra et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0098706) is cited to show light sequence out-of-band Bluetooth pairing.
DeLeon et al (US Pub. No. 2008/0113618) is cited to show pairing of mobile devices using visual patterns.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635