CTNF 18/661,727 CTNF 80633 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiu et al. (US 2022/0050987; hereinafter Chiu) . Regarding claim 1: Chiu discloses a display device (see Figs. 15 and 16) comprising: a display module comprising a pixel (see Fig. 15, display 100; also see paragraph [0058]; the display panel includes at least a pixel); and a detection sensor disposed under the display module and comprising a base layer, a biometric information sensing layer disposed on the base layer, an optical pattern layer disposed on the biometric information sensing layer, and a sensing insulating layer disposed on the optical pattern layer (see Fig. 16; fingerprint sensing module 200L includes a base layer 201, a biometric information sensing layer 210 disposed on the base layer 201, an optical pattern layer 223/222/221/260 disposed on the biometric information sensing layer 210, and a sensing insulating layer 224 disposed on the optical pattern layer 223/222/221/260), the optical pattern layer comprising: a plurality of transmissive portions providing a light incident thereto through the display module from an outside to the biometric information sensing layer (see Figs. 1A, 15, openings 223a and 221a and paragraphs [0057]-[0059]); and a light blocking portion surrounding the transmissive portions (see Fig. 1A and light-shielding pattern layer 250), wherein an upper surface of each of the transmissive portions is in contact with the sensing insulating layer (see Fig. 16; upper surface of the opening 223a is in contact with the sensing insulating layer 224). Regarding claim 4: Chiu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the transmissive portions are disposed on the light blocking portion and arranged spaced apart from each other in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction (see Fig. 1A). Regarding claim 5: Chiu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the biometric information sensing layer comprises: a transistor disposed on the base layer and comprising a plurality of electrodes (see Fig. 16; transistor T, electrodes E1 and E2); and a sensing element connected to the transistor (see Fig. 16; photo sensing element PD) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In regards to claim 2, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination discloses or suggests the display device of claim 1, wherein the light blocking portion comprises light blocking patterns each of which comprises an upper surface that is covered by the sensing insulating layer and recessed in a direction toward the biometric information sensing layer from the display module. In regards to claim 3, none of the reference of record alone or in combination discloses or suggests the display device of claim 2, wherein a distance between the biometric information sensing layer and the light blocking patterns varies along one direction when viewed in a cross-section. Response to Arguments 07-38-02 AIA Applicant’s arguments, see Remark , filed 3/31/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. and Lim et al., and under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Song et al . have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chui. Chui has a provisional application filed on 8/17/2020. Therefore, Chui was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LIXI CHOW SIMPSON whose telephone number is (571)272-7571. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:00am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Boddie can be reached at 517-272-0666. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LIXI C SIMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 Application/Control Number: 18/661,727 Page 2 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 18/661,727 Page 3 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 18/661,727 Page 4 Art Unit: 2625