DETAILED ACTION
Application # 18/662,266 was filed on 5/13/2024.
Claims 1-12 are subject to examination.
An IDS filed on 5/13/2024 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 6, 11, 12 recite(s) receiving an operation request for the service and transmitting a context data request which falls under mental processes which can be performed in the human mind wherein receiving an operation request on a piece of paper where a user can see the request which has context identifier; receiving a context data response and transmitting an operation response which can be performed in human mind wherein context data response can be received and sent on a piece of paper by a user which contains context data and context identifier. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because service storage resource node, service controller or service instance set node are used for collecting and transmitting operation request and response. The storage resource node, service controller or service instance set node is recited at high level of generality (i.e. generic node) performing generic computer function of collecting/receiving and transmitting request and response. The generic computer is not more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly these addition elements do no integrate the abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements only collect/receive and transmit request and response and these are well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions.
With respect to dependent claims 2-5, 7-10, they recite similar limitations such as receiving and transmitting the context data request and response which can be done mentally wherein a user on piece of paper can receive/send a request and response having context identifier. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because service storage resource node, service controller or service instance set node are used for collecting and transmitting operation request and response. The storage resource node, service controller or service instance set node is recited at high level of generality (i.e. generic node) performing generic computer function of collecting/receiving and transmitting request and response. The generic computer is not more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly these addition elements do no integrate the abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements only collect/receive and transmit request and response and these are well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekharan et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2018/0063252 (hereinafter Sekharan) in view of Venkatraman et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0357529 (hereinafter Venkatraman)
With respect to claim 1, Sekharan teaches a method of operating a service instance set node for a service of a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving an operation request for the service (i.e. receiving a HTTPS request that includes the session identifier and the service instance identifier)(Paragraph 26-27) from a service controller, wherein the request includes a context identifier (i.e. receiving a session identifier and service instance identifier) (Paragraph 27, 26).
responsive to receiving the operation request including the context identifier (i.e. session identifier) , transmitting a context data request to a service storage resource node (i.e. sessions storage), wherein the context data request includes the context identifier (i.e. session identifier)(Paragraph 37-38);
-after transmitting the context data request, receiving a context data response from the service storage resource node (i.e. collaboration sessions storage)(Fig.1 element 140) (i.e. retrieving from collaboration session storage the session identifier and the service instance identifier associated with the collaboration session based on the collaboration session identifier) (Paragraph 39-40), wherein the context data response includes context data corresponding to the context identifier (i.e. response includes session identifier and the service instance identifier associated with the collaboration session) (Paragraph 49-50) and
-transmitting an operation response to the service controller based on the operation request and based on the context data (i.e. service instance sends a response to the web browser application via load balancer that includes session identifier and the service instance identifier which when load balancer receives it, it forwards it to the web browser application (Paragraph 47, 49-50).
Although Sekharan teaches retrieving from the collaboration session storage the session identifier, Sekharan does not explicitly teach receiving a context data response from the service storage resource node.
Venkatraman teaches receiving a context data response (i.e. in response to receiving a context query) from the service storage resource node (i.e. local context database or remote context database) wherein the context data response includes context data corresponding to the context identifier (i.e. after context data is obtained, the context store can send the context information which includes device ID attribute-value mappings)(Paragraph 39)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Venkatraman’s teaching in Sekharan’s teaching to come up with receiving a context data response from the service storage resource node. The motivation for doing so would be so the context client can use the context information to provide services and/or information to the user (paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 2, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 1, but Sekharan further teaches further comprising: responsive to receiving the operation request including the context identifier, determining that the context data is not available locally at the service instance set (Paragraph 37); wherein transmitting the context data request comprises transmitting the context data request responsive to receiving the operation request and responsive to determining that the context data is not available locally at the service instance set (Paragraph 37-38).
