DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/13/2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 3, line 5, the sentence ends with a question mark “?,” although the sentence is written as statement rather than a question, therefore “position?” should be written as “position.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krumm KG (DE 20319046), hereinafter Krumm.
Regarding claim 3, Krumm teaches a separable blind bearing puller (as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below), comprising: a collet (clamping sleeve 1 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) having flexible fingers (trigger hook 13 as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below); a drive bolt (spindle 2 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below); and a ball bearing (ball 3 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below), which when forced by said drive bolt expands said flexible fingers (ball 3 is arranged between the pressure surface of the spindle 2 and the contact surfaces of the expanding jaws 12, wherein trigger hooks 13 are located at the end of each jaw, which causes uniform expansion of the clamping jaws, thereby expanding the trigger hooks; ball 3 acts on the pressure surfaces 18 of the expanding jaws 12 via the pressure surface of the spindle 26 when spindle 2 is screwed, [0007], [0019], & [0024], Krumm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krumm, in view of Qi (CN 111941044).
Regarding claim 1, Krumm teaches A separable blinding bearing puller (as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below), comprising: a main body assembly (as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) having a collet (clamping sleeve 1 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) and a drive bolt (spindle 2 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below); and an expansion device (ball 3 as shown in annotated Fig. 1 and 2 below).
Krumm does not teach the expansion device, which is separable from said main body assembly.
However, Qi does teach the expansion device (metal ball 62 as shown in annotated Fig. 7 below), which is separable from said main body assembly (details of assembling the mechanism is specified, with a separate step for inserting metal ball 62, [0053], [0055], & [0056], Qi).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Krumm such that the ball bearing is separable from the drive bolt, as taught by Qi, so that the drive bolt can generate only axial force and does not rotate, thus reducing the friction between components, which promotes longevity ([0068], Qi).
Regarding claim 2, Krumm, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1, wherein: said expansion device is a ball bearing (ball 3 as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Krumm teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 3.
Krumm does not teach said ball bearing is separable from said drive bolt.
However, Qi does teach said ball (metal ball 62 as shown in annotated Fig. 7 above) is separable from said drive bolt (details of assembling the mechanism is specified, with a separate step for inserting metal ball 62, [0053], [0055], & [0056], Qi).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Krumm such that the ball bearing is separable from the drive bolt, as taught by Qi, so that the drive bolt can generate only axial force and does not rotate, thus reducing the friction between components, which promotes longevity ([0068], Qi).
Conclusion
/I.M.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723