DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous rejection of Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, 12-13, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 21, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0163760 A1 to Detzler et al. (hereinafter Detzler)is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 21, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0031887 A1 to Fujimoto. (hereinafter Fujimoto) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detzler, and/or Fujimoto, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of US 2019/0382636 A1 to Ryzhova et al. (hereinafter Ryzhova) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1, 4-10, 12, 13, 21-22, in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-10, 12-13, 21-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 10-11, “wherein the water dispersed coating is free of non-aqueous solvent…” However, there does not appear to be support in the Applicant’s specification because it does not describe “non-aqueous” solvent. “Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claim…and [t]he mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion.” See MPEP 2173.05(i). In this case, the Applicant’s specification only recites that the coating is free of “hydrocarbon solvents and/or oxygenated solvents,” but is silent regarding “non-aqueous” solvents. Thus, the limitation is considered new matter as it does not have support in the specification.
Claims 3-10, 12-13, 21-22, are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12-13, and 21-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 2021/0163760 A1 to Detzler et al. (hereinafter Detzler), in further view of US 2021/0301073 A1 to Bills et al. (hereinafter Bills), and in further view of US 2019/0382636 A1 to Ryzhova et al. (hereinafter Ryzhova).
Regarding claims 1, 4-10, 12-13, and 21-22, Detzler teaches a solid-powder composition comprising a powder coating resin of a polyester resin (Crylcoat 1574-6), a powder-crosslinker resin of an epoxy resin (D.E.R 662, m.p. 80-90 deg C), a maleic anhydride-modified propylene-butene copolymer resin ("TOYO-TAC PMA-T," melting point: 90°C), and white pigment. (See Example 1, Table 5, para 63-63). The above solid powder composition is further mixed with deionized water (Table 6, para 65-66) and 0.5 wt% of a wetting agent (BYK-3450) and 5.0 wt% of a conductive agent (TuballCoat_E), (See table 7, para 67-68), which meets the water-based coating that does not have a non-aqueous solvent. Dretzler also teaches the above co-resins have a melting points between 140-250 deg F (i.e. 60-121 deg C), (para 19), which meets the claimed melting points for the polyolefin. Dretzler teaches the above is applied as a coating to a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) substrate, and dried/cured at room temperature to form a dry coating and baked at 250 deg F (i.e. 121 deg C), (para 69), which meets the water-based coating applied to a TPO substrate. The above PMA-T meets the claimed polyolefin, and the above polyester meets the hardener. Detzler also teaches in the other examples of polyolefins include a chlorine modified polyolefin (CY9122P, melting point of 82 deg C), or a non-chlorine modified polyolefin (PMA-L, with 1.5% maleic anhydride, melting point 71 deg C), (See Table 8, sample 6 and 8), which meets claim 6-7. Dretzler further teaches that the coating is allowed to cure at either ambient or elevated temperatures wherein the curing temperature is sufficient to dry the coating and are substantially the same for water-borne coats known in the automotive industry. (para 50 and 60-61). Dretzler further teaches that the solid-powder composition may be mixed in water to form a water-based pre-mixture and further milled for the particles of solid-powder composition to be reduced to have a mean value of 2-5 micrometers (para 37), which meets the claimed water-dispersed coating, free of non-aqueous solvents, and the claimed particle size.
Dretzler does not explicitly teach wherein the epoxy resin has a m.p. 65-80 deg C.
