DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 01/21/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220384746; “Wang” hereinafter) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210005677: “Lee” hereinafter) and further view of Hashimoto (US 5442470).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (3) comprising a display area (B1 or 31) for displaying an image and a sub-area (area of the display panel 3 that extends outward from the display area B1 including the bending portion 32,fig. 5) extending in one direction from the display area (figs 5-6), wherein the sub-area includes a bending area (321) bent in a rear direction of the display area (figs 5-6), and an outer portion (322) extending from the bending area (321) to overlap the display area (31or B1) (figs 5-6); a display driving circuit (4) disposed on the outer portion (322) of the sub-area (the circuit board 4 of the display device is at least partially disposed on the outer portion or connecting segment 322, figs. 5-6); a bending protection member (323) disposed to cover the bending area (321) of the sub-area (figs 5-6); a rear surface cover (71) disposed on a rear surface of the display panel to cover the outer portion (322) of the sub-area, and the display driving circuit (4) ((figs 5-6); and an adhesive tape (52; “The second bonding portion 52 may be an adhesive gel (as shown in FIG. 6), but is not limited thereto. The second bonding portion 52 may also be any other component capable of achieving adhesion”, par. [0065]) covering an end of the rear surface cover (71) adjacent to the bending area (321) (figs. 5-6; par. [0068]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the display driving circuit drive pixels of the display area; and the adhesive tape covering a rear surface of an end portion of the rear surface cover.
Lee teaches a display device comprising a display driving circuit (200) disposed at an outer portion of a display panel (100); the display driving circuit drives pixels (P) of the display area (“The display driving circuit 200 outputs signals and voltages for driving the display panel 10”, par. [0076], see par. [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the display driving circuit modified to drive pixels of the display area as taught by Lee because such modification helps to drive the pixels of the display panel for the functioning of the display.
Hashimoto teaches a display device comprising a display panel (1) having a bending area (6) extended out of the display panel (1) (fig. 4), an adhesive tape (10) covering a rear surface of an end portion of a rear surface cover (frame member 8) adjacent to the bending area (6) (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Wang in view of Lee to have the adhesive tape covering a rear surface of an end portion of the rear surface cover as taught by Hashimoto because such modification protects the end portion of the rear surface cover. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration, since the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto (relied on Wang) discloses wherein the bending protection member (323) extend to cover a partial area of the outer portion (322) of the sub-area overlapping the display area (figs 5-6), and wherein the bending protection member is disposed between the rear surface cover (71) and the outer portion of the sub-area (figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (3) comprising a display area (B1 or 31) for displaying an image and a sub-area (area of the display panel 3 that extends outward from the display area B1 including the bending portion 32,fig. 5) extending in one direction from the display area (figs. 5-6), wherein the sub-area includes a bending area (321) bent in a rear direction of the display area (figs. 5-6), and an outer portion (322) extending from the bending area to overlap the display area (figs. 5-6); a touch sensing unit (touch panel 22) formed on a front surface of the display area (31) to sense a touch of a user or an object (par. [0073]); a display circuit board (4) electrically connected to one end of the outer portion of the sub-area (“the bending portion 32 is electrically connected to the circuit board 4.”, par. [0049]; figs. 5-6); a touch driving circuit (92) disposed on the display circuit board to drive a touch sensing unit; a bending protection member formed to cover the bending area of the sub-area; a rear surface cover (71) disposed to cover the outer portion of the sub-area and the display circuit board (4) on which the display driving circuit and the touch driving circuit are arranged (the circuit board 4 of the display device is at least partially disposed on the outer portion or connecting segment 322, figs. 5-6); and an adhesive tape (52; “The second bonding portion 52 may be an adhesive gel (as shown in FIG. 6), but is not limited thereto. The second bonding portion 52 may also be any other component capable of achieving adhesion”, par. [0065]) covering an end of the rear surface cover adjacent to the bending area (figs. 5-6; par. [0068]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a display driving circuit disposed on the outer portion of the sub-area to drive pixels of the display area; the touch driving circuit disposed on the display circuit board to drive a touch sensing unit; and the adhesive tape covering a rear surface of an end portion of the rear surface cover.
Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display driving circuit (200) disposed on the outer portion of the sub-area to drive pixels of a display area (“The display driving circuit 200 outputs signals and voltages for driving the display panel 10”, par. [0076], see par. [0098]); a display circuit board (300) electrically connected to one end of the outer portion of the sub-area (fig. 4; par. [0100]); a touch driving circuit (400) disposed on the display circuit board (300) to drive a touch sensing unit (par. [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang to incorporate a display driving circuit disposed on the outer portion of the sub-area to drive pixels of the display area, and the touch driving circuit disposed on the display circuit board to drive a touch sensing unit because such modification helps to drive the pixels of the display panel for the functioning of the display panel, and the touch driving circuit helps to determine an user touch or object/pen close to it and applies driving signals to the sensor electrodes of the touch sensing layer.
Hashimoto teaches a display device comprising a display panel (1) having a bending area (6) extended out of the display panel (1) (fig. 4), an adhesive tape (10) covering a rear surface of an end portion of a rear surface cover (frame member 8) adjacent to the bending area (6) (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Wang in view of Lee to have the adhesive tape covering a rear surface of an end portion of the rear surface cover as taught by Hashimoto because such modification protects the end portion of the rear surface cover. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration, since the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto (relied on Wang) discloses wherein the bending protection member (323) extend to cover a partial area of the outer portion (322) of the sub-area overlapping the display area (figs 5-6), and wherein the bending protection member is disposed between the rear surface cover (71) and the outer portion of the sub-area (figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto discloses An electronic device comprising the display device of claim 1 (Wang teaches a display device, fig. 3, Lee teaches a display device 10, and Hashimoto also teaches a display device).
