DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 24-25 of claim 1, the applicant states the limitation “the material includes a structurally same kind of material throughout a thickness of the conductive region from the upper surface to the lower surface;”; however, the term “a structurally same kind of material” is unclear as the applicant has not defined the metes and bounds of the properties that would be defined as a “same kind of material”. For example, it is unknown whether two metals such as copper and aluminum would be defined as a “same kind of material” since they are both conductive metals, and are a “same kind of material.” The specification does not provide further clarification as the specification never uses the term. The same applies to claims 10, and 16, which contain the same limitations. Also, it is unclear how “structurally” further describes a “same kind of material” since structure and material are different properties and not related to each other. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of the rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. US 2015/0228865 A1 in view of Chu et al. US 2015/0340346 A1. Rhee discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7) a light emitting device comprising a light emitting region comprising a plurality of light emitters 300, each of the plurality of light emitters comprising a light emitting layer comprising a first conductivity type semiconductor layer 310, a second conductivity type layer 330, and active layer 320; a first electrode 350, second electrode 340, divider 500, substrate 800, insulated region 802, conductive region 220, protective layer 360. In paragraph [0159], Rhee discloses the protective layer 360 being transparent. In FIG. 7, Rhee discloses the conductive region 220 having an upper surface and lower surface, and a material disposed between the upper surface and the lower surface to allow electrical conduction between the upper surface and the lower surface of the conductive region 220. Also, in FIG.7, Rhee discloses the second electrode 340 being electrically connected to the conductive region 220. Rhee does not clearly disclose an encapsulation layer. However, Chu discloses (see, for example, FIG 9) a light emitting device comprising an encapsulation layer 30/101 that surrounds the side surfaces of light emitting structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an encapsulation layer in order to protect the plurality of light emitters, and make them more robust.
Regarding claims 2, and 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to use one of PDMS, polyimide, ceramic, or mixture thereof, flexible substrate, etc. in order to form an adaptable surface for the light emitting device, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 3, and 13, Rhee discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7) a light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer 320, and light blocking layer 610.
Regarding claim 4, Rhee in view of Chu does not clearly disclose each of the sub light emitting regions comprises a light emitting layer that is configured to emit a light having a same color range; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have same color in order to produce a single color light-emitting device of high output according to the preferences of the user.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 17, Rhee discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7) a light emitting device comprising a light conversion part 600.
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 18, see, for example, paragraph [0027] wherein Rhee discloses blue and/or ultraviolet LEDs, and Rhee discloses the light conversion part 600 converting light into red and green.
Regarding claims 7, and 19, see, for example, claim 12 wherein Rhee discloses color filters disposed on wavelength converting material.
Regarding claims 8, and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to have the contact region having a width of 10 um or less in order to maximize space in the light emitting device according to the preferences of the user, and since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 10, and 16, see the rejection for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Rhee discloses the conductive material 220.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Rhee discloses at least one of the plurality of sub light emitting region 300 having a greater width than the light emitting layer 320.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 thru 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,985,856 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structural limitations disclosed in the applications are the same and any differences appear slight and would appear to be obvious modifications to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, applicant’s claim 1 states “a divider configured to divide the light emitting region into a plurality of sub light emitting regions;” as opposed to claim 1 of U.S. 11,985,856 B2 which states “a divider disposed between at least two light emitters and configure to divide the light emitting region into a plurality of sub light emitting regions;”; these are substantially the same structural limitations. Other examples include applicant’s claim 1 stating “a connection substrate” as opposed to claim 1 of U.S. 11,985,856 B2, which states “substrate”. Also, applicant’s claim 1 is broader as claim 1 of U.S. 11,985,856 B2 states additional limitations such as first and second conductive regions; first, second, and third light emitting regions having first, second, and third peak wavelengths respectively wherein the third peak wavelength is longer than the first peak wavelength, etc. and any further modifications therebetween would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claims 2-20, see, for example, claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,985,856 B2, which are the same and/or similar wherein modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
See the 112 rejection above. Also, Rhee et al. US 2015/0228865 A1 still discloses (see,
for example, FIG. 7) the applicant’s new limitation (i.e. the material includes a structurally same kind of material throughout a thickness of the conductive region from the upper surface to the lower surface) as the conductive region 220 has an upper surface and lower surface, and is a same kind of material throughout a thickness of the conductive region 220 from the upper surface to the lower surface that allows electrical conduction between the upper surface and the lower surface of the conductive region 220.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
March 9, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815