However, Bills teaches an aqueous composition comprising a maleic anhydride grafted polyolefin of ethylene/octene with a melting point of 68 deg C (See polyolefin 2, Table 1, para 78-79), or a polyolefin of ethylene/octene with a melting point of 68 deg C (See polyolefin 3, Table 1, para 78-79), with an epoxy dispersion of bisphenol A diglycidyl ether epoxy resin (See Table 1 and 3, para 79-83), with a modified aliphatic amine hardener (Table 4 and 1, para 78 and 83), which is in the same field of the Applicant’s invention of water-based coatings with a polyolefin. Bills further teaches the composition is applied to substrate and dried/cured at a temperature of 60-100 deg C. (para 72). Bills also teaches the hardener is a polyamine (para 11), and Bills further teaches aqueous composition contains 2-30 wt% of a polyolefin dispersion that contains 2-8 wt% of a sodium laureth sulfate anionic surfactant (See abstract and Table 1, para 78). Specifically, Example C shows about 1.9 wt% surfactant in the polyolefin dispersion which correlates to about 1.7 wt% in the blended dispersion in Example K of Table 3, and meets claim 4. Bills teaches the epoxy resin is specifically a solid bisphenol A epoxy resin with an epoxy equivalent weight (EEW) of 475-500 (See Table 1, para 80), which commercially would be DER 671 (EEW 475-550) with a m.p. range of 75-85 deg C as cited by the Applicant in their specification. Bills further teaches the above suitable solid epoxy resins are used for stability (para 46) and the epoxy resins having an EEW of 500 or less is used for film forming ability. (para 47). Bills also teaches that the combination of the polyolefin with the maleic functional groups and epoxy resin makes a film with better properties (para 35) such as better cross-hatch adhesion. (para 92-93 and Tables 6A-9).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the solid bisphenol A epoxy resin with an EEW of 475-550 (i.e. DER 671) of Bills for the solid epoxy resin in Dretzler because Bills teaches the same field of the Applicant’s invention of water-based coatings with a polyolefin and Bills further teaches the above suitable solid epoxy resins are used for stability (para 46) and the epoxy resins having an EEW of 500 or less is used for film forming ability. (para 47).
Detzler does not explicitly teach the aliphatic polyamine compound with a melting temperature of 65-90 deg C.
However, Ryzhova teaches a curable composition used in the field of primer coatings (See abstract and para 1), comprising at least one hydroxyl group containing resin, such as an epoxy resin and polyester resin (para 7-12 and 15), and a hardener (para 211), which is in the same field of use of the Applicant’s invention of primer coatings containing epoxy resin and hardeners. Ryzhova further teaches the hardener preferably is thermally activatable only above 80 deg C (para 212) such as Ancamine 2337 (m.p. 63-77 deg C) or Adeka EH-4357 (m.p. 80-90 deg C) are preferred (para 213), which meet the claimed aliphatic polyamine. Ryzhova teaches the thermally activatable hardeners are preferred because they can be stored together with epoxy resins for months without a curing reaction starting to any significant extent and will initiate at temperatures above 80 deg C to accelerate the polymerization reaction of the epoxy resins. (para 212).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the thermally activatable hardeners of Ryzhova as the hardeners in Detzler because Ryzhova teaches the same field of use of the Applicant’s invention of primer coatings containing epoxy resin and hardeners and Ryzhova teaches the thermally activatable hardeners are preferred because they can be stored together with epoxy resins for months without a curing reaction starting to any significant extent and will initiate at temperatures above 80 deg C to accelerate the polymerization reaction of the epoxy resins. (para 212).
In regard to the limitation of the resin having a “curable at a temperature of 80 to 90 deg C,” and cross-hatch adhesion properties, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the coating taught by the combination of Dretzler, Bills, and Ryzhova, to have the claimed curability properties and cross-hatch adhesion properties of the claimed invention because Dretzler, Bills, and Ryzhova teaches a substantially identical aqueous coating to the claimed invention such as Dretzler teaches the polyolefin with the claimed m.p., Bills teaches the D.E.R. 671, and Ryzhova teaches the claimed hardeners, which the Applicant also teaches using in their examples (See Table 2 of Applicant’s specification and examples), and this is further evident by Ryzhova teaching the thermally activatable hardeners activate at temperatures at 80 deg C and above, and Bills teaching that the combination of the polyolefin with the maleic functional groups and epoxy resin makes a film with better properties (para 35) such as better cross-hatch adhesion. (para 92-93 and Tables 6A-9). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12, 13, 21, and 22, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766