DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 111614001A, reference made to attached English machine translation), and further in view of HE et al (CN 213340503U, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of HAO et al (CN 206490469U, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of Blanco et al (US 2016/0093842).
Regarding claim 1 Wang discloses an energy storage device, comprising:
a battery box, comprising a first box body ([0035], Figs. 1-3, and 6 see: container box body 2), a plurality of battery cells ([0035], Figs. 6 and 11 see: battery room 14 with battery racks 30), and a thermal management assembly ([0035] Figs. 1-3, see: air conditioner 10), wherein the plurality of battery cells and the thermal management assembly are accommodated in the first box body ([0035], Figs. 1-3, and 6 see: battery room 14 with battery racks 30 and air conditioner 10 are within separate compartments of the container box body 2), and the thermal management assembly is configured to provide a heat transfer gas ([0035] see: air conditioner 10 providing cold air through cold air duct 9);
an electrical box, arranged alongside the battery box ([0035], Figs. 1, 4, and 6 see: electrical control room 3 including electrical box 12), wherein the electrical box comprises a second box body and an electrical assembly disposed in the second box body ([0035], Figs. 1, 4, and 6 see: electrical control room 3 including electrical box 12 which has its own enclosing box), and the electrical assembly is electrically connected to the battery cells to exercise electrical control on the battery box ([0004], [0018], [0035] see: electrical box 12 is part of the electrical control for the batteries); and
an air duct assembly ([0035] Figs. 1-3, see: cod air ducts 9 and hot air ducts 6).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of air ducts are located between the first box body and the second box body to separate the first box body from the second box body, and the air duct assembly is in communication with the first box body and the second box body separately so that the heat transfer gas provided by the thermal management assembly exchanges heat with the electrical box through the air duct assembly.
HE discloses an energy storage device where an air duct assembly wherein at least a part of air ducts are located between a first box body and a second box body to separate the first box body from the second box body (HE, Abstract, [n0019], [n0021] Figs. 1-2 see: first air duct 2, second air duct 3, first air duct of PCS 4, second air duct of PCS 5 extend between control compartment 7 and battery compartment 9), and the air duct assembly is in communication with the first box body and the second box body separately so that the heat transfer gas provided by the thermal management assembly exchanges heat with the electrical box through the air duct assembly ([n0010], [n0012], [n0025], Figs. 1-2 see: air ducts 2-5 are connected to an external air conditioner as well as the PCS box 6 of control compartment 7 allowing air to enter into or exit said box). HE teaches this arrangement further allows the heat generated by the control compartment equipment to be recycled and used as supplemental heating from the battery compartment when necessary and reduces the load on the air conditioner (thermal management system) (Abstract, [n0014], [n0021]).
HE and Wang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Wang in view of HE such that at least a part of the air ducts of Wang are located between the first box body and the second box body of Wang to separate the first box body from the second box body as in HE (Abstract, [n0019], [n0021] Figs. 1-2 see: first air duct 2, second air duct 3, first air duct of PCS 4, second air duct of PCS 5 extend between control compartment 7 and battery compartment 9), and the air duct assembly is in communication with the first box body and the second box body separately so that the heat transfer gas provided by the thermal management assembly of Wang exchanges heat with the electrical box through the air duct assembly as in HE ([n0010], [n0012], [n0025], Figs. 1-2 see: air ducts 2-5 are connected to an external air conditioner as well as the PCS box 6 of control compartment 7 allowing air to enter into or exit said box) as HE teaches this arrangement further allows the heat generated by the control compartment equipment to be recycled and used as supplemental heating from the battery compartment when necessary and reduces the load on the air conditioner (thermal management system) (Abstract, [n0014], [n0021]).
In the alternative where it’s not clear that HE teaches where a part of air ducts separates the first box body from the second box body, HAO further teaches where air ducts of an energy storage device separates a first box body with batteries from a second box body with power conditioning equipment (HAO, [0028], Fig. 1 see: vent between second air outlet 10 of charging cabinet 1 and air inlet 9 of battery compartment 8) also allowing heat from the charging cabinet equipment to be used to heat battery modules when necessary.
HAO and modified Wang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Wang in view of HAO such that a part of air ducts separates the first box body from the second box body as in HAO ([0028], Fig. 1 see: vent between second air outlet 10 of charging cabinet 1 and air inlet 9 of battery compartment 8) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known venting arrangement for its intended use in the known environment of an energy storage device to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing separation between the two box bodies for allowing selective air flow between them for temperature control of the battery modules using the heat of the power conversion equipment.
Further, in the alternative, where it’s not clear modified Wang discloses where the heat transfer gas provided by the thermal management assembly exchanges heat with the electrical box through the air duct assembly, such a function is considered understood in the prior art as in Blanco which teaches where a thermal management assembly exchanges heat with an electrical box through an air duct ([0036]-[0039], [0043], [0082] Figs. 1A-1B see: fan 120 provides cooling air 114 to both an inner volume 108 with battery cells 102 and to a battery management system (BMS) 104 compartment) for the purpose of cooling the components of the electrical box (para [0082]).