With respect to claim 3, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 1, but Sekharan further teaches further comprising: after receiving the context data response including the context data, modifying the context data based on the operation request to provide updated context data corresponding to the context identifier (i.e. request to update information) (Paragraph 38-40); transmitting the updated context data to the service storage resource node (Paragraph 39-40); receiving an updated context response from the service storage resource node, wherein the updated context response corresponds to the updated context data (Paragraph 37-40); wherein transmitting the operation response includes transmitting the updated context data responsive to receiving the updated context response (Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 4, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 1, but Sekharan further teaches wherein receiving the operation request from the service controller comprises receiving the operation request from the service controller through an access node (i.e. load balancer) (Paragraph 38-39), and wherein transmitting the operation response to the service control node comprises transmitting the operation response to the service controller through the access node (Paragraph 37-40)
With respect to claim 5, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 1, but Sekharan further teaches wherein the context identifier is one of a plurality of context identifiers that correspond to the context data (Paragraph 50, 69)
With respect to claim 6, Sekharan teaches method of operating a service storage resource (SSR), the method comprising:
-receiving context data from a first service instance set (i.e. each service instance can handle requests from application to start collaboration session wherein a request includes collaboration session name, ID associated etc. and generated session identifier associated with the service)(Paragraph 36), wherein the first service instance set comprises a first plurality of instances of a service (Fig. 1 element service instance a-k) (Paragraph 35-36);
-receiving a context data request from a second service instance set, wherein the second service instance set comprises a second plurality of instances of the service (i.e. establishing through bidirectional communication session second data for the collaboration session from the service instance)(Paragraph 72, 10-12); and
transmitting a context data response to the second service instance set responsive to receiving the context data request, wherein the context data response includes at least a portion of the context data (i.e. service instance sends a response to the web browser application via load balancer that includes session identifier and the service instance identifier which when load balancer receives it, it forwards it to the web browser application) (Paragraph 10-12, 47, 49-50).
Although Sekharan teaches retrieving from the collaboration session storage the session identifier, Sekharan does not explicitly teach transmitting a context data response.
Venkatraman teaches transmitting context data response (i.e. in response to receiving a context query) to the second service instance set (i.e. local context database or remote context database) responsive to receiving the context data set request, wherein the context data response includes at least a portion of context data (i.e. after context data is obtained, the context store can send the context information which includes device ID attribute-value mappings)(Paragraph 39)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Venkatraman’s teaching in Sekharan’s teaching to come up with transmitting a context data response from the service storage resource node. The motivation for doing so would be so the context client can use the context information to provide services and/or information to the user (paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 7, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 6, but Sekharan further teaches wherein receiving the context data comprises receiving the context data with a context identifier, wherein the context data request includes the context identifier, and wherein the context data response includes the context identifier. (i.e. response includes session identifier and the service instance identifier associated with the collaboration session) (Paragraph 49-50) and
With respect to claim 8, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 6, but Sekharan further teaches wherein the context data comprises original context data and wherein the context identifier is a first context identifier, the method further comprising: receiving an update context request from the second service instance set after transmitting the context data response (i.e. request to update information) (Paragraph 38-40) updating the original context data responsive to receiving the update context request to provide updated context data (Paragraph 38-40) and transmitting an update context response to the second service instance set responsive to receiving the update context request (Paragraph 38-40)
With respect to claim 9, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 6, but Sekharan further teaches wherein the context identifier is a first context identifier and wherein the update context request includes a second context identifier different than the first context identifier (i.e. session identifier and service instance identifier)(Paragraph 27)
With respect to claim 10, Sekharan and Venkatraman teaches the method of claim 6, but Sekharan further teaches wherein the first service instance set comprises a first plurality of instances of the service (Fig. 1 element 135a) , and wherein the second service instance set (Fig. 1 element 135b) comprises a second plurality of instances of the service (Fig. 1 element 135 a-k) (Paragraph 35-36)
With respect to claim 11, it teaches same limitation as claim 1, therefore rejected under same basis.
With respect to claim 12, it teaches same limitation as claim 6, therefore rejected under same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Dao et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0261260 which teaches about UE context and PDU session context management for the UE which can be mitigated.
B). Kuchibhotla et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2018/0084081 which teaches about cloud operation reservation system for defining a set of time windows that are available to perform one or more cloud operations on cloud targets.
C). Zwisler et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2010/0153613
D). Trossen et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0211510
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453