DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 1/14/2026, which amended claims 1, 5, 7-9, 11-15, and 17-20 and cancelled claim 2 and added new claim 21. Claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending.
Specification
The amendments to the specification were received on 1/14/2026 and are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 4, “a radiation system” should be changed to --the radiation system-- to correct antecedence from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker et al. (US PGPub 2006/0110665, Bleeker hereinafter) in view of Ogihara (US PGPub 2019/0094701) in view of Bruland et al. (US PGPub 2008/0223837, Bruland hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Bleeker discloses a method for lithographic irradiation (Figs. 1-10, abstract), comprising:
creating relative motion between a substrate and a radiation system in a predetermined direction (Figs. 1-10, paras. [0048], [0051], [0057]-[0058], [0066], [0070], [0074], [0080], [0084]-[0094], wafer stage 406 moves substrate);
measuring a first position of the substrate relative to the radiation system at a first time using a sensor at a first sampling rate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0070], [0087], [0092]-[0099], the laser interferometer 234 measures the position of the wafer stage at a sampling rate);
based on the first position, generating a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0085]-[0089], [0090]-[0102], the anticipated positions of the wafer stage based on the measured positions are determined); and
determining a second position of the substrate at a second time later than the first time based on the series of expected positions (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0084]-[0102], the wafer stage is controlled to position the wafer based on the predicted positional errors to compensate for position errors between the wafer and the aerial image); and
implementing a radiation operation at the second time, including controlling light emitted by a radiation source to pass a reticle and form a pattern of radiation exposure on an active area of the substrate corresponding to the second position (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0045], [0048]-[0063], [0066]-[0068], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], [0118], a mask pattern on a patterning device is applied to the illumination produced by the integrator to form the patterned radiation exposed on the target areas of the substrate during exposure patterning during which the wafer stage is controlled. The source 112, 212, 412 is controlled to produce laser pulses patterned by the patterning device comprising individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404). Bleeker does not appear to explicitly describe determining a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, based on the first velocity, and the first acceleration, generating the series of expected positions, and a second sampling rate high than the first sampling rate.
Ogihara discloses determining a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time (Figs. 1, 4, paras. [0019], [0023], [0049], [0112]-[0116], [0133], the velocity and acceleration of the exposure position are calculated for the present time),
based on the first position, the first velocity, and the first acceleration, generating a series of exposure positions (Figs. 1, 4, paras. [0019]-[0020], [0023], [0049], [0086], [0112]-[0116], [0119], [0122], [0133], the velocity and acceleration of the exposure position are calculated from the position for the present time to calculate the estimated exposure position after the sampling time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determining a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, and based on the first position, the first velocity, and the first acceleration, generating a series of exposure positions as taught by Ogihara in the method as taught by Bleeker since including determining a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, and based on the first position, the first velocity, and the first acceleration, generating a series of exposure positions is commonly used to improve the precision of positioning the exposure position in spite of residual vibration (Ogihara, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0019], [0066], [0112]).
Bleeker as modified by Ogihara does not appear to explicitly describe a second sampling rate high than the first sampling rate.
Bruland discloses generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate (Figs. 4-6, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0022], measured positions are measured at a first sampling rate, and extrapolated positions are calculated at a higher sampling rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate as taught by Bruland as the second sampling rate in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara since including generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate is commonly used to accurately determine position and provide the desired degree of precision in positioning a beam relative to a substrate (Bruland, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the substrate has a plurality of active areas that are aligned along a straight line substantially parallel to the predetermined direction, and determining the second position of the substrate further comprises (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], target portions 120 are arranged on the substrate), for each of the series of expected positions:
determining whether the respective expected position matches one of a plurality of known positions in the predetermined direction (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the position image error for a target portion is determined); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective expected position matches a respective known position, identifying the respective expected position as the second position and identifying the second time that is later than the first time and corresponds to the second position (the limitation “in accordance with a determination that the respective expected position matches a respective known position, identifying the respective expected position as the second position and identifying the second time that is later than the first time and corresponds to the second position” is a contingent limitation, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the method requires only steps that must be performed and does not include identifying the respective expected position as the second position and identifying the second time that is later than the first time and corresponds to the second position because the condition that the respective expected position matches a respective known position is not met. See MPEP 2111.04 II. Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the position image error for a target portion is determined and the stage and projection lens element are controlled to expose the further target portions on the substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein in response to detecting the substrate at the second position at the second time, the radiation source is controlled by a radiation control signal to generate radiation that exposes the active area of the substrate for a predetermined duration of time to radiation which has been spatially modulated in terms of at least one of an amplitude and phase (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0048]-[0064], [0066], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the patterning device includes individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404 including using phase variation techniques to control the pattern of the array of individually controllable elements to expose the target areas of the substrate).