Blanco and modified Wang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Wang in view of Blanco such that the heat transfer gas provided by the thermal management assembly is also capable of exchanging heat with the electrical box through the air duct assembly as in Blanco ([0036]-[0039], [0043], [0082] Figs. 1A-1B see: fan 120 provides cooling air 114 to both an inner volume 108 with battery cells 102 and to a battery management system (BMS) 104 compartment) for the purpose of allowing the thermal management assembly to cool the components of the electrical box (para [0082]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein
the first box body comprises a first chamber and a second chamber arranged side by side along a first direction, the first chamber is configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells, and the second chamber is configured to accommodate the thermal management assembly (Wang, [0035], Figs. 1-3, and 6 see: battery room 14 with battery racks 30 and air conditioner 10 are within separate compartments of the container box body 2);
the second box body is located on a side of the first chamber, the side being oriented back from the second chamber (Wang, [0035], Figs. 1, 4, and 6 see: electrical control room 3 including electrical box 12 which has its own enclosing box is arranged on an opposite side of the battery room 14 relative to air conditioner 10); and
the air duct assembly comprises a first duct (HAO, [0028], Fig. 1 see: vent between second air outlet 10 of charging cabinet 1 and air inlet 9 of battery compartment 8) and a second duct (HE, Abstract, [n0019], [n0021] Figs. 1-2 see: first air duct 2, second air duct 3), the first duct is located between the first chamber and the second box body to separate the first box body from the second box body (HAO, [0028], Fig. 1 see: vent between second air outlet 10 of charging cabinet 1 and air inlet 9 of battery compartment 8), and the second duct is disposed in the first box body and communicates the first duct and the second chamber (HE, Abstract, [n0019], [n0021] Figs. 1-2 see: first air duct 2, second air duct 3 in battery chamber and communicating with ducts leading to control compartment).
Regarding claim 3 modified Wang discloses energy storage device according to claim 2, wherein the first duct comprises an opening oriented toward a second direction so that the heat transfer gas flows to an external environment through the opening along the second direction, and the second direction is parallel to an extension direction of the first duct and perpendicular to the first direction (HE, [n0024], [n0027] Fig. 2 see: PCS first air duct 4 and PCS second air duct 5 also considered part of the first vent includes a baffle 13 rotated to expose side outlet 11 to exterior environment where outlet 11 and that portion of the vent extend and are positioned perpendicular to the first direction).
Regarding claim 4 modified Wang discloses energy storage device according to claim 2, wherein the first duct, a wall of the first chamber, and the second box body close in to form a first flow channel, and the first flow channel is configured to provide a channel through which the heat transfer gas flows (HAO, [0028], Fig. 1 see: vent between second air outlet 10 of charging cabinet 1 and air inlet 9 of battery compartment 8 which includes the edges of the walls of charging cabinet 1 and battery compartment 8 forms a flow channel for air).
Regarding claim 6 modified Wang discloses energy storage device according to claim 2, wherein the air duct assembly comprises an air guiding member, wherein the air guiding member is configured to drive the heat transfer gas to flow from the second duct toward the first duct (Blanco, [0036]-[0039], [0043], [0082] Figs. 1A-1B see: fan 120 provides cooling air 114 to both an inner volume 108 with battery cells 102 and to a battery management system (BMS) 104 compartment)).
Regarding claim 7 modified Wang discloses energy storage device according to claim 6, wherein the first duct intersects the second duct (HE, Abstract, [n0019], [n0021] Figs. 1-2 see: PCS first air duct 4 and PCS second air duct 5 also considered part of the first vent/duct intersect with first air duct 2, second air duct 3 in battery chamber); and although modified Wang does not explicitly disclose the air guiding member is disposed at least at a junction between the first duct and the second duct, HAO teaches providing such an air guiding member at a duct junction for providing air flow (HAO, Fig. 1 see: fan 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide such an air guiding member at the junction between the first duct and the second duct in modified Wang capable of driving the heat transfer gas to flow from the second duct toward the first duct for the purpose of providing cooling to the electrical control box from the thermal management system when necessary.
Regarding claim 8 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 7, wherein the air guiding member comprises:
a first guide piece, disposed at the junction between the first duct and the second duct to drive the heat transfer gas to flow from the second duct toward the first duct (see modification of claim 7); and
a second guide piece, disposed inside the first duct to drive the heat transfer gas to flow in the first duct along a second direction, and the second direction is parallel to an extension direction of the first duct and perpendicular to the first direction (HE, Abstract, [n0027] Figs. 1-2 see: PCS first air duct 4 and PCS second air duct 5 also considered part of the first vent/duct include a baffle 13 for directing air flow to a side air outlet 11).
