DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Previous restriction is withdrawn due to applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sivero et al. (US Pub. 2024/0265959).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory having a group of memory cells [110, 112, Fig. 1], wherein a sub-group of the memory cells of the group remain programmed to a same data state [both cells 110 and 112 were programmed to “1” state, as shows in Fig. 1 and discloses in paragraph 0020]; and
circuitry [combination of 120 and 130, Fig. 1] configured to:
determine an amount of charge associated with the memory cells of the sub- group [steps 620 and 620, to read and to determine memory states, which is equivalent to determine an amount of charge]; and
adjust a voltage [step 640] used to sense a data state of the memory cells of the group based, at least in part, on the determined amount of charge [combination of steps 630 and 640, adjust reading voltage by adding it to a constant voltage).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to adjust the voltage [VPL] used to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group by: generating a first voltage signal having a constant voltage value [∆]; and generating a second voltage signal [VPL = VPL + ∆, also as shows in Fig. 5] that is a function of the determined amount of charge.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 1 of Sivero discloses wherein: the circuitry includes a first capacitor [110] coupled to the first voltage signal [first voltage on PL] and a second capacitor [112] coupled to the second voltage signal [can be VPL or VPL+∆]; and the circuitry [120, 121, or 122] is configured to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group by: applying a voltage signal of the first capacitor to the voltage used to sense the data state [voltage on BL<0>] of the memory cells of the group; and applying a voltage signal of the second capacitor to the voltage used to sense the data state of the memory cells [voltage signal on BL<2>] while applying the voltage signal of the first capacitor to the voltage used to sense the data state of the memory cells.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 1 of Sivero discloses wherein the circuitry includes an amplifier [AMP] configured to generate the first voltage signal [Vs].
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein the circuitry [330] is configured to adjust the voltage used to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group by generating a single voltage signal [output of 330] that is a function of the determined amount of charge and a constant voltage value.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein: the circuitry includes a capacitor [315] coupled to the single voltage signal [315 couples to output of 330 through 320]; and the circuitry is configured to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group by applying a voltage signal of the capacitor [VS] to the voltage used to sense the data state of the memory cells.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2B of Sivero discloses the group of memory cells comprises a page of memory cells [each page connects to a big line, as shows in Fig. 2B]; and the sub-group comprises a portion of the memory cells [2 of 3 cells] of the page.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 2A of Sivero discloses wherein the memory cells of the group are ferroelectric memory cells.
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses a method of operating memory, comprising:
determining an amount of charge [step 620, Fig. 6] associated with a sub-group of memory cells [110 and 112 in Fig. 1] of a memory, wherein:
the sub-group of memory cells [cells 110 and 112] comprise a portion [2 of 3 cells] of a group of memory cells of the memory; and
the sub-group of memory cells are programmed to a same data state [both memory cells are programmed to sate “1”];
adjusting a voltage [step 640] used to sense a data state of the memory cells of the group based, at least in part, on the determined amount of charge [base on step 630]; and
sensing the data state of the memory cells of the group using the adjusted voltage [step 650, Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1 of Sivero discloses wherein the sub-group of memory cells are programmed to a displacement polarization state [paragraphs 0016 and 0022].
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2B of Sivero discloses wherein the method includes determining the amount of charge associated with the sub-group of memory cells by: applying a voltage [voltage on WL] to access lines [WL]of the sub-group of memory cells; and determining an amount of charge on data lines [BL, step 640, Fig. 6] of the sub-group of memory cells responsive to applying the voltage to the access lines [WL volage must be high in order to active a memory cell] of the sub-group of memory cells.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 2B of Sivero discloses wherein the method includes sensing the data state of the memory cells of the group by: applying an additional voltage to access lines [another voltages applies to WL] of the group of memory cells after beginning to apply the voltage to the access lines of the sub-group of memory cells; and applying the adjusted voltage [VPL] to data lines [step 640, Fig. 6] of the group of memory cells while applying the additional voltage to the access lines of the group of memory cells [voltage on WL and PL and BL must be presented in order to select and sense a memory cell].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses wherein the method includes determining the amount of charge [step 620] associated with the sub-group of memory cells responsive to receiving a command [read/sense command is inherent applied in order to perform a reading/sensing operation] to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group.
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses wherein the method includes: receiving an additional command [another read/sense command to perform another reading/sensing operation] to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group; determining an amount of charge [step 620] associated with the sub-group of memory cells responsive to receiving the additional command; adjusting the voltage [step 640] used to sense the data state of the memory cells of the group based, at least in part, on the amount of charge determined responsive to receiving the additional command; and sensing the data state of the memory cells of the group using the adjusted voltage [step 650].
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 of Sivero discloses an apparatus, comprising: a memory having a group of memory cells [110 to 112, Fig. 1], wherein a sub-group of the memory cells [110 and 112] of the group remain programmed to a same average data state [both are programmed to state “1”]; and
circuitry configured to:
determine an amount of charge [step 640 and 630 in Fig. 6] associated with the memory cells of the sub- group; and
adjust a voltage [step 640, adjust VPL] used to sense a data state of the memory cells of the group by adding a voltage value [∆] associated with the determined amount of charge to a constant voltage value [during calibration step in Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein the voltage value associated with the determined amount of charge is a function of the determined amount of charge [the amount of voltage change of VPL is depended on the amount of charge determined during reading operation, step 620 and 630s in Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein: the constant voltage value [∆] corresponds to a first voltage signal [Vs]; and the voltage value associated with the determined amount of charge corresponds to a second voltage signal [output of 330].
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein the voltage value [VPL] associated with the determined amount of charge and the constant voltage value [∆] correspond to a single voltage signal [Vs].
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein the circuitry [340] is configured to adjust the constant voltage value.
Regarding claim 20 Fig. 3 of Sivero discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to adjust the voltage [VPL] used to sense a data state [step 650, Fig. 6] of the memory cells of the group by no more than a particular amount [can be any amount].
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825