DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 10, "the layout" should be written as "the IC layout."
Claim 1, lines 11, a "the" should be inserted before "curvilinear interval." Corresponding claims 8 and 14 are objected to for the same reasons. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claim 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a computer program product, but appears to be comprised of software alone without claiming associated computer hardware required for execution. Thus claim 8 is directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP § 2106.01.
Claims 9-13 are rejected for failing to cure the deficiency from their respective parent claims
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hassan (US 2021/0133293).
Regarding claim 1, Hassan teaches a method comprising:
identifying, within an integrated circuit (IC) layout, a curved feature including a first endline and a second endline each having at least a threshold length and a curvilinear interval
connecting the first endline to the second endline (Figs. 2-4, Abstract, [0021-0030, 0017], the system receives a design layout, including a curvilinear feature; as seen in Fig. 3, the system may determine vertices along the feature; as noted in [0022], the system may require a specific spacing between vertices; as seen in Fig. 3, the vertices may define straight line portions e.g., the portions towards the left of Fig. 3, which are in turn connected by a curved portion);
calculating a feature angle and a radius of the curvilinear interval between the first endline and the second endline (Figs. 3-4, [0021-0030], as seen in Fig. 4, a line segment/chord connects a pair of adjacent vertices; an angle and a radius are determined for that line segment, which is part of the larger curve);
determining, based on the feature angle and the radius, whether the curvilinear interval is divisible into a plurality of linear segments each having a same orientation differential relative to
the first endline and the second endline (Figs. 3-4, [0021-0030], the system analyzes characteristics of each segment in the curve; the system determines whether each of the segments satisfies certain criteria i.e., has a radius of curvature less than a threshold; the determination is based on the determined angle and chord length, as noted in [0027-0028]; put another way, the system determines whether the curve is made up of segments that are collectively oriented in a particular way relative to the connecting end lines, such that the orientation of each segment satisfies the above criteria; Fig. 4, [0023-0025], Fig. 4 also illustrates another perspective on the Hassan system; for example, Fig. 4 illustrates multiple edge segments 310A, 310B which make up a curve i.e., plurality of linear segments; those segments must be oriented similarly relative to their respective vertices/connecting lines, such that there is no DRC violation);
manufacturing an IC from the layout based on the curvilinear interval and the plurality of linear segments in response to curvilinear interval being divisible into the plurality of linear segments ([0029-0031], the system iteratively checks to see if the above criteria violated, and if so alters the layout and runs the checks again; once no violations are found, fabrication is performed based on the layout).
Regarding claim 2, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Hassan also teaches modifying the IC layout in response to determining the curvilinear interval is not divisible into the plurality of linear segments ([0029-0031], the system iteratively checks to see if the above criteria violated, and if so alters the layout and runs the checks again; once no violations are found, fabrication is performed based on the layout).
Regarding claim 3, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Hassan also teaches repeating the calculating and the determining following modifying the IC layout ([0029-0031], the system iteratively checks to see if the above criteria violated, and if so alters the layout and runs the checks again; once no violations are found, fabrication is performed based on the layout).
Regarding claim 4, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Hassan also teaches wherein the determining further includes determining whether each of the plurality of linear segments has a length less than the threshold length ([0022], the system ensures that the spacing between vertices meets a threshold; [0027-0028], also, the system ascertains whether the chord, which connects two adjacent vertices, is low such that a DRC violation is determined).
Regarding claim 8, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. Hassan also teaches a computer program product stored on a computer readable storage medium, the computer program product comprising program code (Abstract, the system can involve a processor and memory with instructions).
Regarding claim 9, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Claim 9 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Claim 10 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Claim 11 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. Hassan also teaches a system comprising:
a computing device;
an I/O component operatively coupled to the computing device; and
a memory operatively coupled to the computing device, wherein the computing device includes logic and is configured to perform a method (Abstract, the system includes a processor connected to a memory and inherently includes an interface or connector connecting the processor and memory; see also Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Claim 15 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Claim 16 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan, as applied in claims 1, 8 and 14, and further in view of Cao (R. Cao et al., "Curvilinear Property Measurement and Computation Methods for Physical Verification of Bent Waveguides in Photonic Integrated Circuit Layouts," IEEE, published 2014).
Regarding claim 6, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, Hassan does not expressly disclose wherein the curved feature includes a portion of a waveguide within the IC layout.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao teaches wherein the curved feature includes a portion of a waveguide within the IC layout (Cao page 1, it is known, in photonic IC designs, to have a system for validating the curvature of a waveguide).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the curved feature includes a portion of a waveguide within the IC layout as suggested in Cao into Hassan because both Hassan and Cao pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Hassan and Cao pertain to the manufacturing of integrated circuits, and in particular design-rule checking for curvilinear shapes in layouts. In Cao, the curvature of various components are evaluated, including waveguides. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Hassan, so that the design-rule checking systems of Hassan could be applied to a variety of components e.g., see Cao page 1.
Regarding claim 13, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Claim 13 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Claim 19 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan, as applied in claim 1 and 14, and further in view of Chevallier (US 2004/0015797).
Regarding claim 7, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, Hassan does not expressly disclose wherein the threshold length is approximately five thousand nanometers.
In the same field of endeavor, Chevallier teaches wherein the threshold length is approximately five thousand nanometers (Figs. 4-5, [0037], it is known for a width of a line be 50 to 100 microns i.e., greater than 5 nm; given Figs. 4-5, it would then be obvious that the length of a line connecting a turn or curve could likewise have larger dimensions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the threshold length is approximately five thousand nanometers as suggested in Chevallier into Hassan because Hassan and Chevallier pertain to analogous fields of technology. Hassan pertains to an IC design indicating a curvilinear interval connected to straight endlines e.g., see Hassan Fig. 3. Chevallier also pertains to IC layouts where lines may curve or bend. In Chevallier, it is suggested that the width of lines can be as large as 50 or 100 microns, suggesting that the length of corresponding endlines can be much greater. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Hassan, so that the invention of Hassan could be used with a variety of known IC layout dimensions e.g., see Chevallier Figs. 4-5, [0037].
Regarding claim 20, Hassan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Claim 20 also corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At best, the prior art of record, specifically, Hassan (US 2021/0133293) teaches receiving an IC layout with a curvilinear feature and analyzing it to determine whether segments satisfy manufacturing criteria e.g., see Hassan Figs. 2-4, [0021-0030, 0017]. Cao (R. Cao et al., "Curvilinear Property Measurement and Computation Methods for Physical Verification of Bent Waveguides in Photonic Integrated Circuit Layouts," IEEE, published 2014) teaches a system for curvilinear layout feature validation e.g., see Cao page 35. Sahouria (US 2014/0215414) pertains to a method for measuring curvature in an IC design and determining concave and convex curvature information e.g., see Sahouria Fig. 4, [0035].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hamouda (US 2023/0185187) teaches a method for determining shapes of a feature and determining if verification criteria have been met e.g., see Hamouda Abstract.
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118