DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the REMARKS, “The cited capacitor thickness is not the "average thickness of the cavity area." Claim 1 requires that the absolute value of the difference between (i) an average thickness of the substrate area and (ii) an average thickness of the cavity area be 50 µm or less. By the claim's own terms, the "cavity area" and the "substrate area" are regions of the substrate with the embedded element, defined relative to one another (the cavity area being where the cavity is disposed, and the substrate area being the region outside of it). The Office Action, however, maps the "average thickness of the cavity area" onto the thickness of the ceramic capacitors of Urashima ([0053]). The thickness of the capacitor elements is not the average thickness of the cavity area. As the Office Action itself identifies, the cavity (90) of Urashima is occupied by an element package comprising the capacitors (100, 101) together with an element insulating material (92), and is further surrounded by substrate insulating material (33), within the core substrate (11). The average thickness of the cavity area of the finished article is a function of the core substrate and the build-up about it in that region and not merely the dimension of a capacitor seated inside the cavity. Urashima does not disclose the average thickness of its cavity area, nor does it disclose that any such cavity-area thickness falls within 50 µm of the thickness of the substrate area.”. The Office respectfully disagrees. The claim states “wherein an absolute value of difference between an average thickness of the substrate area and an average thickness of the cavity area”. The Applicant claims a “substrate area” and a “cavity area”, however the claimed areas or regions or portions are not structurally defined nor specified nor limited by the claim language. The Applicant has not claimed the means of establishing an average thickness of either the substrate or the cavity regions. For example, is an average based off of multiple components that could potentially be inserted into a cavity, or based off of multiple substrates manufactured for an assembly? Is an average based off of multiple measurements taken of one potential component to be placed into a cavity, or where multiple measurements are taken off one specific substrate? If an average is based off of one component or one substrate, the claim has not established nor required a minimum number of measurements to be taken, nor requirements of how to calculate measurements. If an average is based off of multiple components or multiple substrates, the claim has not required a minimum number of components to measured, nor a minimum number of substrates to be measured. As seen by Fig 1 of Urashima, Urashima shows consistent flat surfaces at portions of substrate 11, as well as portions about 101,100,92, i.e. the area about cavity 90, having constant thicknesses. Figure 1 shows surfaces of the substrate and of the portions about the cavity having horizontal surfaces that do not vary in thickness. Thus, Urashima shows portions about the cavity and portions about the substrate having a constant thickness. As the claim has not established requirements for measuring an average, a thickness of one specific point along the surface of 11 or 100 or 101 can be interpreted as an average thickness, as an average can be based upon one measurement. Note also that Urashima provides reasons for the given specific range of thickness of the capacitors, such as to minimize overall board thickness ([0053,0073]). As stated by Urashima [0053] and [0073], Urashima discloses the thickness of an area as part of the cavity and an area as part of the substrate. As Urashima shows constant thicknesses in Fig 1, and as Urashima discloses that the substrate and the component within the cavity can have identical thicknesses, an absolute value of difference would be zero, or less than 50 µm. Therefore, the cited prior art discloses the claimed limitation.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the REMARKS, “The rejection improperly derives the claimed relationship by picking endpoints from two separate ranges. Even setting aside the foregoing, the Office arrives at the claimed "50 µm or less" limitation only by selecting the lower endpoint (0.2 mm) from a first range of 0.2 mm or more that Urashima discloses for the substrate thickness ([0073]) and, separately, the lower endpoint (0.2 mm) from a second, independent range that Urashima discloses for the capacitor thickness ([0053]), and then subtracting the two to yield a difference of zero. These are two distinct disclosures, describing two different parameters, each expressed as a preferred range spanning 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm. Urashima does not state, expressly or otherwise, that the substrate- area thickness and the cavity-area thickness are equal, or that their difference is 50 µm or less. To the contrary, the same two ranges equally describe combinations far outside the claim (for example, a 0.2 mm value paired with a 1.0 mm value yields a difference of 800 µm).”. The Office respectfully disagrees. Urashima states at [0073]; “the thickness of the substrate is preferably 0.2 mm or more to 1.0 mm or less” and at [0053] “the thickness of the ceramic capacitors 100, 101 is preferably between about 0.2 mm and 1.0 mm”. For example, the substrate can have a thickness of 1 mm or 0.5 mm and the capacitor can also have a thickness of 1 mm or 0.5 mm. Rather than showing different ranges of thickness, Urashima discloses identical ranges of thickness for the capacitor and for the substrate. This shows that Urashima teaches that the substrate thickness and capacitor thickness are essentially the same range of thickness, as the ranges in thickness are identical. Therefore, a normal absolute difference between a thickness of the capacitor and a thickness of the substrate would be zero. Therefore, the cited prior art discloses the claimed limitation.