Regarding claim 9 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 2, wherein the second chamber comprises a plurality of air outlets in communication with the thermal management assembly (Wang, [0035] see: air conditioner 10 compartment includes air conditioning hot air ducts 6 dissipating heat outside the housing 2); and
the second duct comprises a plurality of second flow channels communicating with the plurality of air outlets respectively (Wang, [0035] see: air ducts are in communication with the air conditioning hot air ducts 6 dissipating heat outside the housing 2), each of the plurality of second flow channels is configured to provide a channel through which the heat transfer gas flows, so as to regulate flow uniformity of the heat transfer gas (Wang, [0035]).
Regarding claim 11 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1, and Wang further illustrates wherein container corner fittings are disposed on both the first box body and the second box body (Wang, Figs. 1-6 see: corners of container(s) include fittings at corner edges).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 111614001A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of HE et al (CN 213340503U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of HAO et al (CN 206490469U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Blanco et al (US 2016/0093842) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11 above and further in view of Browell et al (US 2018/0062230 A1).
Regarding claim 5 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first duct comprises: a plurality of supporting pieces extending along a second direction, wherein the plurality of the supporting pieces are spaced apart along a third direction and form an opening between the plurality of supporting pieces, and the opening is oriented toward the second direction; and the third direction, the second direction, and the first direction are perpendicular to each other; and a connecting piece extending along the third direction, wherein the connecting piece is configured to guide an airflow in the second duct to the opening.
Browell discloses an airflow cooling for an energy storage system comprising a first duct having a plurality of supporting pieces extending along a second direction ([0042]-[0045], Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: cooled air flow passage 240 having sidewall extending downward), wherein the plurality of the supporting pieces are spaced apart along a third direction and form an opening between the plurality of supporting pieces (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: downward extending sidewalls of 240 open into airflow curtain 260 to provide airflow 280), and the opening is oriented toward the second direction (Figs. 4A-4B or 5); and the third direction, the second direction, and the first direction are perpendicular to each other (Figs. 4A-4B or 5; and a connecting piece extending along the third direction (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: topwall of 240 extending in the first and third directions), wherein the connecting piece is configured to guide an airflow in the second duct to the opening (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: topwall of 240 guiding airflow down through opening). Browell discloses this allows the distribution of airflow within one or more thermal zones (Abstract, [0022], [0036]).
Browell and modified Wang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Wang in view of Browell such that the first duct has a plurality of supporting pieces extending along a second direction as in Browell ([0042]-[0045], Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: cooled air flow passage 240 having sidewall extending downward), wherein the plurality of the supporting pieces are spaced apart along a third direction and form an opening between the plurality of supporting pieces as in Browell (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: downward extending sidewalls of 240 open into airflow curtain 260 to provide airflow 280), and the opening is oriented toward the second direction as in Browell (Figs. 4A-4B or 5); and the third direction, the second direction, and the first direction are perpendicular to each other as in Browell (Figs. 4A-4B or 5; and a connecting piece extending along the third direction as in Browell (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: topwall of 240 extending in the first and third directions), wherein the connecting piece is configured to guide an airflow in the second duct to the opening as in Browell (Figs. 4A-4B or 5 see: topwall of 240 guiding airflow down through opening) as Browell discloses this allows the distribution of airflow within one or more thermal zones (Abstract, [0022], [0036]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 111614001A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of HE et al (CN 213340503U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of HAO et al (CN 206490469U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Blanco et al (US 2016/0093842) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11 above and further in view of Ramey et al (US 2013/0300266 A1).
Regarding claim 10 modified Wang discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the energy storage device further comprises a fixing piece, and the fixing piece is fixedly connected to the first box body and the second box body and is configured to clamp at least a part of the air duct assembly between the first box body and the second box body.
Ramey discloses modular containment systems for cooling electronic cabinets comprising a fixing piece, and the fixing piece is fixedly connected to a first box body and a second box body and is configured to clamp at least a part of an air duct assembly between the first box body and the second box body (Ramey, [0042]-[0044] Figs. 3, 6, 8, 10-11 see: modular docking station 100 for cabinets 150 forming bays 60 with exhaust ducts formed by top support panels 68, 69 fastened (clamped) to adjacent cabinet seals 70, 74).
Ramey and modified Wang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of modular containment systems for cooling electronic cabinets.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Wang in view of Ramey such that the energy storage device of Wang further comprises a fixing piece, and the fixing piece is fixedly connected to the first box body and the second box body and is configured to clamp at least a part of the air duct assembly between the first box body and the second box body as in Ramey ([0042]-[0044] Figs. 3, 6, 8, 10-11 see: modular docking station 100 for cabinets 150 forming bays 60 with exhaust ducts formed by top support panels 68, 69 fastened (clamped) to adjacent cabinet seals 70, 74) for the express purpose of providing a means to secure the air duct assembly of Wang between the first box body and the second box body of Wang.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726