DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The specification is objected because of the following reasons:
In par. [0001]: insert US Patent no. 12,022,712.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
2. The claims are objected because of the following reasons:
Re claim 1, last line: delete “is” and insert --are-- after “the plurality of dummy patterns”.
Re claim 2, line 3: delete “is” and insert --are-- after “the plurality of dummy patterns”.
Re claim 4, line 2: after “patterns” delete “does” and insert --do--.
Re claim 15, line 5: delete “comprises” and insert --comprise--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakurai (US 2009/0257010).
Re claim 1, Sakurai teaches, under BRI, Fig. 2, [0052, 0053], a transparent display apparatus, comprising:
-a transparent display panel (10) including a first substrate (1), a second substrate (2), and a plurality of pixels (defined in image display area V) provided between the first substrate (1) and the second substrate (2), the transparent display panel having a display area (V) including the plurality of pixels, and a non-display area adjacent (A1) to the display area; and
-a cover substrate (30d) including a plurality of dummy patterns (40, 41), the cover substrate (30d) having a first area (V, A3) and a second area (A2) adjacent to the first area (V, A3), wherein:
the first area (V, A3) overlaps the transparent display panel (10),
the second area (A2) does not overlap with the transparent display panel (10),
the first area (V, A3) comprises a third area (V) overlapping the display area (in area V) and a fourth area (A3) overlapping the non-display area (A1), and
the plurality of dummy patterns (40, 41) is disposed on the second area (A2) and the fourth area (A3),
wherein the plurality of dummy patterns (40, 41) does not overlap the plurality of pixels (in area V).
Re claim 2, Sakurai teaches, under BRI, Fig. 2, [0060], a color correction layer (e.g., epoxy 50), wherein the plurality of the dummy patterns (40, 41) is encapsulated by the color correction layer (50).
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuboi et al. (US 2011/0134378).
Re claim 1, Tsuboi teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, [0032, 0033], a transparent display apparatus, comprising:
-a transparent display panel (liquid crystal display panel 10) including a first substrate (10A), a second substrate (10B), and a plurality of pixels (pixels on glass substrates) provided between the first substrate (10A) and the second substrate (10B), the transparent display panel having a display area (A) including the plurality of pixels, and a non-display area (B) adjacent to the display area (A); and
-a cover substrate (front face plate 13) including a plurality of dummy patterns ( 13b1, 13c1), the cover substrate (13) having a first area (13a, 13b or indicated) and a second area (as indicated) adjacent to the first area (13a, 13b), wherein:
the first area (13a, 13b) overlaps the transparent display panel (10),
the second area (indicated) does not overlap with the transparent display panel (10),
the first area (13a, 13b) comprises a third area (13a) overlapping the display area (in area A) and a fourth area (13b or indicated) overlapping the non-display area (in area B), and
the plurality of dummy patterns (13b1, 13c1) is disposed on the second area (indicated) and the fourth area (13b).
Re claim 2, Tsuboi teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, [0044], a color correction layer (e.g., epoxy resin 14), wherein the plurality of the dummy patterns (13b1, 13c1) is encapsulated by the color correction layer (14).
Re claim 4, Tsuboi teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the plurality of dummy patterns (13b1, 13c1) does not overlap with the plurality of pixels (in area A).
Re claim 6, Tsuboi teaches, Fig. 1, wherein each of the plurality of dummy patterns comprises:
a first transmissive area (in 13b) transmitting light incident thereon; and
a first non-transmissive area (in 13c) through which at least part of the light incident light does not pass,
wherein the first transmissive area (in 13b) is disposed inside a dummy pattern (13b1) of the plurality of dummy patterns (13b1, 13c1).
Re claim 7, Tsuboi teaches wherein each of the plurality of dummy patterns comprises a light blocking pattern (13c1) provided in the first non-transmissive area (in 13c),
wherein the light blocking pattern comprises a light-absorbing material (e.g. carbon black, a metal, and a pigment) [00039].
Re claim 8, Tsuboi teaches wherein each of the plurality of dummy patterns comprises a color correction layer provided in the first transmissive area (13b),
wherein the color correction layer comprises a material reflecting light of a wavelength of a selected color (e.g. metal and pigment) [0039].
Re claim 9, Tsuboi teaches wherein the color correction layer provides the first transmissive area (13b) of each of the plurality of dummy patterns to have a color sense range of an image displayed by the transparent display panel (10) (based on pigment material) [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi in view of in view of Lou et al. (CN 104157669, ENG translation attached).
The teachings of Tsuboi have been discussed above.
Re claim 5, Tsuboi does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of dummy patterns included in the cover substrate has substantially same shape as a shape of each of the plurality of pixels.
Lou teaches “a shielding area 125 and the pixel light emitting area 115 have same shape and size” [0057].
As taught by Lou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain each of the plurality of dummy patterns included in the cover substrate has substantially same shape as a shape of each of the plurality of pixels as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lou in combination Tsuboi due to above reason.
6. Claims 10-15, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi in view of in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0068621).
The teachings of Tsuboi have been discussed above.
Re claim 10, Tsuboi teaches the plurality of pixels, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a second transmissive area transmitting light incident thereon; and
a second non-transmissive area through which at least a part of the incident light does not pass,
and wherein the second non-transmissive area comprises:
an emission area emitting light and including a light emitting device having a first electrode, a light emitting layer, and a second electrode; and
a line area including a plurality of lines connected to the light emitting device.