Regarding claim 7, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the radiation source provides substantially uniform illumination corresponding to the active area during the predetermined duration of time (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0048]-[0054], [0066], [0080]-[0084], the illuminator includes an integrator).
Regarding claim 8, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses further comprising implementing the radiation operation at the second time, wherein the radiation source is coupled to the reticle configured to modulate substantially uniform illumination provided by the radiation source according to the pattern of the reticle, thereby forming the pattern of radiation exposure on the active area for a duration of time (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0045], [0048]-[0063], [0068], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], [0118], a mask pattern on the patterning device includes individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404 is applied to the illumination produced by the integrator to form the patterned radiation exposed on the target areas of the substrate).
Regarding claim 9, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the pattern of the reticle is scaled down by a scale factor to form the pattern of the radiation exposure on the active area (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0066]-[0068], [0080], the projection system 208 reduces the pattern image on the patterning device by a desired magnification factor during exposure of the target areas on the substrate).
Regarding claim 16, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the substrate has a plurality of known positions each of which corresponds to a respective active area of the substrate, and when the substrate reaches each known position, the respective active area is aligned with a fixed location of a radiation system, and is configured to be exposed to radiation generated by the radiation system (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image projected by the projection system).
Regarding claim 20, Bleeker discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-10, abstract), comprising:
a sensor (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0070], [0087], [0092]-[0099], the laser interferometer 234 measures the position of the wafer stage at a sampling rate); and
a controller coupled to the sensor (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0080], [0084]-[0089], [0090]-[0102], control system 466), wherein the controller is configured to:
create relative motion between a substrate and a radiation system in a predetermined direction (Figs. 1-10, paras. [0048], [0051], [0057]-[0058], [0066], [0070], [0074], [0080], [0084]-[0094], wafer stage 406 moves substrate);
control the sensor to measure a first position of a substrate relative to the radiation system at a first time at a first sampling rate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0070], [0087], [0092]-[0099], the laser interferometer 234 measures the position of the wafer stage at a sampling rate);
based on the first position, generate a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0085]-[0089], [0090]-[0102], the anticipated positions of the wafer stage based on the measured positions are determined); and
determine a second position of the substrate at a second time later than the first time based on the series of expected positions (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0084]-[0102], the wafer stage is controlled to position the wafer based on the predicted positional errors to compensate for position errors between the wafer and the aerial image), and
enable a radiation operation at the second time, including controlling light emitted by a radiation source to pass a reticle and form a pattern of radiation exposure on an active area of the substrate corresponding to the second position (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0045], [0048]-[0063], [0068], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], [0118], a mask pattern on a mask is applied to the illumination produced by the integrator to form the patterned radiation exposed on the target areas of the substrate during exposure patterning during which the wafer stage is controlled. The source 112, 212, 412 is controlled to produce laser pulses patterned by the patterning device comprising individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404). Bleeker does not appear to explicitly describe determine a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, based on the first velocity, and the first acceleration, generate the series of expected positions of the substrate, and a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate.
Ogihara discloses determine a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time (Figs. 1, 4, paras. [0019], [0023], [0049], [0112]-[0116], [0133], the velocity and acceleration of the exposure position are calculated for the present time),
based on the first position, first velocity, and the first acceleration, generate a series of expected positions of the substrate (Figs. 1, 4, paras. [0019]-[0020], [0023], [0049], [0086], [0112]-[0116], [0119], [0122], [0133], the velocity and acceleration of the exposure position are calculated from the position for the present time to calculate the estimated exposure position after the sampling time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determine a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, based on the first position, first velocity, and the first acceleration, generate a series of expected positions of the substrate, as taught by Ogihara with the controller in the apparatus as taught by Bleeker since including determine a first velocity and a first acceleration of relative motion between the substrate and the radiation system at the first time, based on the first position, first velocity, and the first acceleration, generate a series of expected positions of the substrate is commonly used to improve the precision of positioning the exposure position in spite of residual vibration (Ogihara, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0019], [0066], [0112]).
