Claim Objections
Claims 19 – 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 19 – 22, “the high-precision device” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 – 22, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 10714374).
Regarding claim 16, Cok discloses an electronic device system, comprising:
a target substrate (substrate 10, Fig. 7) including one or more substrate circuits (the circuits on the substrate 10 including integrated circuit 70, electrode 72, light pipe 24, structure 20…) having a specified circuit requirement (any requirement for the circuit depend upon the user’s preferences) comprising a first specified value (any value for the circuit depend upon the user’s preferences) for a first specified performance attribute (any performance attribute depend upon the user’s preferences) for devices integrated with the one or more substrate circuits; and
an electronic device (the controller 30) disposed on the target substrate and electrically connected to the one or more substrate circuits (the controller 30 is part of the circuitry; therefore electrically connected to other components), wherein, the electronic device comprises a broken or separated tether (tether 32 attached to the component 30).
Cok does not explicitly disclose the electronic device has first corresponding performance attribute that is within 1% of the first specified value of the first specified performance attribute in the specified circuit requirement.
Cok suggests the component (30) is a controller in a circuitry having an integrated circuit (70, column 10, lines 39 - 43).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the different in performance of all the components, either by software configuration or other tuning technique known in the art, to within 1% range in order to make sure the device operate accurately as intended.
Regarding claim 17, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the electronic device is an electrical device, an optical device, an electro-optical device, a passive device, or an active device (column 17, lines 32 - 35).
Regarding claim 18, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the characteristic is a performance attribute that is one of resistance, a current-voltage relationship, and a peak emission wavelength (light emitting diode; column 17, lines 32 - 35).
Regarding claim 19, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the electronic device is a resistor, a micro-resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a transistor, or a light-emitting diode (column 17, lines 32 - 35).
Regarding claim 20, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the electronic device has a length or width, or both length and width, no greater than 200 microns (column 17, lines 14 – 18; column 2, lines 46 - 53).
Regarding claim 21, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the electronic device comprises a device circuit (circuit of the device in Fig. 7) and connection posts (31) that extend from the device and are electrically connected to the device circuit, the target substrate (10) comprises substrate contact pads (20), and the connection posts electrically connect the device circuit to the substrate contact pad (the components in the same circuit are electrically connected to each other).
Regarding claim 22, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests multiple electronic devices (column 18, lines 10 - 12) disposed on the target substrate and wherein two or more of the multiple high-precision devices have a characteristic known to within 1% accuracy (discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 36, Cok discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Cok further suggests the first specified performance attribute and the first corresponding performance attribute comprise at least one of an electrical performance attribute (the intended performance of the electrical connection on the substrate 10; column 12, line 51), an optical performance attribute (the intended performance of the light pipes 24), and an electro-optical performance attribute (the intended performance of the optical fibers that conduct light 60 such as fiber-optic device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cok (US 20200052152) discloses a substrate with precision component on the surface, Fig. 4F.
Trindade (US 20190385885) discloses a substrate with precision component on the surface, Fig. 1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848