Lee teaches, Figs. 5-6, [0094, 0102, 0103], each of the plurality of pixels (P) comprises:
a second transmissive area (region without OLED) transmitting light incident thereon; and
a second non-transmissive area (region with OLED) through which at least a part of the incident light does not pass, and
wherein the second non-transmissive area comprises:
an emission area emitting light and including a light emitting device (OLED) having a first electrode (131), a light emitting layer (133), and a second electrode (135); and
a line area including a plurality of lines (wirings) connected to the light emitting device.
As taught by Lee, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain structure of each of the plurality of pixels as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired structure/configuration of each pixel that is able to prevent malfunction of light emitting device and to achieve an improved display device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lee in combination Tsuboi due to above reason.
Re claims 11-14, Tsuboi/ Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the first transmissive area has a substantially same shape as a shape/size of the second transmissive area; and the first non-transmissive area has a substantially same shape/size as a size of the second non-transmissive area.
Tsuboi teaches the first transmissive area (13b) & the first non-transmissive area (13c), and Lee teaches the second transmissive area & the second non-transmissive area of each of the plurality of pixels (see claim 10 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Tsuboi/Lee to obtain the first transmissive area has a substantially same shape as a shape of the second transmissive area, and the first non- transmissive area has a substantially same shape as a shape/size of the second non-transmissive area, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 15, in combination cited above, Lee teaches, Figs. 5-6, wherein the plurality of lines comprises:
a driving voltage line (of VDD) configured to transfer a first voltage (driving voltage) to the first electrode (131), and
a common voltage line (of Vref) configured to transfer a second voltage to the second electrode (135).
Re claim 21, in combination cited above, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, [0065, 0068], wherein: the non-display area (N/A) comprises a first side area (bottom), a second side area (top), the first side area (bottom) being provided at a first outer portion of the display area (AA), the second side area (top) facing the first side area (bottom); and
the transparent display panel (100) comprises:
a first common voltage line (147b) provided in the first side area (bottom); and
a second common voltage line (147a) connected to the first common voltage line (147b) at one side thereof, the second common voltage line (147a) extending from the one side to the display area and transferring a voltage to the plurality of pixels (P).
Re claim 22, in combination cited above, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, [0069], wherein: the transparent display panel (100) comprises a third side area (left), a fourth side area (right) facing the third side area (left), a gate driver (210) provided in at least one of the third side area and the fourth side area, the gate driver (210) including a plurality of transistors (ST, DT); and
a difference between a transmittance of the transparent display panel (100) in an area (left) including the gate driver (210) and a transmittance of the transparent display panel in the display area (AA) is about 5% or less (based on the same use of glass/flexible material) [0110, 0134, 0135],
and the third side area (left) and the fourth side area (right) being provided adjacent to the first side area (bottom) and the second side area (top) to connect the first side area (bottom) to the second side area (top).
7. Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi.
The teachings of Tsuboi have been discussed above.
Re claim 16, Tsuboi does not explicitly teach wherein a transmittance different between the transparent display panel and the cover substrate in the second area is about 5% or less.
Tsuboi does teach transparent display panel and the cover substrate comprise glass material [0033, 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Tsuboi to obtain a transmittance different between the transparent display panel and the cover substrate in the second area is about 5% or less, because it aids achieving improved light transmittance, and because transmittance is depended on many different variable parameters such a selected material, thickness, arrangement of component, etc. and without due experimentation and based on the teaching of Tsuboi, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize easily achieve 5% or less different in transmittance.
Re claim 17, Tsuboi teaches the second area and the dummy patterns (see claim 1).
Tsuboi does not explicitly teach wherein: the second area comprises a first division area surrounding the first area and a second division area surrounding the first division area; and a first dummy pattern is provided in the first division area, and a second dummy pattern is provided in the second division area.
Tsuboi does teach, Fig. 1, a first division area (13b) surrounding the first area (13a) and a second division area (13c) surrounding the first division area (13b); and a first dummy pattern (13b1) is provided in the first division area (13b) of the cover substrate (13), and a second dummy pattern (13c1) is provided in the second division area (13c) of the cover substrate (13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Tsuboi to obtain the second area comprises a first division area surrounding the first area and a second division area surrounding the first division area; and a first dummy pattern is provided in the first division area, and a second dummy pattern is provided in the second division area as claimed, because it aids in reducing light leaked and improving display quality. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Re claim 18, Tsuboi teaches wherein the number of first dummy patterns (13b1) per unit area is greater than the number of second dummy patterns (13c1) per unit area (Figs. 3A-B).
Re claims 19 & 20, Tsuboi/Wu does not explicitly teach wherein a transmittance of the second division area of the cover substrate is higher than a transmittance of the first division area of the cover substrate; and a size of the first dummy patterns is greater than a size of the second dummy pattern.
Tsuboi does teach light shielding area (of 13c) & half transmissive area (13b) at different sizes (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Tsuboi to obtain a transmittance of the second division area of the cover substrate is higher than a transmittance of the first division area of the cover substrate; and a size of the first dummy patterns is greater than a size of the second dummy pattern, because it aids in achieving an improved display structure. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 6/9/26