Bleeker as modified by Ogihara does not appear to explicitly describe a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate.
Bruland discloses generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate (Figs. 4-6, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0022], measured positions are measured at a first sampling rate, and extrapolated positions are calculated at a higher sampling rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate as taught by Bruland as the second sampling rate in the apparatus as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara since including generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate is commonly used to accurately determine position and provide the desired degree of precision in positioning a beam relative to a substrate (Bruland, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0019]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shinozaki et al. (US Patent No. 6,288,772, Shinozaki hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein creating the relative motion further comprises: driving the radiation system to move in the predetermined direction (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0059]-[0064], [0080]-[0082], [0090]-[0102], the individually controllable elements are moved in a scanning direction or the lens element 442-2 is moved in a direction to shift the image position relative to the substrate);
driving the substrate to move in another direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined direction (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, [0048]-[0051], [0057], [0059]-[0064], [0080]-[0082], [0088]-[0102], the substrate is moved in the scanning direction and in a perpendicular direction to scan further rows of target portions). Bleeker as modified by Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the substrate has a dimension in the direction substantially parallel to the predetermined direction that is substantially larger than a dimension of the substrate in the direction substantially parallel to the direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined direction.
Shinozaki discloses wherein the substrate has a dimension in the direction substantially parallel to the predetermined direction that is substantially larger than a dimension of the substrate in the direction substantially parallel to the direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined direction (Figs. 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, col. 8, lines 3-10, lines 30-38, col. 10, lines 1-15, the substrate P has a longer length in the Y direction than in the X direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the substrate has a dimension in the direction substantially parallel to the predetermined direction that is substantially larger than a dimension of the substrate in the direction substantially parallel to the direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined direction as taught by Shinozaki in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland since including wherein the substrate has a dimension in the direction substantially parallel to the predetermined direction that is substantially larger than a dimension of the substrate in the direction substantially parallel to the direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined direction is commonly used to obtain the liquid crystal display panel with the desired large dimensions without increasing size of the apparatus (Shinozaki, col. 2, lines 62-67, col. 10, lines 1-15).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Meijerink et al. (US PGPub 2022/0171295, Meijerink hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe wherein a position accuracy level and an edge roughness level of a feature produced on the substrate by the radiation operation is defined based on a temporal length of the predetermined duration of time and a speed of the substrate.
Meijerink discloses wherein a position accuracy level and an edge roughness level of a feature produced on the substrate by the radiation operation is defined based on a temporal length of the predetermined duration of time and a speed of the substrate (Figs. 1, 3, 13-14, paras. [0057], [0074]-[0076], [0122], [0140], [0149], the overlay and line edge roughness are parameters for optimizing control of the scanner, including control of the speed of the wafer stage and the dose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein a position accuracy level and an edge roughness level of a feature produced on the substrate by the radiation operation is defined based on a temporal length of the predetermined duration of time and a speed of the substrate as suggested by Meijerink in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland since including wherein a position accuracy level and an edge roughness level of a feature produced on the substrate by the radiation operation is defined based on a temporal length of the predetermined duration of time and a speed of the substrate is commonly used to improve lithographic process control methods to optimize overlay while avoiding degraded pattern fidelity (Meijerink, paras. [0007]-[0009]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Goehnermeier (US PGPub 2009/0053618).
Regarding claim 10, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the reticle includes at least two distinct subareas, and each subarea is independently shifted into a radiation path to define a respective pattern of radiation exposure on the respective subarea without requiring a separate reticle.