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto discloses An electronic device comprising the display device of claim 12 (Wang teaches a display device, fig. 3, Lee teaches a display device 10, and Hashimoto also teaches a display device).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto as applied to claim 1 and claim 12 respectively, and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20190074332; “Kim” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto discloses a bending boundary pattern formed in a straight line shape (TL1 forms in a straight line, fig. 7, Lee) along a boundary of the outer portion and the bending area (BA, Lee) of the sub-area (TL1 forms in a straight line along a boundary of the outer portion and the bending area of the sub-area, fig. 7, Lee).
Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the bending protection member covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary.
Kim teaches a display device comprising a bending boundary pattern (140) formed in a straight line shape, a curved line shape or a combination thereof (fig. 2) along a boundary of an outer portion and a bending area (BA) of the sub-area (figs 3-4), wherein a bending protection member (115) covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary (par. [0087]-[0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto to have the bending protection member covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary as taught by Kim because such modification the cover protection member suppress the wiring lines disposed in the bending area from being cracked at the time of being bent (Par. [0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Lee, Hashimoto and Kim discloses the display device as claimed in claim 4.
Wang in view of Lee, Hashimoto and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the bending boundary pattern includes at least one adhesive curing material selected from resin, optical clear adhesive (OCA), optical clear resin (OCR), or pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA), or an inorganic material including at least one selected from a pressure sensitive adhesive and a photoresist.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the bending boundary pattern includes at least one adhesive curing material selected from resin, optical clear adhesive (OCA), optical clear resin (OCR), or pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA), or an inorganic material including at least one selected from a pressure sensitive adhesive and a photoresist, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto discloses a bending boundary pattern formed in a straight line shape (TL1 forms in a straight line, fig. 7, Lee) along a boundary of the outer portion and the bending area (BA, Lee) of the sub-area (TL1 forms in a straight line along a boundary of the outer portion and the bending area of the sub-area, fig. 7, Lee).
Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the bending protection member covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary.
Kim teaches a display device comprising a bending boundary pattern (140) formed in a straight line shape, a curved line shape or a combination thereof (fig. 2) along a boundary of an outer portion and a bending area (BA) of the sub-area (figs 3-4), wherein a bending protection member (115) covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary (par. [0087]-[0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang in view of Lee and Hashimoto to have the bending protection member covers the bending area of the sub-area with the bending boundary pattern defining the boundary as taught by Kim because such modification the cover protection member suppress the wiring lines disposed in the bending area from being cracked at the time of being bent (Par. [0088]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-10, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 2, and a combination of limitations that wherein a portion of the bending protection member, which is disposed between the rear surface cover and the outer portion of the sub-area, is separated into two portion, which are spaced apart from each other, and wherein one of the two portion is disposed adjacent to the display driving circuit. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 4, and a combination of limitations that wherein the adhesive tape covers at least one contact area selected from a first contact area including a contact portion between the bending protection member and the bending boundary pattern and a second contact area including a contact portion between the bending boundary pattern and the rear surface cover. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 4, and a combination of limitations that an additional bending boundary pattern formed on a rear surface of the rear surface cover, and wherein the adhesive tape is formed to cover at least one contact area selected from a first contact area including a contact portion between the bending protection member and the bending boundary pattern, a second contact area including a contact portion between the bending boundary pattern and the rear surface cover, and a third contact area including a contact portion between the rear surface of the rear surface cover and the additional bending boundary pattern. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 4, and a combination of limitations that wherein the bending protection member is separated into two parts to cover the bending area and the outer portion of the sub-area, respectively, wherein the two parts of the bending protection member are spaced apart from each other not to overlap the bending boundary pattern at a boundary between the bending area and the outer portion of the sub-area, and wherein the rear surface cover is disposed to cover one of the two parts of the bending protection member covering the outer portion of the sub-area and the display driving circuit.. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 4, and a combination of limitations that wherein the bending protection member is coated or applied in the bending area through at least one process selected from an inkjet printing process, a photoresist process, and a spin coating process, wherein the bending protection member includes an organic or inorganic material used to form a pixel defining layer, a planarization layer, and an encapsulation layer formed in the display area, at least one organic material selected from acrylic, benzocyclobutene (BCB), or hexamethyldisiloxane (HMDSO), or a pressure sensitive adhesive material including ultraviolet (UV)-curable acrylic resin. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 12 and claim 14, and a combination of limitations that wherein the adhesive tape covers at least one contact area selected from a first contact area including a contact portion between the bending protection member and the bending boundary pattern and a second contact area including a contact portion between the bending boundary pattern and the rear surface cover. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 12 and claim 14, and a combination of limitations that wherein the bending protection member is separated into two parts to cover the bending area and the outer portion of the sub-area, respectively, wherein the two parts of the bending protection member are spaced apart from each other not to overlap the bending boundary pattern at a boundary between the bending area and the outer portion of the sub-area, and wherein the rear surface cover is disposed to cover one of the two parts of the bending protection member covering the outer portion of the sub-area and the display driving circuit.. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claim 6 is objected as being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 9 is objected as being dependent on claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot; whereas new rejections have been presented to read on the amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841