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the REMARKS, “The limitation is a dimensional limitation of the finished article and is not met inherently. The thickness relationship of claim 1 is a structural, dimensional characteristic of the substrate with the embedded element as a whole. To the extent the rejection were understood to rely on inherency, inherency requires that the missing characteristic be necessarily present in the reference and not merely possible or probable. In re Robertson, 169 F.3d 743, 745 (Fed. Cir. 1999); In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Because Urashima's overlapping ranges admit of numerous configurations in which the substrate-area and cavity-area thicknesses differ by well more than 50 µm, the claimed relationship is not a necessary result of Urashima's disclosure and cannot be supplied by inherency.”. The Office respectfully disagrees. Urashima discloses the thickness of the substrate and capacitor within the cavity at [0053] and [0073]. The assembly shown in Figure 1 shows the capacitor embedded within the substrate. Urashima states at [0073]; “the thickness of the substrate is preferably 0.2 mm or more to 1.0 mm or less” and at [0053] “the thickness of the ceramic capacitors 100, 101 is preferably between about 0.2 mm and 1.0 mm”. This shows that Urashima teaches that the substrate thickness and capacitor thickness are the same range of thickness, as the ranges in thickness are identical. Therefore, an absolute difference between a thickness of the capacitor and a thickness of the substrate would be zero. Therefore, the cited prior art discloses the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) discloses a substrate (Fig 1) with an embedded element (101,100,92), comprising: a core substrate (11) having one surface (12) and a cavity (90) recessed from the one surface (12) in a thickness direction; an element package (101,100,92) disposed in the cavity (90), the element package comprising one or more elements (101,100); and a substrate insulating material (33) surrounding at least part of the element package (101,100,92), wherein when observed from a side surface of the substrate (11) with the embedded element (101,100), the substrate (11) with the embedded element comprises a cavity area (an area about 90; note that this claimed area is not structurally defined nor limited) in which the cavity (90) is disposed and a substrate area (an area outside of 90; note that this claimed area is not structurally defined nor limited) outside of the cavity area, and wherein an absolute value of difference between an average thickness of the substrate area ([0073]; “the thickness of the substrate is preferably 0.2 mm or more to 1.0 mm or less”) and an average thickness of the cavity area ([0053] “the thickness of the ceramic capacitors 100, 101 is preferably between about 0.2 mm and 1.0 mm”; this is an area of the cavity area) is 50 μm or less (e.g. 0.2 mm – 0.2 mm = 0).
Regarding Claim 2, Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein the element package (100,101,92) further comprises an element insulating material (92; [0055,0079]) surrounding the one or more elements (100,101), and wherein the element insulating material (92) comprises one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy-based resin ([0055] “epoxy resin”), a polyimide-based resin, a polyurethane-based resin, a polyester-based resin, an acrylate-based resin, a polyamide-based resin and a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 4, Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the core substrate (11) is 100 μm to 2,000 μm ([0073]; “the thickness of the substrate is preferably 0.2 mm or more to 1.0 mm or less”).
Regarding Claim 5, Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein the core substrate further comprises a core via (16) penetrating the substrate area in the thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 9, Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the element package is 335 μm to 665 μm ([0053] “the thickness of the ceramic capacitors 100, 101 is preferably between about 0.2 mm and 1.0 mm”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Darmawikarta (US 2024/0114622 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Urashima does not disclose the substrate with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein the core substrate comprises a glass-based material, and wherein the glass-based material comprises one selected from the group consisting of borosilicate glass, soda-lime glass, lead glass, aluminosilicate glass, quartz glass and a combination thereof.
Darmawikarta (US 2024/0114622 A1) teaches of a substrate with the embedded element (Fig 1), wherein a core substrate (104) comprises a glass-based material ([0021] “core layer 104 may be a glass core layer. The glass core layer may include a silicate-based glass (e.g., lithium-silicate, borosilicate, aluminum silicate, etc.). In variations, the glass of the glass core layer is a lower quality glass (e.g., glass made with soda lime), or a higher quality glass (e.g., quartz glass made with fused silica)”), and wherein the glass-based material comprises one selected from the group consisting of borosilicate glass ([0021]), soda-lime glass ([0021]), lead glass, aluminosilicate glass ([0021]), quartz glass ([0021]) and a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein the core substrate comprises a glass-based material, and wherein the glass-based material comprises one selected from the group consisting of borosilicate glass, soda-lime glass, lead glass, aluminosilicate glass, quartz glass and a combination thereof as taught by Darmawikarta, in order to provide a higher quality substrate (Darmawikarta, [0021]). As the selection of a desired quality can also adjust manufacturing costs of the overall substrate.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (US 2019/0371687 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim and Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein the core substrate (11) comprises a core inner surface (inner wall of 90 as seen in Fig 5) surrounding the cavity (90).
Urashima does not disclose wherein the substrate with embedded the element further comprises a conductive layer disposed on the one surface and the core inner surface.