Goehnermeier discloses wherein the reticle includes at least two distinct subareas, and each subarea is independently shifted into a radiation path to define a respective pattern of radiation exposure on the respective subarea without requiring a separate reticle (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0059]-[0062], [0068]-[0070], [0079]-[0084], [0088], the reticle 150 includes distinct subpatterns which are shifted into the path of the illumination to pattern the wafer 190).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the reticle includes at least two distinct subareas, and each subarea is independently shifted into a radiation path to define a respective pattern of radiation exposure on the respective subarea without requiring a separate reticle as taught by Goehnermeier in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland since including wherein the reticle includes at least two distinct subareas, and each subarea is independently shifted into a radiation path to define a respective pattern of radiation exposure on the respective subarea without requiring a separate reticle is commonly used to provide improved image fidelity and to permit control of the line width as a function of location in a scanner system to provide optimum resolution (Goehnermeier, paras. [0016]-[0018], [0068]).
Claims 11-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker et al. (US PGPub 2006/0110665, Bleeker hereinafter) in view of Bruland et al. (US PGPub 2008/0223837, Bruland hereinafter) in view of Sandstrom (US PGPub 2005/0047543).
Regarding claim 13, Bleeker discloses a method for lithographic irradiation (Figs. 1-10, abstract), comprising:
creating relative motion between a substrate and a radiation system in a predetermined direction (Figs. 1-10, paras. [0048], [0051], [0057]-[0058], [0066], [0070], [0074], [0080], [0084]-[0094], wafer stage 406 moves substrate);
measuring a first position of the substrate relative to the radiation system at a first time using a sensor at a first sampling rate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0070], [0087], [0092]-[0099], the laser interferometer 234 measures the position of the wafer stage at a sampling rate);
generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0085]-[0089], [0090]-[0102], the anticipated positions of the wafer stage based on the measured positions are determined); and
determining a second position of the substrate at a second time later than the first time based on the series of expected positions (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0074]-[0076], [0084]-[0102], the wafer stage is controlled to position the wafer based on the predicted positional errors to compensate for position errors between the wafer and the aerial image),
implementing a radiation operation at the second time, including controlling light emitted by a radiation source to pass a reticle and form a pattern of radiation exposure on an active area of the substrate corresponding to the second position (Figs. 1-10, abstract, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0045], [0048]-[0063], [0068], [0074]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], [0118], a mask pattern on a mask is applied to the illumination produced by the integrator to form the patterned radiation exposed on the target areas of the substrate during exposure patterning during which the wafer stage is controlled. The source 112, 212, 412 is controlled to produce laser pulses patterned);
wherein the substrate has a plurality of active areas that are aligned along a straight line substantially parallel to the predetermined direction, and each active area includes a first subarea and a second subarea, and wherein one of the plurality of active areas of the substrate is configured to be processed by the radiation operation at the second time (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], target portions 120 are arranged on the substrate in rows, and each target portion includes different subareas formed in accordance with the pattern P. The target portions are successively exposed). Bleeker does not appear to explicitly describe a second sampling rate high than the first sampling rate and wherein each of the plurality of active areas includes a combination of a fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea and a unique subpattern on the second subarea.
Bruland discloses generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate (Figs. 4-6, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0022], measured positions are measured at a first sampling rate, and extrapolated positions are calculated at a higher sampling rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate as taught by Bruland as the second sampling rate in the method as taught by Bleeker since including generating, based on the first position, a series of expected positions of the substrate at a second sampling rate higher than the first sampling rate is commonly used to accurately determine position and provide the desired degree of precision in positioning a beam relative to a substrate (Bruland, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0018]-[0019]).
Bleeker as modified by Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe wherein each of the plurality of active areas includes a combination of a fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea and a unique subpattern on the second subarea.
