DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US2007/0235168.
Per claim 1 Chen et al. teaches a system (see fig.4) comprising: an electronic equipment housing (200, see fig.4) having a first heat generating device (30, see fig.4) therein; a fan (50) configured to induce air flow through the housing (see fig.4; [0019], [0028]); a first heat sink thermally coupled to the first heat generating device (see fig.4; [0028]); and a first diverter (10, see fig.1) positioned to direct at least a first portion of the air flow into the first heat sink (see fig.4).
Per claim 2 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a second heat generating device (30, see fig.4) within the housing and a second heat sink thermally coupled to the second heat generating device (see fig.4), and wherein the first diverter is configured to also direct at least a second portion of the air flow into the second heat sink (see fig.4).
Per claim 3 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter is V-shaped (see fig.1 & 4-5; [0026]).
Per claim 4 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter has a V-shaped cross-section (see fig.1 & 4-5; [0026]).
Per claim 5 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter is vertically oriented (see fig.1 & 4-5).
Per claim 6 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter is oriented at a first angle with respect to a vertical axis (see fig.4-5).
Per claim 14 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a second heat sink thermally coupled to the first heat generating device (30; [0019] & [0028], see fig.4, “All the components are thermally coupled via the circuit board and chassis to the four heat sinks”).
Per claim 15 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising a second heat generating device (30) within the housing, a third heat sink thermally coupled to the second heat generating device, and a fourth heat sink thermally coupled to the second heat generating device (30; [0019], [0028], see fig.4, “All the components are thermally coupled via the circuit board and chassis to the four heat sinks”).
Per claim 16 Chen et al. teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the first diverter (10) is configured to also direct at least a second portion of the air flow into the third heat sink (see fig.4).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gedamu et al. US2005/0047105.
Per claim 1 Gedamu et al. teaches a system (see fig.7) comprising: an electronic equipment housing (C, see fig.7; [0025]) having a first heat generating device (P, see fig.7; [0017], “Top P”) therein; a fan (702) configured to induce air flow through the housing (see fig.7; [0025]); a first heat sink (102, see fig.1-2 & 7) thermally coupled to the first heat generating device (P, see fig.1-7; [0017]-[0019]); and a first diverter (704, see fig.7) positioned to direct at least a first portion of the air flow into the first heat sink (see fig.7).
Per claim 2 Gedamu et al. teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a second heat generating device (P, see fig.7, “bottom P”) within the housing and a second heat sink (102, see fig.1-7, “bottom 102”; [0024]-[0025]) thermally coupled to the second heat generating device (see fig.7), and wherein the first diverter is configured to also direct at least a second portion of the air flow into the second heat sink (see fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US2007/0235168.
Per claim 7 Chen et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter is horizontally oriented.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the diverter horizontally oriented, because it enables a diverted flow of air in an horizontal orientation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Per claim 8 Chen et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the system of claim 2, wherein the first diverter is oriented at a first angle with respect to a horizontal axis.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the diverter horizontally oriented at a first angle with respect to a horizontal axis, because it enables a diverted flow of air in an horizontal orientation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject matter
3. Claims 9-13 & 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9, includes allowable subject matter because of the system of claim 2, further comprising a second diverter positioned between the first heat sink and the second heat sink.
Per claim 10-13, depends on claim 9 therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 17 includes allowable subject matter because of the system of claim 16, further comprising a second diverter configured to direct at least a third portion of the air flow into the second heat sink.
Per claim 18 & 20, depends on claim 17 therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 19 includes allowable subject matter because of the system of claim 16, further comprising a second diverter positioned between the first heat sink and the third heat sink.
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hernon US2010/0302730 discloses a heat dissipation apparatus, comprising: a heat sink that is adapted to receive a processor mounted thereto, the heat sink comprising an internal chamber that is adapted to receive a fluid flow that removes heat from the heat sink.
Andersen US20240130072 discloses an airflow guide, comprising: at least one first channel configured to direct a portion of air from a first fan in a first direction; and at least one second channel configured to direct a portion of air from a second fan in a second direction.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835