Xu (US 2019/0371687 A1) teaches of a substrate (Fig 1) with an embedded element (16), wherein a core substrate (12) comprises a core inner surface (24) surrounding a cavity (14), and wherein the substrate with embedded the element further comprises a conductive layer (30) disposed on the one surface and the core inner surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein the substrate with embedded the element further comprises a conductive layer disposed on the one surface and the core inner surface as taught by Xu, in order to allow electrical transmission of signals between an embedded component and substrate, reduce overall size of the cavity, reduce the overall size of the substrate, and reduce costs (Xu, [0001,0024,0035,0037]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mikado (US 2013/0194764 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Urashima further discloses the substrate (Fig 1) with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein the element package comprises two or more elements (100,101).
Urashima does not disclose a distance between adjacent elements of the two or more elements is 30 μm to 300 μm.
Mikado (US 2013/0194764 A1) teaches of a substrate with the embedded element (Fig 1-4), wherein an element package (200,101a) comprises two or more elements (200a,200b), and a distance between adjacent elements of the two or more elements is 30 μm to 300 μm ([0106])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein a distance between adjacent elements of the two or more elements is 30 μm to 300 μm as taught by Mikado, in order to reduce the size of the cavity, reduce occurrence of positional shifting of components, and increase a wiring region (Mikado, [0106]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2014/0182896 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim and Urashima further discloses the substrate with the embedded element (Fig 1) of claim 1, wherein the core substrate (11) comprises a core inner surface (inner wall of 90 as seen in Fig 5) surrounding the cavity (90), wherein the substrate with the embedded element has a first point disposed on a surface of an element (an imaginary point on 100 adjacent the walls of 90) of the one or more elements and a second point (an imaginary point on the inner wall surface of 90 adjacent 100) disposed on the core inner surface.
Urashima does not disclose wherein a minimum distance between the first point and the second point is 20 μm to 150 μm.
Lee (US 2014/0182896 A1) teaches of a substrate with an embedded element (Fig 2), wherein a core substrate (140) comprises a core inner surface (inner wall of 145 at the callout 145) surrounding a cavity (145), wherein the substrate with the embedded element (110) has a first point (at a in Fig 2) disposed on a surface of an element (110) of the one or more elements and a second point (at a in Fig 2) disposed on the core inner surface, and wherein a minimum distance (“a” [0016-0017,0073-0075]) between the first point and the second point is 20 μm to 150 μm ([0016-0017,0073-0075]; 120 μm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein the core substrate comprises a core inner surface surrounding the cavity, wherein the substrate with the embedded element has a first point disposed on a surface of an element of the one or more elements and a second point disposed on the core inner surface, and wherein a minimum distance between the first point and the second point is 20 μm to 150 μm as taught by Lee, in order to compensate for size variation of the embedded component, mounting position deviation and processing deviation (Lee, [0016-0017,0073-0075]).
Claim(s) 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima (US 2007/0045815 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 2011/0048780 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Urashima does not explicitly disclose the substrate with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein when observed from a cross-section of an in-plane direction of the substrate with the embedded element, a ratio of a value of an area of the cavity minus an area of the one or more elements based on the area of the cavity is 2.5% to 15%.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein when observed from a cross-section of an in-plane direction of the substrate with the embedded element, a ratio of a value of an area of the cavity minus an area of the one or more elements based on the area of the cavity is 2.5% to 15%, as motivated by Jeong (US 2011/0048780 A1) ([0048-0059]), in order to ensure proper insertion of the element into the cavity, reduce difficulty to secure space for circuit, and minimize warpage on the substrate, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 11, Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Urashima does not explicitly disclose the substrate with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein when observed from a cross-section of a thickness direction of the substrate with the embedded element, a ratio of a value of an area of the cavity minus an area of the one or more elements based on the area of the cavity is 2.5% to 15%.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein when observed from a cross-section of a thickness direction of the substrate with the embedded element, a ratio of a value of an area of the cavity minus an area of the one or more elements based on the area of the cavity is 2.5% to 15%, as motivated by Jeong (US 2011/0048780 A1) ([0048-0059]), in order to ensure proper insertion of the element into the cavity, reduce difficulty to secure space for circuit, and minimize warpage on the substrate, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 12,Urashima discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Urashima does not explicitly disclose the substrate with the embedded element of claim 1, wherein a ratio of a value of a volume of the cavity minus a volume of the one or more elements based on the volume of the cavity is 2% to 18%.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Urashima, wherein a ratio of a value of a volume of the cavity minus a volume of the one or more elements based on the volume of the cavity is 2% to 18%, as motivated by Jeong (US 2011/0048780 A1) ([0048-0059]), in order to ensure proper insertion of the element into the cavity, reduce difficulty to secure space for circuit, and minimize warpage on the substrate, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847