Sandstrom discloses wherein each of the plurality of active areas includes a combination of a fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea and a unique subpattern on the second subarea (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0017]-[0019], [0020], [0022], [0026]-[0030], [0040], [0047]-[0049], [0055], a reticle 101 exposes the same pattern in multiple semiconductor chips on a wafer, and a SLM 110 exposes a programmable section of each chip with a unique code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein each of the plurality of active areas includes a combination of a fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea and a unique subpattern on the second subarea as taught by Sandstrom as the active areas in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Bruland since including wherein each of the plurality of active areas includes a combination of a fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea and a unique subpattern on the second subarea is commonly used to provide unique programming for each chip to improve tracking of faults and errors to improve quality improvement in a system requiring little extra cost (Sandstrom, paras. [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom discloses wherein the radiation source is coupled to a programmable spatial radiation modulator (PSRM) configured to spatially modulate substantially uniform illumination according to a programmed pattern, thereby forming a spatially-modulated radiation exposure on the second subarea of each active area for a duration of time (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0048]-[0064], [0066], [0080]-[0084], the patterning device includes individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404 to pattern the illumination that has been conditioned by an integrator and that exposes the target portions on the substate 114 including second subareas, and as modified by Sandstrom, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0017]-[0019], [0020], [0022], [0026]-[0030], [0040], [0047]-[0049], [0055], a SLM 110 exposes a programmable section of each chip with a unique code), the method further comprising:
at the PSRM, spatially modulating at least one of an amplitude and a phase of radiation generated by the radiation source to provide the spatially-modulated radiation exposure (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0033]-[0040], [0048]-[0064], [0066], [0080], the patterning device includes individually controllable elements 104, 204, 404 including using phase variation techniques to control the pattern of the array of individually controllable elements to expose the target areas of the substrate).
Regarding claim 12, Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom discloses wherein a pattern of the PSRM is scaled down by a scale factor to form a pattern of the spatially-modulated radiation exposure on the active area (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0066]-[0068], [0080], the projection system 208 reduces the pattern image on the patterning device by a desired magnification factor during exposure of the target areas on the substrate).
Regarding claim 14, Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom discloses further comprising: while the substrate moves along a first direction, successively controlling the radiation source to provide radiation exposure on the first subarea of each active area of the substrate (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], target portions 120 with subareas forming the pattern P are exposed during scanning in the first direction); and
while the substrate moves along a second direction, successively controlling the radiation source to provide radiation exposure on the second subarea of each active area of the substrate (Bleeker, Figs. 1-4, paras. [005], [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], [0118], target portions 120 with subareas forming the pattern P are exposed during scanning in the second direction).
Regarding claim 21, Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom discloses wherein for each of the plurality of active areas, the fixed repeated subpattern on the first subarea corresponds to a first reticle having the repeated subpattern, and the unique subpattern on the second subarea corresponds to a programmable reticle configured to enable the unique subpattern (Sandstrom, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0017]-[0019], [0020], [0022], [0026]-[0030], [0040], [0047]-[0049], [0055], a reticle 101 exposes the same pattern in multiple semiconductor chips on a wafer, and a SLM 110 exposes a programmable section of each chip with a unique code).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of McCoy (US Patent No. 5,437,946).
Regarding claim 15, Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first subarea and the second subarea partially overlap with one another, and an overlapped area is exposed to the radiation exposure of the radiation source at least twice.
McCoy discloses wherein the first subarea and the second subarea partially overlap with one another, and an overlapped area is exposed to the radiation exposure of the radiation source at least twice (Figs. 1-18, col. 5, lines 7-57, the substrate is exposed to multiple reticle patterns, and the overlapping border portions are exposed multiple times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first subarea and the second subarea partially overlap with one another, and an overlapped area is exposed to the radiation exposure of the radiation source at least twice as taught by McCoy in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Bruland in view of Sandstrom since including wherein the first subarea and the second subarea partially overlap with one another, and an overlapped area is exposed to the radiation exposure of the radiation source at least twice is commonly used to stitch together reticle patterns for forming a single large image on a substrate (McCoy, col. 1, lines 6-10, col. 2, lines 1-22, col. 3, lines 5-14).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kinjo (US PGPub 2009/0136119).
Regarding claim 17, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the radiation source includes a first radiation source (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0049], [0053]-[0055], [0066], radiation source 112, 212, 412), the plurality of known positions includes a first known position and a second known position (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image projected by the projection system), the method further comprising:
in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the first known position controlling a first radiation source to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a first active area of the substrate (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0050]-[0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image of the individually controllable elements projected by the projection system). Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the second known position, controlling the first radiation source to provide a second pattern of radiation exposure on a second active area of the substrate, wherein the first pattern is distinct from the second pattern.
Kinjo discloses in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the second known position, controlling the first radiation source to provide a second pattern of radiation exposure on a second active area of the substrate, wherein the first pattern is distinct from the second pattern (Figs. 1-7, paras. [00873]-[0084], [0087], [0092]-[0097], [0111]-[0118], [0127], [0136], [0140]-[0143], [0163], the exposure point data obtaining unit 56 controls the micro-mirrors 38 to provide the wiring section pattern on the substrate 12 in the wiring regions and the display section patterns in the display section region of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the second known position, controlling the first radiation source to provide a second pattern of radiation exposure on a second active area of the substrate, wherein the first pattern is distinct from the second pattern as taught by Kinjo in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland since including in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the second known position, controlling the first radiation source to provide a second pattern of radiation exposure on a second active area of the substrate, wherein the first pattern is distinct from the second pattern is commonly used to produce a functional display device without detriment to production efficiency (Kinjo, paras. [0009], [0094], [0141]-[0143]).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Sandstrom (US PGPub 2005/0047543).
Regarding claim 18, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland discloses wherein the radiation source includes a first radiation source (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0049], [0053]-[0055], [0066], radiation source 112, 212, 412), and the plurality of known positions includes a first known position (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image projected by the projection system), the method further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the first known position, controlling a radiation source by a second radiation control signal to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the first active area of the substrate. (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image projected by the projection system). Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland does not appear to explicitly describe a second radiation source and (1) controlling a first radiation source by a first radiation control signal to provide a fixed pattern of radiation exposure on a first subarea of a first active area of the substrate and (2) controlling a second radiation source by a second radiation control signal to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the first active area of the substrate.
Sandstrom discloses wherein the radiation source includes a first radiation source and a second radiation source (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020], [0027], [0049], laser 105 and light source 112), and the plurality of known positions includes a first known position (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0027], [0033], [0040], a position control unit 121 obtains stage position), the method further comprising:
in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the first known position, (1) controlling a first radiation source by a first radiation control signal to provide a fixed pattern of radiation exposure on a first subarea of a first active area of the substrate and (2) controlling a second radiation source by a second radiation control signal to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the first active area of the substrate (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0017]-[0019], [0020], [0022], [0026]-[0030], [0040], [0047]-[0049], [0055], the control unit 120 controls the device such that reticle 101 exposes the same pattern in multiple semiconductor chips on a wafer, and a SLM 110 exposes a programmable section of each chip with a unique code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the radiation source includes a first radiation source and a second radiation source, in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the first known position, (1) controlling a first radiation source by a first radiation control signal to provide a fixed pattern of radiation exposure on a first subarea of a first active area of the substrate and (2) controlling a second radiation source by a second radiation control signal to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the first active area of the substrate as taught by Sandstrom as the light source in the method as taught by Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland since including wherein the radiation source includes a first radiation source and a second radiation source, in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the first known position, (1) controlling a first radiation source by a first radiation control signal to provide a fixed pattern of radiation exposure on a first subarea of a first active area of the substrate and (2) controlling a second radiation source by a second radiation control signal to provide a first pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the first active area of the substrate is commonly used to provide unique programming for each chip to improve tracking of faults and errors to improve quality improvement in a system requiring little extra cost (Sandstrom, paras. [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Bleeker as modified by Ogihara in view of Bruland in view of Sandstrom discloses wherein the plurality of known positions further includes a second known position (Bleeker, Figs. 1-10, paras. [0052], [0056]-[0063], [0076]-[0080], [0084]-[0102], the substrate includes target portions 120, which are exposed using the image projected by the projection system, and as modified by Sandstrom, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0027], [0033], [0040], a position control unit 121 obtains stage position), the method further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the second position matches the second known position, (1) controlling the first radiation source by the first radiation control signal to provide the fixed pattern of radiation exposure on a first subarea of a second active area of the substrate, and (2) controlling the second radiation source by the second radiation control signal to provide a second pattern of radiation exposure on a second subarea of the second active area of the substrate wherein the first pattern is distinct from the second pattern (Sandstrom, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0017]-[0019], [0020], [0022], [0026]-[0030], [0040], [0047]-[0049], [0055], the control unit 120 controls the device such that a reticle 101 exposes the same pattern in multiple semiconductor chips on a wafer, and a SLM 110 exposes a programmable section of each chip with a unique code).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendment to the specification. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the objections to claims 17 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The objections to claims 17 and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882